Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

depster666
post Jan 8 2011, 10:50 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jan 8 2011, 02:22 AM)
I know, I'm just tagging along. Unless he's talking about jobs in foreign countries and covert the wage to our local currency.
Kerang pays 4k basic and 2.7k reloc for greenhorns now
depster666
post Jan 8 2011, 10:48 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jan 8 2011, 07:08 PM)
I know their basic pay and allowance would total up to 5k++. But 6.5k relocation to rural area such as sabah Sarawak?  Means upon hired from fresh grad they can get 7k without any early training??
yep... that would be on their 1st paycheck tongue.gif
depster666
post Jan 9 2011, 02:29 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jan 9 2011, 12:40 PM)
Hey brother..which company pays like dat? Crap larr...unless the fresh grad stays 100 days at sea..then i believe he can get that type of pay? if 5K still acceptable..
Shell, not Crap Sdn Bhd. And if u on 2 on, 2 off, u'll get additional 3k
depster666
post Jan 10 2011, 12:46 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jan 9 2011, 10:37 PM)
I tot starting for shell fresh grad (with degree) is around 3.4k?
3.8k in 2007...
depster666
post Jan 28 2011, 09:20 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Jan 28 2011, 08:32 PM)
Yah haha, ever heard of cable, but IMHO, and correct me if I'm mistaken lah, that even with cable, HR will also look at academic results right? If result not good, even got cable also won't be of any use right?
academic result is not the only yardstick to score an interview. What good a 4.0 CGPA bookworm is, with non-existent soft skills, whose allergic to multi-ethnic, multi-cultural and multi-nationality organization?

This post has been edited by depster666: Jan 28 2011, 09:21 PM
depster666
post Feb 15 2011, 07:16 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Feb 15 2011, 05:57 PM)
Is there any other oil and gas company operating in Malaysia that pays similar, if not better than Shell?

Heard Shell graduate can earn more than 5k as starting pay, including allowances etc etc.
EPMI? i know for experienced hire vis-a-vis, Talisman, Murphy and Hess Armada (Not CH) could match Shell pay packet.

This post has been edited by depster666: Feb 15 2011, 07:16 PM
depster666
post Feb 19 2011, 10:55 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Feb 19 2011, 09:48 AM)
btw, all oil and gas folks... what is your take in HSE department?

I'm a freshie in environment but my education background is process engineering
Early development -> Process
Management level -> HSSE

depster666
post Mar 22 2011, 05:25 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(durrrr @ Mar 22 2011, 12:57 PM)
The PLC Im talking about is programmable logic controller. Sry if I didnt make it clear..I didnt know PLC could mean production licence contract.
As for BI and Bo, I have no clue..but I believe it has something to do with the programmable logic controllers? I may be wrong tho icon_question.gif
Its DI and DO..I heard wrongly. No wonder I cant find anything on the net. Paiseh doh.gif
PLC = Programmable Logic Controller
DI = Discrete Input
DO = Discrete Output

Next u'll be asking AI and AO?
depster666
post Aug 6 2011, 12:12 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 5 2011, 09:12 PM)
oh kk.. how about any other company in msia that is related to materials engineer? actually i am leaning towards metal industry or metal related. How about swiss profile? Southern steel gave me a call for interview, is southern steel a good company to be in? I heard that working in a foundry is kinda hazardous and prone to get diseases later on.
You can always join the operators and do MCI
depster666
post Aug 6 2011, 01:24 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 6 2011, 12:42 PM)
wat is MCI?
material, corrosion, inspection
depster666
post Sep 18 2011, 10:53 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(rhaizo @ Sep 18 2011, 10:01 PM)
Yup i told them that im only holding malaysian citizenship. probably no chance ever getting hired now sad.gif
Im not sure how 'excellent' i am in academic but i guess im ok. But im guessing there would rather hire locals than outsider couz it may incur cost to hire outsiders..

anymore vacancies? im an electrical grad.

they say contractors pay more? i wonder hows the benefits?
Companies, especially with localization policy in place would not be stupid to hire a foreigner, with an expatriate pay package, when they can get someone equal or better locally.

Candidates, on the other hand (except for rare cases), would not be stupid to work out of country without being paid expatriate package.

Not all contractors pay more. Depending on the size of the company, and whether they have managed to secure a large contract with a client. And of course, your experience plays a factor as well. For graduates, operators still pay better than contractors, unless you manage to get into SLB, Halli, BH, etc.
depster666
post Sep 19 2011, 09:50 PM

452 posts

http://www.shell.com/home/content/careers/..._and_graduates/

http://www.exxonmobil.com/Global-English/H...sia/career.html

Links to apply for graduates, google is your best friend.

