Astro B.yond V7.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

MyDevil
post Feb 14 2011, 03:54 PM

7,480 posts

QUOTE(ampang @ Feb 14 2011, 03:51 PM)
Wohoo...finally I have Astro B'yond as of yesterday.

I have one question. The volume button on the remote control doesnt seems to be working. U go up...and down..it doesnt change anything.
The volume function does not work if you are using HDMI connection. smile.gif That is what the installer told me.
ampang
post Feb 14 2011, 04:15 PM

QUOTE(MyDevil @ Feb 14 2011, 03:54 PM)
The volume function does not work if you are using HDMI connection.  smile.gif  That is what the installer told me.
Aiyaa...Thanks for the info. I thought there was something wrong with me. My room mate told me..."Remote control also cannot use ka"
eMKs
post Feb 14 2011, 04:53 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(ryosuke @ Feb 14 2011, 03:37 PM)
hi guys, my father just subscribed to byond and the installer told me not to switch off the decoder (do not switch off the supply), just leave it at standby if not watching otherwise the decoder will not work. Is that true? kind of hard to believe that . Thanks

If you have PVR, then it's quite true because schedule recording won't work if you completely off the decoder. But if you just use the normal byond, you can turn it off.

Someone here reported that byond decoder consume 18W in standby mode. If you watching astro average 5 hrs/day, 19 hrs will be in standby mode. So, do your math.

19 hrs x 30 days x 18W = 10.26 kWh per month.
If your TNB monthly bill < RM43.60 (200kWh), it will cost you RM2.24. But if your RM43.60<bill<RM110.40, it will cost you RM3.43
gahpadu
post Feb 14 2011, 05:26 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Feb 14 2011, 04:53 PM)
If you have PVR, then it's quite true because schedule recording won't work if you completely off the decoder. But if you just use the normal byond, you can turn it off.

Someone here reported that byond decoder consume 18W in standby mode. If you watching astro average 5 hrs/day, 19 hrs will be in standby mode. So, do your math.

If your TNB monthly bill < RM43.60 (200kWh), it will cost you RM2.24. But if your RM43.60<bill<RM110.40, it will cost you RM3.43
great calculation... notworthy.gif

Andrewtst
post Feb 14 2011, 05:49 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

I have one question. The volume button on the remote control doesnt seems to be working. U go up...and down..it doesnt change anything.
Follow the user guide to setup the volume button work with your current tv volume control.
Andrewtst
post Feb 14 2011, 05:52 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(ryosuke @ Feb 14 2011, 03:37 PM)
hi guys, my father just subscribed to byond and the installer told me not to switch off the decoder (do not switch off the supply), just leave it at standby if not watching otherwise the decoder will not work. Is that true? kind of hard to believe that . Thanks
No lah, you can switch off, just sometimes when not watching, let it be idle (standby mode) for if any updates required.

I never on my decoder 24 hours, only on when watching Astro, and sometimes let it idle (standby mode) during lunch or dinner time, will definitely switch off during bed time.

If switch of the power will make the decoder not working, then what happen if no electricity for few hours or even a day? Don't told me it need send over for servicing as you not connected it 24 hours with power on. That installer guy talking nothing....

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Feb 14 2011, 05:55 PM
putrarusdi
post Feb 14 2011, 05:55 PM

Yup, its true for monthly consumption between 0-400kWh. If more than 400kWh, this is the rate you have to pay.

For the first 500kWh (1-500kWh) per month sen/kWh 28.6
For the next 100 kWh (501-600kWh) per month sen/kWh 37.8
For the next 100 kWh (601-700kWh) per month sen/kWh 38.7

Mine usually slightly below 700kWh/monthly.. adoi..!!
THEALB10N
post Feb 14 2011, 06:03 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(putrarusdi @ Feb 14 2011, 05:55 PM)
Yup, its true for monthly consumption between 0-400kWh.Ā  If more than 400kWh, this is the rate you have to pay.

