Asus A | U | N series combined thread V3

SUSgogo2
post Nov 18 2010, 09:45 AM, updated 15y ago

gogo2
18,672 posts

Optimus tutorial (please update your graphic card driver at least version 258.96 for this to work):

If above tutorial still not work, right click on wallpaper. Select NVIDIA Control Panel.
In Manage 3D Settings, go to Global Settings --> Preferred graphics processor: --> select High-performance NVIDIA processor --> click Apply

******To run SC2 ultra high, need to upgrade to 4gb RAM . Applicable to NVidia 335m gfx and above*******
Important notice: If your pirated games is not running, it means your game got problem (not updated). Not laptop problem.

First thing to do when get your laptop:

Important links:

Temperature:

Overclock result using SetFSB with setting = ICS9LPRS365BGLF by lee_what2004 :

Specification of old models (please PM me if you want me to update to newer model tongue.gif):

Problem and solution:

Speeding up boot time by lee_what2004:

This post has been edited by gogo2: Nov 18 2010, 09:48 AM
eugenechiuu
post Nov 18 2010, 09:48 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

V3 and still going strong!
budingyun
post Nov 18 2010, 10:18 AM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

new thread.. happy.gif
bananalow
post Nov 18 2010, 04:58 PM

1,547 posts

yea ~~ asus users keep growing ~~ too hot ~~ lol~~
astria
post Nov 18 2010, 05:54 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

reporting in...

although sometimes i feel like i belong to the ROG thread instead... laugh.gif
AlexLai
post Nov 18 2010, 06:31 PM

5,531 posts

Sweet... V3 already.

Astria, you getting a G series soon then? brows.gif
astria
post Nov 18 2010, 06:35 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Nov 18 2010, 06:31 PM)
Sweet... V3 already.

Astria, you getting a G series soon then? brows.gif
well, that's my wish, but currently focusing on new phone, since my N81Vp is still serving me well nod.gif
eugenechiuu
post Nov 18 2010, 08:05 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Desire HD? xD
astria
post Nov 18 2010, 08:07 PM

22,158 posts

yup, as my sig shows... laugh.gif have been a fan of HTC since owning Hero... would ve been perfect if it uses AMOLED instead and has better battery life...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 18 2010, 08:13 PM
sirlordwanz
post Nov 18 2010, 09:49 PM

437 posts

a42jv user here. smile.gif new thread. smile.gif
tedisgodlike
post Nov 18 2010, 10:21 PM

582 posts

a42ja any review?
eugenechiuu
post Nov 18 2010, 11:07 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Nov 18 2010, 10:21 PM)
a42ja any review?
You could consult RedDevils88 (his gf uses A42Ja) or Amal... Frequent forummer in this thread also..
mekboyz
post Nov 18 2010, 11:46 PM

438 posts

Guys does the A42ja come with an i5 proc? I heard that the i7 will heat up quickly and is actually slower than the i5 when it comes to games
lee_what2004
post Nov 18 2010, 11:59 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

No i5 A42Ja in MY...
mekboyz
post Nov 19 2010, 01:22 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 18 2010, 11:59 PM)
No i5 A42Ja in MY...
Damn sad.gif Btw what do you guys think is the average lifespan for the a42ja? In terms of using it for games being released in the years to come
lee_what2004
post Nov 19 2010, 01:24 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

2 years maybe, with some reduced settings...
Depends on what settings you want to play...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 19 2010, 01:25 AM
marasista
post Nov 19 2010, 03:37 PM

255 posts

can i ask why majority of asus notebook is with 2gb ddr3?
Any good notebook from asus with i5 and 4gb ddr3 with the screen size of >15"
lee_what2004
post Nov 19 2010, 03:43 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, ram can always upgrade yourself, it isn't that hard....
Asus 15'' with i5 basically means A52J series...
budingyun
post Nov 19 2010, 06:15 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(marasista @ Nov 19 2010, 03:37 PM)
can i ask why majority of asus notebook is with 2gb ddr3?
Any good notebook from asus with i5 and 4gb ddr3 with the screen size of >15"
because 2GB RAM is more then enough for average user biggrin.gif
you can always upgrade RAM and HDD by yourself laugh.gif
eugenechiuu
post Nov 19 2010, 10:21 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Any websites with easy and straight forward guide for overclocking?

I just installed darksiders on my lappie and somehow the performance is much worse than 3820tg as compared on the timeline thread.. I get as low as 25fps sometimes on 1366*768 on gt335m while 5650 gets 35-40 at worst.. Need more ppl to clarify this for me?..
lee_what2004
post Nov 19 2010, 10:29 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^
http://www.overclock.net/nvidia/592691-tur...ocking-faq.html
eugenechiuu
post Nov 19 2010, 11:27 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Oo thx.. There's no need to overclock CPU right?

Btw, does overclocking the GPU decrease the battery life a lot?
lee_what2004
post Nov 19 2010, 11:36 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Don't overclock CPU, it makes games slower, for reason, I don't know....

Well, more power would be needed, so shorter battery life..
But you wouldn't be overclocking it on battery, right ?
eugenechiuu
post Nov 20 2010, 12:23 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Hmm.. I am confused now.. So overclocking is a temporary thing that disappears after you restart ur computer or what? If so, whenever I wanna play games, I will have to overclock it again?
lee_what2004
post Nov 20 2010, 12:30 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Its a temporary thing since we are just using software to overclock, not BIOS-flashing...

You can make it overclock when you want to play and then reset it to default after done playing..
eugenechiuu
post Nov 20 2010, 01:11 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Ok trying out the guide u gave me now... So if next time when I know the max overclocking setting for my GPU, I can directly slide it to the desired clock speed?
lee_what2004
post Nov 20 2010, 01:13 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Yup...
and keep track the temperature...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 20 2010, 01:14 AM
eugenechiuu
post Nov 20 2010, 01:17 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

is the benchmark test really needed? Cause I dun have those demo games and I just found out crysis demo takes like 1.8gb already ><... I have games like NFS Shift n Darksiders though...
lee_what2004
post Nov 20 2010, 01:20 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, not really needed, it just to give quick review on the performance improvement since they are playing in fixed settings...
eugenechiuu
post Nov 20 2010, 01:24 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Thanksss.. sorry another last question.. Should I overclock memory clock? The guide doesn't say anything about it but I remember in the last thread Kizwan overclocked his..
lee_what2004
post Nov 20 2010, 01:27 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Yup, overclock both the Core and Memory, but do it once at a time to find each maximum clocks...
Then test at both at max and see whether its stable or not, if not, then try lower either one of it..
Core would give more performance and heat compare to memory...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 20 2010, 01:29 AM
eugenechiuu
post Nov 20 2010, 03:36 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Ok i just OC'ed the GPU to 600/850/1440... BUT FPS of my games dropped ><... Tested both NFS shift and Darksiders... Shift used to be at 27-28 but dropped to 20-22... Darksiders normal FPS around 40-50 but now around 30 only and when fighting dropped till below 20 while before OC"ed the worst would be 25 only...

What would be the problem here? ><

EDITTED: I think I know what's the problem already.. It kinda crashed already when I used those settings, and it restricted my GPU clock speed... I did the whole thing again and OC'ed to 550/800/1200... Above that crashes, I lazy test again since it's good enough for my games haha...

Now can play NFS Shift on 1366x768 AAx2 and Highest details around 30-40 FPS.... Happy now hahah

Oh and maximum temperature increased by 3-4 degrees... Same goes for idle temp...

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Nov 20 2010, 05:36 AM
Amal
post Nov 20 2010, 10:40 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Nov 20 2010, 03:36 AM)
Ok i just OC'ed the GPU to 600/850/1440... BUT FPS of my games dropped ><... Tested both NFS shift and Darksiders... Shift used to be at 27-28 but dropped to 20-22... Darksiders normal FPS around 40-50 but now around 30 only and when fighting dropped till below 20 while before OC"ed the worst would be 25 only...

What would be the problem here? ><

EDITTED: I think I know what's the problem already.. It kinda crashed already when I used those settings, and it restricted my GPU clock speed... I did the whole thing again and OC'ed to 550/800/1200... Above that crashes, I lazy test again since it's good enough for my games haha...

Now can play NFS Shift on 1366x768 AAx2 and Highest details around 30-40 FPS.... Happy now hahah

Oh and maximum temperature increased by 3-4  degrees... Same goes for idle temp...
I thought 5650 can OC'ed to 5730 clock?
Have you tried Core 650 with RAM 800(not 850)?
lee_what2004
post Nov 20 2010, 10:51 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

He''s using GT335M.....
eugenechiuu
post Nov 20 2010, 10:53 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Amal @ Nov 20 2010, 10:40 AM)
I thought 5650 can OC'ed to 5730 clock?
Have you tried Core 650 with RAM 800(not 850)?
A42Jv is GT335M haha

Added on November 20, 2010, 10:57 am
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 20 2010, 10:51 AM)
He''s using GT335M.....
I just saw the picture of your OC last time.. How did u manage to get it so high!?

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Nov 20 2010, 10:57 AM
Amal
post Nov 20 2010, 10:59 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Nov 20 2010, 10:53 AM)
A42Jv is GT335M haha

oops... totally wrong GC... hahaha tongue.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 20 2010, 11:02 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Nov 20 2010, 10:53 AM)

Added on November 20, 2010, 10:57 am
I just saw the picture of your OC last time.. How did u manage to get it so high!?
Because each card got different threshold, not all are the same...
eugenechiuu
post Nov 20 2010, 11:07 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 20 2010, 11:02 AM)
Because each card got different threshold, not all are the same...
Damn, I see. Let me try increase it a bit more again.. I wanna try playing Darksiders on 1920x1080 haha..
mekboyz
post Nov 20 2010, 03:00 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 19 2010, 03:43 PM)
Well, ram can always upgrade yourself, it isn't that hard....
Asus 15'' with i5 basically means A52J series...
Wanted to get this, but the A42ja gpu is much superior. Damn hope asus makes a A52JA model soon
marasista
post Nov 20 2010, 04:48 PM

255 posts

wanna know whether is there any shop that sells asus laptop except for PcDepot in ipoh .
eugenechiuu
post Nov 20 2010, 10:04 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Nov 20 2010, 03:00 PM)
Wanted to get this, but the A42ja gpu is much superior. Damn hope asus makes a A52JA model soon
I rmb Asus malaysia wanna bring in A52Jv during 4th quarter but have not happened yet LOL
lee_what2004
post Nov 21 2010, 12:24 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

They said there will be no A52Jv..
eugenechiuu
post Nov 21 2010, 12:52 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Oic.. So not gonna happen.. Anyways... Is it normal for my CPU temperature to be higher after I OC'ed my GPU? And on the other hand the max temp of the GPU is the same...
lee_what2004
post Nov 21 2010, 12:53 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, they share the same heatpipe, so it might affect CPU temp as well..
RedDevils88
post Nov 21 2010, 04:48 AM

3,244 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Nov 18 2010, 10:21 PM)
a42ja any review?
a42ja is not bad.. my gf's laptop can play sc2 at a better FPS than my a42jv.
vedderis
post Nov 21 2010, 12:10 PM

70 posts

jus wana ask for a42jv user,is 260.99 driver got problem when play some game?koz mine got crash in several game like pes 2011 and sniper ghost warrior..
mekboyz
post Nov 21 2010, 01:09 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Nov 21 2010, 04:48 AM)
a42ja is not bad.. my gf's laptop can play sc2 at a better FPS than my a42jv.
Have to la..The A has hd5730 while V is only 335M. It would be weird if it didnt. Btw so your satisfied with the laptop? Because im planning to buy the a42ja soon. But cannot find it in digital mall pj rclxub.gif
CzarXVII
post Nov 21 2010, 08:05 PM

394 posts

Just want to ask something..My dad just bought a new Eee PC 1015 PEM(dual-core) last month..
but the problem is when I'm charging it...when the charge reach 96%, it shows (plugged in, not charging)..any clues?? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by CzarXVII: Nov 21 2010, 08:07 PM
eugenechiuu
post Nov 21 2010, 11:57 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(CzarXVII @ Nov 21 2010, 08:05 PM)
Just want to ask something..My dad just bought a new Eee PC 1015 PEM(dual-core) last month..
but the problem is when I'm charging it...when the charge reach 96%, it shows (plugged in, not charging)..any clues?? rclxub.gif
Yup it's normal... Discharge and charge back would be fine..
astria
post Nov 21 2010, 11:59 PM

22,158 posts

so is my N81Vp...

stuck at 95%...

that's becuz it already reach it's rated max charge, although there's still more room to charge...
lee_what2004
post Nov 22 2010, 12:10 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Seems like finally got something to fight Y460...
Asus U41Jf, i5 460M + nVidia GT425M/Optimus, 5800mAh 14.4V / 83Wh@RM2999

and there's N43Jq with GT435M@RM4099...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 22 2010, 01:53 AM
eugenechiuu
post Nov 22 2010, 02:12 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 22 2010, 12:10 AM)

and there's N43Jq with GT435M@RM4099...
OMG!!! I have a feeling U41Jf gonna be a hot seller.... Good battery life and GT425M! 4820TG contender also lol
lee_what2004
post Nov 22 2010, 02:15 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

The only thing I wonder is why would the speaker located at the front middle sweat.gif

eugenechiuu
post Nov 22 2010, 06:15 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

is that some kind of mini woofer thing? lol
lee_what2004
post Nov 22 2010, 06:35 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Didn't see any mentioned subwoofer in Asus website...
mimi89
post Nov 22 2010, 06:45 AM

122 posts

so there are 2 colours for new model U41JF?

astria
post Nov 22 2010, 08:21 AM

22,158 posts

U80 successor???
lee_what2004
post Nov 22 2010, 08:25 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

UL80 you mean?
CzarXVII
post Nov 22 2010, 02:21 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Nov 21 2010, 11:57 PM)
Yup it's normal... Discharge and charge back would be fine..
thx..I will give a try..smile.gif

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 22 2010, 12:10 AM)
U41JF battery > or < or = than Acer 4820TG??
lee_what2004
post Nov 22 2010, 02:22 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Battery capacity wise > 4820TG...
Power consumption wise, need to see whether its like A42Jv's Optimus (12-14W) or U35Jc's Optimus (7-8W)
RedDevils88
post Nov 22 2010, 05:56 PM

3,244 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Nov 21 2010, 01:09 PM)
Have to la..The A has hd5730 while V is only 335M. It would be weird if it didnt. Btw so your satisfied with the laptop? Because im planning to buy the a42ja soon. But cannot find it in digital mall pj  rclxub.gif
yes. but slightly more expensive compared to mine a42jv.
CzarXVII
post Nov 22 2010, 07:27 PM

394 posts

Seem U41JF will be alternative for 4820TG..nice..nice.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by CzarXVII: Nov 22 2010, 07:28 PM
eugenechiuu
post Nov 22 2010, 08:23 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Since it's u series, I guess it should be optimised to have similar power usage as u45jc?
lee_what2004
post Nov 22 2010, 08:25 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Hopefully laugh.gif
eugenechiuu
post Nov 22 2010, 09:11 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

according to asus website for U41Jf,

Battery Boost means you don't compromise on all-day computing

As an urban professional constantly on the move, having a notebook that can keep up with you is of absolute importance. That’s why the U41 features not one, but two energy-optimizing technologies that work together to ensure that the notebook stays running for an incredible 10 hours! Super Hybrid Engine's 'Battery saving' mode intelligently reduce power consumption based on usage, while NVIDIA® Optimus™ technology auto-switches between the dedicated GeForce GT425M and integrated GPU to suit the intensity of the graphics being rendered—making sure that not an ounce of energy is wasted and the U41 remains cooler to use!
*Mobile Mark 2007 reader mode @ Super Hybrid Engine Battery Saving mode with 8cell 5600mAh battery , WLAN/BT turn off.
sugebleach
post Nov 23 2010, 06:46 PM

