Phonebook Practically unlimited entries and fields, Photocall
Call records Yes
Internal 4 GB storage, 512 MB RAM, 512 MB ROM
Card slot microSD, up to 32GB, 4GB card included, buy memory
Data
GPRS Class 10 (4+1/3+2 slots), 32 - 48 kbps
EDGE Class 10, 236.8 kbps
3G HSDPA; HSUPA
WLAN Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n, UMA (carrier-dependent)
Bluetooth Yes, v2.1 with A2DP
Infrared port No
USB Yes, microUSB v2.0
Camera Primary 5 MP, 2592х1944 pixels, autofocus, LED flash
Features Geo-tagging, continuous auto-focus, image stabilization
Video Yes, VGA@24fps
Secondary No
Features
OS BlackBerry OS 6.0
CPU 624 MHz processor
Messaging SMS, MMS, Email, Push Email, IM
Browser HTML
Radio No
Games Yes + downloadable
Colors Black, White, Dark Orange
GPS Yes, with A-GPS support
Java Yes, MIDP 2.0
- Social feeds
- BlackBerry maps
- Document viewer (Word, Excel, PowerPoint)
- Media player MP3/WMA/eAAC+/FlAC/OGG player
- Video player DivX/XviD/MP4/WMV/H.263/H.264
- Organizer
- Voice memo/dial
Battery
Standard battery, Li-Ion 1300 mAh
Stand-by Up to 432 h (2G) / Up to 336 h (3G)
Talk time Up to 5 h 30 min (2G) / Up to 5 h 40 min (3G)
Music play Up to 30 h
Misc
SAR US 0.91 W/kg (head) 0.68 W/kg (body)
SAR EU 0.86 W/kg (head) 0.81 W/kg (body)

Software For BlackBerry® Torch™ 9800 smartphone
BlackBerry Handheld Software v6.0.0.1165 (Multilanguage)

Package Version: 6.0.0.1165
Consisting of:
Applications: 6.0.0.337
Software Platform: 6.4.0.142
File name: 9800M_PBr6.0.0_rel1165_PL6.4.0.142_A6.0.0.337_Beeline.exe
File size: 167.91MB
Note: The Software Platform and Applications version numbers can be found under Options-About screen on the handheld.

Link: https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry....9BE2BF2D3D7ECE3

BlackBerry Handheld Software v6.0.0.1165 (Asia with Chinese handwriting)

Package Version: 6.0.0.1165
Consisting of:
Applications: 6.0.0.337
Software Platform: 6.4.0.142
File name: 9800hwAsia_PBr6.0.0_rel1165_PL6.4.0.142_A6.0.0.337_Taiwan_Mobile.exe
File size: 156.57MB
Note: The Software Platform and Applications version numbers can be found under Options-About screen on the handheld.

Link: https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/contac...C8FB04FE0475037

Upgrading Procedure for an Official OS release is as follows:

1. Download the OS and install it on your PC. (Make sure you have already removed any older OSes you have installed on your PC by going to Add / Remove Programs in Control Panel)

2. Delete the vendor.xml file (located in C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader)

3. Backup your 3rd party applications ( optional recommended step )

4. Connect your BlackBerry to your PC and right click on a file named Loader (located in the same place where you found the vendor.xml > C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader\Loader.exe) and select '' Run As Administrator ''

5. Follow the prompts and make sure you select the languages and applications you wish to be installed.
The Loader will backup and restore your data by default.

Still Having Issues !!?
I would recommend using BBSAK to Upgrade, so

- Uninstall the OS(s) you already have installed on your PC
- Delete the folder (research in motion) in ( c: \program files\common files\research in motion )
- Restart your PC

Scan Bar Code and join our Chat Group today...

Conan Video - Live Tweeting On The Blackberry Torch from AT&T...

Blackberry Torch 9800 Disassembly - Complete Take Apart

Torch 9800 OS 6.0.0.448

After a week full of meaningful leaks, we waited until Friday to bring you perhaps the most meaningful one of them all. Ah.. The Torch 9800, neglected since 6.0.0.337 for unknown reasons, a new OS has finally risen up against the odds and surfaced in the form of 6.0.0.448. We thought this might make just a few people happy.

As with the other .448 leaks, there is a new version of Facebook in this build (1.9.0.26). No more questions asked. If you have a Torch and are still fussing around with a .3xx build you need to update immediately. Just as a reminder, be sure to back up your data before diving in to this one and let us know how it's working for you! We expect nothing but the best. Enjoy!

VIP's Download Link:

http://www.zshare.net/download/85833359e25d1c41/

*OS Disclaimer - Please Read: Keep in mind this is NOT an official release and as such is not supported by RIM or your Carrier. If you choose to install, do so at your own risk and only if you're comfortable in the process of upgrading and downgrading your device software. Driphter.com is not responsible for any loss of data or other issues that may arise during the loading process. Please do not forget to back up your data prior to loading!

Well, just this morning we saw OS 6.0.0.448 drop for the BlackBerry Torch 9800. Now, member XxMeSs1aHxX in our forums has just posted up build .450, which we’re not sure of the changelog. We’re not sure what might be different in .450, but we’re sure it’s to address some bug issues in .448.

Download Torch 9800 OS 6.0.0.450 from:

Link 1: http://ul.to/fiu4rg/9800M_PBr6.0.0_rel1908..._A6.0.0.450.exe
Link 2: http://freakshare.com/files/0ruujg3j/9800M....0.450.exe.html
Link 3: http://hotfile.com/dl/100288687/13c60e2/98....0.450.exe.html
Thanks to outdoorxplorer

*DISCLAIMER* – This is an unofficial RIM software release. If you choose to install, do so at your own risk! N4BB.COM is not responsible for any malfunctions or abnormalities that may occur.

This post has been edited by dicksonbell: Jan 30 2011, 01:18 AM
eolmanagement
post Oct 31 2010, 01:29 PM

76 posts

Huh, Mr Dicksonbell, you have started a new topic here.
rattan
post Oct 31 2010, 01:31 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Nice. V1 is here. Credit goes to dicksonbell for his effort.
SFOD-D
post Oct 31 2010, 01:33 PM

757 posts

Nice reminds me of the old O2 XDA .. albeit smaller
eolmanagement
post Oct 31 2010, 01:34 PM

76 posts

Yup, as I said, Mr Dicksonbell is the KING OF BB, he contributed a lot to the BB community! Hooooray! Long Live the King .....
TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 01:35 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Lol, dont call me like this eolmanagement "paiseh"...

But anyhow this is Torch 9800 discussion and sharing not official launching or introduction thread we had before...

This post has been edited by dicksonbell: Oct 31 2010, 01:36 PM
eolmanagement
post Oct 31 2010, 01:45 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 31 2010, 01:35 PM)
Lol, dont call me like this eolmanagement "paiseh"...

But anyhow this is Torch 9800 discussion and sharing not official launching or introduction thread we had before...
oK OK I AM SORRY! I AM SORRY.
rattan
post Oct 31 2010, 01:47 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Brightstar already started distributing BB9800. Today latest price. BB9800 by "alieamin" cash RM2188, EPP all bank RM2299.
Torch ready stock now and come with 4GB MMC
18.months warranty from Brightstar.

This post has been edited by rattan: Oct 31 2010, 01:57 PM
kent_jai
post Oct 31 2010, 01:49 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Oct 31 2010, 01:47 PM)
Brightstar already started distributing BB9800. Today latest price. RM9800 by "alieamin" cash RM2188, EPP all bank RM2299.
Torch ready stock now and come with 4GB MMC
18.months warranty from Brightstar.
RM 9800 ? 4GB MMC ? shocking.gif
rattan
post Oct 31 2010, 01:58 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(kent_jai @ Oct 31 2010, 01:49 PM)
RM 9800 ? 4GB MMC ?  shocking.gif
Sorry typing error. Edited.
TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 02:00 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(eolmanagement @ Oct 31 2010, 01:45 PM)
oK OK I AM SORRY! I AM SORRY.
Joking only dont be so serious..

BTW Torch are official in Malaysia next upcoming is Bold 9780...
rattan
post Oct 31 2010, 02:13 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 31 2010, 02:00 PM)
Joking only dont be so serious..

BTW Torch are official in Malaysia next upcoming is Bold 9780...
Yeah lets wait for the 9780. Official will be next year for sure. AP set might be coming in December.
stanum
post Oct 31 2010, 02:13 PM

SharePoint enthusiast
706 posts

Hey guys, why my Torch have a different label beside the camera lens?

Mine show 5.0 MP auto focus
rattan
post Oct 31 2010, 02:14 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(stanum @ Oct 31 2010, 02:13 PM)
Hey guys, why my Torch have a different label beside the camera lens?

Mine show 5.0 MP auto focus
This is original set. Not AP. Possibly from Brightstar.

This post has been edited by rattan: Oct 31 2010, 02:14 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 02:19 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

AP and Original got different label???
rattan
post Oct 31 2010, 02:41 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 31 2010, 02:19 PM)
Yupp, near the camera there.
waque
post Oct 31 2010, 02:48 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 31 2010, 02:19 PM)
mine bought from celcom launching stated "5.0 MP Auto Focus" on the back. no wording of "TORCH"
rattan
post Oct 31 2010, 02:52 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(waque @ Oct 31 2010, 02:48 PM)
mine bought from celcom launching stated "5.0 MP Auto Focus" on the back. no wording of "TORCH"
Its a Vodafone set rite ?
ShenToN
post Oct 31 2010, 03:31 PM

181 posts

Bro dickson,
does ur latest software supports chinese word ? can talk in BB group? after i updated mine to 6.0.0.246 asian..can see chinese word. but chat in bbm group ppl cannot see..i upload picture ppl also cannt see in my frens group.Yours got such problem?

TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 03:51 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Yes mine support (but I dont understand)...

Try to re-install or upgrade your BBM chat in Applications Center inside your BlackBerry...
stanum
post Oct 31 2010, 04:58 PM

SharePoint enthusiast
706 posts

I went to lowyat today, asking around for Torch Holster most of the shops there, they said no Torch holster, case, etc available yet, i can only bought the screen protector. Need to wait for the case to come to Malaysia perhaps.
TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 05:00 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Please do visit our website frequently as next week we might comes in with some pouch and hostler for Torch 9800...
acrylics
post Oct 31 2010, 05:00 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ShenToN @ Oct 31 2010, 03:31 PM)
Bro dickson,
      does ur latest software supports chinese word ? can talk in BB group? after i updated mine to 6.0.0.246 asian..can see chinese word. but chat in bbm group ppl cannot see..i upload picture ppl also cannt see in my frens group.Yours got such problem?
if i understand you correctly, the other person you chatting in chinese must have the chinese language plugin installed so that can read your chinese message. Hope this is what you meant.
TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 05:03 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Means something wrong with his BlackBerry Messenger...
rattan
post Oct 31 2010, 05:04 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Try reinstalling/upgrading BBM, it should fix the problem

This post has been edited by rattan: Oct 31 2010, 05:04 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 05:08 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

That is the only solution for now.. Is not the input and output problem...
stanum
post Oct 31 2010, 05:18 PM

SharePoint enthusiast
706 posts

Thanks dicksonbell, waiting patiently smile.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 05:22 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Welcome, thanks for your guys support!
babyyi
post Oct 31 2010, 07:12 PM

1,094 posts

so finally bro dickson grab TORCH already?

btw if any one looking for protector can PM me...

got 2 type,1 is Anti-Glare Edition,another is Special Edition (Front&Camera)...but special edition is clear type smile.gif
realstingzz
post Oct 31 2010, 07:27 PM

82 posts

im a new BB user..got my torch at celcom launch last saturday..
1 question...if no BIS...we cant connect to the internet/bbm although we have existing broadband plan?
babyyi
post Oct 31 2010, 08:01 PM

1,094 posts

QUOTE(realstingzz @ Oct 31 2010, 07:27 PM)
im a new BB user..got my torch at celcom launch last saturday..
1 question...if no BIS...we cant connect to the internet/bbm although we have existing broadband plan?
yup,u aren't wrong..u need a BIS plan to connect to bbm
realstingzz
post Oct 31 2010, 08:02 PM

82 posts

thx babyyi..clear now.. biggrin.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 08:43 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(babyyi @ Oct 31 2010, 07:12 PM)
so finally bro dickson grab TORCH already?

btw if any one looking for protector can PM me...

got 2 type,1 is Anti-Glare Edition,another is Special Edition (Front&Camera)...but special edition is clear type smile.gif
Still considering... smile.gif
rattan
post Oct 31 2010, 09:44 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 31 2010, 08:43 PM)
Still considering... smile.gif
Go for it thumbup.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 09:45 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

I need to consider in many ways and angle should or shouldn't.. Need to read more review before commit...
stanum
post Oct 31 2010, 09:46 PM

SharePoint enthusiast
706 posts

Hey guys,

I just wanna ask some beginner question if which might have been answered previously several times.

for twitter and facebook, i saw on the Options, for the twitter and facebook update, i need to select the time interval to be updated, can it update automatically like email or something?

TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 09:48 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Just do an update..