For the firstĀ  500kWh (1-500kWh) per monthĀ  sen/kWhĀ  28.6
For the next 100 kWh (501-600kWh) per monthĀ  sen/kWhĀ  37.8
For the next 100 kWh (601-700kWh) per monthĀ  sen/kWhĀ  38.7

Mine usually slightly below 700kWh/monthly.. adoi..!!
I think the tariff goes much higher than that too. I'm pretty sure most of my electricity is billed at (around) 44.7 per kwh.

rclxub.gif

Edit:
http://www.tnb.com.my/tnb/residential/pric...riff-rates.html

This post has been edited by THEALB10N: Feb 14 2011, 06:05 PM
pokemon
post Feb 14 2011, 06:35 PM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(THEALB10N @ Feb 14 2011, 06:03 PM)
I think the tariff goes much higher than that too. I'm pretty sure most of my electricity is billed at (around) 44.7 per kwh.

rclxub.gif

Edit:
http://www.tnb.com.my/tnb/residential/pric...riff-rates.html
Domestic rates are using incremental rate, where you consume more KwH then you pay more with every 100kWh after the 500KwH threshold.
Your tarrif rate will be flat if you meter reading is under business/industrial rates.
podrunner
post Feb 14 2011, 06:55 PM

2,214 posts

How long between application and installation?
jovigrunge
post Feb 14 2011, 07:44 PM

2,607 posts

Any good recommendation of a wireless AV Sender/Transmitter? Original Astro decoder at the hall downstairs but need a wireless AV sender upstairs...... any idea getting a reliable one? Price?
lapaq
post Feb 14 2011, 10:01 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Feb 14 2011, 01:43 PM)
asto should offer free satellite TV something similar to uk's freesat, where there is no subscription and no contract,  just a one-off payment for the digital box whistling.gif

if you are astro customer, think more like what a customer should do shakehead.gif suggest ideas that are more beneficially to to customer, not acted as astro spokeperson  shocking.gif
Good idea but Who operates the satellite in the UK. Certainly not the operator. Like Astro, they also buys thebandwith from measat. If measat broadcast the freesat channels, we just need to buy the decoder. But from who? Astro is not in the business of selling decoder.

Anyway, do I really sound like an Astro spokesperson?

QUOTE(smileguy @ Feb 14 2011, 02:40 PM)
I beg to differ,astro is not  luxury but a neccesity for some. Many of us cannot even recive our very own FTA channels clearly despite those aerials and hv to take Astro just for reception sake so here it becomes a neccesity. The govt is very unfair it shld direct astro to distribute these FTA Govt. channels FOC and not put them in the family pack and sell for RM37.95 ! Anybody who has astro shld be entitled to Govt.channels FOC.Even u cut astro ,astro CANNOT  not cut the reception of Govt.channels. Astro  is a neccesity but has been made look like luxury and as usual our minister wld say who ask u to subscribe ,when he also knows that even a fair reception of govt. channels is not possible without the astro dish!
Who pays for the bandwidth then. Not to sound like an astro spokesperson but I don't think Astro is obligated to provide free TV for Media Prima channels. Unless Media Prima pays Astro for the bandwidth.

What about the equipment? Who pays for it? What about the installation and warranty for the equipment if Astro doesn't get paid monthly? Just some question I would throw around.

Definitely a great piece of info. Thanks!
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 14 2011, 10:17 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Feb 14 2011, 01:43 PM)
asto should offer free satellite TV something similar to uk's freesat, where there is no subscription and no contract,  just a one-off payment for the digital box whistling.gif

if you are astro customer, think more like what a customer should do shakehead.gif suggest ideas that are more beneficially to to customer, not acted as astro spokeperson  shocking.gif
Assuming the government runs a free bus service (RTM). And you run a private taxi service (Astro).

People can take the bus for free. People have to pay using your taxi.

Assuming the bus service don't work one day. Can we now use your taxi for free?

You obviously don't know how businesses work and understood the saying "There is no free lunch".

neb
post Feb 14 2011, 11:54 PM

2,234 posts

plenty of free lunches in UK LOL

freesat is a joint venture between UK's private and government owned entity, astro and malaysian government should learn from them

why limit your brain's activity, think outside the box, anything is possible icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by neb: Feb 15 2011, 12:18 AM
ryosuke
post Feb 15 2011, 12:04 AM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Feb 14 2011, 05:52 PM)
No lah, you can switch off, just sometimes when not watching, let it be idle (standby mode) for if any updates required.

I never on my decoder 24 hours, only on when watching Astro, and sometimes let it idle (standby mode) during lunch or dinner time, will definitely switch off during bed time.

