Astro B.yond V7.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT
ryosuke
Feb 14 2011, 03:37 PM
hi guys, my father just subscribed to byond and the installer told me not to switch off the decoder (do not switch off the supply), just leave it at standby if not watching otherwise the decoder will not work. Is that true? kind of hard to believe that . Thanks
This post has been edited by ryosuke: Feb 14 2011, 03:38 PM
ryosuke
Feb 15 2011, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(eMKs @ Feb 14 2011, 04:53 PM) If you have PVR, then it's quite true because schedule recording won't work if you completely off the decoder. But if you just use the normal byond, you can turn it off. Someone here reported that byond decoder consume 18W in standby mode. If you watching astro average 5 hrs/day, 19 hrs will be in standby mode. So, do your math. 19 hrs x 30 days x 18W = 10.26 kWh per month. If your TNB monthly bill < RM43.60 (200kWh), it will cost you RM2.24. But if your RM43.60<bill<RM110.40, it will cost you RM3.43 QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Feb 14 2011, 05:52 PM) No lah, you can switch off, just sometimes when not watching, let it be idle (standby mode) for if any updates required. I never on my decoder 24 hours, only on when watching Astro, and sometimes let it idle (standby mode) during lunch or dinner time, will definitely switch off during bed time. If switch of the power will make the decoder not working, then what happen if no electricity for few hours or even a day? Don't told me it need send over for servicing as you not connected it 24 hours with power on. That installer guy talking nothing.... Yeah, i also think that way, that's why i feel weird and ask here. Thanks for the input