This post has been edited by dicksonbell: Oct 31 2010, 09:48 PM
rattan
post Oct 31 2010, 09:48 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(stanum @ Oct 31 2010, 09:46 PM)
Hey guys,

I just wanna ask some beginner question if which might have been answered previously several times.

for twitter and facebook, i saw on the Options, for the twitter and facebook update, i need to select the time interval to be updated, can it update automatically like email or something?
It will auto update. Dont worry.
magiara
post Oct 31 2010, 11:33 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(mzriders @ Oct 30 2010, 04:19 PM)
Got the phone for RM 1149.00 free Jabra Bluetooth so called value at RM 250.00. Yes they do have d phone and apparently d invite was sent to exact number of 100 people. They even have ur name printed in a piece of paper.
should be getting my torch 9800 from maxis tmr if they have stock at klcc..

wondering will they give rm 200 discount to loyal maxis users? drool.gif haha i'm dreaming rclxub.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 11:35 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Do you have coupon? Maybe you can give a try...
magiara
post Oct 31 2010, 11:36 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 31 2010, 11:35 PM)
Do you have coupon? Maybe you can give a try...
i don't have, but telling them i'm a loyal 10 years old user even house phone and broadband also maxis, will they consider me? lol laugh.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 11:44 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Give a try and let us know the outcome please...
magiara
post Nov 1 2010, 12:17 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

i just called maxis to check if klcc have ready stock for torch 9800, but was told they don't have it! need to wait till 5th of nov to get the stock.. cry.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 1 2010, 12:28 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

You need to be patient and wait for it, 5th is 4 days away only, but on the 5th is public holiday, can their stock arrived on time??
richardson.wan
post Nov 1 2010, 12:36 PM

214 posts

Celcom aims to light 10,000 Torches by year’s end
October 29, 2010

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/busines...s-by-years-end/

This post has been edited by richardson.wan: Nov 1 2010, 12:37 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 1 2010, 12:40 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Celcom will conquer the world of BlackBerry...
richardson.wan
post Nov 1 2010, 12:41 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 1 2010, 12:40 PM)
Celcom will conquer the world of BlackBerry...
Axiata group, under TM.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 1 2010, 12:44 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Celcom is under Telekom Malaysia as well... I still remember years back, the 1st Telco who brings in BlackBerry is CELCOM...
me076310
post Nov 1 2010, 12:59 PM

615 posts

hi, i wanna change my phone from iphone4 to torch..is it a bad move?...how big is torch compared to iphone (size&weight)..does it fit comfortably in your pocket?

and how's the signal strength and call quality?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 1 2010, 01:03 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Is a good move if you are in Social Group or lots of your friends are in BlackBerry Messenger...

Here are the link for BlackBerry Torch 9800, do read more and you will know more about BlackBerry Torch 9800...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1521427&hl=
kamarulamir
post Nov 1 2010, 01:44 PM

190 posts

Guys, just need some feedback here, does your torch (when slide out) kinda loose? I mean like "goyang" la.. Hehehehehe..
CKJMark
post Nov 1 2010, 01:45 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Nov 1 2010, 12:17 PM)
i just called maxis to check if klcc have ready stock for torch 9800, but was told they don't have it! need to wait till 5th of nov to get the stock..  cry.gif
I just got back from Maxis KLCC and the exec said that currently there is stock on hand, but only for the first 100 pre-registration.

Sales to walk-in customers will start on Wednesday. However, how accurate this information from the exec is I cannot guarantee. I called Maxis phone CS before I went over and they told me it was already on sale. Kena kantoi.

realstingzz
post Nov 1 2010, 02:14 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(kamarulamir @ Nov 1 2010, 01:44 PM)
Guys, just need some feedback here, does your torch (when slide out) kinda loose? I mean like "goyang" la.. Hehehehehe..
mine is ok..very smooth...tak goyang...
kamarulamir
post Nov 1 2010, 02:22 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(realstingzz @ Nov 1 2010, 02:14 PM)
mine is ok..very smooth...tak goyang...
Hehe.. Cool.. Just need some feedback on it.. Thanks realstingzz biggrin.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 1 2010, 02:22 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Nov 1 2010, 01:45 PM)
I just got back from Maxis KLCC and the exec said that currently there is stock on hand, but only for the first 100 pre-registration. 

Sales to walk-in customers will start on Wednesday.  However, how accurate this information from the exec is I cannot guarantee.  I called Maxis phone CS before I went over and they told me it was already on sale.  Kena kantoi.
This info is really mis-leading customer, one side say got the say not sure... rclxub.gif
CKJMark
post Nov 2 2010, 12:25 AM

579 posts

Correction, just got email from Maxis.

First 100 eligible for the bonus gift - can buy as of last week

Those who pre-register - can buy on 3rd Nov (print out email they sent to you)

Others - 5th Nov

Happy hunting all
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 2 2010, 12:27 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

So many categories/date they divided to, any difference if buying 3rd and 5th buyer? Any free gift like Celcom offered?
CKJMark
post Nov 2 2010, 12:31 AM

579 posts

Nope, just can get it faster by 2 days LOL
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 2 2010, 12:37 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

All the best for you on getting your Torch 9800 Mark... smile.gif
stanum
post Nov 2 2010, 01:01 AM

SharePoint enthusiast
706 posts

Hey guys,

How do you setup ur email in ur Torch? i used mobileemail.vodafone.com.my to setup my email, but unfortunately i cant sync my contacts and calendars. It shows

If you have not already done so, to start contact synchronization, complete the security activation on your BlackBerry® device:
1. On the Home screen, click the Setup icon and click Email Accounts or Email Settings.
2. After you log in, the security activation starts. When security activation is complete, wireless synchronization with your device automatically begins.

I followed the instruction.

Setup > Email Accounts

Then, it will shows account activation email and password. how do i get the information to enable contact and calendar sync? i used gmail.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 2 2010, 01:12 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Yours is Celcom Set, right? Have you activated your BlackBerry? If yes then do a battery pull, wait for 3-5 mins and re-insert back the battery and wait for notification/instruction on screen...
DavidAw
post Nov 2 2010, 01:28 PM

163 posts

any idea when digi releasing torch ?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 2 2010, 01:36 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Middle or end of Nov, still awaiting insider news...
realstingzz
post Nov 2 2010, 05:10 PM

82 posts

need help i cant setup my email accounts...no email account icon in the setup menu...anyone can help?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 2 2010, 05:19 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Normally after email setup and notification will be sent in, you got that already?

Can you try check all folder do it is hidden in any folder or main menu?
realstingzz
post Nov 2 2010, 06:07 PM

82 posts

before this i think have..but after my bis activate it dissapear...is it celcom user need to configure it online only??..i try online and can configure it..
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 2 2010, 06:14 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Try to delete the email inside your phone, then do a battery pull.. After 2-3 mins re-inset back your battery and setup the email again...

It has nothing to do with online configure.. You dont mind which email you are setting up?
rashidi
post Nov 2 2010, 06:46 PM

73 posts

i tried one unit during Celcom launch, a little bit goyang i felt
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 2 2010, 06:59 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Then better go back for change the device, I think they do have few days exchanged policy, do they???
realstingzz
post Nov 2 2010, 07:46 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 2 2010, 06:14 PM)
Try to delete the email inside your phone, then do a battery pull.. After 2-3 mins re-inset back your battery and setup the email again...

It has nothing to do with online configure.. You dont mind which email you are setting up?
mr dickson...i have configure my yahoo email and my work email..both successfull...but i do it online..
the icon in setup---->email account is dissapear...
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 2 2010, 07:52 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Open Email go to Menu-Options-General Options and check SMS and Email In-boxes are marked as separate..

On the Home Screen, click on the menu and select "Show All". Make sure that Show all has a check mark beside it..

Do a battery pull wait for 1-2 mins, re-insert battery and your Email Icon should be there..

magiara
post Nov 2 2010, 09:51 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

i have a problem here.. i can't take photo with my bb torch

i press the enter button or camera snap button, the light will turn on, but after focus, the screen will turn dark. and no images will be save/snap..

wat is wrong wif my phone?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 2 2010, 10:16 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Just background too many apps running so it respond slow.. Hold the menu button for 5 second a row of running apps will pop out, closed/exit one by one properly and your can use...
magiara
post Nov 2 2010, 11:24 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

i cant sign out or close my facebook.. i worry its sucking my data and cost me bomb later
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 2 2010, 11:26 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

I think you need to restart your BlackBerry.. It wont deduct your credit if no data were sent even you are on the Facebook page...
bobkerry
post Nov 3 2010, 01:12 AM

hey want to buy this phone but i am not sure whether it will work every where? as i am planning to go Australia and i want my blackberry service to be activated there too...i hope this will work and my problems will be solved...
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 3 2010, 01:13 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

As long the BlackBerry not locked by any Telco it can be used in Australia and Malaysia...
kevbong
post Nov 3 2010, 10:10 AM

Hi guys.
I am new to blackberry, just got a Torch last night.
would like to know if there's any ways i can get BIS without having to subscribe to SmartPlan?
I am a Supp line under Family plan.

note: is there anything like +RM10 only for BIS. i do not want the unlimited internet access.

CKJMark
post Nov 3 2010, 10:54 AM

579 posts

i don't think so, unless you take prepaid.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 3 2010, 10:54 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

There is no such cheap BIS unless you use Prepaid otherwise min is RM40/month...
kevbong
post Nov 3 2010, 11:09 AM

how do i know if im using internet on my phone via home wireless?
im running without BIS now.

thks
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 3 2010, 11:23 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Without BIS you cant use WiFi, bcoz only with BIS you can access to WiFi with some setting to be done on Network and Native Browser...
magiara
post Nov 3 2010, 08:31 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

i've set my ringing volume to 10 but i still feel the ringing tone very soft.. how to solve it?
crazyxhildren
post Nov 3 2010, 08:57 PM

anybody knows whether celcom/maxis will be bringing in the red/white Torch?checked with bluecube today they mentioned they've never even heard about it before -.-
magiara
post Nov 3 2010, 09:01 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

so torch dont have T9 ?

Added on November 3, 2010, 9:10 pmmy torch shows media card repair failed!

wat is the problem?
it says my media card got problem and need to be repair.. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by magiara: Nov 3 2010, 09:10 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 3 2010, 09:54 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Repair and diagnosed via PC and Laptop...
magiara
post Nov 3 2010, 10:03 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 3 2010, 09:54 PM)
Repair and diagnosed via PC and Laptop...
hmm how?
CKJMark
post Nov 3 2010, 10:14 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(crazyxhildren @ Nov 3 2010, 08:57 PM)
anybody knows whether celcom/maxis will be bringing in the red/white Torch?checked with bluecube today they mentioned they've never even heard about it before -.-
Given that it took them this long to even bring the original Torch to Malaysia, I wouldn't hold your breath for the red or white version that is not yet even out in US yet I think.
weileong
post Nov 3 2010, 10:27 PM

"The Idea Is To Die Young As Late As Possible"
1,720 posts

QUOTE(realstingzz @ Nov 2 2010, 05:10 PM)
need help i cant setup my email accounts...no email account icon in the setup menu...anyone can help?
Celcom ? refer here : http://www.mobileemail.vodafone.com.my/

Maxis ? refer here : http://www.maxis.blackberry.com/

CKJMark
post Nov 3 2010, 10:32 PM

579 posts

Picked up my Torch today and have been playing with it for the last 3 hours. A few observations I'd like to share for those considering buying one:-

Sliding mechanism

- firm, solid, no goyang-ing when its slid out or tucked in. Test it before you take it home in case you get a defective unit

Resolution

- a lot has been written about this, and the general view is very damning because of the numbers. Good news, the negative reviews are not true. Ok, so you don't have a HD screen, but pictures are well rendered, so are sites and text. It won't win any photography awards, but it will do the job without you really noticing the difference (unless you are really fussy). Not fantastic, but not horrible.,

Touchscreen keyboard

- good and not easy to make typing mistakes (this coming from a touchscreen noob)

Weight

- Heavier than the bold, but I think its not overly heavy. On par or lighter than Iphone 4 if you want to compare

Scrolling

- No lag noticed. But thats probably because I close what I don't use when I browse. If you happen to have 4-6 apps running in the background, it will likely lag but not yet tested.

Battery life

- This is my main complain. Gonna try the solutions on RIM support forums and see if it helps. Do bear in mind the Torch's battery is weaker than the Bold 9700, and the Torch is more power hungry, so the shorter lifespan is reasonably expected. Hope a higher capacity battery is out soon.

Keyboard

- Thinner than Bold, takes a while to get used to. Buttons are just as good as the 9700, but the thinness will feel a bit odd at first

Keylock button

- Too sensitive (maybe just mine, or maybe its the design). Tend to accidentally unlock.

Optical trackpad, BB button, Call/DC button

- I noticed my model has a loose panel. Gonna take it back tomorrow to have it changed. Double check your model before you go home to avoid this (apparently its a fairly common problem).

Boot-up time

- fast compared to Bold 9700 (1-2 minutes)

Phone locking up / hanging / freeze

- No instances so far

Summation:-

I like it. Doesn't make me drool or hyper, but keeps me happy. Easy to get used to coz all the basics we love are still there, and lets you taste what its like to use the touchscreen. Migrating data from my Bold to Torch was easy with DM6, and OS6 is a nice facelift. New webkit is a big improvement over the old native browser, reminds me a bit of opera mini.

Cons:-

- shorter battery life
- loose optical trackpad panel (check yours before you accept it)
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 3 2010, 10:48 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Nice review Mark... Enjoy your new Toy smile.gif
sonyclie77
post Nov 3 2010, 11:02 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(DavidAw @ Nov 2 2010, 01:28 PM)
any idea when digi releasing torch ?
Next week. I just received word from DiGi.

Not sure of the package they'll offer though.

By the way, very concise review of the Torch CKJMark. Would be beneficial to soon-to-be-owners of the Torch.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 3 2010, 11:10 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Package and price I will try to get from insider ASAP!
sonyclie77
post Nov 3 2010, 11:11 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 3 2010, 11:23 AM)
Without BIS you cant use WiFi, bcoz only with BIS you can access to WiFi with some setting to be done on Network and Native Browser...
With newer models, yes you can use WiFi even if you didn't subscribe to BIS.

This is without tweaking any settings to the network and native browser.