If switch of the power will make the decoder not working, then what happen if no electricity for few hours or even a day? Don't told me it need send over for servicing as you not connected it 24 hours with power on. That installer guy talking nothing....
Yeah, i also think that way, that's why i feel weird and ask here. Thanks for the input notworthy.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 15 2011, 07:18 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Feb 14 2011, 11:54 PM)
plenty of free lunches in UK LOL

freesat is a joint venture between UK's private and government owned entity, astro and malaysian government should learn from them

why limit your brain's activity, think outside the box, anything is possibleĀ  icon_idea.gif
I don't think Astro is a joint venture between the private Astro company and the Malaysian government. If it is not a joint venture, why should Astro transmit free TV program for the government? So what have box or no box have to do with it?

If government wanted Astro to transmit free RTM, then the government should pay Astro money. So you should go blame government and stop barking up the wrong tree.

Put it in another way. I didn't pay for your car or your petrol, can I use it for free? Or do I have to pay you money to use it?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Feb 15 2011, 07:26 AM
SUSjalsrix
post Feb 15 2011, 07:47 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Feb 13 2011, 08:25 PM)
Has Astro anything to do with the government NOT allowing us to have Free to Air satellite from all over the world? There are literally hundreds of free channel and some paid channel up in the sky that are accessible to us for a mere few hundred Ringgit (paid once in a lifetime, not monthly or yearly etc), if only the government allows it.
The government is afraid of losing their cronies such as Astro. And Astro is afraid of true competition.

Why disallow free channels from the world over ? Even china has more than 30 (lost count) free channels (more than ass throw family package laugh.gif )

And as for those lame arguments that astro is a luxury item, so is your car.

In a world where there are tons of free to air channels, fast speed internet, these are NOT considered luxury items anymore, they are considered normal modern necessities.

Fast Internet in Malaysia is another item that is ridiculously expensive when compared to other countries. All because some people with a 'stone age mind' think that these are 'luxury' item.

Most of the people in the world don't own a car and that is considered a luxury item.

Maybe lapaq can switch to using public transport or riding bicycle to work because it accomplish the same task. brows.gif

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Feb 15 2011, 07:51 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 15 2011, 08:31 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Feb 15 2011, 07:47 AM)
The government is afraid of losing their cronies such as Astro. And Astro is afraid of true competition.

Why disallow free channels from the world over ? Even china has more than 30 (lost count) free channels (more than ass throw family packageĀ  laugh.gif )

I think there are more than 30 China channel. In fact, there are so many free channel up in the sky that you could get tired just pressing the remote control in changing from one channel to another. Beside China, you can get Taiwan program, Korean program, Indonesian program, Indian program, Pakistan program, German program, Philippine program, Australia program, Arab program.....so many you lost count. All FREE drool.gif

Now, who should we blame? And yet, we have 'frog in well' mindset people complaining about the little RM20 Byond fees. They should think out of the box and try to get those FTA available instead.

Added on February 15, 2011, 8:35 am

You need cars to make a living, take kids to school to be educated etc. So car is a necessity.

You make a living out of watching Astro? You must teach me how. drool.gif

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Feb 15 2011, 08:35 AM
lapaq
post Feb 15 2011, 10:50 AM

255 posts

Why disallow free channels from the world over ? Even china has more than 30 (lost count) free channels (more than ass throw family package  laugh.gif )

In a world where there are tons of free to air channels, fast speed internet, these are NOT considered luxury items anymore, they are considered normal modern necessities.
Fast Internet in Malaysia is another item that is ridiculously expensive when compared to other countries. All because some people with a 'stone age mind' think that these are 'luxury' item.
Most of the people in the world don't own a car and that is considered a luxury item.
Maybe lapaq can switch to using public transport or riding bicycle to work because it accomplish the same task.  brows.gif
Hahaha, yaa blame the govt. That is what LYN is good for anyway. Typical LYN forummer.

Jals, I can afford a car and I also don't b**** about a BMW's price being too high. To bad if you think it that car prices is too high.

You guys complain about all these Internet and HD...you guys need to open your eyes, there are people in the country without food and homes. And yet you want Govt to subsidize you guys the rich people. Hehehe...get your priorities right lah bro.

aburex
post Feb 15 2011, 11:11 AM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 14 2011, 06:55 PM)
How long between application and installation?
after few days you can try call astro cs and check your application status.
if they already assigned it to the installer, you can call the installer and deal wif him..

146 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:03 PM