126 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V5

Shinichi
post Mar 3 2011, 08:13 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Any idea where to get cheap and fresh fruits in SG? FairPrice?
crapp0
post Mar 3 2011, 10:27 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 3 2011, 08:13 AM)
Any idea where to get cheap and fresh fruits in SG? FairPrice?
Either most major supermarket or your local wet market.

Ive found you get a better selection and fresher fruits from the wet markets. Unfortunately my wet market nearby my place was closed down and replaced with a shen siong supermarket.
tambaididi
post Mar 3 2011, 10:30 AM

173 posts

guys, it is sufficient to survive in Singapore with SGD 1600?
got an offer from an audit firm.
rickysim84
post Mar 3 2011, 10:33 AM

1,106 posts

i manage to survive before with just 1.6 basic. no prob. it just the matter on how u gonna spend those money.

and u need to think for urself, wat is ur need and wat u dun need.
r1v3r
post Mar 3 2011, 10:43 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(tambaididi @ Mar 3 2011, 10:30 AM)
depend on how many person you have to support and your other commitment.

If your objective is to get a starting point in SG before you move on to bigger target then it is ok to aim for "survival" first, else one can always survive in malaysia while spending time with family members.

when I was single and using just a pager, I earn less than you yet able to send home rm1k and have a few saving plan. It is very easy to spend money in SG so you have to manage your expenses.

cikopek
post Mar 3 2011, 11:24 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 3 2011, 10:27 AM)

Ive found you get a better selection and fresher fruits from the wet markets. Unfortunately my wet market nearby my place was closed down and replaced with a shen siong supermarket.
Fairprice fruits are quite cheap SGD1.55 for 5 South african apples.
Most of their fruits are quite fresh & have plenty of variety compared to Sheng Shiong

Added on March 3, 2011, 11:26 am
QUOTE(tambaididi @ Mar 3 2011, 10:30 AM)
Unfortunately no.... rental already cost sgd500-700 depending on area u r living

This post has been edited by cikopek: Mar 3 2011, 11:26 AM
toughnut
post Mar 3 2011, 12:24 PM

3,239 posts

My monthly expenses less than $1k.

Rental 480
Food 300
Transport 50
Etc <150

crazy25kid
post Mar 3 2011, 12:30 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(cikopek @ Mar 3 2011, 11:24 AM)
Unfortunately no.... rental already cost sgd500-700 depending on area u r living

Why not?
There is rental which are 300-400 too.
If you live on high maintenance lifestyle, no amount of money will be enough.
ahsia80
post Mar 3 2011, 12:31 PM

989 posts

Reporting to da club..just got my connection in office smile.gif
Sign in to LYN the first thing I do! hehe...

Working in Yishun..staying nearby Bras Basah MRT (hotel) for 2 weeks before moving to Woodlands...
pls let me know if any yamcha session...weekdays only lo..
Lester1987
post Mar 3 2011, 12:34 PM

2,017 posts

stay in JB and travel in Daily... rental less than $150 biggrin.gif frankly speaking, if u stay in SG, you can survive with a mere $1k per month la. no prob at all.
crazy25kid
post Mar 3 2011, 12:37 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(ahsia80 @ Mar 3 2011, 12:31 PM)
Reporting to da club..just got my connection in office smile.gif
Sign in to LYN the first thing I do! hehe...

Working in Yishun..staying nearby Bras Basah MRT (hotel) for 2 weeks before moving to Woodlands...
pls let me know  if any yamcha session...weekdays only lo..
Marsiling got hostel type hotel.
Nearer to Yishun and very near the MRT too.
At block 166 if not mistaken.
Not sure if you can save on the 2 weeks or not. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
ahsia80
post Mar 3 2011, 01:06 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 3 2011, 12:37 PM)
Marsiling got hostel type hotel.
Nearer to Yishun and very near the MRT too.
At block 166 if not mistaken.
Not sure if you can save on the 2 weeks or not.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
thanks for the info bro...
Luckily, the 2 weeks stay is FOC for me... laugh.gif employer paid icon_idea.gif
wlcling
post Mar 3 2011, 01:12 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(chowsc86 @ Mar 2 2011, 11:42 PM)
how you guys get the job from singapore? I applied a lots through jobstreet but never response
Try classifieds in newspaper or jobsdb... Jobstreet is really censored wan
Jurlique
post Mar 3 2011, 01:54 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Mar 3 2011, 01:12 PM)
Try classifieds in newspaper or jobsdb... Jobstreet is really censored wan
What do u mean by "censored"???
rickysim84
post Mar 3 2011, 02:23 PM

1,106 posts

i got my job interview from internet + newspaper.

From my pass experience, i found out that if u are seeking for professional job, it is best search through internet via jobstreet and jobsdb.

I found some job from the newspaper too, but they are more toward technician worker.
elfen_lied
post Mar 3 2011, 04:19 PM

99 posts

hi all,
anybody noe abt tis company : wasco energy, 5 pandan rd.
why's d nearest accommodation around d area n transportTion wise?

tq very much for the coming info

regards
kira
Jurlique
post Mar 3 2011, 10:48 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

Hey guys, wanna ask how much an Accountant with 3 years of post grat Accountant can expect in SG? My cousin got his ACCA back in 2007 and is interested to work in SG.

If he is expecting for $4K would it be ok or too low?
seantang
post Mar 3 2011, 11:48 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Mar 3 2011, 10:48 PM)
Hey guys, wanna ask how much an Accountant with 3 years of post grat Accountant can expect in SG? My cousin got his ACCA back in 2007 and is interested to work in SG.
Depends on where he works and what's the job scope.

Assuming his 3 years of post qualification experience is of good quality, possible jobs would be senior or asst mgr in accounting firms, exec or senior exec in large MNCs or asst mgr in small MNCs/local listed or even controller, mgr in small companies (where he'd probably be the only or one of a handful qualified accountants amongst a bunch of accounting clerks).

One thing though... is he a graduate?

QUOTE(Jurlique)
If he is expecting for $4K would it be ok or too low?
Should be okay, the jobs above would be around $4K. Having said that, some of these jobs would have lots of candidates. Without a quality 3 years experience and a bachelor's degree, it might be hard to get shortlisted for interviews.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 3 2011, 11:56 PM
Shinichi
post Mar 3 2011, 11:55 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 3 2011, 10:27 AM)

QUOTE(cikopek @ Mar 3 2011, 11:24 AM)
Fairprice fruits are quite cheap SGD1.55 for 5 South african apples.
Most of their fruits are quite fresh & have plenty of variety compared to Sheng Shiong
Thanks for the feedback. Really helps me smile.gif
I made most of my grocery purchase at FairPrice too.... just fruits wise i not really compare with others yet...
Jurlique
post Mar 4 2011, 12:03 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 3 2011, 11:48 PM)
One thing though... is he a graduate?
I see. Thanks for the feedback. Yes, he has fully completed his ACCA and now a graduate.

126 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:41 AM