Just tried it on one of my BlackBerry with a SIM card with no BIS subscribed.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 3 2010, 11:15 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Sorry didnt aware of that coz didnt try Torch 9800 personally before..
sonyclie77
post Nov 3 2010, 11:20 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Nov 3 2010, 11:11 PM)
With newer models, yes you can use WiFi even if you didn't subscribe to BIS.

This is without tweaking any settings to the network and native browser.

Just tried it on one of my BlackBerry with a SIM card with no BIS subscribed.
Just to add to what I said just now, you can only use WiFi for browsing, and browsing AppWorld. tongue.gif

3rd party apps like Twitter, Facebook cannot be used unless you subscribe to a BIS plan with your telco.
weileong
post Nov 3 2010, 11:23 PM

1,720 posts

nice review CKJMark thumbup.gif

Get mine 2morrow...but intend to sell it or maybe not see if got good offer.. tongue.gif
sonyclie77
post Nov 3 2010, 11:31 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(weileong @ Nov 3 2010, 11:23 PM)
nice review CKJMark  thumbup.gif

Get mine 2morrow...but intend to sell it or maybe not see if got good offer..  tongue.gif
Getting from Maxis?
weileong
post Nov 3 2010, 11:32 PM

1,720 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Nov 3 2010, 11:31 PM)
Getting from Maxis?
From Celcom.. bro..upgrade plan. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by weileong: Nov 3 2010, 11:33 PM
sonyclie77
post Nov 3 2010, 11:37 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(weileong @ Nov 3 2010, 11:32 PM)
From Celcom.. bro..upgrade plan.  biggrin.gif
Without a doubt, Celcom's offer is indeed attractive. smile.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 4 2010, 09:30 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

RM8/RM488/RM888 is over, sigh miss out that day...
lan76
post Nov 4 2010, 10:20 AM

316 posts

I missed that too sad.gif(

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 4 2010, 09:30 AM)
RM8/RM488/RM888 is over, sigh miss out that day...
crazyxhildren
post Nov 4 2010, 02:22 PM

hey, does anybody know difference between this 2 celcom package? P148 + RM38 BlackBerry® and License P48 + RM98 BIS Professional. one of it say rm38 blackberry license?which means the BIS is included alr?
firdausz
post Nov 4 2010, 09:38 PM

272 posts

just got my torch today..went yesterday to get the unit at celcom blue cube ikano but was advised to come back today because no celcom staff yesterday to activate my BIS...and yeah..my BIS activate immediately today...

i take the 148package celcom biz package contract 1 year..
overall i like this phone..and currently looking foward for screen protector as well as case for my torch..i don't want scratches on my bb...
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 4 2010, 09:46 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Congratulations on your new BlackBerry Torch 9800, do visit www.blackberrymalaysia.com for screen protector and casing for your BlackBerry...
weileong
post Nov 4 2010, 10:06 PM

1,720 posts

QUOTE(firdausz @ Nov 4 2010, 09:38 PM)
just got my torch today..went yesterday to get the unit at celcom blue cube ikano but was advised to come back today because no celcom staff yesterday to activate my BIS...and yeah..my BIS activate immediately today...

i take the 148package celcom biz package contract 1 year..
overall i like this phone..and currently looking foward for screen protector as well as case for my torch..i don't want scratches on my bb...
Haha...Me too..Getting from Ikano celcom blue center..today...as yesterday staff mention no celcom staff ask me to come back today to collect the unit.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 4 2010, 10:18 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Congratulations weileong on your new BlackBerry Torch 9800...

This post has been edited by dicksonbell: Nov 4 2010, 10:19 PM
starzgate
post Nov 5 2010, 10:32 AM

19 posts

Just get mail from Digi :

Thanks for registering your interest in the BlackBerry® Torch™ 9800. We’ve got some great news for you!

We’re working extra hard to bring you the best deals in the market and plan to launch the phone next week! Plus! Since you registered your interest with DiGi, we’re also going to give you a special discount when the BlackBerry® Torch™ 9800 is officially launched!

So hang in there a little longer and stay tuned for more updates from us very soon!

Best regards,
DiGi
weileong
post Nov 5 2010, 10:48 AM

1,720 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 4 2010, 10:18 PM)
Congratulations weileong on your new BlackBerry Torch 9800...
TQ but the phone just sold ... sweat.gif
noden
post Nov 5 2010, 11:26 AM

51 posts

hey guys, is it worth it for me to buy Blackberry Torch or juz wait first for Blackberry Bold 9780 to lunch? icon_question.gif biggrin.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 5 2010, 01:07 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

It depends on your needs and you cant wait for it or not??

For me I will wait as I dont have faith with slider and touchscreen BlackBerry, its not saying that is not good but different people have different opinion (no offence to Torch 9800 owner)... I am more comfortable with 9780... Unless DiGi offer is irresistible !
agn
post Nov 5 2010, 01:29 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Nov 3 2010, 10:32 PM)
Picked up my Torch today and have been playing with it for the last 3 hours.  A few observations I'd like to share for those considering buying one:-

Sliding mechanism

- firm, solid, no goyang-ing when its slid out or tucked in.  Test it before you take it home in case you get a defective unit
Resolution

- a lot has been written about this, and the general view is very damning because of the numbers.  Good news, the negative reviews are not true.  Ok, so you don't have a HD screen, but pictures are well rendered, so are sites and text.  It won't win any photography awards, but it will do the job without you really noticing the difference (unless you are really fussy).  Not fantastic, but not horrible.,
Touchscreen keyboard

- good and not easy to make typing mistakes (this coming from a touchscreen noob)
Weight

- Heavier than the bold, but I think its not overly heavy.  On par or lighter than Iphone 4 if you want to compare
Scrolling

- No lag noticed.  But thats probably because I close what I don't use when I browse.  If you happen to have 4-6 apps running in the background, it will likely lag but not yet tested.
Battery life

- This is my main complain.  Gonna try the solutions on RIM support forums and see if it helps.  Do bear in mind the Torch's battery is weaker than the Bold 9700, and the Torch is more power hungry, so the shorter lifespan is reasonably expected.  Hope a higher capacity battery is out soon.
Keyboard

- Thinner than Bold, takes a while to get used to.  Buttons are just as good as the 9700, but the thinness will feel a bit odd at first
Keylock button

- Too sensitive (maybe just mine, or maybe its the design).  Tend to accidentally unlock.
Optical trackpad, BB button, Call/DC button

- I noticed my model has a loose panel.  Gonna take it back tomorrow to have it changed.  Double check your model before you go home to avoid this (apparently its a fairly common problem).
Boot-up time

- fast compared to Bold 9700 (1-2 minutes)
Phone locking up / hanging / freeze

- No instances so far

I like it.  Doesn't make me drool or hyper, but keeps me happy.  Easy to get used to coz all the basics we love are still there, and lets you taste what its like to use the touchscreen.  Migrating data from my Bold to Torch was easy with DM6, and OS6 is a nice facelift.  New webkit is a big improvement over the old native browser, reminds me a bit of opera mini.

- shorter battery life
very concise review. i tend to share the same opinion.

did u manage to swap your unit due to the loose panel? was it on the return key (between the trackpad and end call key? I seem to have the same problem at times - it kinda has a faint click sound when i lift my finger off the button but it works well.
The lock button is also way too easy to press - i liked the lock button on my 9700 more.

One other point i wanted to add for those with a BB Storm who want to upgrade - i feel that the Torch's touch screen works well with the trackpad. someone (either on this thred or the other 9800 thread on lyn) mentioned that you cant get pinpoint accuracy on the touch screen especially when browsing. I had this same issue with the Storm but with the Torch, its easy to scroll down with the trackpad and click on the link.

The Torch is a nice step forward from the Storm/Bold - it kind of combines aspects of both the devices well. I find it a little heavy as I am so used to the lighter Bold2 and featherweight Samsung Galaxy (my secondary device). The screen is nice but is no match for the Samsung (or IP4) but its still nice.

Battery life is poorer than my Bold2 (which is expected) but I am usually not far from a charger or portable charger.

Mark - i guess you have to try an alternative lock app (like UltimateLock US1.99, BerrySlider US2.99, PaternLock US2.99). All these apps dont really work 100% well with the Torch yet but hopefully the developers improve it. I bought UltimateLock but its a little buggy at the moment. I might buy BerrySlider to check it out. Pity none of these apps have a trial version.

I had the Storm1/2 for a while and sold it within 2-3 months of getting it. Torch is so far a keeper and I'm looking forward to the integration with the Playbook.

Hopefully RIM get it right in the next few upgrades. There are rumours about a Amoled Screen RIM device which would be great (with a larger battery i hope). They still have some ways to catch up with the iphone and the android devices but they're getting there.

magiara
post Nov 5 2010, 02:01 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

will blackberrymalaysia.com bring in this product?

http://shop.crackberry.com/mobi-products-h.../4A123A7437.htm
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 5 2010, 02:06 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Nov 5 2010, 02:01 PM)

I'll inform my partner about this, will get back to you ASAP!!
magiara
post Nov 5 2010, 02:12 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(agn @ Nov 5 2010, 01:29 PM)
very concise review. i tend to share the same opinion.

did u manage to swap your unit due to the loose panel? was it on the return key (between the trackpad and end call key? I seem to have the same problem at times - it kinda has a faint click sound when i lift my finger off the button but it works well.
The lock button is also way too easy to press - i liked the lock button on my 9700 more.

i'm having the same problem with you, feels the return key is kinda loose..
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 5 2010, 02:37 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Why dont send it back?? Tell them your BlackBerry defects...
magiara
post Nov 5 2010, 02:43 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

i think all bb torch facing the same problems..
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 5 2010, 02:46 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Then the quality product control is not good if all Torch have this prob...
agn
post Nov 5 2010, 08:20 PM

317 posts

i guess i have to make trip to Maxis KLCC to change it but i will have to wait next week as i am outstation at the moment.
stanum
post Nov 5 2010, 09:31 PM

SharePoint enthusiast
706 posts

Guys, need to ask, can i sync my friends facebook profile with my blackberry contacts? i can do it in my htc desire, is it possible for me to the same thing too? i tried to find but its not avail.

Added on November 5, 2010, 9:35 pmUpdates:

i have figured out, go to friend contact list in fb and choose connect to bb contact!

This post has been edited by stanum: Nov 5 2010, 09:35 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 6 2010, 01:02 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Synchronize your friends' profile pictures, birthdays, and work information to existing contact information in the contacts application. Facebook® for BlackBerry devices periodically updates the caller ID pictures of your synchronized friends with their latest profile pictures.
Press the Menu key.
Click Options. Select the BlackBerry contacts application check box.

or

Paid Apps:-

https://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/7600
kent_jai
post Nov 6 2010, 01:31 AM

376 posts

Ya~ finally got my BB Torch~ satisfy with it~ biggrin.gif

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 6 2010, 01:41 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Congratulations on getting your BlackBerry Torch 9800..
Gins
post Nov 6 2010, 02:01 AM

19 posts

Just got my BB Torch today and stil researching it kinda enjoyable but there is something to bothering also

1. I do transfer my song from PC into my BB but the song will seperate by category automatically when i want to play it (artist,gender etc), how to arrange it by own ah? like we create additional folder and catergory the song by us.

2. Does Torch has auto keypad lock?? or standby mode with keypad locked??
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 6 2010, 02:43 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

You can transfer using card reader and categorised it...

If Im not mistaken when you slide down it will lock, can you check your setting...
firdausz
post Nov 6 2010, 09:31 AM

272 posts

just got my protector @midvalley 2nd floor gadget store..
matte protector at rm40..
now looking for casing/holster..
kent_jai
post Nov 6 2010, 10:08 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(firdausz @ Nov 6 2010, 09:31 AM)
just got my protector @midvalley 2nd floor gadget store..
matte protector at rm40..
now looking for casing/holster..
I'm looking for the Casing too sad.gif
I found that Swivel Holster for BB 9700 fit into BB Torch....but i don't like the clip sad.gif

Added on November 6, 2010, 11:26 amNormally when you slide up will be auto-unlock, but slide down has no auto lock function....is there any where to make it lock itself when sliding down ?

Thanks for advise.

This post has been edited by kent_jai: Nov 6 2010, 11:26 AM
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Nov 6 2010, 11:50 AM

151 posts

switched os to the latest v6.0.0.337 (pre-released) version. solved a lot of bugs, e.g.
- when press the message in notification area, the calendar doesn't pop up any more.
- browser seems more faster especially in zooming in pictures
Clavicus
post Nov 6 2010, 11:51 AM

765 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Nov 5 2010, 02:01 PM)

I got my Torch something like that from popmyberry. visit their site: popmyberry.com. They're in SS15, in case you were wondering.
fubs
post Nov 6 2010, 06:06 PM

201 posts

I have a problem with my Torch:

When the signal goes from 3G to 3g/gprs/edge (no BIS), i find the torch will stay in that mode until i turn off the phone and turn it on again. this is extremely annoying. I wonder if I messed up some settings somewhere.

It losses the BIS signal quite frequently too and at places with lots of coverage as well; One Utama, Bukit Bintang, Putrajaya, so i find it weird that it does this.

does anyone else have this problem?
magiara
post Nov 6 2010, 06:43 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(CELCOM.AXIATA @ Nov 6 2010, 11:50 AM)
switched os to the latest v6.0.0.337 (pre-released) version. solved a lot of bugs, e.g.
- when press the message in notification area, the calendar doesn't pop up any more.
- browser seems more faster especially in zooming in pictures
where u dl it?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 6 2010, 08:53 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

I will post up to my forum ASAP!
agn
post Nov 6 2010, 09:18 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Nov 6 2010, 06:43 PM)
where u dl it?
Search crackberry.com or berryreview.com.

Google is your friend.

