Working Life in Singapore V5

Mackiddo
post Dec 31 2010, 09:38 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(itanium2 @ Dec 30 2010, 05:14 PM)
Where are u people going for the countdown?
at Port Dickson Legend International Water Homes, having a peaceful moments smile.gif
ba5tard
post Dec 31 2010, 10:11 AM

211 posts

mayday mayday... i need help now... how can i contact and talk to mom in person if i have any enquiries if i dont have my work permit no?? any1 can help my dis question??
Jurlique
post Dec 31 2010, 10:46 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Dec 31 2010, 10:11 AM)
mayday mayday... i need help now... how can i contact and talk to mom in person if i have any enquiries if i dont have my work permit no?? any1 can help my dis question??
Use ur mouth, use ur handphone, use google to search for phone number and contact person.
ba5tard
post Dec 31 2010, 11:18 AM

211 posts

without a valid pass no, u cannot speak to the contact person... if i know i dont need to come here and ask...
GiNgEr^fIsH
post Dec 31 2010, 11:59 AM

**got STImulation?**
1,684 posts

QUOTE(itanium2 @ Dec 30 2010, 01:53 PM)
Feb 6 is a peak day and air tickets will be very expensive.
How about flying back on Feb 7 morning?
AirAsia has two flights to SG at 6.05am or 7.20am and you can head straight to the office.
yea. I might just drive back to singapore myself. haha. we'll see
thanks for the tip though.

tailtwist
post Dec 31 2010, 12:12 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 31 2010, 09:09 AM)
usually i think you have to apply yourself.. they will just notify the mom and you have to go in person to apply...

approval in principle can be given before or after, usually after but there're cases where they apply for the candidate even before signing of the offer letter based on verbal agreement
Yes...normally MOM will have to approve it before the company offers u the offer letter. No point for them to give u the offer letter but MOM doesn't approves it.
Jurlique
post Jan 1 2011, 11:37 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2011

Greetings with Fireworks !

toughnut
post Jan 1 2011, 11:52 AM

3,239 posts

Marina Bay. Quite disappointing considering the effort to squeeze through all the humans there. Firework barely last 8 mins.
@jiman
post Jan 1 2011, 05:33 PM

62 posts

anyone could recommend best website or agency to look for job..maybe in IT or engineering .. jobstreet dont have much smile.gif
fatfat88
post Jan 1 2011, 06:54 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Dec 31 2010, 07:34 AM)
Right now.....for these few more months...I would say around 80% if not higher all the work permits/employment passes has been rejected. DONT EVEN THINK of applying PR. Even getting a work permit/EP would be considered lucky.

Dont forget when u do get a PR u will have to start contributing to CPF
y this fes months , most of them who apply job in sg will be rejected?
I hope to get at job in sg,I m fresh gradutes....should I stop to wait for their reply??I sent my resume from nov 2010 until now..they are no 1 reply me
wlcling
post Jan 2 2011, 12:06 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

sigh, news leaked to me that my colleague going to be my boss. what a bad start to a new year. obviously bootlicking takes you further
Mackiddo
post Jan 2 2011, 12:13 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

not that bad right? I mean ppl bound to get promoted, but I hate bootlicker.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jan 2 2011, 12:15 AM
wlcling
post Jan 2 2011, 12:45 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 2 2011, 12:13 AM)
not that bad right? I mean ppl bound to get promoted, but I hate bootlicker.
well i used to be that person's colleague, but i moved out to take on another portfolio. So i have the skills of both portfolio, and that person has nil skills for my current portfolio... so how could that person manage me?

And the irony is the current skills that the person knows were all passed down from me!

#rant.. .think will be on MC on Monday. After a clean record of no MC for 6 years straight, this really boils my temper.
Argiope
post Jan 2 2011, 03:46 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Dec 31 2010, 11:18 AM)
without a valid pass no, u cannot speak to the contact person... if i know i dont need to come here and ask...
If the question you want to ask is about your eligibility to stay in SG without a working pass, i believe you have to refer to ICA instead of MOM.

QUOTE(Celestia @ Dec 31 2010, 08:14 AM)
why is the work permits/EP getting rejected? i thought your employer applies them for you mean they are planning to hired you right?

btw been wondering do the employer applies for your the EP after you sign your offer letter or before?
Your employer submits EP application for you/plans to hire you doesn't mean MOM will necessarily approve it. They have the "Reject" button on the screen as well. Most common reason is skillset/experience not in demand in SG. Why does the employer need to hire a foreigner when a Singaporean can handle the job too?

And in most of the cases, the employer will apply the necessary work permits for you and it could be before/after you sign the offer letter.

This post has been edited by Argiope: Jan 2 2011, 04:01 AM
Aloong
post Jan 2 2011, 09:35 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jan 1 2011, 11:52 AM)
Marina Bay. Quite disappointing considering the effort to squeeze through all the humans there. Firework barely last 8 mins.
Well u just have to discount some advertistment sometimes.

Added on January 2, 2011, 9:39 am
QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 2 2011, 12:45 AM)
well i used to be that person's colleague, but i moved out to take on another portfolio. So i have the skills of both portfolio, and that person has nil skills for my current portfolio... so how could that person manage me?

And the irony is the current skills that the person knows were all passed down from me!

#rant.. .think will be on MC on Monday. After a clean record of no MC for 6 years straight, this really boils my temper.
6 yrs?? its time to look for another job...according to chinese calender, the new year only starts 4Feb.
So, u'll never know who gets the last laugh...anyway, i'll look for job if i were u.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Jan 2 2011, 09:39 AM
Shinichi
post Jan 2 2011, 12:49 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Is it fine for me to put SG contact number and SG address when I apply for job in SG? Or I better be honest and put my MY address instead? For phone number I'm thinking to put both SG and MY numbers...
rickysim84
post Jan 2 2011, 12:53 PM

1,106 posts

it depend on where u stay, for example, i am from Sarawak, and it is best for me to put Singapore address for higher chances to get a job. But if u are from west Malaysia, i think Malaysia address should be ok.
Shinichi
post Jan 2 2011, 02:12 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jan 2 2011, 12:53 PM)
it depend on where u stay, for example, i am from Sarawak, and it is best for me to put Singapore address for higher chances to get a job. But if u are from west Malaysia, i think Malaysia address should be ok.
I'm staying and working in Penang. Do you think it will be too "far" for them to consider me?
Or should I put Penang address instead, at least they do not expect me to attend interview immediately if they are keen on interviewing me.
wlcling
post Jan 2 2011, 07:07 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 2 2011, 09:35 AM)
Well u just have to discount some advertistment sometimes.

Added on January 2, 2011, 9:39 am

6 yrs?? its time to look for another job...according to chinese calender, the new year only starts 4Feb.
So, u'll never know who gets the last laugh...anyway, i'll look for job if i were u.
6 years but not all in the same job la... yes been looking for a new job, hoping next week i get the call to sign the offer letter rclxms.gif
mrportable
post Jan 3 2011, 01:10 AM

247 posts

is there any money changer around tampines that has TT money service? need to transfer to malaysia

126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0438sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:38 PM