501 posts

when will it reach malaysia?
ScivanShimitar
post Nov 23 2010, 08:17 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(marasista @ Nov 20 2010, 04:48 PM)
wanna know whether is there any shop that sells asus laptop except for PcDepot in ipoh .
I think i saw some of the shop at Yik Foong plaza selling asus laptop
dante10
post Nov 24 2010, 04:35 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(sugebleach @ Nov 23 2010, 06:46 PM)
when will it reach malaysia?
saw it already in c-zone latest notebook price list
sugebleach
post Nov 24 2010, 11:07 AM

501 posts

icic hope there will b 13" come out as well.

is the keyboard same as U45JC? I feel tat U35 and U45 models' keyboard are not tat solid.
astria
post Nov 24 2010, 11:17 AM

22,158 posts

cuz they need to cut the weight...
td00164306
post Nov 24 2010, 03:32 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(dante10 @ Nov 24 2010, 04:35 AM)
saw it already in c-zone latest notebook price list
Is it out in c-zone already? How come I could find it on the price list? How much are they selling? Mind to provide the link? I found in hardwarezone pricelist, updated on 16-Nov still dun have
dante10
post Nov 24 2010, 05:35 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(td00164306 @ Nov 24 2010, 03:32 PM)
Is it out in c-zone already? How come I could find it on the price list? How much are they selling? Mind to provide the link? I found in hardwarezone pricelist, updated on 16-Nov still dun have
yes...at hardwarezone its not updated yet...go to http://www.compu-zone.com at the right side have the latest notebook price list dated 25 nov...they selling it at RM2999

This post has been edited by dante10: Nov 24 2010, 05:38 PM
mimi89
post Nov 24 2010, 07:17 PM

122 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/931928

hikari 85 in this forum already selling
td00164306
post Nov 24 2010, 10:16 PM

287 posts

I hope there is a 15.6 inch version with similar spec and price... LOL
astria
post Nov 24 2010, 10:28 PM

22,158 posts

spec wise there's N53Jq and N53Jf...
yan5619
post Nov 24 2010, 11:24 PM

549 posts

may i ask, generally, does ASUS have better (or at least of high quality)hardware, like it's desktop counterpart (motherboard, graphic cards), compared to other brands, like, Dell?
and what about heat dissipation? is there such this as two heat pipes, one for cpu and another for gpu?
i'm interested in N53JQ and would like to know more bout it, and its quality compared to others.
astria
post Nov 25 2010, 12:02 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(yan5619 @ Nov 24 2010, 11:24 PM)
may i ask, generally, does ASUS have better (or at least of high quality)hardware, like it's desktop counterpart (motherboard, graphic cards), compared to other brands, like, Dell?
and what about heat dissipation? is there such this as two heat pipes, one for cpu and another for gpu?
i'm interested in N53JQ and would like to know more bout it, and its quality compared to others.
all the laptops u see are all made by the few OEMs, period...

both Acer and Asus are made by Foxconn...
erszebeth
post Nov 25 2010, 10:37 AM

259 posts

where else can i find the n43jq model link...?
cant find any other place xcept from the czone site...

even from the asus website itself is not available... uhuh
eugenechiuu
post Nov 25 2010, 11:12 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(erszebeth @ Nov 25 2010, 10:37 AM)
where else can i find the n43jq model link...?
cant find any other place xcept from the czone site...

even from the asus website itself is not available... uhuh
try Singapore or other country's Asus website.. Malaysia's one is not updated as always....
astria
post Nov 25 2010, 11:15 AM

22,158 posts

Singapore only got N43Jf, 460M, SG$1649...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 25 2010, 11:16 AM
yan5619
post Nov 25 2010, 11:27 AM

549 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 25 2010, 12:02 AM)
all the laptops u see are all made by the few OEMs, period...

both Acer and Asus are made by Foxconn...
thank you.
what about hardware design, as in, not aesthetic , but maybe heat pipe and heat dissipation, would one perform better than other?
lee_what2004
post Nov 25 2010, 11:29 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

It might, but depends on specific model, and we won't know how's the design until open it up....
yan5619
post Nov 25 2010, 11:32 AM

549 posts

is there any way i can find the internals from websites, or the user manual? specifically, asus n53
lee_what2004
post Nov 25 2010, 11:35 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Either find someone who have open it and share the picture or find website that sells the service manual for it...
td00164306
post Nov 25 2010, 11:55 AM

287 posts

N53Jq is about RM 1,000 more expensive than U41Jf...

Any brand with laptop that is 15.6 inch and spec like u41jf? I hope there is A52JA =(
lee_what2004
post Nov 25 2010, 12:01 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^Sager NP5135
td00164306
post Nov 25 2010, 01:41 PM

287 posts

How is the build quality of Dell XPS 15? I heard a lot of people saying that Dell has poor quality control...

Still choosing between U41JF, Acer Timeline 4820TG, Dell XPS 15... I prefer to have a cooler laptop...
erszebeth
post Nov 25 2010, 02:28 PM

259 posts

^ why dont u buy the new n43jq dude...? new from asus...
td00164306
post Nov 25 2010, 04:00 PM

287 posts

budget budget budget T_________T

Added on November 25, 2010, 4:00 pmActually I prefer 15 inch laptop

This post has been edited by td00164306: Nov 25 2010, 04:00 PM
lee_what2004
post Nov 25 2010, 04:01 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

As said before, Sager NP5135, around RM3K..
http://www.mucro.asia/index.php?/Mucro-Sag...ger-NP5135.html
dante10
post Nov 25 2010, 11:56 PM

32 posts

Just finished playing COD Black Ops on my a42jv...awesome game..... thumbup.gif
flowz
post Nov 26 2010, 12:54 AM

lee, do u think worth it to spend RM 1250 for RAM, VGA and apparance? So i confuse to choose between
i5 , HDD : 320GB , RAM : 2GB , VGA : 2GB 5730 = RM 2680 (model same as A42J)
i5 , HDD : 500GB , RAM : 4GB , VGA : 1GB 5870 = RM 3930 (model same as GX660)

Need ur advise everyone.. Thankz..

Added on November 26, 2010, 12:55 amlee, do u think worth it to spend RM 1250 for RAM, VGA and apparance? So i confuse to choose between

Added on November 26, 2010, 12:56 amlee, do u think worth it to spend RM 1250 for RAM, VGA and apparance? So i confuse to choose between

This post has been edited by flowz: Nov 26 2010, 12:56 AM
lee_what2004
post Nov 26 2010, 01:05 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Definitely go for HD5870 nod.gif
unless you don't need it for gaming...
flowz
post Nov 26 2010, 01:18 AM

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2010, 01:05 AM)
Thank u lee.. rclxms.gif thumbup.gif I like play games but not hardcore games, just so so games such as the sims etc.. I want to have lasting laptop.. Planning to use more than 2 years.. So, u think worth to spend RM 1250 more for those things, right? Thankz..
astria
post Nov 26 2010, 01:19 AM

22,158 posts

depends on ur monitor resolution also..

1366x768, HD5730 is more than enuf...
lee_what2004
post Nov 26 2010, 01:19 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

For The Sims, the HD5730 would be enough for now...
The HD5870 should last you long enough laugh.gif
flowz
post Nov 26 2010, 01:32 AM

sorrie, double post..

This post has been edited by flowz: Nov 26 2010, 10:34 AM
dante10
post Nov 26 2010, 12:21 PM

32 posts

new model?...a42jY, a42jZ...saw them listed when i want to download driver at asus website.. i also saw the k42jP and k42jY but no k42jZ..look like the P and Y got new graphic from amd 6000 series..wonder how powerful they are.. flex.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 26 2010, 12:23 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Later on, every single alphabet will be out laugh.gif
astria
post Nov 26 2010, 12:24 PM

22,158 posts

spare a thought for someone still using HD4000 here...
dante10
post Nov 26 2010, 12:31 PM

32 posts

looks like the a42jP got better GC than a42jY maybe...considering the naming..6470 ~~5470..huhu..by the way..the 6570 got 2g vram..same as 5730 on a42jA blink.gif
astria
post Nov 26 2010, 12:33 PM

22,158 posts

amount of VRAM means nothing if it's only a mainstream or value GPU...

take HD5730 for eg, even 512MB is more than enuf for it...
lee_what2004
post Nov 26 2010, 12:36 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Since HD6550 should be replacing HD5650, the HD6570 should be on HD5730 level....
dante10
post Nov 26 2010, 12:38 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 26 2010, 12:33 PM)
amount of VRAM means nothing if it's only a mainstream or value GPU...

take HD5730 for eg, even 512MB is more than enuf for it...
agreed...i think 1g vram on my gt335m never fully utilized hmm.gif
td00164306
post Nov 26 2010, 01:43 PM

287 posts

omg when are those new gc coming out? I am planning to buy laptop, if they are coming anytime soon, then I guess I would just wait...
erszebeth
post Nov 26 2010, 02:21 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2010, 01:05 AM)
mind telling me which asus model comes with that 5870...? cant find any model with gx660... is it the gaming series...? but the price looks, affordable...
lee_what2004
post Nov 26 2010, 02:29 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Asus with HD5870 is Asus G73Jh...

The GX660 is MSI...
flowz
post Nov 26 2010, 08:00 PM

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 26 2010, 01:19 AM)
depends on ur monitor resolution also..

1366x768, HD5730 is more than enuf...
Thank u for ur respond.. The size is 14" for 5730. Hehe.. Yeah.. Considering lee's advise for now but later if i change my mind will bother u guys again.. Wkwkw..

Added on November 26, 2010, 8:01 pm
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2010, 01:19 AM)
For The Sims, the HD5730 would be enough for now...
The HD5870 should last you long enough laugh.gif
Yeah, thinking to take 5870.. Thank u lee..

Added on November 26, 2010, 8:10 pm
QUOTE(erszebeth @ Nov 26 2010, 02:21 PM)
mind telling me which asus model comes with that 5870...? cant find any model with gx660... is it the gaming series...? but the price looks, affordable...
Yeah as lee said asus with 5870 is G73JH. But have 17,3".
Or u can consider G53JW 15.6" has 1,5GB GTX 460M..

This post has been edited by flowz: Nov 26 2010, 08:12 PM
astria
post Nov 26 2010, 11:23 PM

22,158 posts

G73Jh sort of replaced by G73Jw already...
tech_frix
post Nov 27 2010, 05:30 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

new owner of A42JC...
but today planning to change to Acer 4741G..yes!
eugenechiuu
post Nov 27 2010, 09:22 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Nov 27 2010, 05:30 AM)
new owner of A42JC...
but today planning to change to Acer 4741G..yes!
Why not 4820TG??
tech_frix
post Nov 27 2010, 11:09 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

how much for that bro?

Added on November 27, 2010, 11:11 amhow much for that bro?

This post has been edited by tech_frix: Nov 27 2010, 11:11 AM
tedisgodlike
post Nov 27 2010, 11:23 AM

582 posts

around 2.5k
tech_frix
post Nov 27 2010, 11:57 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

whats d spec?using mobile now n cant surf smoothly.thanks.
lee_what2004
post Nov 27 2010, 11:59 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

i5 460M + ATi HD5650/GMA HD@RM2599....
tech_frix
post Nov 27 2010, 01:35 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

damn nice price.will go to evernew later.
so ati is better than nv for lappy is it?
lee_what2004
post Nov 27 2010, 01:50 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Nope, depends on model...
Andrew Lim
post Nov 27 2010, 03:33 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Today got a shock when my A42Jv could not power on. Only the first "Bulb" LED below the keyboard and touchpad turned on. After panicking a bit I turned off the main switch, unplugged, replugged, turned on the main switch, waited 3-4 seconds then pressed the "Power" button. Luckily this time it turned on completely.

Maybe the first time I pressed the Power button too early. I noticed the A42Jv "Power" key sometimes won't respond if you turn on the power adapter then quickly press the "Power" key.
ph0bic
post Nov 27 2010, 07:18 PM

70 posts

guys..i think the realtek driver is kinda crappy..always give me stutter..so is there other way to install other sound driver?
budingyun
post Nov 27 2010, 07:42 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

what crappy?

need for speed hot pursuit 2010 fun laugh.gif
dante10
post Nov 27 2010, 08:12 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(budingyun @ Nov 27 2010, 07:42 PM)
what crappy?

need for speed hot pursuit 2010 fun  laugh.gif
Yes it if fun..you should try COD Black Ops too.. thumbup.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 27 2010, 09:14 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(ph0bic @ Nov 27 2010, 07:18 PM)
guys..i think the realtek driver is kinda crappy..always give me stutter..so is there other way to install other sound driver?
Uninstall the realtek and just use windows default driver ?
ph0bic
post Nov 27 2010, 09:32 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 27 2010, 10:14 PM)
Uninstall the realtek and just use windows default driver ?
ok...then can u tell me how to?
cuz i'm a noob here... sweat.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 27 2010, 09:34 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Uninstall the realtek from add/remove programs
then go to device manager, check under sound, if still got realtek then uninstall and tick the delete the driver..
then restart and let windows to install it owns driver...
tkhoo
post Nov 27 2010, 09:40 PM

700 posts

Hi, may I know how good A42JE model? Thanks.
budingyun
post Nov 27 2010, 09:43 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(dante10 @ Nov 27 2010, 08:12 PM)
Yes it if fun..you should try COD Black Ops too.. thumbup.gif
only got

- battlefield bad company 2
- cod modern warfare 2
- medal of honor 2010
- starcraft 2
- need for speed hot pursuit 2010

right now laugh.gif

Added on November 27, 2010, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(tkhoo @ Nov 27 2010, 09:40 PM)
Hi, may I know how good A42JE model? Thanks.
how good about what?

This post has been edited by budingyun: Nov 27 2010, 09:43 PM
xPC12x
post Nov 27 2010, 10:14 PM

366 posts

why my CPU temperature very high?
always running on 70°C, it's normal temperature?

p/s: I use AMD Athlon II P320.
astria
post Nov 27 2010, 10:20 PM

22,158 posts

idle or load?
xPC12x
post Nov 27 2010, 10:29 PM

366 posts

Load sir.
it's normal temperature?
tkhoo
post Nov 27 2010, 10:31 PM

700 posts

Added on November 27, 2010, 9:43 pm

how good about what?

[/quote]

is this model stable and not much problem/ complain?

This post has been edited by tkhoo: Nov 27 2010, 10:50 PM
astria
post Nov 27 2010, 10:32 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(xPC12x @ Nov 27 2010, 10:29 PM)
Load sir.
it's normal temperature?
load temp is quite ok...
kevyeoh
post Nov 28 2010, 10:22 AM

4,717 posts

hi all experts out there,

i have a question here. I connect my U45JC to my external LCD TV 32in....
my setting is instead of duplicate display, i just put the display on my 32in LCD TV....

the problem is, when i try to play DOTA, i was told that i do not have the latest driver for directX, i presume that this is the driver for LCD TV only because once i unplug the HDMI connection from LCD TV and revert back to my laptop display, the game can play smoothly back...

so how do i install the driver for my LCD TV?
Thanks!!!

astria
post Nov 28 2010, 11:03 AM

22,158 posts

there is no driver for displays...

