The Watch Thread v3, Affordable or not depends on individual

ck77
post Sep 16 2011, 12:02 PM

2,592 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Sep 16 2011, 08:06 AM)
congrats! few ppl here go for Stowa mainly cause the wait. wear it in good health!
And VAT not waived doh.gif
kotmj
post Sep 16 2011, 12:51 PM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

QUOTE(stefanong @ Sep 15 2011, 04:49 PM)
Good day everyone. Just received my first mechanical. A simple Stowa Marine Automatik for work and formal occassions.

It looks humongous on your wrist.
ivanswk
post Sep 16 2011, 03:27 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 16 2011, 12:51 PM)
It looks humongous on your wrist.
optic illusion from the all dial smile.gif
nice thumbup.gif
kotmj
post Sep 16 2011, 04:02 PM

3,802 posts

Not an optical illusion but simple real estate. The guy cannot wear anything larger than 36mm. The lugs are jutting out from beyond his wrist instead of following its curvature.
Cheenoo
post Sep 16 2011, 04:16 PM

Alpha as fuck
845 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Sep 16 2011, 01:55 AM)
Just wanna share pic of my PAM312 at my padi farm smile.gif
Are paddy farmers earning more than we think?? What's going on?
kotmj
post Sep 16 2011, 04:26 PM

3,802 posts

^gahmen subsidies

This is a wrist that is barely large enough to wear such a big watch
deriku
post Sep 16 2011, 05:29 PM

879 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 16 2011, 04:02 PM)
Not an optical illusion but simple real estate. The guy cannot wear anything larger than 36mm. The lugs are jutting out from beyond his wrist instead of following its curvature.
36mm watches remind me of my Swatch collecting days. Nowadays I never go below 40mm, 42mm being the ideal case size.
kotmj
post Sep 16 2011, 05:35 PM

3,802 posts

If 42mm is ideal, what is 45mm?

Added on September 16, 2011, 5:54 pmAnother strange thing I notice about that Stowa is that the hour and minute hands do not have the same thickness near the pivot. This makes it look as if the hands are not really a set, and is visually incongruos. The minute hand is really thin while the hour hands noticeably thicker.

They should be of identical thickness before they take on their own forms towards the tips as this Dornblüth shows

But then this is a small point considering the degree of vulgarity in watches nowadays ... stainless steeel monstrosities on thin wrists ... all watch and no wrist ... where the wearer is like a vehicle for the watch, instead of the watch being a small accessory for the wearer.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Sep 16 2011, 05:54 PM
free_enuf
post Sep 16 2011, 09:04 PM

1,020 posts

Sorry for this noob question, but whats the price range for an entry level Panerai?
ck77
post Sep 16 2011, 09:44 PM

2,592 posts

QUOTE(free_enuf @ Sep 16 2011, 09:04 PM)
Sorry for this noob question, but whats the price range for an entry level Panerai?
PAM380 ~ 14k
Phonzy
post Sep 16 2011, 10:20 PM

542 posts

How is IWC's brand standing in the watch market today?
free_enuf
post Sep 16 2011, 10:21 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Sep 16 2011, 09:44 PM)
PAM380 ~ 14k
Retailed? Or after discount? Thanks for the reply btw!
Phonzy
post Sep 17 2011, 12:11 AM

542 posts

planning to purchase a IWC Portuguese or Portofino ..

yonggoh
post Sep 17 2011, 09:05 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(free_enuf @ Sep 16 2011, 09:04 PM)
The beautiful and never out of fashion PAM000 (aka Base Model)
About 13-14k

Added on September 17, 2011, 9:08 am
QUOTE(Phonzy @ Sep 17 2011, 12:11 AM)
planning to purchase a IWC Portuguese or Portofino ..
Me too! Am eyeing an IWC Portuguese Chrono.. the Blue Font & Strap one biggrin.gif

I suppose im just waiting for news about an in house movement instead of the valjoux...

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Sep 17 2011, 09:08 AM

MeToo
post Sep 17 2011, 12:55 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Sep 17 2011, 09:05 AM)

Me too! Am eyeing an IWC Portuguese Chrono.. the Blue Font & Strap one biggrin.gif

I suppose im just waiting for news about an in house movement instead of the valjoux...
Is it me or does IWC portu chrono looks bigger then its actualyl is? Its only around 41mm but looks way bigger... a bane for peopel with athletic (read :slim) writst.
spie
post Sep 17 2011, 07:21 PM

315 posts

My next target is a PAM!! Simply awesome!! Any 40mm PAM below 20k can recommend?

This post has been edited by spie: Sep 17 2011, 07:22 PM
patryn33
post Sep 17 2011, 08:29 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(free_enuf @ Sep 16 2011, 10:21 PM)
Retailed? Or after discount? Thanks for the reply btw!
this part of the world, Pam are usually sold at ZERO discount. U have to know your SA to get some discount.

Added on September 17, 2011, 8:44 pm
QUOTE(yonggoh @ Sep 17 2011, 09:05 AM)

do U think it is coming? designing/making a chrono inhouse is not easy.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Sep 17 2011, 08:44 PM
jeremy_yee
post Sep 18 2011, 06:50 PM

175 posts

Bros, where is the best place to buy Maurice Lacroix watches. Went to one Utama watchshop, their prices are so much higher than bodying.com. Wonder why so much difference.

I am eyeing ML pontos date date. Poisoned.

This post has been edited by jeremy_yee: Sep 18 2011, 08:22 PM
patryn33
post Sep 18 2011, 09:09 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Sep 18 2011, 06:50 PM)
Bros, where is the best place to buy Maurice Lacroix watches. Went to one Utama watchshop, their prices are so much higher than bodying.com. Wonder why so much difference.

I am eyeing ML pontos date date. Poisoned.
bodying.com is grey, they do not carry factory warranty.
jeremy_yee
post Sep 18 2011, 09:45 PM

175 posts

Thank you for the info. I am still a noob.

If the difference is more 10 to 20%, is it worth to buy from grey. Is buying from grey also lose the service support from the local authorized service centre?

136 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:31 PM