Edit : Added links here
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12632161/9800jAsia..._A6.0.0.337.exe
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=I03ORNPZ

This post has been edited by agn: Nov 7 2010, 12:08 AM
Clavicus
post Nov 6 2010, 10:06 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(fubs @ Nov 6 2010, 06:06 PM)
I have a problem with my Torch:

When the signal goes from 3G to 3g/gprs/edge (no BIS), i find the torch will stay in that mode until i turn off the phone and turn it on again. this is extremely annoying. I wonder if I messed up some settings somewhere.

It losses the BIS signal quite frequently too and at places with lots of coverage as well; One Utama, Bukit Bintang, Putrajaya, so i find it weird that it does this.

does anyone else have this problem?
That's odd. I've never had that problem before, and even when my connection drops completely (lousy coverage where i live), it reconnects to BIS rather quickly. When i'm outdoors it's almost always 3G, and drops to EDGE occasionally when i'm in buildings. Had no problems when i was at the Curve, SS15, Taipan. Coverage shouldn't be a problem in densely populated areas. Any plans to check with your telco?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 6 2010, 10:21 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Which Telco you are using? Sometimes different Telco coverage area also makes difference...
firdausz
post Nov 6 2010, 11:46 PM

272 posts

err..wanna ask..
did anyone got their torch from celcom? how much memory you guys got?
i only have 4G mem card...
coz from their website

"immerse yourself with 8 GB of memory, expandable up to 32GB with a microSD card, zoom effect by a pinch of your fingers and enhanced music player that allows you to view full album art and track listings in portrait or landscape."

8GB?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 7 2010, 12:38 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

8GB is for Pre-Launched only..
Gins
post Nov 7 2010, 01:36 AM

19 posts

Really like my torch...just have a problem which is i already sync my media file which is has chinese word...but cant see it in my BB =/
does BB can edit the media file inside with using device chinese typing??
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 7 2010, 02:41 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Try serch for East Asian Language Pack.. I heard OS5 language pack can be installed on OS6.. Maybe you can give a try..
magiara
post Nov 7 2010, 12:12 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(agn @ Nov 6 2010, 09:18 PM)
Search crackberry.com or berryreview.com.

Google is your friend.
Edit : Added links here
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12632161/9800jAsia..._A6.0.0.337.exe
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=I03ORNPZ
there are many version for it as in language

which 1 should we download? multi-language? asia? english? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
fubs
post Nov 7 2010, 12:20 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Nov 6 2010, 10:06 PM)
That's odd. I've never had that problem before, and even when my connection drops completely (lousy coverage where i live), it reconnects to BIS rather quickly. When i'm outdoors it's almost always 3G, and drops to EDGE occasionally when i'm in buildings. Had no problems when i was at the Curve, SS15, Taipan. Coverage shouldn't be a problem in densely populated areas. Any plans to check with your telco?
so this is most likely to be telco related problem? will check with celcom.

magiara
post Nov 7 2010, 01:48 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

updating to .337 right now.. wonder whether chinese language still available after update? unsure.gif
Clavicus
post Nov 7 2010, 02:06 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(fubs @ Nov 7 2010, 12:20 PM)
so this is most likely to be telco related problem? will check with celcom.

I'm not sure if its your phone or your telco, although telco shouldn't be a problem, because like i said, densely populated areas should be covered by all telcos. Why don't you head to your nearest care centre and get your phone checked out by a technician? I'm planning to do the same for my Torch; can't get Youtube to work right with Maxis 3G.

QUOTE(magiara @ Nov 7 2010, 01:48 PM)
updating to .337 right now.. wonder whether chinese language still available after update?  unsure.gif
Updating too. no idea about the language pack, but if you ticked chinese during update, it should be fine.
kent_jai
post Nov 7 2010, 02:29 PM

376 posts

Hello~

Normally when you slide up will be auto-unlock, but slide down has no auto lock function....is there any where to make it lock itself when sliding down ?

Thanks~
benh77
post Nov 7 2010, 06:50 PM

15 posts

Hey guys...newbie to the forum and blackberry itself.....just got a torch....
Can anyone help me with these questions which are probably simple for you guys smile.gif

+ If you have Wifi connected as well at the same time, how do you know if the browser is using the wifi connection or your mobile network to surf ?

+ Also, how come no LED indication when you have a missed call ? sad.gif Those LED indications are only for messages ??
arshad
post Nov 7 2010, 06:57 PM

Blessed
1,527 posts

I just got my Torch today. (Y)
magiara
post Nov 7 2010, 08:29 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Nov 7 2010, 02:06 PM)
I'm not sure if its your phone or your telco, although telco shouldn't be a problem, because like i said, densely populated areas should be covered by all telcos. Why don't you head to your nearest care centre and get your phone checked out by a technician? I'm planning to do the same for my Torch; can't get Youtube to work right with Maxis 3G.
Updating too. no idea about the language pack, but if you ticked chinese during update, it should be fine.
no chinese in this update pack..
vmad.gif
Clavicus
post Nov 7 2010, 08:53 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(benh77 @ Nov 7 2010, 06:50 PM)
Hey guys...newbie to the forum and blackberry itself.....just got a torch....
Can anyone help me with these questions which are probably simple for you guys smile.gif

+ If you have Wifi connected as well at the same time, how do you know if the browser is using the wifi connection or your mobile network to surf ?

+ Also, how come no LED indication when you have a missed call ? sad.gif Those LED indications are only for messages ??
The RIM logo (refer to back of Torch for logo laugh.gif) would be next to your WiFi signal indicator.

QUOTE(arshad @ Nov 7 2010, 06:57 PM)
I just got my Torch today. (Y)

QUOTE(magiara @ Nov 7 2010, 08:29 PM)
vmad.gif
Which firmware did you download? English only or the East (?) Asian one?
benh77
post Nov 7 2010, 09:03 PM

15 posts

>>>> The RIM logo (refer to back of Torch for logo laugh.gif) would be next to your WiFi signal indicator

So that's definite ? As in, if I see the RIM logo next to the Wifi symbol, everything is then going through the Wifi and not mobile network ?

Cause I tried to turn off data services totally but stay connected via wifi and I couldn't surf with that ?

magiara
post Nov 7 2010, 09:59 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

i downloaded the asia one.. no chinese also de..
realstingzz
post Nov 8 2010, 10:37 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 2 2010, 06:14 PM)

hello mr dickson

problem solve...the email setup icon is back...ehehe, TQ
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 8 2010, 02:20 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Glad your problem is solved...
realstingzz
post Nov 10 2010, 11:40 AM

82 posts

.337 now official from Beeline...is it the same version with the leaked one?... any more review on this version anyone??

http://crackberry.com/official-os-6-0-0-33...ch-9800-beeline

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 10 2010, 12:24 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Nice.. Latest for BlackBerry Torch 9800...
crazyxhildren
post Nov 10 2010, 06:59 PM

hi..does anyone knows how to transfer contacts from sony ericsson to the Torch?besides copying from the Sim card?thanks
kasey1314
post Nov 10 2010, 07:30 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(crazyxhildren @ Nov 10 2010, 06:59 PM)
hi..does anyone knows how to transfer contacts from sony ericsson to the Torch?besides copying from the Sim card?thanks
maybe u can transfer from microsoft outlook?

Added on November 10, 2010, 7:31 pmI Got my TORCH ytd...^^..nice and cool with it...seems like as mention...the battery is weaker than 9700..~~

This post has been edited by kasey1314: Nov 10 2010, 07:31 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 10 2010, 08:39 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Nov 7 2010, 08:29 PM)
vmad.gif
Install OS5 EastAsian Language Pack, it works with my 9700 OS6, I'm not sure yours can or not. Give a try no harm...
ad2000
post Nov 10 2010, 08:57 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 10 2010, 08:39 PM)
Install OS5 EastAsian Language Pack, it works with my 9700 OS6, I'm not sure yours can or not. Give a try no harm...
hi been using torch since last month (AP version la what to do blush.gif ) and loving it! just want to share this link for torch theme..hop u guys like it smile.gif
http://www.bastian1967.com/free98.html
http://torch9800themes.com/
kasey1314
post Nov 10 2010, 10:32 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

when i install the BatteryBooster,MemoryBooster,and Google maps,when it finish..it appears ICON on the menu

but when press open....there is nothing happen...no application come out..please help....
Gins
post Nov 10 2010, 11:01 PM

19 posts

Having minor problem with my torch which is sometime i am enter phone number eg 01234567 with using keypad.
but sometime it will double the digit like 0011223344556677 =( it troblesome to me leh..can some give a hand how to solve this?
rattan
post Nov 11 2010, 12:12 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(ad2000 @ Nov 10 2010, 08:57 PM)
hi been using torch since last month (AP version la what to do  blush.gif ) and loving it! just want to share this link for torch theme..hop u guys like it  smile.gif
http://www.bastian1967.com/free98.html
http://torch9800themes.com/
Nice thanks for sharing bro. rclxm9.gif
rattan
post Nov 11 2010, 12:22 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(kasey1314 @ Nov 10 2010, 10:32 PM)
when i install the BatteryBooster,MemoryBooster,and Google maps,when it finish..it appears ICON on the menu
but when press open....there is nothing happen...no application come out..please help....
Did u try to do a battery pull after installing the apps ?
SUSmusclepower
post Nov 11 2010, 08:22 AM

17 posts

did u check whether those programs are compatible with os6?
kasey1314
post Nov 11 2010, 08:29 AM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 11 2010, 12:22 AM)
Did u try to do a battery pull after installing the apps ?
I tried,but no response as well...

Added on November 11, 2010, 8:30 am
QUOTE(musclepower @ Nov 11 2010, 08:22 AM)
did u check whether those programs are compatible with os6?
Izzit not compatible with os6 ??

This post has been edited by kasey1314: Nov 11 2010, 08:30 AM
fubs
post Nov 11 2010, 10:55 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Nov 7 2010, 02:06 PM)
my torch has been well these couple of days. no more getting stuck on 3g or edge without BIS. now it picks up the BIS almost instantly. wonder if it's the reboot i did after installing some apps biggrin.gif

is installing os6 .337 from other telco safe?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 11 2010, 11:29 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

As long its correct OS on correct BlackBerry I dont see any reason why its not save... You are using it happily now without problem, right?
fubs
post Nov 11 2010, 12:53 PM

201 posts

mine's still .284 tongue.gif

i don't know, who knows if there're some kind of telco customization tongue.gif

maybe i'll wait a while before upgrading the os. only been using BB for two weeks smile.gif OS upgrading sounds complicated as well >.<
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 11 2010, 01:00 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Just plug the cable and connect to Desktop Manager and update, not that complicated... Give a try... Never learn never know...
vanila
post Nov 11 2010, 10:53 PM

56 posts

guys...anyone of you have a problem with your Help function?

whenever i click it, it is always zoomed in....when i try to unzoom it by pinching the screen outwards it will go back to its original size...but if i were to select any of the help topics, the next screen will be ok....it is damn weird....

second, miss call do not have any blinking LED?

new to BB...thanks for your help guys
cpchew
post Nov 11 2010, 11:04 PM

82 posts

Hi, I am very very very new to Blackberry. Yesterday I went to a Handphone shop thinking of upgrading my Nokia N97 mini. The seller recommended me to look into Blackberries. Of all the models I like torch the most.

For you guys that own this model, what is your opinion on this. Thanks.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 11 2010, 11:06 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Is BlackBerry not Blackberries... Make sure it is the correct one not imitation China look alike...
cpchew
post Nov 11 2010, 11:33 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 11 2010, 11:06 PM)
Is BlackBerry not Blackberries... Make sure it is the correct one not imitation China look alike...
HAHAHA, I meant the seller showed me a few BlackBerry(s), I thought the plural of Blackberry is <<Blackberries>>. Excuse me if I am wrong.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 11 2010, 11:37 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Torch 9800 is not bad, but if don't like slide and touchscreen is advisable to wait for Bold 9780...
cpchew
post Nov 11 2010, 11:47 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 11 2010, 11:37 PM)
Torch 9800 is not bad, but if don't like slide and touchscreen is advisable to wait for Bold 9780...
I don't mind slide and touch screen, in fact I like this two functions. My main concern for Blackberry is the battery life and its user friendliness. I used Nokia all the while, so I need some confident boost to switch brand.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 12 2010, 12:05 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

You cant expect perfection battery life from BlackBerry Torch... All depends on individual user itself...
stuffx
post Nov 12 2010, 12:07 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(fubs @ Nov 11 2010, 10:55 AM)
my torch has been well these couple of days. no more getting stuck on 3g or edge without BIS. now it picks up the BIS almost instantly. wonder if it's the reboot i did after installing some apps biggrin.gif
is installing os6 .337 from other telco safe?
QUOTE(fubs @ Nov 11 2010, 12:53 PM)
mine's still .284 tongue.gif

i don't know, who knows if there're some kind of telco customization tongue.gif

maybe i'll wait a while before upgrading the os. only been using BB for two weeks smile.gif OS upgrading sounds complicated as well >.<
u can use any OS from any telcos but please delete the vendor.xml file prior installation
EightPhantomz
post Nov 12 2010, 01:40 AM

1,766 posts

NIce review by Eric Soong.
http://blackberryhousing.blogspot.com/
[N]3on
post Nov 12 2010, 02:05 AM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 12 2010, 12:07 AM)
u can use any OS from any telcos but please delete the vendor.xml file prior installation
where to find the vendor.xml?
rattan
post Nov 12 2010, 03:13 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Any 9800 user here having double/repeating issue? For instance type 012 it comes out 001122? Hoping some input frm the 9800 community.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 12 2010, 06:56 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(N3on @ Nov 12 2010, 02:05 AM)
where to find the vendor.xml?
C:\Program files\Common files\Research in motion\Apploader.
SUSmusclepower
post Nov 12 2010, 08:29 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 12 2010, 03:13 AM)
Any 9800 user here having double/repeating issue? For instance type 012 it comes out 001122? Hoping some input frm the 9800 community.
this is a bug!
it will be solved when u upgrade to latest firmware 337

Added on November 12, 2010, 8:35 amby the way, is blackberry able to send more than 1 file in bluetooth?
currently i find it very troublesome to select and send individually.
imagine if i have 5 files need to be sent!