DirectX is the language used for drawing graphic in games... u can update it from Microsoft website...
budingyun
post Nov 28 2010, 11:13 AM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

http://download.microsoft.com/download/8/4...2010_redist.exe

latest DirectX june 2010 smile.gif
kevyeoh
post Nov 28 2010, 12:10 PM

4,717 posts

no no..the thing is it works when i play on my laptop...
but when i connect to LCD TV, it doesn't work...

means my directX for my laptop monitor is up to date..

but seems like the directX driver for my LCD TV is not up to date.. is this possible?
astria
post Nov 28 2010, 12:17 PM

22,158 posts

Direct X is not a driver... it's a library of files within Windows which is needed to draw the graphic in games...

u problem sounds more like driver of the GPU itself or resolution... ve u tried update the GPU driver?
ivan8671
post Nov 28 2010, 01:10 PM

Asus U41Jf ,A42JA or A42JC which one is worth to buy?i heard some ppl said that A42 series have the issue with the specker,is that true?
lee_what2004
post Nov 28 2010, 01:11 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

A42Ja for power
U41Jf for balanced power + battery life...

Issue with speaker? rather soft, perhaps...
ivan8671
post Nov 28 2010, 01:20 PM

So any recommend Asus Laptop to me?Just for Gaming,movie n battery life...Thanks in advance smile.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 28 2010, 01:21 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

U41Jf then...
mekboyz
post Nov 28 2010, 01:26 PM

438 posts

I still haven't bought the A42ja yet.. Waiting for December. Hopefully digital mall pj has it since its the nearest authorized dealer for me lulz
bananalow
post Nov 28 2010, 01:32 PM

1,547 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Nov 28 2010, 01:26 PM)
I still haven't bought the A42ja yet.. Waiting for December. Hopefully digital mall pj has it since its the nearest authorized dealer for me lulz
why dun try garage sell? tongue.gif
ivan8671
post Nov 28 2010, 01:38 PM

where can i find the spec of U41JF? smile.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 28 2010, 01:40 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=931928
evazym79
post Nov 28 2010, 01:59 PM

15 posts

BATTERY LIFE - http://forums.cnet.com/7723-7587_102-334505.html

I notice that when i plug in a/c to my asus,
the battery state is [plugged in not charging] does our asus made a circuit that will not harm our batt. when we use a/c ??
sometime in my condition its kind of frustrating when i do rendering and suddenly got blackout. so i plugin my batt as a ups and backup.

so anyone agree that our asus made a circuit that will prevent our laptop batt even we plugin the a/c ??

thx.. =]
astria
post Nov 28 2010, 02:11 PM

22,158 posts

it's more like, the actual capacity of the battery is more than the rated capacity...

like for my battery, rated at 4800mAh, but it's max capacity is 5200mAh, so it stops charging at 95%...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 28 2010, 02:11 PM
mekboyz
post Nov 28 2010, 02:26 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(bananalow @ Nov 28 2010, 01:32 PM)
why dun try garage sell?  tongue.gif
I could.. But i feel safer buying from an authorized dealer since this is quite an expensive purchase
bananalow
post Nov 28 2010, 02:28 PM

1,547 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Nov 28 2010, 02:26 PM)
I could.. But i feel safer buying from an authorized dealer since this is quite an expensive purchase
oh i see ~~~ actually u can find a lot reputable dealer in garage sell ~~ u may refer to Hikari , my laptop 4k buy from her ~~ haha ~~ ^^
-Franc-
post Nov 28 2010, 08:40 PM

544 posts

hye guys
im just bought my A42JE - VX118
any "Must Do" things for it?

tongue.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 28 2010, 08:42 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Start uninstalling bloatware ?
-Franc-
post Nov 28 2010, 08:45 PM

544 posts

exactly!
im doing it right now
just dont know what else i must do for it
lee_what2004
post Nov 28 2010, 08:45 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

check for dead pixel ?
-Franc-
post Nov 28 2010, 08:48 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 28 2010, 08:45 PM)
check for dead pixel ?
check!
every pixels in nice condition so far....
lee_what2004
post Nov 28 2010, 08:51 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Burn recovery disc,...

or if want, run intel burn test + furmark at the same time for 5-10 minutes, see got overheating or not laugh.gif
-Franc-
post Nov 28 2010, 09:05 PM

544 posts

err...can i skip the intel burn test? sweat.gif

and do i really have to burn recovery disc?
i just cancel the pop up tongue.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 28 2010, 09:06 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

I did said if want

If you didn't burn it, later on can not restore the windows if got problem...
-Franc-
post Nov 28 2010, 09:16 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 28 2010, 09:06 PM)
I did said if want

If you didn't burn it, later on can not restore the windows if got problem...
i see...
ok then, i'll burn it
but where can i find that "recovery disc" option back?
eugenechiuu
post Nov 28 2010, 10:45 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Click on the AI Recovery Burner and click burn?
lee_what2004
post Nov 29 2010, 01:08 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

http://notebookitalia.it/asus-u31-intel-co...ce-gt-415m-9943
Seems like U31 will be weaker than U41...
eugenechiuu
post Nov 29 2010, 01:14 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 29 2010, 01:08 AM)
Nothing beats 3820TG yet then around 3k...

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Nov 29 2010, 01:14 AM
ronn77
post Nov 29 2010, 07:47 AM

2,508 posts

well bros, I just got myself an "Asus A42JC" and free upgraded RAM to 4GB. It costs me RM2599. Does it worth the price and any comment on the specs? Beginning hunt for Acer Timeline series but ended with this one as feel this brand is more reliable.

Appreciate your gurus input soon smile.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 29 2010, 10:04 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Nov 29 2010, 01:14 AM)
Nothing beats 3820TG yet then around 3k...
Even if more than 3K, still no 13'' can win 3820TG's GPU laugh.gif

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 29 2010, 07:47 AM)
well bros, I just got myself an "Asus A42JC" and free upgraded RAM to 4GB. It costs me RM2599. Does it worth the price and any comment on the specs? Beginning hunt for Acer Timeline series but ended with this one as feel this brand is more reliable.

Appreciate your gurus input soon smile.gif
Pretty much that the only spec you can get if restricted to Asus brand within that budget..
ronn77
post Nov 29 2010, 10:49 AM

2,508 posts

From this forum it seems I can't find anyone talking about this model "A42JC". Is it rename as something else or not a popular model? But for me the specs looks fine to me.
SUSgogo2
post Nov 29 2010, 10:49 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

after I bought Acer Happy Aspire One netbook, I seldom use A42JV....ffffffuuuuuuuuuu
lee_what2004
post Nov 29 2010, 10:50 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 29 2010, 10:49 AM)
From this forum it seems I can't find anyone talking about this model "A42JC". Is it rename as something else or not a popular model? But for me the specs looks fine to me.
Its not renamed...
It just that Acer TimelineX has more attractive specs...
The popular model used to be Asus A42Jv...

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 29 2010, 10:49 AM)
after I bought Acer Happy Aspire One netbook, I seldom use A42JV....ffffffuuuuuuuuuu
lol!

Because of the weight? or battery life? or ?

Added on November 29, 2010, 10:56 amNew Asus N53SV coming?
http://www.oyyy.co.uk/product.php/131960/i...-7-home-premium

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 29 2010, 10:57 AM
budingyun
post Nov 29 2010, 11:32 AM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 29 2010, 01:08 AM)
is that 3 hole in the front is speaker?
ronn77
post Nov 29 2010, 11:39 AM

2,508 posts

From the A42JC and Timeline series, the difference is only the GC where Timeline using ATI and 42JC is on Nvidia M310. Apart from that, the HDD for Timeline is slightly bigger (640GB vs 500GB). The rest looks the same to me so how do we conclude that Timeline series looks attractive compared to this one?
iBuy
post Nov 29 2010, 11:39 AM

Hi all SIFUs,

I'm having problem formatting my Asus A42JC.
help needed here..
i formatted the laptop to Windows 7 32 bit and I KEEP the ASUS RECOVERY PARTITION.

Unfortunately, after installing Windows 7 files and setup.....it just couldn enter the windows and keep on booting to the windows setup screen..

I'm wondering if anyone of you face this problem before and can share some solution to me plssss.....

NOTE:
1. I have tried to format 3 times and the same problem occur (KEEP RESTARTING)
2. I end up trying to recover the Windows using ASUS DEFAULT RECOVERY and I CAN ABLE TO USE THE WINDOWS BUT I NEED A 32 BIT WINDOWS.

lee_what2004
post Nov 29 2010, 11:48 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(budingyun @ Nov 29 2010, 11:32 AM)
is that 3 hole in the front is speaker?
I think only the left and right is speaker, the center could just be hole for air to come in...

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 29 2010, 11:39 AM)
From the A42JC and Timeline series, the difference is only the GC where Timeline using ATI and 42JC is on Nvidia M310. Apart from that, the HDD for Timeline is slightly bigger (640GB vs 500GB). The rest looks the same to me so how do we conclude that Timeline series looks attractive compared to this one?
The ATi card is much more powerful than nVidia 310M (equivalent is HD5470) and the TimelineX is using HD5650..
and also TimelineX has switchable GPU and larger battery capacity as well, can reach 6 hours+ light usage battery life...

QUOTE(iBuy @ Nov 29 2010, 11:39 AM)
Hi all SIFUs,

I'm having problem formatting my Asus A42JC.
help needed here..
i formatted the laptop to Windows 7 32 bit and I KEEP the ASUS RECOVERY PARTITION.

Unfortunately, after installing Windows 7 files and setup.....it just couldn enter the windows and keep on booting to the windows setup screen..

I'm wondering if anyone of you face this problem before and can share some solution to me plssss.....

NOTE:
1. I have tried to format 3 times and the same problem occur (KEEP RESTARTING)
2. I end up trying to recover the Windows using ASUS DEFAULT RECOVERY and I CAN ABLE TO USE THE WINDOWS BUT I NEED A 32 BIT WINDOWS.
After you install Win 7 and it ask to restart, enter the BIOS, change the boot sequence to HDD at 1st instead of dvd drive...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 29 2010, 11:52 AM
astria
post Nov 29 2010, 11:50 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 29 2010, 11:39 AM)
HD5650 is at least 2 times better than GeForce 310M, thus a better option for gaming...

also TimelineX's selling pt is battery life... up to 8hrs of battery life is unrivaled at the same price... Asus' closest (in hardware and battery) is the yet-to-be-launched U41Jf, rm2999...

so overall, TimelineX is the winner...
ronn77
post Nov 29 2010, 11:53 AM

2,508 posts

Ok guys, I think I got what you mean. If that's the case then I still think my preference still the right one as I already got 2 bad experience owning Acer laptop (HDD issue, CD Rom dead, overheating).
iBuy
post Nov 29 2010, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 29 2010, 11:48 AM)
I think only the left and right is speaker, the center could just be hole for air to come in...
The ATi card is much more powerful than nVidia 310M (equivalent is HD5470) and the TimelineX is using HD5650..
and also TimelineX has switchable GPU and larger battery capacity as well, can reach 6 hours+ light usage battery life...
After you install Win 7 and it ask to restart, enter the BIOS, change the boot sequence to HDD at 1st instead of dvd drive...
I undertstand what you mean bro and sorry for the confusing.
I didnt press any key to boot into the CD.

I just let the computer to run, and it will reach the Windows wallpaper BUT with GRAY COLOURRR....NO ICONS...
THEN RESTART.

I tot it might be VGA program and i found that BIOS dun have the settings for using which VGA as primary VGA.
SIGHHH................

OR IS IT THE RECOVERY PARTITION EXISTS THAT MAKES THE PROBLEM OCCURS?
lee_what2004
post Nov 29 2010, 12:00 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Do you mean after install the windows, then restart, can you do the registering username/pc name, etc until finish or is that the place when the restart occur ? or the restart occur after done everything and booting into the Windows for the first time ?

and is the windows disc install fine on other computer ?

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 29 2010, 12:02 PM
eugenechiuu
post Nov 29 2010, 12:20 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 29 2010, 10:50 AM)

Added on November 29, 2010, 10:56 amNew Asus N53SV coming?
http://www.oyyy.co.uk/product.php/131960/i...-7-home-premium
what is N12PGS GPU

Added on November 29, 2010, 12:21 pm
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 29 2010, 10:49 AM)
haha how's the performance? I am so tempted to buy a netbook, but still can't find any use for it somehow lol..

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Nov 29 2010, 12:21 PM
lee_what2004
post Nov 29 2010, 12:24 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Seems like GT425M....
toyolirisme
post Nov 29 2010, 03:10 PM

Hai Asus users.. Need some help with the gaming on my 42Jk.. i'm using Ati HD 5470.. when i play any kinda of game like COD or prince of persia or even PES my lappy will hang suddenly.. this happens everytime i play anygame... and then i have to force reboot but pressing the power button for some time.. can anyone try to help me.. is it my power settings.. the settings on the game are default.. need help please... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
astria
post Nov 29 2010, 03:12 PM

22,158 posts

driver updated?
DevTeam
post Nov 29 2010, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 29 2010, 12:00 PM)
Do you mean after install the windows, then restart, can you do the registering username/pc name, etc until finish or is that the place when the restart occur ? or the restart occur after done everything and booting into the Windows for the first time ?

and is the windows disc install fine on other computer ?
I'm also facing such problem with my Asus A42JC and end up using the default OS. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by DevTeam: Nov 29 2010, 05:07 PM
SUSgogo2
post Nov 29 2010, 10:41 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 29 2010, 10:50 AM)
Because of the weight? or battery life? or ?
you got both right.

and size too.

Now I bring it out everyday.

my a42jv is sleeping for more than a week without
power on cry.gif

Added on November 29, 2010, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Nov 29 2010, 12:20 PM)
haha how's the performance? I am so tempted to buy a netbook, but still can't find any use for it somehow lol..
performance is good. Start is fast. I think it start faster
than A42jv. Probably win starter is less loaded.

I think this Acer Aspire One Happy is better performance
due to dual core n550 + 2gb ram.

And I feel that 320gb hardisk is great for storing photo
if we go holiday.

The most important thing is I get to bring this out everyday
and I dun feel the weight....

Can online everywhere... i love it!!!

This post has been edited by gogo2: Nov 29 2010, 10:46 PM
sugebleach
post Nov 30 2010, 11:00 AM

501 posts

I like Asus,
Spec wise seems like acer timelineX is better. But got bad impression about acer.

Any1 encounter problem with acer timelineX?
lee_what2004
post Nov 30 2010, 11:02 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Why ask TimelineX problem on Asus thread sweat.gif
sugebleach
post Nov 30 2010, 11:10 AM

501 posts

haha sry bro not intended to do so.
but since got other forumer using it here so ask here lo.

hope coming U31 model got better spec...
lee_what2004
post Nov 30 2010, 11:11 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

U31 only using GT415M...
~@Sharks@~
post Nov 30 2010, 01:56 PM

498 posts

Hi guys! Really happy with the Asus A42ja. But everytime play game sure accidently click on something because of the mouse pad where i always lay my hands on. Any programs that you guys can introduce for the asus laptop?
budingyun
post Nov 30 2010, 02:01 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Nov 30 2010, 01:56 PM)
Hi guys! Really happy with the Asus A42ja. But everytime play game sure accidently click on something because of the mouse pad where i always lay my hands on. Any programs that you guys can introduce for the asus laptop?
FN + F9 = disable touch pad... laugh.gif

or

control panel --> mouse --> ELAN

tick disable when external usb mouse plug in..

