Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

hitsugaya2010
post Sep 9 2011, 11:11 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Sep 8 2011, 02:04 PM)
yup fresh grads are always welcomed into the OnG world. the only difference is will those grads be willing to work or not?
u must be meeting many choosy fresh grade. do you have details on the job u currently have? will send my resume to you..thanks
Noyze
post Sep 9 2011, 11:45 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

I'm currently the HOD for MQHSE dept. qhat MQHSE means that u'll have to figure it out! hehehe it's a very niche group of people who are in this line of work. And i'm not getting many emails but im' relieved in a way, if not hancur lah lol. I've sent out a few c.v.'s to my friends and i hope they've called those guys. at least there's progress. I'm only here to help and inform of the reality of the so called oil giants. People on the outside see how awesome it is to be working client side, but do not know that contractor side is where the big bucks are, Oh plus on contractor side, we're actually laughing at the client's so called "project engineers" who are mostly freshies who don't know nothing lolx
preakzz
post Sep 9 2011, 12:01 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Sep 8 2011, 10:26 AM)
Welding engineer, go the NDT route and abseiling then go freelance, u get daily paid and get onto contracts. A friend of mine who went that route a few years ago after i advised him is drawing in above of 370k per annum and he is only 27 yrs old.

As for entry into the OnG sector, ESPECIALLY in miri, Yes you do need someone on the inside, preferbly not family. I only decided to work in Miri after more than 15yrs after my dad retired, and STILL i have to live up to his name. Every marine contractor and even shell still remembers him DAMN!. But if you guys are looking for a way in, do drop me an e-mail with ur resume of course and i'll ask my friends and see if they're in terested. I'm not offering anything solid, but just to get you noticed. I have a very large network, where even shell n petronas staff ask me to help them get jobs elsewhere. I should open a head hunting agency! lol. but i love my job here! If you are interested in short term projects also I can arrange, I do not burn bridges and always keep in touch with my former colleagues as I was freelancing till a few years ago.

So let me see where I can help. Oh yeah send ur c.v.'s to zyon55@gmail.com
I can't agree more. smile.gif Should I include cover letter with the resume?

QUOTE(lovebattery @ Sep 8 2011, 02:56 PM)
Noyze's mail box shud be full by now...
Haha. But I still wanna try my luck. tongue.gif

Btw guys, I have a question here, I have received an email from Baker Hughes Brunei yesterday asking me if I have legal right to work in Brunei. Isn't it something that they would provide actually? sad.gif I was excited because they said they need to confirm this asap so they can offer me a position there. I don't have any visa. Fresh grad. sad.gif

And I also received a call from slb yesterday. Asking me abt results n stuff. But got cut off, called them back but can't recall the person's name who called me and they ask me to wait for them to call back. I hope that's not an interview, it's not, right?
figuremeout
post Sep 9 2011, 12:30 PM

~In another life, I would make u stay~
890 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Sep 9 2011, 11:45 AM)
I'm currently the HOD for MQHSE dept. qhat MQHSE means that u'll have to figure it out! hehehe it's a very niche group of people who are in this line of work. And i'm not getting many emails but im' relieved in a way, if not hancur lah lol. I've sent out a few c.v.'s to my friends and i hope they've called those guys. at least there's progress. I'm only here to help and inform of the reality of the so called oil giants. People on the outside see how awesome it is to be working client side, but do not know that contractor side is where the big bucks are, Oh plus on contractor side, we're actually laughing at the client's so called "project engineers" who are mostly freshies who don't know nothing lolx
i'll send mt resume a.s.a.p icon_rolleyes.gif
p/s:including cover letter? hmm.gif
hitsugaya2010
post Sep 9 2011, 03:25 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Sep 9 2011, 11:45 AM)
izzit something to do with health, safety and environment? MQ in front i'm not really sure....maybe its management quality...hahaha..
mhyug
post Sep 9 2011, 03:41 PM

1,551 posts

Welding engineer, go the NDT route and abseiling then go freelance, u get daily paid and get onto contracts. A friend of mine who went that route a few years ago after i advised him is drawing in above of 370k per annum and he is only 27 yrs old.

As for entry into the OnG sector, ESPECIALLY in miri, Yes you do need someone on the inside, preferbly not family. I only decided to work in Miri after more than 15yrs after my dad retired, and STILL i have to live up to his name. Every marine contractor and even shell still remembers him DAMN!. But if you guys are looking for a way in, do drop me an e-mail with ur resume of course and i'll ask my friends and see if they're in terested. I'm not offering anything solid, but just to get you noticed. I have a very large network, where even shell n petronas staff ask me to help them get jobs elsewhere. I should open a head hunting agency! lol. but i love my job here! If you are interested in short term projects also I can arrange, I do not burn bridges and always keep in touch with my former colleagues as I was freelancing till a few years ago.

hoo will be sending some mail later tonight after from work. thumbup.gif

thx for the help bro tho im not from miri can try ka??