This post has been edited by musclepower: Nov 12 2010, 08:35 AM
xtrasher_kingx
post Nov 12 2010, 09:41 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Nov 3 2010, 10:32 PM)

I like it.  Doesn't make me drool or hyper, but keeps me happy.  Easy to get used to coz all the basics we love are still there, and lets you taste what its like to use the touchscreen.  Migrating data from my Bold to Torch was easy with DM6, and OS6 is a nice facelift.  New webkit is a big improvement over the old native browser, reminds me a bit of opera mini.

- shorter battery life
nicely done! i would love to read this kind of review from normal day-to-day use consumers.. i'm currently using bold 2.. i'm having a hard time choosing whether to get an iphone4, android or just stick to BB and get a torch..

i love using BB with bbm, social networking and also the push email.. but with bold 2, its pretty hard to browse websites, checking out videos online, and sometimes its just tiring to look at the small screen.. and im not even 25yo! icon_question.gif hahahaha!

so please anyone persuade me on sticking with BB and get this torch! LOL thumbup.gif
kent_jai
post Nov 12 2010, 10:15 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(xtrasher_kingx @ Nov 12 2010, 09:41 AM)
nicely done! i would love to read this kind of review from normal day-to-day use consumers.. i'm currently using bold 2.. i'm having a hard time choosing whether to get an iphone4, android or just stick to BB and get a torch..

i love using BB with bbm, social networking and also the push email.. but with bold 2, its pretty hard to browse websites, checking out videos online, and sometimes its just tiring to look at the small screen.. and im not even 25yo!  icon_question.gif  hahahaha!

so please anyone persuade me on sticking with BB and get this torch! LOL thumbup.gif
Torch looks smart cool2.gif
Morning_Star
post Nov 12 2010, 11:20 AM

356 posts

QUOTE(xtrasher_kingx @ Nov 12 2010, 09:41 AM)

i love using BB with bbm, social networking and also the push email.. but with bold 2, its pretty hard to browse websites, checking out videos online, and sometimes its just tiring to look at the small screen.. and im not even 25yo!  icon_question.gif  hahahaha!

small screen of bold/curve is y i am planning to buy the Torch , but sticking with 12 mth plan ;24 mths is too long.
Maybe by then Torch v1.5 or 2 may come out.
CKJMark
post Nov 12 2010, 11:26 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(cpchew @ Nov 11 2010, 11:47 PM)
I don't mind slide and touch screen, in fact I like this two functions. My main concern for Blackberry is the battery life and its user friendliness. I used Nokia all the while, so I need some confident boost to switch brand.
User friendliness / New user adapting

Easy to learn if you have used a smartphone before. There is a step-by-step tutorial when you start up the phone for the first time that explains the basic functions of the phone and how to access them. Other functions you will pick up along the way as you use it.

Desktop Manager 6 is also a user friendly tool that helps you update and back-up your phone. It also helps you sync music/vidoes/pictures to your phone the same way itunes would (but itunes is better at it). DM6 also makes using the tethering function very easy compared to DM5 previously.

I've had the pleasure of trying out Nokia, Sony Ericsson, iPhone and BB and I think BB and Nokia are on par in their learning curve.

Battery life

You will get a lot of conflicting statements on the battery life of the phone. Some will tell you it lasts longer than a Nokia, some will tell you otherwise. The truth is, it will depend on your personal usage. On average, if you are like me and you chat during office hours when you should be working tongue.gif you will get probably 10 - 15 hours of battery life on 2G connection before you need to charge your phone. I leave my house at 7am, I get home around 10pm, my phone is at about 20% life left. I run MSN, FB, Twitter, Whatsapp and Foursquare 24/7, and I occassionally surf the internet during breakfast and lunch.

I would say the battery life is satisfactory, and if you are not happy with the battery life, there are ways you can prolong the charge by reducing certain settings and minimising certain activity. Basic tips on conserving battery life:-

- Set your phone to 2G when not web browsing
- Minimise vibration settings
- Reduce your backlight brightness and sleep timer

Warranty and service

If your Nokie breakdown on telco contract, you have to go to Nokia service centre to fix it (based on some complaints I read on FB). Telco won't help in that respect.

If your BB is faulty, based on my experience with Maxis, they will take the phone back and help you get it fixed from the distributor

Why Blackberry over Nokia

- you have the same keyboard, but arguably better form
- push notifications
- depending on telco, cheaper data plan

Why Nokia over Blackberry

- More apps, better games/graphics (Ovi store has Angry Birds!!)
- Better resolution / camera

Disclaimer: The above represents my personal opinion and perceptions, I might be wrong on some factual information.

This post has been edited by CKJMark: Nov 12 2010, 11:31 AM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 12 2010, 11:58 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

-Battery life all depends on user itself, how they managed and use their BlackBerry.

-BlackBerry Apps are coming in more and more day by days...
rattan
post Nov 12 2010, 01:20 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Battery life for the 9800 is not satisfactory. I hope 9780 will be better in terms of battery life.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 12 2010, 06:00 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Yup that is the problem facing by my forumer Torch battery life is not that good compares to Bold series.. For Bold series all battery are all same, so they have many capacity choices of battery...
genbat2003
post Nov 12 2010, 06:20 PM

186 posts

Guys...Just wondering..
The shortcut key on the right called convenience Key.

I pressed and hold for 2 seconds and camera apps running, But the weird is, if i try to capture picture using the button, It wont take the picture.

is the any setting i missed?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 12 2010, 06:26 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Inside setting set your convenience keys (right and left) to your preferred usage..
genbat2003
post Nov 12 2010, 06:47 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 12 2010, 06:26 PM)
Inside setting set your convenience keys (right and left) to your preferred usage..
Thanks. Im using BB to reply this.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 12 2010, 06:50 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

So it is solved now??
genbat2003
post Nov 12 2010, 11:17 PM

186 posts

Yeah..and I managed to install all the apps.

Enjoying BB at home(wifi 4mb screamyx)

Still looking free n good apps to install
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 12 2010, 11:28 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Update your Facebook and Twitter. Both new version are out!
genbat2003
post Nov 12 2010, 11:39 PM

186 posts

Hahaha...I dont know how to say this. I bought BB and.................

I dont have FB n twitter tongue.gif

Very funny right?

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 12 2010, 11:47 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Download it from Apps World...
genbat2003
post Nov 12 2010, 11:55 PM

186 posts

Bro..Wrong typing just now.

I dont have FB n TWITTER ACCOUNT~~~ tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by genbat2003: Nov 12 2010, 11:55 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 13 2010, 12:03 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Lol...
kent_jai
post Nov 13 2010, 12:22 AM

376 posts

Is there any notification showing after the Torch full charge ?
genbat2003
post Nov 13 2010, 12:28 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(kent_jai @ Nov 13 2010, 12:22 AM)
Is there any notification showing after the Torch full charge ?
Good question bro. I didnt notice any notification of the battery full.

Anyone kind to provide information?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 13 2010, 12:35 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

All BlackBerry model dont have such notification unless u install 3rd party apps...
genbat2003
post Nov 13 2010, 12:38 AM

186 posts

What kind of apps does provide that kind of notification?

Can use Quickpull or have to purchase premium software?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 13 2010, 12:44 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

LED notification, charging and fully charged different color... Quickpull is a pay apps too after its trial period...
Ka3tr0
post Nov 13 2010, 01:02 AM

362 posts

Guys..need help, just bought torch, how to know my BIS is activated ? I tried to go to www.maxis.blackberry.com to register new account and it keep saying i cant use HTML browser to create, need to login from device, i tried thru the phone and the same error come out. Solution ? In BBM View My Profile, it shows messenger registration status as failed, normal ?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 13 2010, 01:08 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Means its no registered... Search for Host Routing Table on your Torch press option and register.. Then do a battery pull after on see your Torch have this "3G user posted image" if yes then you are activated...
Ka3tr0
post Nov 13 2010, 01:25 AM

362 posts

Hmm..weird..before i got "3G + bb symbol"..now after do what you said, pull battery, restart...i got only edge...
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 13 2010, 01:31 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

3g and edge not connected.. 3G user posted image and EDGE is connected to BIS...
Gins
post Nov 13 2010, 02:28 AM

19 posts

just upgrade to latest OS patch for my Torch...but it missing EastAsia language pack!! ( already download from AT&T carrier which is shows included Asia language)
=( some 1 can help on this???? now my msg in my torch all become unknown allien's word =/
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 13 2010, 02:37 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Search for EastAsian Language .alx installer...
rattan
post Nov 13 2010, 04:05 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(Ka3tr0 @ Nov 13 2010, 01:25 AM)
Hmm..weird..before i got "3G + bb symbol"..now after do what you said, pull battery, restart...i got only edge...
Try to do a battery pull. If u are on prepaid daily usage, then call up yr telco and ask them to refresh the service.
genbat2003
post Nov 13 2010, 05:14 AM

186 posts

Guys,

To increase capacity, it must use Micro SD right?

But in market there any many class of micro SD different for each capacity.

Might tell me which one brand is good for 16GB n 32 GB microSD?

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 13 2010, 09:15 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

I would recommend Kingston bcoz of 5 years warranty...
Gins
post Nov 13 2010, 10:14 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 13 2010, 02:37 AM)
Search for EastAsian Language .alx installer...
Where to find it and how to install? Can try to guide me?
Thx Mr Dickson
EightPhantomz
post Nov 13 2010, 10:51 AM

1,766 posts

In love with my Torch.

Its definitely the best BB ever for me. I've used Bold1, Storm1 and Bold2 before.
It sure was awkward to have all three touchscreen, trackpad and qwerty pad but after getting my hands on it for just a mere 5-10mins, I just feel at home.
I guess u need to be a real fan or long-time user of BB to get that feeling.
It might be hard to adjust for new users.
The three functions really compliment each other. Touchscreen is nice for scrolling, dragging and such but it point feature is quite sensitive. This is when trackpad comes in. I will use trackpad to select. Very easy. Less error made.
For a long time Bold user, the thoughts of using the virtual keyboard really scares me. But after trying it on Torch, I was surprise of its point accuracy. I rarely miss a key. So yeah, I'm officially hook with Torch. Glad I bought it.

P/S I have updated my firmware to the latest version. Its almost perfect IMHO. Very that, I found few bugs. And the touchscreen were at times lagged. wink.gif
tr|n|ty
post Nov 13 2010, 11:46 AM

kuukuukuu
787 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 11 2010, 01:00 PM)
Just plug the cable and connect to Desktop Manager and update, not that complicated... Give a try... Never learn never know...
hello,

at desktop manager, i clicked update, but it said there is no newer software to upgrade. did i do something wrong? sorry for a bit noob. i just jumped from iphone to bb torch @@
rattan
post Nov 13 2010, 02:40 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Nov 13 2010, 10:51 AM)
In love with my Torch.

Its definitely the best BB ever for me. I've used Bold1, Storm1 and Bold2 before.
It sure was awkward to have all three touchscreen, trackpad and qwerty pad but after getting my hands on it for just a mere 5-10mins, I just feel at home.
I guess u need to be a real fan or long-time user of BB to get that feeling.
It might be hard to adjust for new users.
The three functions really compliment each other. Touchscreen is nice for scrolling, dragging and such but it point feature is quite sensitive. This is when trackpad comes in. I will use trackpad to select. Very easy. Less error made.
For a long time Bold user, the thoughts of using the virtual keyboard really scares me. But after trying it on Torch, I was surprise of its point accuracy. I rarely miss a key. So yeah, I'm officially hook with Torch. Glad I bought it.

P/S I have updated my firmware to the latest version. Its almost perfect IMHO. Very that, I found few bugs. And the touchscreen were at times lagged. wink.gif
Great finally i found a user that shares the same input as me. The screen lags at times. brows.gif
agn
post Nov 13 2010, 08:56 PM

317 posts

the storm is really a great combination of the storm and the bold! i am enjoying using it too.
and battery life hasnt been too bad despite some horror reports from other users.
i'm on .337 as well. all my apps from the bold2 are working fine. and socialscope on the torch is also great!
kent_jai
post Nov 13 2010, 09:50 PM

376 posts

What is the latest firmware for Torch ? Where can i download it ?

I connected with my PC and try to update it, but it says No newer software to upgrade ? ? ???
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 13 2010, 10:47 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Google search for latest or leaked OS version for Torch 9800...
stuffx
post Nov 13 2010, 10:51 PM

719 posts

anyone of u have tried to transfer backup file (contacts, email, messages, etc) from OS5 to OS6? any issues?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 13 2010, 10:53 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Not really work prefect, if can try sync via Outlook it much better... But for email and message really got not much ways to copy except backup..
Zane Arf
post Nov 13 2010, 10:56 PM

22 posts

My Blackberry torch bolt sign on the charging bar keeps on disappearing and re-appearing when I'm charging it if I'm using it while charging. It gets fairly hot so is it due to that? I noticed it charges fine if I leave it alone aside. Has anyone else had this problem?