This post has been edited by budingyun: Nov 30 2010, 02:06 PM
AlexLai
post Nov 30 2010, 02:55 PM

5,531 posts

Anyone got a U41F yet? It looks very attractive. If battery life is decent, I might change my A42Jv for it! biggrin.gif
~@Sharks@~
post Nov 30 2010, 03:15 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(budingyun @ Nov 30 2010, 02:01 PM)
FN + F9 = disable touch pad... laugh.gif

or

control panel --> mouse --> ELAN

tick disable when external usb mouse plug in..
thanks bro!
AlexLai
post Nov 30 2010, 03:33 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 29 2010, 11:50 AM)
HD5650 is at least 2 times better than GeForce 310M, thus a better option for gaming...

also TimelineX's selling pt is battery life... up to 8hrs of battery life is unrivaled at the same price... Asus' closest (in hardware and battery) is the yet-to-be-launched U41Jf, rm2999...

so overall, TimelineX is the winner...
Oh it's out already.
lee_what2004
post Nov 30 2010, 03:37 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^apis_jay got the U41Jf...
budingyun
post Nov 30 2010, 04:30 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

tried NFS shift on A42JV..really nice biggrin.gif
kizwan
post Nov 30 2010, 04:53 PM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(evazym79 @ Nov 28 2010, 01:59 PM)
BATTERY LIFE - http://forums.cnet.com/7723-7587_102-334505.html

I notice that when i plug in a/c to my asus,
the battery state is [plugged in not charging] does our asus made a circuit that will not harm our batt. when we use a/c ??
sometime in my condition its kind of frustrating when i do rendering and suddenly got blackout. so i plugin my batt as a ups and backup.

so anyone agree that our asus made a circuit that will prevent our laptop batt even we plugin the a/c ??

thx.. =]
There is an explanation about this behavior in the notebook manual:-
The battery starts charging when the charge remaining in the battery drops below 95%. This prevents the battery from charging frequently. Minimizing the recharge cycles helps prolong the battery life.

Added on November 30, 2010, 5:00 pm
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Nov 28 2010, 10:22 AM)
hi all experts out there,

i have a question here. I connect my U45JC to my external LCD TV 32in....
my setting is instead of duplicate display, i just put the display on my 32in LCD TV....

the problem is, when i try to play DOTA, i was told that i do not have the latest driver for directX, i presume that this is the driver for LCD TV only because once i unplug the HDMI connection from LCD TV and revert back to my laptop display, the game can play smoothly back...

so how do i install the driver for my LCD TV?
Thanks!!!
Maybe DOTA doesn't support dual-monitor. If you want to play DOTA on your external LCD, you need to turned off the internal LCD ("Show desktop only on 2") in the "Screen resolution" control panel.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Nov 30 2010, 05:00 PM
ronn77
post Nov 30 2010, 05:15 PM

2,508 posts

well guys, my units comes with 2 years warranty which is it normal for Asus? As I found many models are only 1 year which the shop guys told me it's a special offer for this model only (A42J). Is the 2 years warranty applicable for all Asus models or only available for selected models?
lee_what2004
post Nov 30 2010, 05:21 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Asus notebook is 2 years by default...
ph0bic
post Nov 30 2010, 08:06 PM

70 posts

ok guys, so after using windows driver also not fixing the lag and stutter...
so i thnk i need to reformat the laptop but i don't have any disc for it..so maybe i can set the laptop back to factory setting...but how?
anyone mind to explain how?
lee_what2004
post Nov 30 2010, 08:07 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Did you burn the recovery disc? can use that to reformat to factory settings..
ph0bic
post Nov 30 2010, 08:11 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 30 2010, 09:07 PM)
Did you burn the recovery disc? can use that to reformat to factory settings..
so i need to burn the recovery disc...thought that i can simply restore it..
because the previous laptop juz few clicks for it.. sweat.gif
eugenechiuu
post Nov 30 2010, 09:15 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 30 2010, 05:15 PM)
well guys, my units comes with 2 years warranty which is it normal for Asus? As I found many models are only 1 year which the shop guys told me it's a special offer for this model only (A42J). Is the 2 years warranty applicable for all Asus models or only available for selected models?
Con job.. Dont buy from that shop
apis_jay
post Dec 1 2010, 07:47 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 30 2010, 03:37 PM)
^apis_jay got the U41Jf...
Yeap. I got from CZone on Monday. So, technically I've join teh club. icon_idea.gif

lee_what2004
post Dec 1 2010, 08:04 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^Tested the battery life ?
AlexLai
post Dec 1 2010, 08:14 AM

5,531 posts

Yes, I want to know the battery life. biggrin.gif

apis_jay
post Dec 1 2010, 09:26 AM

145 posts

Not yet tested because I was about 90% on desktop when at home. tongue.gif

I'll do some test later on.
AlexLai
post Dec 1 2010, 10:34 AM

5,531 posts

Use BatteryEater for it? smile.gif

If it gets more then 3 hours on load, I'm hooked!
budingyun
post Dec 1 2010, 11:54 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Dec 1 2010, 10:34 AM)
Use BatteryEater for it? smile.gif

If it gets more then 3 hours on load, I'm hooked!
a42jv can last how long with battery eater?
eugenechiuu
post Dec 2 2010, 01:19 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(budingyun @ Dec 1 2010, 11:54 PM)
With battery care, power4gear battery saving, can only last 3-4 hour with light web browsing

If YouTube or watch movie, around 1 and half hours only lol

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Dec 2 2010, 01:20 AM
w33wawa
post Dec 2 2010, 01:47 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Dec 2 2010, 01:19 AM)
With battery care, power4gear battery saving, can only last 3-4 hour with light web browsing

If YouTube or watch movie, around 1 and half hours only lol
Same A42JV user here,but with normal usage should be around 2 hour lor....
u open any game den max 1 hour + battery kosong edi ><"

Added on December 2, 2010, 1:57 am
QUOTE(apis_jay @ Dec 1 2010, 09:26 AM)
Not yet tested because I was about 90% on desktop when at home. tongue.gif

I'll do some test later on.
Interested to know how long ur lappy battery can last =p
fast stress test and let us know =)

This post has been edited by w33wawa: Dec 2 2010, 01:57 AM
eugenechiuu
post Dec 2 2010, 02:16 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(w33wawa @ Dec 2 2010, 01:47 AM)
Same A42JV user here,but with normal usage should be around 2 hour lor....
u open any game den max 1 hour + battery kosong edi ><"

Added on December 2, 2010, 1:57 am

Interested to know how long ur lappy battery can last =p
fast stress test and let us know =)
Haha yea what I meant was non stop YouTube.. If a few videos and web browsing definitely can 2 hours+ lar..
superb88
post Dec 2 2010, 02:49 AM

170 posts

I'm a new asus a42ja user. I love the overall performance of the laptop but one thing bothers me alot. The audio/mic jack comes with a single unit and I certainly knot fit all my headsets with mic that i've been using on my PC all the time. Is there any adapter that I can purchase to convert it into double port? And where can I find it? any shop in lowyat?

eugenechiuu
post Dec 2 2010, 03:17 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(superb88 @ Dec 2 2010, 02:49 AM)
I'm a new asus a42ja user. I love the overall performance of the laptop but one thing bothers me alot. The audio/mic jack comes with a single unit and I certainly knot fit all my headsets with mic that i've been using on my PC all the time. Is there any adapter that I can purchase to convert it into double port? And where can I find it? any shop in lowyat?
if u mean the 3.5mm splitter that enables you to have 2 3.5mm ports, that thing won't work.. The only choice is to use a USB headset...
superb88
post Dec 2 2010, 03:23 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Dec 2 2010, 03:17 AM)
if u mean the 3.5mm splitter that enables you to have 2 3.5mm ports, that thing won't work.. The only choice is to use a USB headset...
Oh mannn, this is a big prob for me as i rly require a dedicated mic port and a dedicated audio port since i tend to change between headset models frequently. Without the 2 3.5mm, everything's not gonna b possible. I heard of the 3.5mm splitter with '3 bands' as compared to '2 bands' will worked but no luck in finding it so far. The fella who sold me the laptop told me 2 get a headset with microphone using one single 3.5mm port as the Asus port works for both mic/audio too. Having said that, I am rly looking for alternatives atm....is there any other way???
lee_what2004
post Dec 2 2010, 05:52 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^AlexLai said can use SteelSeries mobile adapter...
Spetre
post Dec 2 2010, 08:43 AM

890 posts

my a42jv always crash when i in flying spaghetti monster hon ... if i recovery the window , it will be fix by this solution ??? or mayb tat is flying spaghetti monster program problem ???

This post has been edited by Spetre: Dec 2 2010, 08:44 AM
eugenechiuu
post Dec 2 2010, 09:49 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Spetre @ Dec 2 2010, 08:43 AM)
my a42jv always crash when i in flying spaghetti monster hon ... if i recovery the window , it will be fix by this solution ??? or mayb tat is flying spaghetti monster program problem ???
Have you updated to latest Nvidia drivers? Or trying running the game with both Intel and Gt335M respectively to see whether both also crashes...
astria
post Dec 2 2010, 11:48 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(superb88 @ Dec 2 2010, 03:23 AM)
Oh mannn, this is a big prob for me as i rly require a dedicated mic port and a dedicated audio port since i tend to change between headset models frequently. Without the 2 3.5mm, everything's not gonna b possible. I heard of the 3.5mm splitter with '3 bands' as compared to '2 bands' will worked but no luck in finding it so far. The fella who sold me the laptop told me 2 get a headset with microphone using one single 3.5mm port as the Asus port works for both mic/audio too. Having said that, I am rly looking for alternatives atm....is there any other way???
u can try those earphones for phones... they come with a microphone...
eugenechiuu
post Dec 2 2010, 11:50 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 2 2010, 11:48 AM)
u can try those earphones for phones... they come with a microphone...
I tried the iPhone headset... Doesn't work...
astria
post Dec 2 2010, 12:01 PM

22,158 posts

lol, so left USB headset or external/ExpressCard soundcard???
eugenechiuu
post Dec 2 2010, 12:08 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 2 2010, 12:01 PM)
lol, so left USB headset or external/ExpressCard soundcard???
yea, and the USB to headphone/microphone converter ><

Sad right.. Good thing I have a external USB Creative Xmod soundcard lol.. SQ much better than stock soundcard... Not that I use much of the microphone jack anyways..
xen0
post Dec 2 2010, 12:35 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

a fren bought a u41jf..latest driver doesnt fit for this hybrid gfx..it runs 425m..what is the driver version that suit with it..?
lee_what2004
post Dec 2 2010, 12:36 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Perhaps 258.96 ?
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 2 2010, 12:39 PM

498 posts

Hey guys, the A42Ja has a microphone right? But i don't know where is it. So i talk also can't really hear my voice, unless i shout unsure.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ~@Sharks@~: Dec 2 2010, 12:40 PM
xen0
post Dec 2 2010, 12:41 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

ok, will give it a try.tq.

btw, about this u41jf, the intel hd gfx..izzit from the board or from the proc?
the proc is i5-460.
lee_what2004
post Dec 2 2010, 12:42 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Its from the processor...
QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 2 2010, 12:39 PM)
Hey guys, the A42Ja has a microphone right? But i don't know where is it. So i talk also can't really hear my voice, unless i shout  unsure.gif  sweat.gif
near the webcam maybe ?

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 2 2010, 12:42 PM
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 2 2010, 01:52 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 2 2010, 12:42 PM)
Its from the processor...

near the webcam maybe ?
I shout there also no voice heard. LOL
budingyun
post Dec 2 2010, 02:42 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 2 2010, 12:39 PM)
Hey guys, the A42Ja has a microphone right? But i don't know where is it. So i talk also can't really hear my voice, unless i shout  unsure.gif  sweat.gif
yes near webcam..got one hole there..that might be mic..
astria
post Dec 2 2010, 02:47 PM

22,158 posts

erm... user manual anyone??? sweat.gif
eugenechiuu
post Dec 2 2010, 08:24 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

I am sure the one in A42Jv is the one beside the webcam, I did some tests confirm it before... Anyways, A42Jv's mic have never been good.... Everytime I skype with my parents or something they can't hear me properly and there's a lot of distortion...
stevo86
post Dec 3 2010, 12:32 AM

35 posts

i cant install nvidia 258.96 on my u41jf...its a hybrid laptop...it cant detect the hardware even on performance mode..still can use optimus even without the forceware?
lee_what2004
post Dec 3 2010, 12:34 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

You mean when it change from Intel to nVidia, the screen become blank for couple seconds ? If yes, then its hybrid, if no, then its Optimus..

What's the current driver version its using?
Check it on GPU-Z...
eugenechiuu
post Dec 3 2010, 12:44 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

I thought u41jf should be optimus..
stevo86
post Dec 3 2010, 01:07 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 3 2010, 01:34 AM)
You mean when it change from Intel to nVidia, the screen become blank for couple seconds ? If yes, then its hybrid, if no, then its Optimus..

Check it on GPU-Z...
its 259.64 from gpuz
lee_what2004
post Dec 3 2010, 01:11 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Any reason why want to change the driver ?
stevo86
post Dec 3 2010, 01:35 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 3 2010, 02:11 AM)
Any reason why want to change the driver ?
not bcoz of any reason..but the official driver cannot be installed ..
lee_what2004
post Dec 3 2010, 01:36 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

The 260.99 you mean ?

Just to make sure, you downloaded the notebook version driver, right ?

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 3 2010, 01:40 AM
superb88
post Dec 3 2010, 03:06 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 2 2010, 05:52 AM)
^AlexLai said can use SteelSeries mobile adapter...
I went searching around lowyat 2day and I heard that we can use a microphone/headset splitter. But I'm looking around for it and can't find any. Any asus user with a single mic/audio port has experience buying such splitter to enable us to plug in our standard mic/audio headset double port?
eugenechiuu
post Dec 3 2010, 03:11 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(superb88 @ Dec 3 2010, 03:06 AM)
I went searching around lowyat 2day and I heard that we can use a microphone/headset splitter. But I'm looking around for it and can't find any. Any asus user with a single mic/audio port has experience buying such splitter to enable us to plug in our standard mic/audio headset double port?
As replied by me, this does not work as I have got one and tried it... When u plugged 1 device, it would ask you what is it i.e. headset, microphone, headphone.. after you chose it, it would be the default device, even if u plug in another device to the other port, it would function as the first device...

However, another forummer said a 1 to 3 splitter might be possible... I am not so sure about that, ur best bet would be the adaptor..
arthur88
post Dec 3 2010, 05:45 AM

1,070 posts

is all the A, U, N series using 0.3MP of webcam?
how is the quality of webcam compare to DELL 2.0 webcam?

i know the answer is obvious, 0.3MP vs 2.0MP, but i still wan to know from those who have used it and know the difference like resolution, captured image quality, video quality...so on...

ps:currently using DELL studio 1555...thinking about changing to ASUS...

