144 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

lngck
post Mar 18 2011, 10:28 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Mar 18 2011, 09:29 AM)
After waiting for several months, Rosen finally offered me the job as a Maintenance Engineer. I know that this job won't have to go to offshore unless needed too.

Follow ups were made and thankfully, it bears fruit.

Now my question is, what about that medical examination/checkup? Normal like any others or any special thing?
what is the main services & business Rosen does?
how's the offer? good?
boxsystem
post Mar 18 2011, 10:39 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(lngck @ Mar 18 2011, 10:28 AM)
what is the main services & business Rosen does?
how's the offer? good?
I didn't ask a lot because I have no experience in OnG. But suffice to say, it is enough for me. If I am not mistaken, they are doing servicing of pipelines and such. You might want to try to browse/surf their website.
TScarloz28
post Mar 18 2011, 10:45 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(gimmesushi @ Mar 15 2011, 03:46 AM)
hi hello.
i scrolled a few pages in the old thread looking for an answer ~

a schlumberger recruiter was recently at my school, and people were leaving CVs, applying for a job position etc. i happened to be there by luck, and got asked to be in the interview spot the day after.
since it was schlumberger and i'm majoring in geophysical engineering i naturally went there. passed the first day's (exercises?) interviews. the second day was a bit more stressful, but the whole thing went positive, at least that's what i think.

the recruiter guy told me that to be honest, he didn't think i had the motivation to be a field engineer so he was gonna direct my application to western geco. he also told me that about 1% of the applicants he'd sent them got rejected.
since everything happened purely out of luck, i felt fine by it.

couple of days ago (10th of march) some chinese lady from western geco called me and asked me a few questions. i guess she was checking if my CV was correct or something. about 15 minutes later she said thanks and hung up.
it's been 4 days, and i can't believe i'm fretting like this.

my friend who was with me during the interviews got an offer from schlumberger on 11th. i didn't get anything. i just wonder if i got rejected and will not be notified via e-mail.
does that happen? do companies just leave people hanging like that? this was my first serious job interview, and have no idea how much i should wait (or just - - stop checking my e-mails every hour like an obsessed person)
It's normal. Some of the SLB successful candidates were left waiting for 6 months let alone 4 days. So the asnwer is YES, companies do left candidates hanging in bated breath just like that.

My advice to you is, stop waiting on them to tell you the status of your application. Your application are probably in KIV or in the process right now. You can probably call up the lady who phoned you but DON'T pester the HR every 4 weeks or so to ask for your status.

Oilfield business is seasonal, contract based and when they are in dire need of human resources they will ring you up. Good luck.

This post has been edited by carloz28: Mar 18 2011, 10:50 AM
boxsystem
post Mar 18 2011, 11:32 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Mar 18 2011, 10:45 AM)
It's normal. Some of the SLB successful candidates were left waiting for 6 months let alone 4 days. So the asnwer is YES, companies do left candidates hanging in bated breath just like that.

My advice to you is, stop waiting on them to tell you the status of your application. Your application are probably in KIV or in the process right now.  You can probably call up the lady who phoned you but DON'T pester the HR every 4 weeks or so to ask for your status.

Oilfield business is seasonal, contract based and when they are in dire need of human resources they will ring you up. Good luck.
Dude, what about medical examination of a future employee? I mean, the medical checkup, what it is like?
jamaluddin4
post Mar 18 2011, 04:13 PM

236 posts

BRUNEI FOUND NEW OIL FIELD

MIRI: A new oil field estimated to contain several hundred million barrels in reserves has been found about 100km offshore from Brunei, The Brunei Times reported yesterday.

The daily said the discovery was made by Brunei Shell Petroleum (BSP) which described it as a successful exploration and a significant oil and gas find in its deepwater acreage.

Quoting a BSP statement, it said the field known as Geronggong was in the third acreage area and about 1km deep, the deepest water in which BSP had discovered hydrocarbons in the Brunei acreage.
“The depth is enough to fully submerge the world's tallest building, Dubai's Burj Khalifa, which is 828 m tall,” it added. - Bernama

BRUNEI FOUND NEW OIL FIELD

I think MUSTANG-SIME DARBY JV got this umbrella project from Brunei Shell Petroleum (BSP)...
TScarloz28
post Mar 19 2011, 03:51 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Mar 18 2011, 11:32 AM)
Dude, what about medical examination of a future employee? I mean, the medical checkup, what it is like?
Med check up is routine. Blood samples, urine test, eyesight, hearing.

Doc will most likely grab ur balls so yea just be that nice little chap you are and don't freak out.
ICDeadPeople
post Mar 19 2011, 09:58 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(kalkulator85 @ Mar 17 2011, 04:17 PM)
PE..petroleum engineering bos
Which uni? UTM? And hows your grade so far?
feekle
post Mar 19 2011, 10:00 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Mar 19 2011, 03:51 PM)
Med check up is routine. Blood samples, urine test, eyesight, hearing.