All I can find on this is that lithium batteries won't charge if they're overheated and my phone does get fairly hot when I use it a lot. Just wondering if this is a common Torch problem because I didnt have it with my Bold.
mydurian
post Nov 14 2010, 12:32 AM

854 posts

Just upgrade to Torch. Experienced the same 'very warm' feeling from the battery while charging, both from the normal charger and mobile car charger. Is this normal?
stuffx
post Nov 14 2010, 12:38 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(Zane Arf @ Nov 13 2010, 10:56 PM)
My Blackberry torch bolt sign on the charging bar keeps on disappearing and re-appearing when I'm charging it if I'm using it while charging. It gets fairly hot so is it due to that? I noticed it charges fine if I leave it alone aside. Has anyone else had this problem?

All I can find on this is that lithium batteries won't charge if they're overheated and my phone does get fairly hot when I use it a lot. Just wondering if this is a common Torch problem because I didnt have it with my Bold.
that is not normal.. most probably u're getting a defective battery.. i believe it's still under warranty and perhaps u can ask for replacement

QUOTE(mydurian @ Nov 14 2010, 12:32 AM)
Just upgrade to Torch. Experienced the same 'very warm' feeling from the battery while charging, both from the normal charger and mobile car charger. Is this normal?
yes it's normal during charging
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 14 2010, 01:14 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Why it is so??
[N]3on
post Nov 14 2010, 01:48 AM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

I think the latest .337 firmware had been official released.
it can be found at blackberry official website
Link

This post has been edited by [N]3on: Nov 14 2010, 02:06 AM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 14 2010, 01:59 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Any problem you facing when using this OS??
[N]3on
post Nov 14 2010, 02:06 AM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

But i got a problem during updating the firmware, it show me this error :

One or more modules could not be resolved.

Anything went wrong?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 14 2010, 02:09 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Are you sure it is an official OS??
[N]3on
post Nov 14 2010, 02:12 AM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

i doubt so.. Since it is available through their website.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 14 2010, 02:14 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Official shouldn't have any error...
[N]3on
post Nov 14 2010, 02:16 AM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

i did battery pull for the phone it seems cant be solve also..
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 14 2010, 02:19 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

If can try to reinstall it again, after reinstall if problem still there then for sure its OS problem! You can report to RIM about this...
[N]3on
post Nov 14 2010, 02:21 AM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

but i tried to install the .284 from the 1st page also give me the same error. *headache*
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 14 2010, 02:30 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Lol.. Why so much OS issue with Torch??
[N]3on
post Nov 14 2010, 03:09 AM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

alright.. i found the solution.. i just use the AppLoader instead of using Desktop Manager to update. But it doesn't support chinese so no point i update it.. =D
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 14 2010, 03:11 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

You can try install OS5 Chinese Language Pack to your Torch, maybe it works.. I try install on Bold 9700 before.. OS5 to OS6 platform and it works...
agn
post Nov 14 2010, 06:58 AM

317 posts

when upgrading from OS5 to OS6, it is recommended that you wipe your device and dont do a switch device upgrade. This is because some applications may not be compatible with the new OS or the apps have a different version for the new OS. Occasionally, I also wipe my device completely even with an upgrade within the same OS version. It cleans up some junk files from trial apps I may have downloaded.

You should backup your bb data, then wipe it clean using BBSAK and load your new OS6.
After loading the OS6, use the desktop manager to selectively restore your PIM data (messages, text/sms, notepad, calendar, contacts, password manager). Then re-install your applications ensuring that they are compatible with the newer OS. A number of developers have different versions of their app for touch screen and non-touch screen bb's.

Of course, please ensure you know what you're doing when you wipe your device prior to reloading the OS. Crackberry.com and blackberryforums.com have tutorials on how to do this if i'm not wrong.

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 14 2010, 09:48 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Try not to restored OS5 apps to OS6 its a different platform!
mydurian
post Nov 14 2010, 11:29 AM

854 posts

Anyone used the speaker phone yet? tried mine yesterday but found the torch to be very soft, although i have max the volume setting.

This post has been edited by mydurian: Nov 14 2010, 11:31 AM
EightPhantomz
post Nov 14 2010, 12:15 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 14 2010, 02:30 AM)
Lol.. Why so much OS issue with Torch??
I dont have any issues. wink.gif

Added on November 14, 2010, 12:28 pmPlease dont jump to a conclusion so fast.
Sorry for being a fanboy now. Even before I bought my Torch, I dont see my frens having so many issues with theirs.
If they have any, they will immediately solved it.

The other day we hanged out at Murni Discovery at Amansuria. My fren was reading tweets then suddenly a "macha" came saying the Torch is crap. Said he regret in buying it. I asked why, he said so many bugs and all. I asked to check his Torch and guess what? Its still a factory set. Old firmware. Cheh. Then I tell him to update, he complained how come telco sell him out-of-date one. *Sigh* Better use the old nokia then.
No use using smartfons if dunno and not willing to learn using it.

Smartfons nowadays are like computers. U need to do alot of reading, surfing to keep updated. The learning is neverending.

I'm sorry if I sound rude to any of u. But please do lots and loads of research before complaining. I've done my research way before I bought my Torch. I've bookmarked all the solutions sites, tutorials, etc for reference so that when I get my fon, I know what to expect and what to do solve it.

BTW, this msg is not pointed at u dicksonbell. U misunderstood me last time. LOL.

~With love. wink.gif

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Nov 14 2010, 12:33 PM
mydurian
post Nov 14 2010, 01:48 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(N3on @ Nov 14 2010, 01:48 AM)
I think the latest .337 firmware had been official released.
it can be found at blackberry official website
Link
Interested to download this update. However found that this is for Beeline telco which is in europe. Will it work with my unit here?
beguiler
post Nov 14 2010, 01:52 PM

145 posts

my speaker phone seemed fine
just nice
just the battery only last one n half day maybe
if heavy surfing one day gone..sigh

EightPhantomz
post Nov 14 2010, 02:00 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 14 2010, 01:52 PM)
my speaker phone seemed fine
just nice
just the battery only last one n half day maybe
if heavy surfing one day gone..sigh
Alot of ppl will be thankful to get that one and a half day.
Mine, can only last like half a day only.
Maybe bcoz I just got mine, so quite heavy use lah.
Always want to surf.
Excessive Twitter and BBM.
cpchew
post Nov 14 2010, 02:09 PM

82 posts

I am a heavy phone user that on average I will make and receive about 40 calls. Each last for about 4 minutes. I don't surf the internet often, only about 1 hour per day when I am bored. I don't use GPS only when I am in KL, that will be about 25 days in a year

I need a good contact retriving system, good calender and organizer, easy to access calculator and maybe a good camera. Be able to acess spreadsheet and word prosseser is a definite plus.

I need my phone to be able to last for at least 18 hours everyday, and I always charge it at night when I sleep. But I never swith it off, even during charging.

Question : Is Blackberry Torch 9800 suitable for me?

Thanks in advance.
beguiler
post Nov 14 2010, 02:19 PM

145 posts

hmm..you dont surf and email often , your blackberry just for phone talk?? seldom surf ?? torch quite heavy to keep on the phone lol..like me i seldom call or sms , all email , surfing , social apps ..^^
EightPhantomz
post Nov 14 2010, 02:47 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(cpchew @ Nov 14 2010, 02:09 PM)
I am a heavy phone user that on average I will make and receive about 40 calls. Each last for about 4 minutes. I don't surf the internet often, only about 1 hour per day when I am bored. I don't use GPS only when I am in KL, that will be about 25 days in a year

I need a good contact retriving system, good calender and organizer, easy to access calculator and maybe a good camera. Be able to acess spreadsheet and word prosseser is a definite plus.

I need my phone to be able to last for at least 18 hours everyday, and I always charge it at night when I sleep. But I never swith it off, even during charging.

Question : Is Blackberry Torch 9800 suitable for me?

Thanks in advance.
I think Nokia will probably more suited for you.

Normally ppl will use BB for the push emails.
I do alot of transactions via the internet and email is the best way to communicate.
The calendar/organizer is ok but not that great. But I did meet a businessman who can really utilize it.
It does have the home screen organizer to keep track of your daily appointments.

All in all, BB is a power hungry device. Same as Iphone. Not sure if its suitable for heavy phone users.
But then again, if you really like BB, just buy a car charger and extra battery, you are set to go!

Ka3tr0
post Nov 14 2010, 02:55 PM

362 posts

Guys..i tried to update my firmware but no success. Downloaded the 377 firmware onto PC. Run it, it prompt that desktop manager still open, i closed it. Then it goes to install, when finish, I open my desktop manager and BB Torch options, it still says firmware 284...solution ?
thebeginning
post Nov 14 2010, 04:02 PM

hi,

looking for screen protector & holster #bbtorch ?
what is the price? and where can i get it?
any recommendation...
kent_jai
post Nov 14 2010, 04:12 PM

376 posts

Anyone know how to repeat a video on BB Torch ???
aruja_69
post Nov 14 2010, 04:37 PM

3,786 posts

QUOTE(thebeginning @ Nov 14 2010, 04:02 PM)
hi,

any recommendation...
Go to KLCC and they are selling holster for it but i dont know the price.
kent_jai
post Nov 14 2010, 04:55 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Nov 14 2010, 04:37 PM)
Go to KLCC and they are selling holster for it but i dont know the price.
Which store of KLCC ?
EightPhantomz
post Nov 14 2010, 05:36 PM

1,766 posts

hi,

any recommendation...
U can try popmyberry.com and blackberryhousing.blogspot.com.
No, I'm not associate with them.
agn
post Nov 14 2010, 07:22 PM

317 posts

or ebay - fairly cheap and they deliver worldwide.
[N]3on
post Nov 14 2010, 08:36 PM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

QUOTE(Ka3tr0 @ Nov 14 2010, 02:55 PM)
Guys..i tried to update my firmware but no success. Downloaded the 377 firmware onto PC. Run it, it prompt that desktop manager still open, i closed it. Then it goes to install, when finish, I open my desktop manager and BB Torch options, it still says firmware 284...solution ?
Did u delete the vendor.xml?
satanchild
post Nov 14 2010, 08:55 PM

92 posts

Hi all! I'm a previous STORM II owner now a TORCH owner. I love TORCH no matter how many ppl say it is not good to use.

PROS:
1) Touch screen more sensitive than STORM II.
2) Faster Processing speeds.
3) Nice camera cmopare to Storm 2 and Bold 2 ( sorry to say previous 3Mp camera is a crap!)
4) Nice designs - touch screen qwerty, real qwerty keyboard. SureType keyboard still remain, nice!
6) OS6 is very convenient and good to use. Browser multi tab is great.

CONS:
1) Some minor bugs like: when you press "1" in the home screen, it will become "11".
2) You can't touch select the MESSAGE in Notification tab, you can only use trackpad to select it.
3) Hang issue - more frequent and cant recover unless battery pull.

Overall is good, but hoping APpWorld will have more apps for Torch like iPhone, pls!
agn
post Nov 14 2010, 09:20 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(satanchild @ Nov 14 2010, 08:55 PM)
Hi all! I'm a previous STORM II owner now a TORCH owner. I love TORCH no matter how many ppl say it is not good to use.

PROS:
1) Touch screen more sensitive than STORM II.
2) Faster Processing speeds.
3) Nice camera cmopare to Storm 2 and Bold 2 ( sorry to say previous 3Mp camera is a crap!)
4) Nice designs - touch screen qwerty, real qwerty keyboard. SureType keyboard still remain, nice!
6) OS6 is very convenient and good to use. Browser multi tab is great.

CONS:
1) Some minor bugs like: when you press "1" in the home screen, it will become "11".
2) You can't touch select the MESSAGE in Notification tab, you can only use trackpad to select it.
3) Hang issue - more frequent and cant recover unless battery pull.

Overall is good, but hoping APpWorld will have more apps for Torch like iPhone, pls!
if i am not wrong the second problem (cannot select msg in notification tab) has been fixed in .337

Thankfully, I havent encountered the hanging issue - did u wipe your device and reinstall your apps or did u do use the switch device on desktop manager. Perhaps some apps you have arent fully compatible with OS6
satanchild
post Nov 14 2010, 10:13 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(agn @ Nov 14 2010, 09:20 PM)
if i am not wrong the second problem (cannot select msg in notification tab) has been fixed in .337

Thankfully, I havent encountered the hanging issue - did u wipe your device and reinstall your apps or did u do use the switch device on desktop manager. Perhaps some apps you have arent fully compatible with OS6
Oh thanks for the info!

Btw, I will try to update firmware.
Archronicles
post Nov 14 2010, 10:22 PM

262 posts

Hey all smile.gif Just wondering for your guys, how much is the average data usage per month and for what kinda usage? I'm still unsure of which BIS plan I should go for.
[N]3on
post Nov 14 2010, 10:42 PM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

QUOTE(Archronicles @ Nov 14 2010, 10:22 PM)
Hey all smile.gif Just wondering for your guys, how much is the average data usage per month and for what kinda usage? I'm still unsure of which BIS plan I should go for.
I'm using this Torch in uk now.. I'm on 500mb every month.. I can't seems to use more than 100mb. I'm heavy fb, twitter and bbm user..

But when i'm in Malaysia few months back, i'm using digi smart plan Rm68 (for that time), I can finish up all the 3gb in one month, this is because digi allow we use BB tethered as modem.

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 14 2010, 11:20 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

You meant your UK Telco dont allow you to tether on your Torch??
[N]3on
post Nov 14 2010, 11:41 PM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 14 2010, 11:20 PM)
You meant your UK Telco dont allow you to tether on your Torch??
Nope.. they don't allow me to tether on my Torch. If wan tether must add 5pounds, and their maximum allowance is 1gb..

So my conclusion, don't always compare our telco with other country.. Our country really do provided really cheap rate.
rattan
post Nov 15 2010, 01:48 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(N3on @ Nov 14 2010, 11:41 PM)
Nope.. they don't allow me to tether on my Torch. If wan tether must add 5pounds, and their maximum allowance is 1gb..