This post has been edited by arthur88: Dec 3 2010, 05:46 AM
eugenechiuu
post Dec 3 2010, 06:06 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Dec 3 2010, 05:45 AM)

i know the answer is obvious, 0.3MP vs 2.0MP, but i still wan to know from those who have used it and know the difference like resolution, captured image quality, video quality...so on...

Hmm.. 0.3MP = 640x480 resolution, again I don't get what's the big fuss about it... Video quality is mainly dependent on internet connection itself... As fast as streamyx goes, IMO 1.3 & 2.0MP looks like 0.3MP also because bad internet connection would automatically reduce ur image quality/resolution for it to run smooth... 0.3MP is more than enough for things such as profile pics and stuffs, well not that I would use the webcam as a camera anyways... Well, unless you really wanna use ur webcam for photo taking, don't really see much difference between them... However, the video of Asus webcam is a bit yellowish and white balance totally out... Again, that's really a minor thing...

Added on December 3, 2010, 6:09 am
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 3 2010, 12:34 AM)

Check it on GPU-Z...
Double checked, definitely Optimus

'Super Hybrid Engine's 'Battery saving' mode intelligently reduce power consumption based on usage, while NVIDIA® Optimus™ technology auto-switches between the dedicated GeForce GT425M and integrated GPU to suit the intensity of the graphics being rendered—making sure that not an ounce of energy is wasted and the U41 remains cooler to use! '

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Dec 3 2010, 06:09 AM
AlexLai
post Dec 3 2010, 08:15 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(budingyun @ Dec 1 2010, 11:54 PM)
Depends on the test, on maximum load (100% brightness and CPU at 100%) the longest is just less than 1 hour. If is on reader then can get aorund 2 hours. Idle just a bit more than 2.5 hours.

QUOTE(superb88 @ Dec 2 2010, 03:23 AM)
Alternative is get a USB sound card with 2 jacks? The SteelSeries mobile device adapter is in short supply now.
lee_what2004
post Dec 3 2010, 09:11 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(stevo86 @ Dec 3 2010, 01:35 AM)
not bcoz of any reason..but the official driver cannot be installed ..
I guess its normal for now, seems like XPS 14/15 which has similar spec also can not install the official driver...

Comparing A42Jv's and SXPS 16's, the A42Jv is a bit dark, the image result, colour also seems washed as well, red t-shirt somehow seems orange-ish..
astria
post Dec 3 2010, 11:30 AM

22,158 posts

my N81Vp is using 1.3MP...

i think the current N series are using 2MP now, not sure abt the others...
tedisgodlike
post Dec 3 2010, 11:37 AM

582 posts

guys got review about asus a42ja?
kizwan
post Dec 3 2010, 01:28 PM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

Dell Studio audio & webcam quality are much better than Asus A series. Audio quality also much better on Dell Studio compared to Asus N series. Since you want to change from Dell Studio, Asus N series maybe suitable for you (new model have 2MP webcam). I'm guessing that you like to video chatting or conferencing or online gaming (while video chatting) a lot, right?

EDIT: About the webcam quality, I'm not video chatting a lot but I use it for login to computer. Dell have FaceRecognition while Asus have SmartLogon. On Dell, the webcam can easily picked up my face & login while on Asus A42JV (0.3MP), it is very difficult.

EDIT 2: I think I need to make above statement crystal clear. It is not a "competition" or comparison between FaceRecognition & SmartLogon. It is about 2MP webcam vs. 0.3MP webcam. Duh! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kizwan: Dec 3 2010, 06:52 PM
AlexLai
post Dec 3 2010, 06:04 PM

5,531 posts

Then again, I managed to cheat FaceRecognition easily. My friend's Dell instantly accepted my face on first try. sweat.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 3 2010, 06:19 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^Decided to go with U41Jf?
AlexLai
post Dec 3 2010, 06:25 PM

5,531 posts

I still need battery life reports first... :/
bananalow
post Dec 3 2010, 10:29 PM

1,547 posts

hmm ~~ just update my driver to 260.99 ~~ in the system info, the detail so weird ~~

Driver version:260.99
Memory:0MB
IRQ:0
Bus:Unknown Bus

is it everyone same with me?
Spetre
post Dec 4 2010, 12:16 AM

890 posts

click on gt335m then will show the detail ... problem solved ...
bananalow
post Dec 4 2010, 01:39 AM

1,547 posts

QUOTE(Spetre @ Dec 4 2010, 12:16 AM)
click on gt335m then will show the detail ... problem solved ...
k ~ thx ~ ^^
lee_what2004
post Dec 4 2010, 04:20 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Nov 29 2010, 12:20 PM)
what is N12PGS GPU
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 29 2010, 12:24 PM)
Seems like GT425M....
Correction, seems like its nVidia GT540M...
eugenechiuu
post Dec 4 2010, 05:47 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 4 2010, 04:20 AM)
Correction, seems like its nVidia GT540M...
is that out already? Sounds powerful
ivan8671
post Dec 4 2010, 08:35 AM

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 3 2010, 06:19 PM)
^Decided to go with U41Jf?
you also interested with U41JF?
k-bkeat
post Dec 4 2010, 10:07 AM

2,201 posts

guys any owner of u45jc? how is it? icon_question.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 4 2010, 10:55 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Dec 4 2010, 05:47 AM)
is that out already? Sounds powerful
Not yet, for now its just seems like a sllightly overclocked GT435M...

QUOTE(ivan8671 @ Dec 4 2010, 08:35 AM)
you also interested with U41JF?
Just interested to know its battery life....
k-bkeat
post Dec 4 2010, 11:03 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 4 2010, 10:55 AM)
Not yet, for now its just seems like a sllightly overclocked GT435M...
Just interested to know its battery life....
sifu lee, wats ur comment on u45jc. will get one biggrin.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 4 2010, 11:12 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

average spec notebook with long battery life...
k-bkeat
post Dec 4 2010, 11:29 AM

2,201 posts

no cons? cant find any specific review on i5 450 model... but im happy with the i3 reviews
eugenechiuu
post Dec 4 2010, 11:32 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 4 2010, 11:29 AM)
no cons? cant find any specific review on i5 450 model... but im happy with the i3 reviews
Just get U41Jf... U45Jc is around 2.7k-2.8k price range also.. Not sure whether prices have dropped, but for that Rm200-300, you get a much better GPU..... Unless you totally don't game, safe to go with U45Jc then....
marcus20125
post Dec 4 2010, 11:38 AM

1,770 posts

U41JF come with better processor,7200rpm hdd,better graphic card price around RM2900
U45JC price around RM2600

right now u make decision iisit worth to pay rm300 extra for U41JF or you may stick with U45JC

This post has been edited by marcus20125: Dec 4 2010, 11:39 AM
bananalow
post Dec 4 2010, 01:22 PM

1,547 posts

anyone can recommend me a harddisk monitor software? It seem that active harddisk monitor cant support win 7><
lee_what2004
post Dec 4 2010, 01:57 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

what kind of harddisk monitor ?
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 4 2010, 02:09 PM

498 posts

Erm guys, I can't find the microphone. Even the manual doesn't says. I think is driver problem? No sound is heard eventhough i shouted. sad.gif. Only can hear those knocking sounds when i carried the laptop.
bananalow
post Dec 4 2010, 02:17 PM

1,547 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 4 2010, 01:57 PM)
what kind of harddisk monitor ?
erm, like active harddisk monitor , which can check temp, error , hdd usage time ,etc ~
lee_what2004
post Dec 4 2010, 02:18 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Something like this ?
http://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalDi...fo/index-e.html

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 4 2010, 02:09 PM)
Erm guys, I can't find the microphone. Even the manual doesn't says. I think is driver problem? No sound is heard eventhough i shouted. sad.gif. Only can hear those knocking sounds when i carried the laptop.
Mic is mute ?

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 4 2010, 02:19 PM
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 4 2010, 03:07 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 4 2010, 02:18 PM)
I go to the Realtek Audio HD manager and check the recording volume. It's not mute iguess. And i put the mic booster to the max. >.<
k-bkeat
post Dec 4 2010, 03:27 PM

2,201 posts

anyone has the harddisk whining problem?
astria
post Dec 4 2010, 04:52 PM

22,158 posts

MacBook Air killer??? brows.gif

user posted imageuser posted image

Asus U36 series... vanilla Core i3/i5 with Optimus, 4-cell battery, 10hrs battery life, 1.44kg, 19mm thick...

http://vr-zone.com/articles/asus-announces...-u36/10422.html

This post has been edited by astria: Dec 4 2010, 04:53 PM
lee_what2004
post Dec 4 2010, 04:58 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Pricy though, selling at $999...
astria
post Dec 4 2010, 04:59 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 4 2010, 04:58 PM)
Pricy though, selling at $999...
still cheaper than MacBook Air... laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 4 2010, 05:01 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Same price with 11.6'' one...
AlexLai
post Dec 4 2010, 05:01 PM

5,531 posts

And it's not using an SSD and it's still got an anemic G310M. Also heavier. sad.gif
-Franc-
post Dec 4 2010, 05:48 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 4 2010, 03:27 PM)
anyone has the harddisk whining problem?
i got too...not regularly happen, and ussualy happen during switch my laptop on
im using A42JE only...less than a month bought it
k-bkeat
post Dec 4 2010, 05:59 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(-Franc- @ Dec 4 2010, 05:48 PM)
seems like normal problem for asus but mean no harm i suppose hmm.gif
bananalow
post Dec 4 2010, 06:56 PM

1,547 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 4 2010, 02:18 PM)
ok ~~ thx ~~ ^^
mekboyz
post Dec 4 2010, 08:03 PM

438 posts

Yo guys most likely i will be buying the a42ja tomorrow.. So anything i need to know before i purchase it, like flaws or what blush.gif
marcus20125
post Dec 4 2010, 08:05 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Dec 4 2010, 08:03 PM)
Yo guys most likely i will be buying the a42ja tomorrow.. So anything i need to know before i purchase it, like flaws or what blush.gif
nothing,just make sure it is new unit
k-bkeat
post Dec 4 2010, 09:00 PM

2,201 posts

comfirmed my purchase of asus. anytin i shld be aware of? any common problems?

can the warranty be renewed aka extend?
marcus20125
post Dec 4 2010, 09:05 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 4 2010, 09:00 PM)
yes,you can extend it
mekboyz
post Dec 4 2010, 09:13 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 4 2010, 09:00 PM)
comfirmed my purchase of asus. anytin i shld be aware of? any common problems?

What model is it?
marcus20125
post Dec 4 2010, 09:27 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Dec 4 2010, 09:13 PM)
What model is it?
U45JC
superdog
post Dec 4 2010, 09:29 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(-Franc- @ Dec 4 2010, 05:48 PM)
did u run 3dmark benchmark?

i also looking for this series
any weakness u facing?
k-bkeat
post Dec 4 2010, 10:24 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Dec 4 2010, 09:05 PM)
yes,you can extend it
QUOTE(mekboyz @ Dec 4 2010, 09:13 PM)
What model is it?
QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Dec 4 2010, 09:27 PM)
U45JC
haha thx marcus. im quite new so how many kinds of warranty asus have? currently mine is 2 years global warranty. just call asus to extend right? bcoz i did research on dell n dell got loads of choices rclxub.gif
-Franc-
post Dec 4 2010, 11:02 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 4 2010, 05:59 PM)
seems like normal problem for asus but mean no harm i suppose hmm.gif
hopefully you are right cool.gif
k-bkeat
post Dec 4 2010, 11:05 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(-Franc- @ Dec 4 2010, 11:02 PM)
hopefully you are right  cool.gif
no problem on ur lappie before right? do u use any cooler?
marcus20125
post Dec 4 2010, 11:34 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 4 2010, 10:24 PM)
haha thx marcus. im quite new so how many kinds of warranty asus have? currently mine is 2 years global warranty. just call asus to extend right? bcoz i did research on dell n dell got loads of choices rclxub.gif
http://sip.asus.com/MemberEDM/ASUSEDM.aspx...PYZz2Xs4w%3d%3d
-Franc-
post Dec 5 2010, 01:15 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 4 2010, 11:05 PM)
no problem on ur lappie before right? do u use any cooler?
no problem before.just bought it last month
and yes, i used a cooler nod.gif
bananalow
post Dec 5 2010, 12:16 PM

1,547 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Dec 4 2010, 11:34 PM)
hmm~~ how long the warranty can be extend? first time i heard warranty can be extend from asus ~~ normally they only give 2 years international warranty right?
mekboyz
post Dec 5 2010, 02:46 PM

438 posts

Yo guys i am now a proud owner of the A42JA rclxm9.gif

But looking at it there are so many bloatwares pre-installed. Can you guys tell me which one is save to remove?
budingyun
post Dec 5 2010, 03:04 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

all is save to remove..but some of them useful..
marasista
post Dec 5 2010, 03:22 PM

255 posts

i might be a new member for asus family soon =D
mekboyz
post Dec 5 2010, 04:12 PM

438 posts

Guys everytime i restart my laptop i lose connection to my router. My network is set to connect automatically. Does anyone have this same problem?
k-bkeat
post Dec 5 2010, 04:33 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(marasista @ Dec 5 2010, 03:22 PM)
i might be a new member for asus family soon =D
buying wat? smile.gif im gonna be a new member too smile.gif
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 5 2010, 04:35 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Dec 5 2010, 04:12 PM)
Guys everytime i restart my laptop i lose connection to my router. My network is set to connect automatically. Does anyone have this same problem?
I have no problem with the ASUS a42ja. But just update the driver. Wireless one i usually got dc-ed after awhile when i got the computer. after updating no problems. And also try uninstalling the REALTEK audio driver and install it. My mic cannot use due to the driver problem.
k-bkeat
post Dec 5 2010, 04:41 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 5 2010, 04:35 PM)
I have no problem with the ASUS a42ja. But just update the driver. Wireless one i usually got dc-ed after awhile when i got the computer. after updating no problems. And also try uninstalling the REALTEK audio driver and install it. My mic cannot use due to the driver problem.
ooo. anyone here is insider of asus?
mekboyz
post Dec 5 2010, 04:42 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 5 2010, 04:35 PM)
What is your wireless adapter? Is it AtherosAr9285? How do you update the driver and must i uninstall first?
lee_what2004
post Dec 5 2010, 04:45 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^ http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/topic/148...-vista-x86-x64/
mekboyz
post Dec 5 2010, 05:45 PM

438 posts

Seems like i cant update WinLive essentials for this reason

What does it mean? I dont have any other version installed before this. I have an older msn version but thats it. Also i cant sign in to msn, keep getting this message to update msn before i can sign in.

~@Sharks@~
post Dec 5 2010, 05:52 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Dec 5 2010, 05:45 PM)
Seems like i cant update WinLive essentials for this reason

What does it mean? I dont have any other version installed before this. I have an older msn version but thats it. Also i cant sign in to msn, keep getting this message to update msn before i can sign in.
You bought from EVERNEW?
lee_what2004
post Dec 5 2010, 05:55 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

@mekboyz, on add or remove programs or Program Files or Program Files(x86) folders, no Windows Live Essentials ?
mekboyz
post Dec 5 2010, 06:13 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 5 2010, 05:52 PM)
You bought from EVERNEW?
ALLit hypermart..

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 5 2010, 05:55 PM)
@mekboyz, on add or remove programs or Program Files or Program Files(x86) folders, no Windows Live Essentials ?
Got, but that is from running the update the first time. It says i have ms silverlight and ms live stuff installed. Thats what i dont understand, if i didnt have prior versions where did the conflict come from?