Doc will most likely grab ur balls so yea just be that nice little chap you are and don't freak out.
i really hate that checkup shakehead.gif
fito.mazz
post Mar 21 2011, 11:25 PM

does anyone here work with ranhill worleyparsons sdn bhd???
ivanau88
post Mar 21 2011, 11:47 PM

3,777 posts

I am graduating as a mechanical engineer and I am looking forward in involving myself in the ong industry.
What types of position should I be looking on?
I am looking for some medium sized company as I am still a fresh graduate and no point going to the big companies.
Piping?Drilling?Project Management?

I am thinking about drilling first then focus on management. Is that possible?
Any company to recommend me?
boxsystem
post Mar 22 2011, 12:04 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Mar 21 2011, 11:47 PM)
I am graduating as a mechanical engineer and I am looking forward in involving myself in the ong industry.
What types of position should I be looking on?
I am looking for some medium sized company as I am still a fresh graduate and no point going to the big companies.
Piping?Drilling?Project Management?

I am thinking about drilling first then focus on management. Is that possible?
Any company to recommend me?
Go and try big companies as well. No harm there. First of all, what are your priorities? Time or Money? In O&G, you can only choose either one. Actually, in life as well, IMO.
kelvin_tan
post Mar 22 2011, 08:33 AM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@boxsystem
I beg to differ. Not all jobs you have to choose Time or Money. It really is a matter of how you manage your time. However I do agree certain jobs in OnG you can only choose one (those that requires you to be offshore)
durrrr
post Mar 22 2011, 12:21 PM

85 posts

Hi guys, can anyone give me some info about PLC, BI, BO in O&G? Ok I have some idea on what PLC is but not BI and BO.
Its hard for me to search online when i have no idea what it is. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by durrrr: Mar 22 2011, 12:22 PM
ICDeadPeople
post Mar 22 2011, 12:32 PM

783 posts

PLC is production licence contract right?
What is BI, BO than?
durrrr
post Mar 22 2011, 12:57 PM

85 posts

The PLC Im talking about is programmable logic controller. Sry if I didnt make it clear..I didnt know PLC could mean production licence contract.
As for BI and Bo, I have no clue..but I believe it has something to do with the programmable logic controllers? I may be wrong tho icon_question.gif

Its DI and DO..I heard wrongly. No wonder I cant find anything on the net. Paiseh doh.gif

This post has been edited by durrrr: Mar 22 2011, 03:12 PM
fito.mazz
post Mar 22 2011, 01:22 PM

does anyone here work with ranhill worleyparsons sdn bhd KL?
or do you have friend work there? i need help...=(
poilam
post Mar 22 2011, 01:52 PM

300 posts

i am a final year chemical engineering student, with 2nd upper with CGPA around 3.4 , internship in Petronas refinery for 4 months.

how would be my chance to get into oil and gas ? as i read from esso advertisement, their requirement for recruiting graduate is >3.5 CGPA .

if you are the employer, a candidate with average result but with relevant working experience (like my case, intern in petronas) and another one with excellent result, which one would you choose?
ronaldpan
post Mar 22 2011, 03:15 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Mar 19 2011, 10:00 PM)
i really hate that checkup  shakehead.gif
actually it depend on which clinic u go..
ICDeadPeople
post Mar 22 2011, 04:55 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(poilam @ Mar 22 2011, 01:52 PM)
i am a final year chemical engineering student, with 2nd upper with CGPA around 3.4 , internship in Petronas refinery for 4 months.

how would be my chance to get into oil and gas ? as i read from esso advertisement, their requirement for recruiting graduate is >3.5 CGPA .

if you are the employer, a candidate with average result but with relevant working experience (like my case, intern in petronas) and another one with excellent result, which one would you choose?
3.4 is not bad at all. When I do resume screening, I look at the grade first (3 ish should be ok), than I look at specific subject. There are a few subjects that can give an indication on candidate's creativity, smartness, etc.
So yeah, go ahead and send your resume.
depster666
post Mar 22 2011, 05:25 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(durrrr @ Mar 22 2011, 12:57 PM)
The PLC Im talking about is programmable logic controller. Sry if I didnt make it clear..I didnt know PLC could mean production licence contract.
As for BI and Bo, I have no clue..but I believe it has something to do with the programmable logic controllers? I may be wrong tho icon_question.gif
Its DI and DO..I heard wrongly. No wonder I cant find anything on the net. Paiseh doh.gif
PLC = Programmable Logic Controller
DI = Discrete Input
DO = Discrete Output

Next u'll be asking AI and AO?

144 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:35 PM