So my conclusion, don't always compare our telco with other country.. Our country really do provided really cheap rate.
Yes most telco in UK are very stingy when it comes to tethering.
lhongwuh
post Nov 15 2010, 03:40 AM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

hi,

any recommendation...
Case and SP available in Ready stock now!
PM me for more info smile.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 15 2010, 11:23 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Nov 15 2010, 03:40 AM)
PM me for more info  smile.gif
Torch 9800 owner get it form him!
genbat2003
post Nov 15 2010, 12:17 PM

186 posts

Im torch using 6.0.0284 OS

is this OS the latest? If not, could you give the link for new OS? I been looking for the latest OS in BB official website.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 15 2010, 12:29 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

v6.0.0.337 is the latest, google for the download and install via Apps loader on Desktop Manager...
Archronicles
post Nov 15 2010, 07:42 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(N3on @ Nov 14 2010, 10:42 PM)
I'm using this Torch in uk now.. I'm on 500mb every month.. I can't seems to use more than 100mb. I'm heavy fb, twitter and bbm user..

But when i'm in Malaysia few months back, i'm using digi smart plan Rm68 (for that time), I can finish up all the 3gb in one month, this is because digi allow we use BB tethered as modem.
thank you very much =)

In any case, just got my torch today.. any idea how long should the first charging be?
[N]3on
post Nov 15 2010, 08:25 PM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

QUOTE(Archronicles @ Nov 15 2010, 07:42 PM)
thank you very much =)

In any case, just got my torch today.. any idea how long should the first charging be?
Just follow what usual phone dealer tell, charge it for 8hours without using it. =D
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 15 2010, 09:09 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Does it apply to new generation battery now.. I understand older battery do have this traditional ways to charged!!
cpchew
post Nov 15 2010, 10:26 PM

82 posts

Hi guys, how long does the battey on your torch last? Can it last for a full day before recharging it at night?

I am quite a heavy user that on average I talk about 160 minutes each day.

Net surfing about two hours each day.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 15 2010, 10:46 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

If yours can last for full day after charged then its very good already... You are consider moderate user not heavy user...
Ray_1882
post Nov 15 2010, 10:51 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Nov 15 2010, 03:40 AM)
PM me for more info  smile.gif
Can u post the pic of it??
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 15 2010, 10:56 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(Ray_1882 @ Nov 15 2010, 10:51 PM)
Can u post the pic of it??
Checkout his thread, see until your eye also pain!

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry34017199
genbat2003
post Nov 16 2010, 01:29 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 15 2010, 12:29 PM)
v6.0.0.337 is the latest, google for the download and install via Apps loader on Desktop Manager...
Its been release by beeline. Izzit compatible with out Telco?

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 16 2010, 01:47 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Yes as long as it is Torch...
genbat2003
post Nov 16 2010, 01:54 AM

186 posts

do you have link on how to install new OS?

ad2000
post Nov 16 2010, 02:02 AM

405 posts

for those using ATnT torch having problem with missing 'mobile internet' function in desktop manager 6..solution below
http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Bla...enu/td-p/610893
kent_jai
post Nov 16 2010, 02:04 AM

376 posts

My BB Torch connected with my Home Wireless network....but no internet connection... sad.gif

I had double confirm my Wireless router no problem...
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 16 2010, 02:07 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(genbat2003 @ Nov 16 2010, 01:54 AM)
do you have link on how to install new OS?
You just said is official? Go to BlackBerry website choose the Telco you mentioned just now and download it...
genbat2003
post Nov 16 2010, 02:08 AM

186 posts

Do you router have WEP key?

My 1st attempt to use wifi at home failed although it connected to router.

I have change to Key 2 and create new password. then can use already
spidee
post Nov 16 2010, 08:52 AM

hi, all the sifus, any idea how to get QQ to work with blackberry ?
jazwanra
post Nov 16 2010, 10:29 AM

267 posts

guys, why dun we create a bbm group for torch user?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 16 2010, 11:19 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

You can start with it... Maybe rattan also can start this as well on his Torch 9800...
jazwanra
post Nov 16 2010, 12:18 PM

267 posts

need someone to be moderator for torch group...anyone??? hehe...
k-rail
post Nov 16 2010, 04:05 PM

QUOTE(jazwanra @ Nov 16 2010, 12:18 PM)
need someone to be moderator for torch group...anyone??? hehe...
bro, your on torch??sama la kita...
rattan
post Nov 16 2010, 05:01 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 16 2010, 11:19 AM)
You can start with it... Maybe rattan also can start this as well on his Torch 9800...
Ill be more interested to start 9780 community. Waiting to change to 9780.
genbat2003
post Nov 16 2010, 05:12 PM

186 posts

Heh, U using Torch and more interested to 9780 community?

Interesting ~~~
EightPhantomz
post Nov 16 2010, 05:49 PM

1,766 posts

those interested with 9800 will open 9800 community.
those interested with 9780 will open 9780 community.
and this is 9800 thread. :/
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 16 2010, 06:49 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Yes indeed this is BlackBerry Torch 9800 topic... Why dont you guys 9800 owner create a chat group on your Torch and invite everyone here??
Mirror_man
post Nov 16 2010, 07:15 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 15 2010, 10:56 PM)
Checkout his thread, see until your eye also pain!

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry34017199
Really see until eye pain!! rclxub.gif shocking.gif shakehead.gif thumbup.gif
rattan
post Nov 16 2010, 07:33 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(genbat2003 @ Nov 16 2010, 05:12 PM)
Heh, U using Torch and more interested to 9780 community?

Interesting ~~~
waiting to change to 9780
kent_jai
post Nov 16 2010, 08:06 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(genbat2003 @ Nov 16 2010, 02:08 AM)
Do you router have WEP key?

My 1st attempt to use wifi at home failed although it connected to router.

I have change to Key 2 and create new password. then can use already
I have reset my router...tried WEP, WPA , until now no password...
Still doesn't work... sad.gif

Anybody out there using Wi-Fi to connect your BB Torch ?

Added on November 16, 2010, 8:24 pmFinally it works....have to turn on Data service too.... =.=

This post has been edited by kent_jai: Nov 16 2010, 08:24 PM
rattan
post Nov 16 2010, 08:27 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(kent_jai @ Nov 16 2010, 08:06 PM)

Added on November 16, 2010, 8:24 pmFinally it works....have to turn on Data service too.... =.=
rclxms.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 16 2010, 08:37 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(kent_jai @ Nov 16 2010, 08:06 PM)

To make sure your BlackBerry will behave well when using WiFi, verify that your router is configured in a way that will work well with your device.

NOTE : Wireless N Routers are not yet fully supported by BlackBerries and are known to cause issues. If you are using a Wireless N router, take the time to set it to use Wireless G mode only... or else you will run into serious problems and will not be able to use WiFi. If you are running
any version of OS 4.5, this is not an issue and Wireless N should work without problems.

For most other routers, your standard wireless configuration should be adequate. You may have to tweak settings if you run into problems later in this process.

genbat2003
post Nov 16 2010, 10:36 PM

186 posts

hmm...

If you using WEP, You have to put 5 Digit password.

If not, how to connect to your router?

Go to Manage Connection>On wifi

Scan for your router > connect to it.

then Setup wi-fi network > set to WEP

Enter your password.

This should be connect to you router.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 16 2010, 11:51 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Password min 5-8 digits...
MetalHeads
post Nov 17 2010, 07:21 AM

81 posts

My torch feels like goyang when you closed, i notice when i push the call or end button also on the top of the screen, is anyone else having this issue, can exchange or not at digi center.
benh77
post Nov 17 2010, 08:31 AM

15 posts

Heya.....do you guys notice that 9800 LED doesn't blink for missed calls ? Seems to be ok for 9700 but not for 9800 ? Was trying to figure out if it was a configuration somewhere but doesn't seem to be so ?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 17 2010, 08:55 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Install BerryBuzz they have setting in it...
benh77
post Nov 17 2010, 09:45 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 17 2010, 08:55 AM)
Hmmm...you are right....now it seems fine...
Darn I was sure after I install BerryBuzz yesterday the missed call indication wasn't working
Thanks anyway....
spinworkz
post Nov 17 2010, 09:37 PM

68 posts

okay guys, i'm gonna get myself a Torch on this coming saturday smile.gif

i'll go for the maxis BIS Standard RM55 24 Months RM1,699 package

is deposit required?

and any advice before and after i get my Torch? what should i check to if a defect exists?

much appreciated biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by spinworkz: Nov 17 2010, 09:42 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 17 2010, 11:11 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Call Maxis CS to double check...
spinworkz
post Nov 18 2010, 12:02 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 17 2010, 11:11 PM)
Call Maxis CS to double check...
to check whether they have ready stock or not?

This post has been edited by spinworkz: Nov 18 2010, 12:04 AM
jazwanra
post Nov 18 2010, 12:06 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(k-rail @ Nov 16 2010, 04:05 PM)
bro, your on torch??sama la kita...
hehe...addict....
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 12:11 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(spinworkz @ Nov 18 2010, 12:02 AM)
to check whether they have ready stock or not?
Yes better check their stock availabilities and confirmed their BIS package...
kent_jai
post Nov 18 2010, 01:30 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(MetalHeads @ Nov 17 2010, 07:21 AM)
My torch feels like goyang when you closed, i notice when i push the call or end button also on the top of the screen, is anyone else having this issue, can exchange or not at digi center.
Agree !!! My " Clear " Button has abit defect....and when slide down...use the finger touching the screen...got abit goyang...

I found many BB Torch users complaint about the LOCK button too.... doh.gif
rattan
post Nov 18 2010, 02:24 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(kent_jai @ Nov 18 2010, 01:30 AM)
Agree !!! My " Clear " Button has abit defect....and when slide down...use the finger touching the screen...got abit goyang...

Same here. Already check with 2-3 other BB torch phone. Also same.
kent_jai
post Nov 18 2010, 03:36 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 18 2010, 02:24 AM)
Can it send back for the warranty ? biggrin.gif
genbat2003
post Nov 18 2010, 06:04 AM

186 posts

"Clear" button? Where is it? i have no problem so far... might to check my torch.
mydurian
post Nov 18 2010, 08:00 AM

854 posts

I want to let go of my BB Torch, new unit couple of days old. Reason for sale: want to move to android. is this the right place to post this? plz advise. thank you.
genbat2003
post Nov 18 2010, 08:17 AM

186 posts

You have to go under garage sale.

here the links:
http://forum.lowyat.net/MobilePhonesandRelatedAccessories

CKJMark
post Nov 18 2010, 08:31 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(spinworkz @ Nov 17 2010, 09:37 PM)
okay guys, i'm gonna get myself a Torch on this coming saturday    smile.gif

i'll go for the maxis  BIS Standard  RM55   24 Months   RM1,699  package
is deposit required?

and any advice before and after i get my Torch?  what should i check to if a defect exists?

much appreciated   biggrin.gif

No need deposit. You just have to pay for the phone price.

What to check for:-

- button panel under the touchscreen, make sure its not loose or flimsy. It should fit nicely, and you cannot see the backlight from between the gaps of the touchscreen and the button panel. Test the buttons also. In my case, after pressing the BB menu button a few times, the panel is loose.

- check your phone whether can tether with Desktop Manager 6 (test out both 3g and 2g setting). In my case, 3G cannot connect at all. 2G connected but cannot surf.

- slider mechanism. Make sure it doesn't feel loose

Remember that Maxis policy is that if your phone is defective, they will only change for you within 24 hours from the time of purchase. After that they will insist you send the phone for warranty service with Brightstar. Just FYI, Maxis and Brightstar warranty service period is 2-4 weeks. Don't let them tell you "please call our online technician to solve your problem" because they will take 2-3 working days to get back to you and by that time, 24 hours pass liao and they won't replace the phone for you.

I am currently in a dispute with Maxis on this now and opted to drop them in favour of Digi.

This post has been edited by CKJMark: Nov 18 2010, 08:33 AM
stuffx
post Nov 18 2010, 08:54 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(kent_jai @ Nov 18 2010, 01:30 AM)

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 18 2010, 02:24 AM)
check the label at your torch box.. what is the origin country? is it made in mexico or canada? if mexico, is it mexico 4 or mexico 5?

it is well known about some build quality issue for devices from canada and mexico 5. most of the mexico 4 devices are very solid
genbat2003
post Nov 18 2010, 08:59 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 18 2010, 08:54 AM)
check the label at your torch box.. what is the origin country? is it made in mexico or canada? if mexico, is it mexico 4 or mexico 5?

it is well known about some build quality issue for devices from canada and mexico 5. most of the mexico 4 devices are very solid
Lucky, mine from Mexico 4.
MetalHeads
post Nov 18 2010, 09:02 AM

81 posts

Mine mexico 4 but goyang, maybe I'm isolated case
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 10:47 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

My advice is send for warranty...
kent_jai
post Nov 18 2010, 12:15 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(genbat2003 @ Nov 18 2010, 06:04 AM)
"Clear" button? Where is it? i have no problem so far... might to check my torch.
That right button beside your trackpad...

Added on November 18, 2010, 12:20 pm
QUOTE(genbat2003 @ Nov 18 2010, 08:59 AM)
Lucky, mine from Mexico 4.
Mine also Mexico 4....the slider abit loose...button abit problem...unlock button also seem got problem =.=;

This post has been edited by kent_jai: Nov 18 2010, 12:20 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 12:27 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Wow seems like a lot of defects on this Torch 9800! Lot of my forumer are complaining as well...
stuffx
post Nov 18 2010, 12:33 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(MetalHeads @ Nov 18 2010, 09:02 AM)
Mine mexico 4 but goyang, maybe I'm isolated case
QUOTE(kent_jai @ Nov 18 2010, 12:15 PM)

Mine also Mexico 4....the slider abit loose...button abit problem...unlock button also seem got problem =.=;
mexico 4 brightstar set or at&t set?