Edit: this is all, the installation didnt finish due to that error

This post has been edited by mekboyz: Dec 5 2010, 06:14 PM
lee_what2004
post Dec 5 2010, 06:14 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

uninstall every of it ?
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 5 2010, 09:18 PM

498 posts

Uninstall windows live essential?
bananalow
post Dec 6 2010, 12:13 AM

1,547 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 5 2010, 09:18 PM)
Uninstall windows live essential?
yup ~~~
absorb-d
post Dec 6 2010, 10:57 AM

1,115 posts

asus U45JC here
anyone else have problems with the bluetooth, it always interrupts and cancels bout 10% in to receiving a file
mekboyz
post Dec 6 2010, 11:32 AM

438 posts

Ok thanks guys i uninstalled everything, then i downloaded the whole windows live straight from the MS website. But in the end i only installed the messenger and photo gallery smile.gif

QUOTE(absorb-d @ Dec 6 2010, 10:57 AM)
asus U45JC here
anyone else have problems with the bluetooth, it always interrupts and cancels bout 10% in to receiving a file
I havent tried out the bluetooth settings.. Although you should check out the e-manual provided. They have instructions on using the bluetooth as well as common problems and solutions. Most likely you need to update the driver
sugebleach
post Dec 6 2010, 01:18 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 4 2010, 04:52 PM)
MacBook Air killer??? brows.gif

user posted imageuser posted image

Asus U36 series... vanilla Core i3/i5 with Optimus, 4-cell battery, 10hrs battery life, 1.44kg, 19mm thick...

http://vr-zone.com/articles/asus-announces...-u36/10422.html
this u36 so tempting... but only available Jan 2011 sad.gif
y dont they come out by Xmas...
mekboyz
post Dec 6 2010, 02:32 PM

438 posts

Hey guys does your adaptor get very hot when its plugged in for a long time? Mine was actually okay, then after connecting cooling pad and using it for some time i noticed the adaptor became much hotter than normal. This was during gaming. Is this normal?

One more thing, under my computer i have 2 hard drives; OS(C:) and Data(D:). Only the C drive is being used while the D drive is empty.. What the function of it? My C drive has much less space compared to D:

This post has been edited by mekboyz: Dec 6 2010, 03:18 PM
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 6 2010, 04:40 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Dec 6 2010, 02:32 PM)
Hey guys does your adaptor get very hot when its plugged in for a long time? Mine was actually okay, then after connecting cooling pad and using it for some time i noticed the adaptor became much hotter than normal. This was during gaming. Is this normal?

One more thing, under my computer i have 2 hard drives; OS(C:) and Data(D:). Only the C drive is being used while the D drive is empty.. What the function of it? My C drive has much less space compared to D:
The OS C: i think is for the system. Therefore the more space you consume the slower it is? Correct me if im wrong. The D drive is just for whatever you want. I just create my own program files there and put all the stuff in there. It's more like a external hard drive. But it's more awesome. It's in the laptop. yawn.gif
astria
post Dec 6 2010, 04:43 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Dec 6 2010, 02:32 PM)

of course it gets hotter... when u game, the hardware consumes more power, thus draw more power from the adapter, and the adapter needs to work harder in order to meet the demand... more power converted = more heat, that' the law of physics...

i partitioned my HDD to 2 partitions as well... C: is mainly for OS and programs, and D: is for my own stuff (MP3, videos, assignments, lecture notes, pictures, etc etc)... in such an arrangement, whenever i format my computer, i need only to fiddle with the C:, all my personal stuff are intact and will remain in the D:

it's really up to u how u want to utilize the partitions... the main idea is "in case Windows is corrupted the next moment, how u want to save ur data"...

This post has been edited by astria: Dec 6 2010, 04:44 PM
k-bkeat
post Dec 6 2010, 05:22 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 6 2010, 04:43 PM)
of course it gets hotter... when u game, the hardware consumes more power, thus draw more power from the adapter, and the adapter needs to work harder in order to meet the demand... more power converted = more heat, that' the law of physics...

i partitioned my HDD to 2 partitions as well... C: is mainly for OS and programs, and D: is for my own stuff (MP3, videos, assignments, lecture notes, pictures, etc etc)... in such an arrangement, whenever i format my computer, i need only to fiddle with the C:, all my personal stuff are intact and will remain in the D:

it's really up to u how u want to utilize the partitions... the main idea is "in case Windows is corrupted the next moment, how u want to save ur data"...
its preset to have 2 partition or manually?
astria
post Dec 6 2010, 05:30 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 6 2010, 05:22 PM)
u can ve as many partitions as u like... they can be created or destroyed as and when u like...
mekboyz
post Dec 6 2010, 05:51 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 6 2010, 05:22 PM)
Mine was preset already.. I dunno how to partition a hard drive unsure.gif

About the heat.. So i guess the combination of gaming + the extra power needed for the cooling pad fans is putting strain on the adapter..
k-bkeat
post Dec 6 2010, 05:55 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Dec 6 2010, 05:51 PM)
Mine was preset already.. I dunno how to partition a hard drive  unsure.gif

About the heat.. So i guess the combination of gaming + the extra power needed for the cooling pad fans is putting strain on the adapter..
actually if u use ac power. the adapter gets hot is normal isnt it?
astria
post Dec 6 2010, 05:57 PM

22,158 posts

depends on ur activity...

if it's juz web surfing, shouldn't generate too much heat...
k-bkeat
post Dec 6 2010, 06:50 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 6 2010, 05:57 PM)
depends on ur activity...

if it's juz web surfing, shouldn't generate too much heat...
alright. so in the end it depends on usage too right? thanks!
AlexLai
post Dec 6 2010, 09:38 PM

5,531 posts

Normally for Windows 7, 30GB is good enough for an OS partition.
-Franc-
post Dec 7 2010, 08:19 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Dec 6 2010, 09:38 PM)
Normally for Windows 7, 30GB is good enough for an OS partition.
yeah, im also located 30GB for my OS partition cool.gif
reallion
post Dec 7 2010, 11:17 AM

13 posts

hi guys smile.gif i just got my n61jq..does anyone knows how to reinstall windows? i wanna do a clean install. laptop came with windows 7 but without disc. anyone can advice? thank you very much
bananalow
post Dec 7 2010, 11:25 AM

1,547 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Dec 6 2010, 05:51 PM)
Mine was preset already.. I dunno how to partition a hard drive  unsure.gif

try magic partition software tongue.gif
jerrywan
post Dec 7 2010, 12:06 PM

423 posts

hey guys..wan ask smthing here..
i got bdget around 2k-2.3k.
which model is suitable for playing games like pes.call of duty and so on?
hope dis is the rite section to ask smthing bout this..
budingyun
post Dec 7 2010, 12:32 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(jerrywan @ Dec 7 2010, 12:06 PM)
hey guys..wan ask smthing here..
i got bdget around 2k-2.3k.
which model is suitable for playing games like pes.call of duty and so on?
hope dis is the rite section to ask smthing bout this..
ASUS A42DR??

less than rm2k..

AMD dual core 2.1GHz + ATI 5470.. biggrin.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 7 2010, 12:32 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^Dell Inspiron 15R, i3 370M + ATi HD5650@RM2399...

QUOTE(reallion @ Dec 7 2010, 11:17 AM)
hi guys smile.gif i just got my n61jq..does anyone knows how to reinstall windows? i wanna do a clean install. laptop came with windows 7 but without disc. anyone can advice? thank you very much
You can just burn the recovery disc using AI Recovery Burner, but you still can't get rid the bloatware if that's your intention...
or
Get a Windows disc and use ABR (Activation Backup & Restore) method...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 7 2010, 12:57 PM
budingyun
post Dec 7 2010, 12:59 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 7 2010, 12:32 PM)
You can just burn the recovery disc using AI Recovery Burner, but you still can't get rid the bloatware if that's your intention...
or
dell so cheap nowadays even with good GPU..
reallion
post Dec 7 2010, 02:46 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 7 2010, 12:32 PM)
or
oh that means is point less using AI recovery..have to spend extra for a new clean windows then
superb88
post Dec 8 2010, 02:05 AM

170 posts

Anyone experienced bluetooth problem with ASUS A42JA?

I managed to pair it with a sony erricson mw600 BT headset i bought 2day with A2DP enabled. I was using the BT headset for 1-2hrs today for music when I jz bought it, then used it on some skype calls later in the day for a couple of minutes. Suddenly, it started acting up on skype conversation with frequent disconnection.

Well, I tried restarting my laptop and when it started, the pairing will not work anymore. Tried reinstalling my bluetooth headset many times and even resetting my headset but nth works. Even uninstalled and reinstall the drivers for BT270 on the laptop under device manager, nth works...

Then, I tried pairing my phone to my PC and again it doesn't work! However, b4 this incident, it works wonderfully for file transfer btw my phone and my laptop! My bluetooth headset is certainly not defective as it works fine when tried on my phone.

Now, i'm rly worried if it could b a bluetooth problem on my laptop. Its only 2 weeks old, any1 have any suggestion for any methods to verify this prob and if possible any fix for this? Haiz, I'm rly lost, bluetooth works OK for handphone b4 this and this problem showed up after using my BT headset and I can't get it 2 work anymore.... =(

TQ in advance for yr advices...

This post has been edited by superb88: Dec 8 2010, 02:08 AM
mimi89
post Dec 8 2010, 04:58 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(superb88 @ Dec 8 2010, 02:05 AM)
Anyone experienced bluetooth problem with ASUS A42JA?

I managed to pair it with a sony erricson mw600 BT headset i bought 2day with A2DP enabled. I was using the BT headset for 1-2hrs today for music when I jz bought it, then used it on some skype calls later in the day for a couple of minutes. Suddenly, it started acting up on skype conversation with  frequent disconnection.

Well, I tried restarting my laptop and when it started, the pairing will not work anymore. Tried reinstalling my bluetooth headset many times and even resetting my headset but nth works. Even uninstalled and reinstall the drivers for BT270 on the laptop under device manager, nth works...

Then, I tried pairing my phone to my PC and again it doesn't work! However, b4 this incident, it works wonderfully for file transfer btw my phone and my laptop! My bluetooth headset is certainly not defective as it works fine when tried on my phone.

Now, i'm rly worried if it could b a bluetooth problem on my laptop. Its only 2 weeks old, any1 have any suggestion for any methods to verify this prob and if possible any fix for this? Haiz, I'm rly lost, bluetooth works OK for handphone b4 this and this problem showed up after using my BT headset and I can't get it 2 work anymore....   =(

TQ in advance for yr advices...
I experienced your problem in A42JV before, even hp also cant pair with my laptop. Reinstalled the BT270 driver did not work for me too. Finally i reinstalled the window 7(local disk C only) then the bluetooth worked again.

After this, i went to device manager -> bluetooth radios -> properties -> power management-> untick the "allow the computer to turn off this device to save power"

Type "services" in search , open the services,look for "bluetooth service" and " bluetooth support service", set them to started and automatic.

After this my bluetooth devices work perfectly and so far not experience this problem again.

Hope this could help you smile.gif.

This post has been edited by mimi89: Dec 8 2010, 05:00 AM
eugenechiuu
post Dec 8 2010, 05:14 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Hi got a slight problem here.. Dunno if it is because of antivirus cause never had this problem when using Avast previously..

I am playing this game called Shanks and everything is quite alright and I am using gt335m when playing it, but when it comes to Cut Scenes it lags and have delayed speeches and jaggy sounds....

I am using ESET btw.. But dun think it's the anti virus prob coz normal gameplay is smooth..
lee_what2004
post Dec 8 2010, 05:20 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

If disable the ESET and play? How ?

From google search, seems like its common problem with some system/console...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 8 2010, 05:23 AM
eugenechiuu
post Dec 8 2010, 05:34 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

oh the problems were for Xbox 360, thought it should be fixed on the PC version... I try do some test again the next time I play...

Added on December 8, 2010, 5:36 am*out of topic: BTW lee, are you a BOT!? It's like 5.30am in Malaysia now LOL

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Dec 8 2010, 05:36 AM
lee_what2004
post Dec 8 2010, 05:56 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Not a bot sweat.gif
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 8 2010, 12:49 PM

498 posts

Hi guys. My wifi got problem again. A week or so ago, i updated my wifi driver and i did not bother to use wifi as i got a cable here. So i used direct cable to connect to online. But today i used the wifi. And after like 47 minutes, it disconnected as in there was a exclamation mark in a triangle. Then i diagnose the problem then it went back to normal. Why is this happening so? It's damn annoying.
budingyun
post Dec 8 2010, 01:52 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Dec 8 2010, 05:34 AM)
oh the problems were for Xbox 360, thought it should be fixed on the PC version... I try do some test again the next time I play...

Added on December 8, 2010, 5:36 am*out of topic: BTW lee, are you a BOT!? It's like 5.30am in Malaysia now LOL
5:20am precisely.. biggrin.gif

Added on December 8, 2010, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 8 2010, 12:49 PM)
Hi guys. My wifi got problem again. A week or so ago, i updated my wifi driver and i did not bother to use wifi as i got a cable here. So i used direct cable to connect to online. But today i used the wifi. And after like 47 minutes, it disconnected as in there was a exclamation mark in a triangle. Then i diagnose the problem then it went back to normal. Why is this happening so? It's damn annoying.
sometime or everytime?

This post has been edited by budingyun: Dec 8 2010, 01:52 PM
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 8 2010, 02:17 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(budingyun @ Dec 8 2010, 01:52 PM)
5:20am precisely.. biggrin.gif

Added on December 8, 2010, 1:52 pm
sometime or everytime?
Everytime i guess. My wifi after the restart is alright already. I has been almost 2 hours and nothing bad happen. But this problem also occurs before i even update my driver. Any idea why this is happening? yawn.gif
k-bkeat
post Dec 8 2010, 04:31 PM

2,201 posts

guys.. to claim warranty wat document i nid? or onli serial number?
astria
post Dec 8 2010, 04:40 PM

22,158 posts

juz ur laptop will do, best if bring receipt along... no receipt they count by Date Manufactured, got receipt they count by ur purchase date...
k-bkeat
post Dec 8 2010, 04:42 PM

2,201 posts

ooo. thx atria. no nid any document la?
astria
post Dec 8 2010, 04:51 PM

22,158 posts

not that i am aware of...
budingyun
post Dec 8 2010, 05:44 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 8 2010, 02:17 PM)
Everytime i guess. My wifi after the restart is alright already. I has been almost 2 hours and nothing bad happen. But this problem also occurs before i even update my driver. Any idea why this is happening? yawn.gif
try uninstall reinstall driver..
k-bkeat
post Dec 8 2010, 06:13 PM

2,201 posts

wee smile.gif just got myself u45jc

wat should i do first? rclxm9.gif
budingyun
post Dec 8 2010, 06:22 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 8 2010, 06:13 PM)
wee smile.gif just got myself u45jc

wat should i do first? rclxm9.gif
play with it until vomit.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by budingyun: Dec 8 2010, 06:23 PM
k-bkeat
post Dec 8 2010, 06:37 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(budingyun @ Dec 8 2010, 06:22 PM)
play with it until vomit.. tongue.gif
LOL. Wat software to check the temperature?
budingyun
post Dec 8 2010, 06:38 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

just kidding laugh.gif

hwmonitor..

http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html

This post has been edited by budingyun: Dec 8 2010, 06:39 PM
astria
post Dec 8 2010, 06:43 PM

22,158 posts

depends on how clean u want it to run...

first thing, either format or remove bloatwares...
k-bkeat
post Dec 8 2010, 07:11 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(budingyun @ Dec 8 2010, 06:38 PM)
thx! how to check how much warranty i have left? i register my product in vip.asus.com but it looks complicated n cant find the warranty info of my lappie icon_question.gif
erszebeth
post Dec 8 2010, 07:16 PM

259 posts

u have bought new lappy aa..? what model bro...? huhu
k-bkeat
post Dec 8 2010, 07:17 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 8 2010, 06:43 PM)
depends on how clean u want it to run...

first thing, either format or remove bloatwares...
wats the benefit of clean? faster?

anyway, how to set up the local area network tat normally a desktop has? rclxub.gif
astria
post Dec 8 2010, 07:22 PM

22,158 posts

less stuff in the HDD = less seek time = feel faster

LAN? plug in the LAN cable lor...
k-bkeat
post Dec 8 2010, 07:31 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 8 2010, 07:22 PM)

i plug in but not detected

i cant find this

k-bkeat
post Dec 8 2010, 07:34 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(erszebeth @ Dec 8 2010, 07:16 PM)
u have bought new lappy aa..? what model bro...? huhu
u45jc smile.gif 3820 is for my sis smile.gif

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 8 2010, 07:22 PM)

ooo.. i uninstall 1 by 1 has the same effect as reformat?