QUOTE(Noyze @ Sep 8 2011, 02:04 PM)
yup fresh grads are always welcomed into the OnG world. the only difference is will those grads be willing to work or not?
veryy willing in my case...any work will do in my current state of my career. nod.gif
Noyze
post Sep 9 2011, 05:41 PM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

DUn worry i'm not from miri either, but I work here.

M denotes Marine and Q is quality.

Cover letter would be good.

Which SLB office called you? and did they mention for what project? I might be able to assist.
preakzz
post Sep 9 2011, 05:58 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Sep 9 2011, 05:41 PM)

Which SLB office called you? and did they mention for what project? I might be able to assist.
I am not sure which office. They called back just now telling that the interview will be in Kch this 14th. No they didn't mention for what project,but I applied for graduate FE. And I got another interview with SGS too, will be based in Labuan, for flow assurance engineer. If I get any of these jobs, guess I won't be staying in Miri. So far local Miri companies rejected my applications. No clue why, all the interested companies are from other places. Weird. rclxub.gif I thought being a Miri citizen + degree in O&G would make it easier for me to work in Miri.

And yes, please do assist me in any way. I am new and I need gurus. smile.gif
mhyug
post Sep 9 2011, 06:32 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Sep 9 2011, 05:58 PM)
I am not sure which office. They called back just now telling that the interview will be in Kch this 14th. No they didn't mention for what project,but I applied for graduate FE. And I got another interview with SGS too, will be based in Labuan, for flow assurance engineer. If I get any of these jobs, guess I won't be staying in Miri. So far local  Miri companies rejected my applications. No clue why, all the interested companies are from other places. Weird.  rclxub.gif  I thought being a Miri citizen + degree in O&G would make it easier for me to work in Miri.

And yes, please do assist me in any way. I am new and I need gurus.  smile.gif
at least youre getting interviews man.that alone puts you ahead and in brighter chance of landing a job.im not sure why but its been almost 8 months since ive last got an interview for an engineering job.
scofool
post Sep 9 2011, 06:38 PM

82 posts

i already mail my cv to u ..
positive energy
post Sep 9 2011, 07:25 PM

212 posts

Hi, I sent my resume to you already.
preakzz
post Sep 9 2011, 09:20 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Sep 9 2011, 06:32 PM)
at least youre getting interviews man.that alone puts you ahead and in brighter chance of landing a job.im not sure why but its been almost 8 months since ive last got an interview for an engineering job.
I never went to any face to face interview before. Only through phone. This is going to be first time,been applying for hundreds of jobs in these four months so I think it doesn't came that easy. Wish me luck guys!

Btw, I'm not a man, as you can see. wink.gif
hitsugaya2010
post Sep 9 2011, 09:31 PM

946 posts

sent! thanks!
Noyze
post Sep 9 2011, 10:17 PM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

what you guys need to do is network! That's how i got my job and subsequently more and more after that. Just remember be good at your job and dun play politics, that will get you noticed and wanted. I've been very lucky going freelance and kept getting offers month after month that i pick and choose which job to take up. Seriously guys, you really need to get out there and mingle with the people in the industry and network. Put yourself out there.
backspace66
post Sep 9 2011, 11:27 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Sep 9 2011, 09:20 PM)
I never went to any face to face interview before. Only through phone. This is going to be first time,been applying for hundreds of jobs in these four months so I think it doesn't came that easy. Wish me luck guys!

Btw, I'm not a man, as you can see. wink.gif
seems like the long wait is not in vain,it is SLB after all.good luck
mhyug
post Sep 10 2011, 01:18 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Sep 9 2011, 10:17 PM)
what you guys need to do is network! That's how i got my job and subsequently more and more after that. Just remember be good at your job and dun play politics, that will get you noticed and wanted. I've been very lucky going freelance and kept getting offers month after month that i pick and choose which job to take up. Seriously guys, you really need to get out there and mingle with the people in the industry and network. Put yourself out there.
well thats the plan biggrin.gif but to get that platform to start has been my stumping pt. laugh.gif also bro ive just emailed you.

anarchy04
post Sep 10 2011, 01:26 AM

378 posts

hi guys, any of you heard a company named "offshoreworks sdn bhd"? i need opinion from u guys whether this company is a good place to start off a career..thnks in advance
preakzz
post Sep 10 2011, 03:40 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Sep 9 2011, 11:27 PM)
seems like the long wait is not in vain,it is SLB after all.good luck
Thanks! Will do my best. Gonna dig on the SLB thread for tips. Its fine if I don't get the job, I am not that confident, but I'll just do my best. flex.gif
khrill
post Sep 10 2011, 03:49 AM

36 posts

Then when u get the job, plse not to ignore this thread, try to help us who have tried hndred times just for one interview.
Ethanage
post Sep 10 2011, 05:28 AM

hi, i'm new here. a friend of mine introduce me to this forum . i just wanna ask you seniors , where and how do you study to be a welder ? very interested in this OnG field. Thanks

144 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:35 AM