Top 2 Fortune 500 IOC companies for few years running
depster666
post Oct 25 2011, 10:25 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(pay3d @ Oct 25 2011, 04:21 PM)
for me airline and O&G is totally different field...let say you mantain in airline for 3-4 years, i afraid it will be hard for you to switch to O&G considering non-related industries and you might need to start as fresh again if hired...no harm getting lower pay as start up as long as you're in the O&G field already...it just a matter of time to jump company for better pay once you gained some experiences later on...just my 2 cents...
Rotating equipment on a rig are basically the same equipment that power an airplane, and scaled down, in term of size and power output, to those in power plants.
depster666
post Dec 16 2011, 12:32 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Dec 16 2011, 12:23 AM)
Hmm, depends on what kind of OnG company u wanna join.. normally for those servicing and maintenance company in Miri like Petra, SapuraCrest, they welcome any Engineering degree to join them as Technical Assistant. Or like now, i joined ECS Shell as Graduate Engineer, which is basically kinda adminstrative job, so they would take in any Engineering degree graduate, this position is more like they
pay u to learn" position, where you can learn things offshore, i am under commissioning. The job is probably more like project management later on in higher level. If u wan do specialization, like process engineer, then chemical is way to go. If piping, mechanical or chemical. It would be better to study mechanical if u are interested.. Cos it is an all-rounder subject, i think mechanical engineering is applicable to 60-80% of the job market.
ECS huh... which project? E8/F13K?
depster666
post Dec 18 2011, 03:34 AM

452 posts

GK topside is 3MT overweight. Hull design was done in Houston while the rest of engineering fab was done locally. There was a "tug-of-war" between Shell and Petronas to some extent a while back. Malikai, another DW development has so far proven to be much less problematic.
depster666
post Feb 14 2012, 08:19 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(weedox @ Feb 14 2012, 06:12 AM)
is it possible for degree holder in aviation engineering to join oil & gas? did learnt about gas turbine, sheet metal works n basic NDT..if possible then what position can suit? interested to join oil&gas lah..
Topside.. Rotating equipment. Gas turbine in aviation is no different than gas turbine in offshore, be it for power generation or prime mover for export gas compressor
depster666
post Feb 15 2012, 11:50 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ Feb 15 2012, 11:18 PM)
finally, i appointed as engineer in one of oil & gas company after waited for 9 months patiently.

haih...i feel so glad becoz i get the job after hundred of resume i sent to them. smile.gif

my 1st day working is tuesday, next week. smile.gif
Welcum to the club... rclxms.gif
depster666
post Feb 16 2012, 11:46 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(lovelyduckling @ Feb 16 2012, 11:43 PM)
Okay, I suppose that's workable (although I prefer face-to-face interview huhu). Thanks smile.gif

Any other suggestions/ ideas from others?
1st job interview in O&G or 1st job interview ever (fresh)? Some companies do pay for the candidates T&A whenever they are attending interviews
depster666
post Feb 17 2012, 10:25 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(lovelyduckling @ Feb 16 2012, 11:54 PM)
Both tongue.gif Sorry, but what is T&A? I tried to google but it came up with a few findings
Alo, Travel & Accomodations tongue.gif

Those, from my experience anyway, that pay (again, maybe subjective to position level) are

i) Shell
ii) Hess Corp
iii) GL-ND
iv) Prosafe Prod (Singkapoh) <- very good offer
v) Petrofac
vi) BH
vii) Talisman

This post has been edited by depster666: Feb 17 2012, 10:30 AM
depster666
post Feb 17 2012, 08:43 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Feb 17 2012, 01:02 PM)
Oversea company overseas? Might be difficult to get. Oversea company in Malaysia, that one is different story. Should have plenty of oppurtunity, esp subsurface people (to be honest I dont know about surface people).
But as what anyone has said before, just take whatever you got, and build your skills and reputation from there. After 3-4 years, you can try your luck in different company. After 5 years and above, companies will be looking for you. True story.
When it's dry, its akin to drought. But when it rains... it definitely pours.. That time your inbox would become a spam box for all the opportunities coming in. Then you would receive phone calls with numbers starting with +44, +02, +1... or 0301 (untraceable).

0.0579sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:15 AM