Added on December 8, 2010, 7:57 pm
QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 8 2010, 07:31 PM)
i plug in but not detected

i cant find this

LOL nvm fixed liao thx to this

http://xclusive4all.blogspot.com/2009/10/h...nection-in.html

This post has been edited by k-bkeat: Dec 8 2010, 07:57 PM
deShinyDevil
post Dec 9 2010, 12:27 AM

907 posts

hi, im planning to buy a laptop and my budget is below 2.5k. any recommendation?
what about that A42JC? any comment? thnx for sharing ur point of view =)
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 12:40 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

usage ?
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 12:51 AM

2,201 posts

when u close the lid the laptop shut down or what?

anyway when using AC, its best to take off the battery or its ok to attach it?
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 9 2010, 12:52 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 9 2010, 12:51 AM)
when u close the lid the laptop shut down or what?

anyway when using AC, its best to take off the battery or its ok to attach it?
It's better to be removed? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ~@Sharks@~: Dec 9 2010, 12:53 AM
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 12:53 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

It depends on your settings...

Just leave it attach unless you don't mind losing some data when power down...
mekboyz
post Dec 9 2010, 01:11 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 9 2010, 12:53 AM)

Hey is it save to insert and remove the battery while the laptop in plugged in to AC?
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 01:12 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Should be ok ? been doing that laugh.gif
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 02:23 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 9 2010, 12:52 AM)
It's better to be removed?  biggrin.gif
before remove fully charge or?

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 9 2010, 12:53 AM)

wat u mean settings?
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 02:25 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

You can set it to hibernate, sleep, shutdown or do nothing when close the lid....

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 9 2010, 02:25 AM
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 02:48 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 9 2010, 02:25 AM)
You can set it to hibernate, sleep, shutdown or do nothing when close the lid....
mind giving some guide? icon_question.gif

first timer using laptop and jump platform from xp to win 7 rclxub.gif loads to learn icon_question.gif

any good links where i can read for basic info i nid to know? i read the first post but its quite brief unsure.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 02:49 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Type "Power Option" on start menu,
Open it,
Click "Choose what closing the lid does" on the left panel, then set it to your liking...
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 02:58 AM

2,201 posts

any nice guide to start to learn all the basic knowledge of laptop?

btw when remove battery. best if full charge or fully discharge or partially discharge?
Eugene91
post Dec 9 2010, 03:07 AM

6,109 posts

Li-Ion just leave inside oso nvm de la.. maybe remove it when you're gaming since Li-Ion enemy is heat not the plug..
-Franc-
post Dec 9 2010, 08:02 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 9 2010, 02:58 AM)
any nice guide to start to learn all the basic knowledge of laptop?

btw when remove battery. best if full charge or fully discharge or partially discharge?
to prolong your battery life, i think you should wait until the battery fully charge before remove it.no? unsure.gif
eugenechiuu
post Dec 9 2010, 08:42 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(-Franc- @ Dec 9 2010, 08:02 AM)
to prolong your battery life, i think you should wait until the battery fully charge before remove it.no?  unsure.gif
Doesn't matter I think..
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 09:40 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Dec 9 2010, 03:07 AM)
Li-Ion just leave inside oso nvm de la.. maybe remove it when you're gaming since Li-Ion enemy is heat not the plug..
QUOTE(-Franc- @ Dec 9 2010, 08:02 AM)
to prolong your battery life, i think you should wait until the battery fully charge before remove it.no?  unsure.gif
QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Dec 9 2010, 08:42 AM)
Doesn't matter I think..
thanks guys biggrin.gif

wats the normal processes in a win 7 u45jc? mine got 101 rclxub.gif compared to my prev win xp 17 processes only laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 09:40 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

49 processes currently laugh.gif
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 09:44 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:40 AM)
49 processes currently laugh.gif
LOL. its abnormal @@? alot to learn leh. alot of the process nvr c b4. u want a screen shot? rclxub.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 09:51 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Can, if you want to..
Time to uninstall stuff? laugh.gif
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 09:56 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:51 AM)
Can, if you want to..
Time to uninstall stuff? laugh.gif
ahaha biggrin.gif just go control panel and uninstall a program right?

anyway, wat does the top left button with a lightning bolt and circle does unsure.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 09:57 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Which button ? Inside Windows or keyboard ?

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 9 2010, 10:02 AM
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 10:32 AM

2,201 posts

keyboard smile.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 10:34 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

That is most likely for Asus Express Gate, a lightweight OS for basic usage..
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 10:44 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 9 2010, 10:34 AM)
That is most likely for Asus Express Gate, a lightweight OS for basic usage..
when i go to power option. there is an option for sleep button. but i cant find it rclxub.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 10:45 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Click on "Choose what the power buttons do"
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 10:47 AM

2,201 posts

nono u c

lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 10:48 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

That is just OS settings, doesn't mean the keyboard must have it...
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 10:51 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 9 2010, 10:48 AM)
That is just OS settings, doesn't mean the keyboard must have it...
LOL got such thing ah LOL

i see. thx sifu.

hmm... to do a clean install i must create a reformat cd by clicking the ai recovery disc n burn 5 discs right? or there is built-in function?

lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 10:52 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

To do clean install, you need to find Windows disc,
You can't do clean install with the recovery disc...
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 10:56 AM

2,201 posts

not do it internally meh? the seller say do it on the laptop one oh o.O

there is suppose to be a win 7 cd with the package?
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 10:58 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

No Win 7 disc in the package,
The recovery disc is just to restore your Windows back to factory default, just like how you bought it, still include all the bloatware..
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 11:00 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 9 2010, 10:58 AM)
No Win 7 disc in the package,
The recovery disc is just to restore your Windows back to factory default, just like how you bought it, still include all the bloatware..
ooo... then wat u mean by this?

To do clean install, you need to find Windows disc

without bloatware one? how to get the cd? i tot its OEM..
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 11:01 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Buy or the other way around...
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 11:10 AM

2,201 posts

LOL. means the onli legal way is burn recovery disc n use with bloatware or buy new win7 key?

lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 11:11 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

or just uninstall the bloatware....
rexson521
post Dec 9 2010, 01:26 PM

Hi there,
Can anyone do a simple review of Asus N53Jf or Jq? would like to know more about this model...
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 9 2010, 03:31 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 9 2010, 02:23 AM)
before remove fully charge or?
wat u mean settings?
Woah. The thread is going really fast. I charge full then take it out. tongue.gif
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 04:03 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 9 2010, 03:31 PM)
Woah. The thread is going really fast. I charge full then take it out. tongue.gif
ooo. thx biggrin.gif

anyway, anyone send their asus laptop for service before? is it located at plaza lowyat?

how was their service?
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 04:11 PM

2,201 posts

oh ya. is it possible to reformat directly from hdd? without using recovery discs icon_question.gif
astria
post Dec 9 2010, 04:13 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 9 2010, 04:11 PM)
oh ya. is it possible to reformat directly from hdd? without using recovery discs icon_question.gif
provided the recovery partition is still intact, yes...
L7Awesome
post Dec 9 2010, 05:14 PM

418 posts

I just got an Asus notebook. Is there a way for me to extend the warranty to three years in JB? Or can we do it online?
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 9 2010, 05:41 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 9 2010, 04:03 PM)
ooo. thx biggrin.gif

anyway, anyone send their asus laptop for service before? is it located at plaza lowyat?

how was their service?
Dad repaired the mobo of the laptop of compaq. Alot of problem. 300 to change everything. yawn.gif

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Dec 9 2010, 05:14 PM)
I just got an Asus notebook.  Is there a way for me to extend the warranty to three years in JB?  Or can we do it online?
Can extend? EVERNEW said cannot extend 1. lol. want extend must add together when buying laptop.
astria
post Dec 9 2010, 05:59 PM

22,158 posts

u can extend... go to Asus support website for more detail...
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 06:06 PM

2,201 posts

lol i realise u45jc no scroll on touchpad. how to scroll rclxub.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 06:09 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Do the settings on the touchpad...
tedisgodlike
post Dec 9 2010, 06:10 PM

582 posts

yes do the setting
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 06:11 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 9 2010, 06:09 PM)
Do the settings on the touchpad...
QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Dec 9 2010, 06:10 PM)
yes do the setting
how?

i cant find touchpad in search in control panel...
astria
post Dec 9 2010, 06:14 PM

22,158 posts

under Mouse in Control Panel...
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 06:27 PM

2,201 posts

this? i cant find any touchpad

lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 06:45 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Click the last tab and settings...
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 06:57 PM

2,201 posts

i apply adi but no effect. nid reboot?
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 07:02 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Set to scroll on the side or two-finger scroll ?
Spetre
post Dec 9 2010, 07:06 PM

890 posts

2 finger scroll ...
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 08:08 PM

2,201 posts

yeap. onli 2 finger scroll is available. but still cant scroll after apply @@
eugenechiuu
post Dec 9 2010, 08:23 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 9 2010, 08:08 PM)
yeap. onli 2 finger scroll is available. but still cant scroll after apply @@
Do you have the elantech program opened? Check whether u have etdctrl.exe on ur task manager
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 10:36 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Dec 9 2010, 08:23 PM)
Do you have the elantech program opened? Check whether u have etdctrl.exe on ur task manager
will check it tomolo smile.gif thx eugene.

how bout the fn-f9 shortcut? cant seem to make it work...
k-bkeat
post Dec 9 2010, 11:43 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Dec 9 2010, 08:23 PM)
its not open. how to open? i cant find it in search.
lee_what2004
post Dec 9 2010, 11:45 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Open MSConfig, the startup tab, give the screenshot here, all the list...
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 12:29 AM

2,201 posts

tats most of the task i have

so far all my problem solved. actually it was all bcoz my hand gatal go delete this delete tat blush.gif

How to make elan smart pab launch every startup?

lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 12:31 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Open MSConfig, go to startup tab, see got eLan or not and enable it...
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 12:52 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 10 2010, 12:31 AM)
Open MSConfig, go to startup tab, see got eLan or not and enable it...
thx. hope next startup will have smile.gif

anyway, any unnecessary processes i have? currently 84 processes... still alot @@
deShinyDevil
post Dec 10 2010, 12:56 AM

907 posts

A42jr/jc used for light multimedia stuff like photoshop and some programming. is this laptop capable of doing? thnx
eugenechiuu
post Dec 10 2010, 01:34 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(deShinyDevil @ Dec 10 2010, 12:56 AM)
A42jr/jc used for light multimedia stuff like photoshop and some programming. is this laptop capable of doing? thnx
Both laptops have weak GPU... better get A42Ja or u41jf
picasoii
post Dec 10 2010, 01:39 AM

Or N82. Not sure if it's available here.. I've the N81 which I bought from the states... Asus rocks...
eugenechiuu
post Dec 10 2010, 02:08 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(picasoii @ Dec 10 2010, 01:39 AM)
Or N82. Not sure if it's available here.. I've the N81 which I bought from the states... Asus rocks...
I think n82jv and n82jq EOL already
astria
post Dec 10 2010, 10:13 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(picasoii @ Dec 10 2010, 01:39 AM)
it's N43 now... laugh.gif

our N81 getting outdated liao... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Dec 10 2010, 10:13 AM
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 11:47 AM

2,201 posts

wat cooler u all use?
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 10 2010, 11:48 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 10 2010, 11:47 AM)
wat cooler u all use?
Zalman ZM-NC1000 cool2.gif

This post has been edited by ~@Sharks@~: Dec 10 2010, 11:49 AM
eugenechiuu
post Dec 10 2010, 11:48 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

wat cooler u all use?
Cooler Master U2..
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 11:49 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

This tongue.gif

k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 11:50 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 10 2010, 11:48 AM)
Zalman ZM-NC1000  cool2.gif
QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Dec 10 2010, 11:48 AM)
Cooler Master U2..
which one better? hmm.gif i know u2 removable fans. easy to clean. how bout zalman?
eugenechiuu
post Dec 10 2010, 11:51 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 10 2010, 11:49 AM)
This tongue.gif

how do u power the fan? and you put it beside the ventilation of the laptop?
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 11:57 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

The AC/DC power adaptor, the one can change from 3V till 15V...
Cut the cable and join both fan and power supply
then find the spot which can cool down the most....

something like this...

k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 11:59 AM

2,201 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/523341

i cant c the difference between zalman nc1000 and nc2000 rclxub.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 12:00 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Mainly size different and NC2000 got compartment to store the cable...
holoman
post Dec 10 2010, 12:00 PM

NA NA NA
1,600 posts

wat cooler u all use?
cooler master U2 brows.gif
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 12:04 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 10 2010, 12:00 PM)
Mainly size different and NC2000 got compartment to store the cable...
thx. the nc1000 can fit u45jc nicely? or nc2000 better?
eugenechiuu
post Dec 10 2010, 12:08 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 10 2010, 12:04 PM)
thx. the nc1000 can fit u45jc nicely? or nc2000 better?
NC-2000: 318(L) x 400(W) x 42.5(H) mm
NC-1000: 308(L) x 330(W) x 40(H) mm

NC-1000 is just nice I guess...
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 12:20 PM

2,201 posts

thx eugene.

u45jc is around 34.3 x 24.4 x 2.8 cm (W x D x H) hmm.gif
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 10 2010, 12:49 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 10 2010, 11:50 AM)
which one better? hmm.gif i know u2 removable fans. easy to clean. how bout zalman?
Zalman i never did open before . i sked. So got 2 fans underneath, i take cotton bud clean it . LOL
mekboyz
post Dec 10 2010, 05:35 PM

438 posts

Hey does anybody have this software called Octoshape Streaming Services installed? I just saw this program but Im very sure i didnt install or download it. But when i checked under programs and features it shows that it was installed today.. Where the hell did it come from lol
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 05:37 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Don't think have that in A42Jv..
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 06:36 PM

2,201 posts

guys, any u45jc owner here? i read review state tat can last around 10 hours. but y mine can last around 6-7 hours in battery saving mode?
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 06:43 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

back depends on your usage...
install batterycare and see how much is the discharge rate..

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 10 2010, 06:43 PM
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 06:53 PM

2,201 posts

http://batterycare.net/en/index.html

this one right?
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 06:56 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Yup...
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 07:10 PM

2,201 posts

just fully charged cry.gif remainin time is 6 hour and discharge rate is -13.2w
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 07:11 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

was expecting discharge rate around -8W...
Watching video or playing flash games?
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 07:11 PM

2,201 posts

doin ntg. onli surfing.

anyway, power saver mode better or power4gear battery saving better?
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 07:14 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Test see which one gives lower discharge rate? laugh.gif

Using lowest brightness screen or ?
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 07:15 PM

2,201 posts

yup lowest brightness. both the same discharge rate. got difference? unsure.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 07:15 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Didn't check the difference, most likely just the white wallpaper...

Is the Optimus OFF ?

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 10 2010, 07:21 PM
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 07:21 PM

2,201 posts

woot! another near thing to learn. how to check and turn it on/off?
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 07:22 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

There should be one icon on the system tray for nvidia, when you hover it, it should list what program using the nVidia...
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 07:28 PM

2,201 posts

u mean this?

lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 07:30 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

No, check under "View", there should have enable notification something...
mekboyz
post Dec 10 2010, 07:39 PM

438 posts

How about a42ja users? Do you guys have this octoshape streaming services? Seriously dunno where it came from. Not malware i scanned already. Also from google this is a legit thing. But how did it suddenly apppear rclxub.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 07:40 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Then just uninstall it sweat.gif
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 08:12 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 10 2010, 07:30 PM)
No, check under "View", there should have enable notification something...
sad.gif

lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 08:13 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

If 3D settings ?
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 10 2010, 08:21 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Dec 10 2010, 07:39 PM)
How about a42ja users? Do you guys have this octoshape streaming services? Seriously dunno where it came from. Not malware i scanned already. Also from google this is a legit thing. But how did it suddenly apppear rclxub.gif
File location yawn.gif. I don't see any octoshape thingy.
k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 08:43 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 10 2010, 08:13 PM)
If 3D settings ?
wat u meant?
lee_what2004
post Dec 10 2010, 08:48 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

If under 3D settings, got enable notification ?

k-bkeat
post Dec 10 2010, 11:56 PM

2,201 posts

nope..
L7Awesome
post Dec 11 2010, 08:52 AM

418 posts

I just realized that when I bought my notebook last week at the Johor PC Fair, they did not give me the Warranty Card. I got to know when I tried to register for the extended warranty and it need the warranty card information.

Is there anyway that I can get the Warranty Card again from the reseller again (I have got the receipt)?

It's for my Asus Notebook.

This post has been edited by L7Awesome: Dec 11 2010, 08:53 AM
eugenechiuu
post Dec 11 2010, 09:40 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Dec 11 2010, 08:52 AM)
I just realized that when I bought my notebook last week at the Johor PC Fair, they did not give me the Warranty Card.  I got to know when I tried to register for the extended warranty and it need the warranty card information. 

Is there anyway that I can get the Warranty Card again from the reseller again (I have got the receipt)?

It's for my Asus Notebook.
there's no warranty card for the notebook, you have to register your warranty online.. or bring receipt when send for warranty...
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 10:03 AM

2,201 posts

guys, i think i nid a clean install nod.gif

i have to download all (82 shocking.gif) the drivers in asus website?

Added on December 11, 2010, 10:48 amguys, while choosing my laptop cooler, i came across this wonderful guide for choosing cooler in google smile.gif

http://www.techiechips.com/how-to-choose-a...-laptop-cooler/

so for my lappie, the black one is intake, the red one is exhaust?

This post has been edited by k-bkeat: Dec 11 2010, 10:48 AM
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 11:23 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

black intake, red exhaust..
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 11:42 AM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 11 2010, 11:23 AM)
black intake, red exhaust..
so u2 or nc2000 will work better? icon_question.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 11:43 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

U2 only can cover 2 spot while NC2000 would cover almost all surface except battery part...
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 11:44 AM

2,201 posts

o.O but the cooling performance no big diff if i get extra fan on u2?
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 11:47 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

haven't test the U2 under air-con, but NC2000/NC1000 the surface is cold like ice laugh.gif
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 11:53 AM

2,201 posts

LOL! faster test it!
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 11:56 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Don't have U2...
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 12:10 PM

2,201 posts

oh well. i shall test it myself biggrin.gif

anyway, after i burn the recovery disc n reformat.

i have to manually download all the drivers in support.asus.com and reinstall all the drivers? got 82 leh @@
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 12:11 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Nope, if use the recovery disc, every driver is installed, no need to install again..
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 12:15 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 11 2010, 12:11 PM)
Nope, if use the recovery disc, every driver is installed, no need to install again..
thx. when i create recovery disc. it auto copy the current drivers im using? smile.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 12:16 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Nope, its taken from the recovery partition..
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 12:18 PM

2,201 posts

actually, what is included in recovery disc? like a laptop when u just bought?

lets say my laptop is infected by virus, when i burn recovery disc, virus won't be in the recovery disc right?
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 12:19 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Just like when you just bought...
Unless the virus spread to recovery partition, shouldn't have virus...
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 12:22 PM

2,201 posts

thx. will buy dvds tonight n burn it. fingers crossed. hope it goes well blush.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 11 2010, 12:44 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

Hey guys, i need some help with my cousin lappy formatting, do u have any direct links to download Asus A42F-VX258 drivers?
I tried asus webby but most of the drivers i think are for the newer version A42 using Core i3.. some drivers can be used but some sweat.gif hmm.gif

The laptop spec is:
Asus A42F-VX258
Pentium P6100
3GB RAM
Intel HD
Atheros AR9285 WIFI
Win7 64bit

What i'm trying to solve is the yellow unknown item in my device manager:

What i succesfully install:
1.Intel HD graphic (from asus web)
2.Wifi (Using windows standard driver)
3.LAN (from asus web)
4.Realtek Drivers (from asus web)
5.Virtual camera, power4go,ai recovery

Unsure items:
1.Bluetooth (Using i do know generic windows driver, don't know usable or not) sweat.gif
2.Camera (no drivers so far)
3.Touchpad (no drivers so far)

Thanx for ur help guys thumbup.gif smile.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 12:48 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Base system device usually is card reader,
As for PCI Simple Communications Controller, it should be Intel Management driver...
try this link if Asus web don't have it..
link
As for touchpad, is it elantech or synaptics ?

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 11 2010, 12:53 PM
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 11 2010, 02:01 PM

498 posts

My A42JA got the wireless problem. I repaired the wireless thingy and they said it's the wireless adapter or the wireless router . Before i even fix it, my ipod can connect to the network. How to fix this? I have been uninstalling and installing over and over and over again. Really irritating.

Added on December 11, 2010, 2:25 pmI rolled back my driver and the blue screen came out with crash dump. It kept going on like that everytime it reaches the log in screen. I went into safe mode and reinstall my driver . o.O

This post has been edited by ~@Sharks@~: Dec 11 2010, 02:25 PM
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 02:51 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 11 2010, 02:01 PM)
My A42JA got the wireless problem. I repaired the wireless thingy and they said it's the wireless adapter or the wireless router . Before i even fix it, my ipod can connect to the network. How to fix this? I have been uninstalling and installing over and over and over again. Really irritating.

Added on December 11, 2010, 2:25 pmI rolled back my driver and the blue screen came out with crash dump. It kept going on like that everytime it reaches the log in screen. I went into safe mode and reinstall my driver . o.O
ur problem is it can't detect any network? try enabling wireless console 3
marcus20125
post Dec 11 2010, 05:56 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 11 2010, 12:44 PM)
Hey guys, i need some help with my cousin lappy formatting, do u have any direct links to download Asus A42F-VX258 drivers?
I tried asus webby but most of the drivers i think are for the newer version A42 using Core i3.. some drivers can be used but some sweat.gif hmm.gif

The laptop spec is:
Asus A42F-VX258
Pentium P6100
3GB RAM
Intel HD
Atheros AR9285 WIFI
Win7 64bit

What i'm trying to solve is the yellow unknown item in my device manager:

What i succesfully install:
1.Intel HD graphic (from asus web)
2.Wifi (Using windows standard driver)
3.LAN (from asus web)
4.Realtek Drivers (from asus web)
5.Virtual camera, power4go,ai recovery

Unsure items:
1.Bluetooth (Using i do know generic windows driver, don't know usable or not) sweat.gif
2.Camera (no drivers so far)
3.Touchpad (no drivers so far)

Thanx for ur help guys  thumbup.gif smile.gif
Base System Device = ATKACPI driver and hotkey-related utilities
for PCI Simple Communications Controller,try look for its Hardware Ids under properties,then search @ http://www.pcidatabase.com/
example you will see PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0641&SUBSYS_82961043&REV_A1 on first row,10DE you input on Vendor Search,then 0641 on Device Search.finally you will know what is the driver for unknown device

This post has been edited by marcus20125: Dec 11 2010, 06:02 PM
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 11 2010, 06:46 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 11 2010, 02:51 PM)
ur problem is it can't detect any network? try enabling wireless console 3
Erm nope. My problem is everytime disconnect. Eventhough my modem is already connected and running as usual. >.<. Disconnect as in everytime got the exclamasion mark. And cannot surf the internet.
Innovation
post Dec 11 2010, 06:57 PM

244 posts

urgent, need help here...,my a42jv...after kena blue screen,and restart.
Then my laptop fail to detect the Nvidia Graphic card. Anyone encounter such thing before? thx..
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 07:02 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Reinstalled the nvidia driver ?
Innovation
post Dec 11 2010, 07:31 PM

244 posts

i had tried, my driver installer is 258.96 but is not working, it will pop up some error message like:

"The Nvidia Setup Program could not locate any drivers that are compatible with your current hardware.Setup will now exit"

And when i check in the device manager, under the display adapter, only got Intel® HD graphics.

Any idea? seem my laptop cant detect the vga card at all..
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 07:33 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Try shutdown the notebook, unplug the battery, and hold the power button for couple seconds, then start it again and see can detect nvidia or not...
Innovation
post Dec 11 2010, 07:47 PM

244 posts

thx lee, now i plug in the battery and with the adapter, it can detect the nvidia card.

Any idea regarding this kind of issue? and would it ok if i update the vga driver to 260.99?
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 07:49 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Haven't tried the 260.99, so far my friend still using 258.96
As for the cause, there might be a clue if you could remember the bsod error code..
holoman
post Dec 11 2010, 07:53 PM

NA NA NA
1,600 posts

i got problem with my u45jc
sometimes,wifi auto disconnect
this happen to me few times already ..
check my wifi modem,dats not the problem,cuz i can browse internet @ the same time with my brotha laptop
what is the main prob for this ?

This post has been edited by holoman: Dec 11 2010, 07:54 PM
absorb-d
post Dec 11 2010, 08:12 PM

1,115 posts

QUOTE(holoman @ Dec 11 2010, 07:53 PM)
i got problem with my u45jc
sometimes,wifi auto disconnect
this happen to me few times already ..
check my wifi modem,dats not the problem,cuz i can browse internet @ the same time with my brotha laptop
what is the main prob for this ?
power management settings, go to device manager, wireless network card
disable power save
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 08:46 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 11 2010, 11:56 AM)
Don't have U2...
got my u2 biggrin.gif too bad no black color. onli silver

anyway, my recovery cd burn until the 3rd cd then i accidentally shut it down... can i continue or download the part 4? or else i wasted 3 cd sad.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 08:57 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

If not mistaken it will ask you to burn start from no 1...
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 09:06 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 11 2010, 08:57 PM)
If not mistaken it will ask you to burn start from no 1...
tats y. any solution? cry.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 09:07 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Nope...
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 09:12 PM

2,201 posts

is it possible if i get my friend's recovery disc to recover my laptop? no right? cry.gif
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 11 2010, 09:35 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 11 2010, 09:12 PM)
is it possible if i get my friend's recovery disc to recover my laptop? no right? cry.gif
Aiya. But new dvd la. Very cheap only mah. After all, you spend almost 2k plus for the laptop anyways right? smile.gif
absorb-d
post Dec 11 2010, 09:39 PM

1,115 posts

jus read bout the ASUS U36
The MSRP $999 model will include the following:

* 13.3-inch display (1366x768 resolution)
* Intel Core i5-460M dual-core processor (2.53GHz; 2.80GHz Turbo Boost; 3MB cache)
* Core i5 Processor 480M/460M or the Core i3 Processor 390M/380M
* Nvidia GeForce G310M graphics with 1GB of memory
* 4GB system RAM
* 500GB 7200RPM hard drive
* HDMI, one USB 3.0 port
* 2-year global warranty w/ 1 year accidental damage protection

funny the i5 460m is stated a dual core? im on i5 450m and its quadcore
so how can it be backwards
but still at 19mm with a i5 processor and even gfx card, wow forget netbooks already
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 09:40 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

It is dual core, its because hyper threading that its appears as quad core in task manager
2 physical cores + 2 logical cores...
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 10:04 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 11 2010, 09:35 PM)
Aiya. But new dvd la. Very cheap only mah. After all, you spend almost 2k plus for the laptop anyways right? smile.gif
rm1.50 each. im poor kid sad.gif
eugenechiuu
post Dec 11 2010, 10:18 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 11 2010, 10:04 PM)
I thought DVD-r's are less than rm1 now.. You can afford CM U2, can't afford DVD-R's? Coolers are not that needed anyways based on ur temperatures
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 10:24 PM

2,201 posts

nope. i wan prolong the life smile.gif

anyway, dvdr- and dvdr+ got diff? unsure.gif
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 11 2010, 10:46 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 11 2010, 10:04 PM)
I bought 10 for RM 15. >.<
alsree786
post Dec 11 2010, 10:55 PM

937 posts

Any users of the A42JA-VX061V?

With following specs:

- Intel® Core™ i7-740QM Processor (6M cache, 1.73 GHz)
- Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium (64 Bit)
- 14' HD (1366x768) LED backlit
- 4GB DDR3 RAM
- 640GB Hard Disk Drive
- ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5730
- 2-year limited global hardware warranty

I am considering the above laptop vs a Dell. The main question is the ATI v Nvidia debate. Any seniors out there with a view on which is better, or whether there is any significant difference btw the ATI 5730 v Nvidia 435m?

thx
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 11:00 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Both perform similar...
holoman
post Dec 11 2010, 11:06 PM

NA NA NA
1,600 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 11 2010, 09:12 PM)
save in ext hard disk lor
can right ?

This post has been edited by holoman: Dec 11 2010, 11:06 PM
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 11:40 PM

2,201 posts

cant... how u do it?
holoman
post Dec 11 2010, 11:42 PM

NA NA NA
1,600 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 11 2010, 11:40 PM)
cant... how u do it?
if im not mistaken,seller told me,can backup in harddisk
but im not sure,never try that
i burn into dvd
total 5 pieces,hehe

This post has been edited by holoman: Dec 11 2010, 11:43 PM
eugenechiuu
post Dec 11 2010, 11:45 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(holoman @ Dec 11 2010, 11:42 PM)
if im not mistaken,seller told me,can backup in harddisk
but im not sure,never try that
i burn into dvd
total 5 pieces,hehe
that one is windows backup... another backup, I think that one backs up everything?

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1535sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:33 AM