MetalHeads
post Nov 18 2010, 12:34 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(kent_jai @ Nov 18 2010, 12:15 PM)

What is the issue with the unlock button just in case I did not notice, gonna send for waranty by today or tommorow, will miss my torch during that time.

Added on November 18, 2010, 12:36 pmMine brighstar

This post has been edited by MetalHeads: Nov 18 2010, 12:36 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 12:45 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

The unlock button is loose... When you press it you will feel "goyang" this is what describe by Torch owner...
MetalHeads
post Nov 18 2010, 12:57 PM

81 posts

Its seams ok. But not sure for the long run coz just using it under 1 week
EightPhantomz
post Nov 18 2010, 01:05 PM

1,766 posts

Mine still ok. No loose buttons/slider. So far so good.
kent_jai
post Nov 18 2010, 01:11 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 18 2010, 12:33 PM)
mexico 4 brightstar set or at&t set?
Mine Brightstar...

Added on November 18, 2010, 1:13 pm
QUOTE(MetalHeads @ Nov 18 2010, 12:57 PM)
Its seams ok. But not sure for the long run coz just using it under 1 week
Hope you got no problem after 2 weeks tongue.gif

Added on November 18, 2010, 1:19 pm
QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 18 2010, 12:45 PM)
The unlock button is loose... When you press it you will feel "goyang" this is what describe by Torch owner...
Yeah...That unlock button always accidently get touch and unlock itself...

This post has been edited by kent_jai: Nov 18 2010, 01:19 PM
MetalHeads
post Nov 18 2010, 02:04 PM

81 posts

Just come back from digi center ss2 they say they have 7days return policy, too bad lunch hour is only 1 hour didn't have chance my one to get examined. Gonna try at times square they open after office hours
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 02:06 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

That is not bad 7 days Return Policy... Better be quick...
spinworkz
post Nov 18 2010, 03:13 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Nov 18 2010, 08:31 AM)
No need deposit.  You just have to pay for the phone price. 

What to check for:-

- button panel under the touchscreen, make sure its not loose or flimsy.  It should fit nicely, and you cannot see the backlight from between the gaps of the touchscreen and the button panel.  Test the buttons also.  In my case, after pressing the BB menu button a few times, the panel is loose.

- check your phone whether can tether with Desktop Manager 6 (test out both 3g and 2g setting).  In my case, 3G cannot connect at all.  2G connected but cannot surf.

- slider mechanism.  Make sure it doesn't feel loose

Remember that Maxis policy is that if your phone is defective, they will only change for you within 24 hours from the time of purchase.  After that they will insist you send the phone for warranty service with Brightstar.  Just FYI, Maxis and Brightstar warranty service period is 2-4 weeks.  Don't let them tell you "please call our online technician to solve your problem" because they will take 2-3 working days to get back to you and by that time, 24 hours pass liao and they won't replace the phone for you.

I am currently in a dispute with Maxis on this now and opted to drop them in favour of Digi.
wow, thank you very very very much for your advises CKJMark! biggrin.gif

i will check these 3 parts!
but one thing is i'll be buying on Saturday and maxis center will be closed on Sunday, it will be over 24 hours if my Torch is defective and need to change a new one... sad.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 03:15 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Then get it on weekdays...
CKJMark
post Nov 18 2010, 04:03 PM

579 posts

Which Maxis centre are you going to? Those in shopping malls are open 7 days a week if I'm not wrong.
spinworkz
post Nov 18 2010, 04:33 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Nov 18 2010, 04:03 PM)
Which Maxis centre are you going to?  Those in shopping malls are open 7 days a week if I'm not wrong.
smile.gif most probably this maxis centre:

Penang - I-Centre Maxis Centre
Unit S-1-B and Unit S-2-A,
The Northam,
No. 55 Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah,
10050 Pulau Pinang

OPERATING HOURS:
Mon to Fri : 9.00AM - 5.30PM
Sat : 9.00AM - 1.30PM
Sun & Public Holiday Closed

is it okay to go to those in shopping malls if i found my Torch is defective(assuming i'll be buying the phone on Saturday at the centre above)

by the way, what's the different between "Maxis Centre" and "MEP outlet"?

This post has been edited by spinworkz: Nov 18 2010, 04:34 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 11:14 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Maxis Exclusive Partner (MPE) different between Maxis Center is only certain stock distribute to MPE, but Center they have everything...
genbat2003
post Nov 18 2010, 11:30 PM

186 posts

Hmm...I have problem..wifi.

Last time, my torch worked well with wifi. But today, i try to surf using torch but failed.

I turned off the digi line and on wifi. Its connected to router. But, when i try to youtube or browse..unable to locate the server.

If i not mistake, once we save the configuration, the setting can be use again n again.

any idea?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 11:51 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Double check you setting given to you earlier...
genbat2003
post Nov 18 2010, 11:54 PM

186 posts

Im Pretty sure my setting all correct. Even i have recreated new WEP. I never changed the setting.

For 4 days, can browse wifi without problem, except now.

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 19 2010, 12:12 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Restart your router and phone...
genbat2003
post Nov 19 2010, 12:15 AM

186 posts

Hmm.. I will do tomorrow morning. Now like always " batman" time
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 19 2010, 06:48 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Good luck!!
hfadzl1
post Nov 19 2010, 03:24 PM

94 posts

So far im satisfied with the Torch in term of design/function. The only problem with this Torch is that the screen is a bit wiggle after 1 week. This happened only when i use the touch screen or when pressing the back/NO button. Not sure if i need to return it & get a new device. Coz as mentioned in other forums, the problem still there even after changing to a new one..Hmmm..Cant imagine using it after 6 months. It could be worst! If i want to get the replacement, can i go direct to Brightstar instead of the service provider? But thinking its a waste of time if i get the replacement but problem is still there.
Morning_Star
post Nov 19 2010, 04:30 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(benh77 @ Nov 17 2010, 08:31 AM)
Heya.....do you guys notice that 9800 LED doesn't blink for missed calls ? Seems to be ok for 9700 but not for 9800 ? Was trying to figure out if it was a configuration somewhere but doesn't seem to be so ?

>>
So 9700 & possibly 9780 have default blink for missed calls but not the Torch?

Is BerryBuzz application free ?

--------
*Offtopic-*
-Anyone here uses BB for viewing small financial charts ?

genbat2003
post Nov 19 2010, 05:25 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 19 2010, 12:12 AM)
Restart your router and phone...
Yeap. It work again. Have to battey pull n restart the router at same time. rclxms.gif

kent_jai
post Nov 19 2010, 10:52 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(hfadzl1 @ Nov 19 2010, 03:24 PM)
So far im satisfied with the Torch in term of design/function. The only problem with this Torch is that the screen is a bit wiggle after 1 week. This happened only when i use the touch screen or when pressing the back/NO button. Not sure if i need to return it & get a new device. Coz as mentioned in other forums, the problem still there even after changing to a new one..Hmmm..Cant imagine using it after 6 months. It could be worst! If i want to get the replacement, can i go direct to Brightstar instead of the service provider? But thinking its a waste of time if i get the replacement but problem is still there.
Agree what you said !!! when u slide up...the touch screen has no problem !!
techme
post Nov 19 2010, 11:17 PM

51 posts

hello there, Im planning to get a bb torch but I have a few questions like how to check for defects in a torch like so far I hear complaints bout the slide when it's closed it's loosed, anything else?keypad? and can anyone explain to me how the brighstar warranty works? what 24hours? or shud I get a 9780?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 20 2010, 05:29 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Specially for Torch user!

Window 7 Theme:

Link: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=Q1KAQ7FL

Ubuntu Inspired Theme

Link: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=EHOO7CBE

Precision MBB
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=3J3R4SK0

ENJOY Torch user!!!
EightPhantomz
post Nov 20 2010, 08:08 PM

1,766 posts

thanks dicksonbell! wink.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 21 2010, 12:53 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Welcome smile.gif Enjoy the Theme...

Added on November 21, 2010, 2:02 pmBerryBuzz is not freeware, need to pay...

This post has been edited by dicksonbell: Nov 21 2010, 02:02 PM
spinworkz
post Nov 21 2010, 03:21 PM

68 posts

went to maxis centre yesterday, and they've got no stock, they'll call me if new stock is available on Monday...

i've signed up for the RM30 per month postpaid value plan although i havent got my Torch yet...
so i'll have to pay RM85 per month(BIS RM55+ RM30)

to be frank i go for maxis because i din know a postpaid plan is compulsory...plus maxis 1gb BIS plan is enough for me..

now only i realized DiGi Torch package is better than maxis one... only RM78 per month compared with maxis RM85 per month..
but i never consider about DiGi Torch package before this because its BIS coverage isnt so good at my home area, especially in my own bedroom...due to my friend's experience.. i'm guessing is this low coverage due to an older model of BB? it's a Curve 8900...the one with a trackball..

This post has been edited by spinworkz: Nov 21 2010, 03:38 PM
kelsoo
post Nov 22 2010, 09:11 AM

47 posts

hey guys, just got my torch like 2 days ago smile.gif so damn sexy i feel like making it my new girlfriend hahaha. so a quick question for the torch sifu here. which os for the torch have less batt consumption? cz the current digi os drains my battery like a bi*ch. also any1 found case for the torch yet? smile.gif
stuffx
post Nov 22 2010, 10:56 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(kelsoo @ Nov 22 2010, 09:11 AM)
hey guys, just got my torch like 2 days ago smile.gif so damn sexy i feel like making it my new girlfriend hahaha. so a quick question for the torch sifu here. which os for the torch have less batt consumption? cz the current digi os drains my battery like a bi*ch. also any1 found case for the torch yet? smile.gif
i agreed that torch is very sexy and i cant stop myself from staring at it tongue.gif

u can try upgrading to .337.. however bear in mind that batt consumption is actually depending on individual usage.. mine with .286 can last up to 36 hours with moderate usage
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 22 2010, 11:04 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

That is a lot... 36 hours, I believe you dosent use your Torch much...
stuffx
post Nov 22 2010, 11:09 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 22 2010, 11:04 AM)
That is a lot... 36 hours, I believe you dosent use your Torch much...
i set auto off at 1.30am and auto on at 6.30am.. most of time i'm on EDGE and not 3G.. i believe those are the reasons why it can last to 36 hours
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 22 2010, 11:30 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Means in between you got switch OFF and ON your Torch again??
stuffx
post Nov 22 2010, 11:35 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 22 2010, 11:30 AM)
Means in between you got switch OFF and ON your Torch again??
it's not like that. im using the auto on/off feature between 1.30am till 6.30am (during bedtime)
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 22 2010, 11:38 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

You OFF it for 6 hours daily... Of course you battery can last longer...
kamarulamir
post Nov 22 2010, 11:39 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 22 2010, 11:35 AM)
it's not like that. im using the auto on/off feature between 1.30am till 6.30am (during bedtime)
The Torch sleeps when the master sleeps.. Hehehe.. *joke only ya*

Anyway, guys.. Just asking.. Charging using the usb cable (connect to pc) or the charger makes any differences in your battery life?

This post has been edited by kamarulamir: Nov 22 2010, 11:43 AM
ilyas_jamal
post Nov 22 2010, 11:42 AM

259 posts

was wondering how can we get the feature like this ; see min 1:31
(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T0SBdtsD4vk&feature=related)

when i hold few sec on a certain contact it seems like showing only a few .. even i have added his BBM Pin / email / home add.. any ideas?

thanks in advance...
MetalHeads
post Nov 22 2010, 11:45 AM

81 posts

My one can last for 13hrs only, on wife after office hour because my house digi reception is poor. if i didnt turn the wife on i think can last longer.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 22 2010, 11:54 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(MetalHeads @ Nov 22 2010, 11:45 AM)
My one can last for 13hrs only, on wife after office hour because my house digi reception is poor. if i didnt turn the wife on i think can last longer.
You didnt turn the WiFi or "wife"??
yohomies
post Nov 22 2010, 11:55 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(MetalHeads @ Nov 22 2010, 11:45 AM)
OMG this sounds sooo wrong... brows.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 22 2010, 12:00 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Its "WiFi" not "wife" I believe its spelling error....
MetalHeads
post Nov 22 2010, 12:09 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 22 2010, 11:54 AM)
You didnt turn the WiFi or "wife"??
I mean wifi tongue.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 22 2010, 12:22 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Lucky not "Wife"...
ilyas_jamal
post Nov 22 2010, 05:59 PM

259 posts

since for Torch there are ain't many applications which are compatible..its kinda hard for us to download the apps that we were using on out previous blackberrys..

here i just wanna share a link which seems like a cool link for torch apps..

http://www.cio.com/article/603699/Free_Bla...age=1#slideshow

http://blackberrybonanza.com/blackberry-ne...th-checking-out

top up another link.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ilyas_jamal: Nov 22 2010, 06:23 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 22 2010, 06:02 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Apps world also doesnt have much apps for Torch, that the reason why I still havent get myself a unit...

Anyway thanks for sharing on the website...
ilyas_jamal
post Nov 22 2010, 06:27 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 22 2010, 07:02 PM)
Apps world also doesnt have much apps for Torch, that the reason why I still havent get myself a unit...

Anyway thanks for sharing on the website...
i cant sign in to app world using the torch.. even i have change the password on the web.. any ideas how to resolve this.. but it works fine while i was on my storm..
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 22 2010, 06:31 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Create a new ID...
MEAKU15
post Nov 23 2010, 05:59 AM

268 posts

hello peeps,

i just got my torch as well, damn nice!!! slick and awesome.... anyways, i am trying to look for a case so it can be as new as it is for a long time. can't seem to find one yet... anyone know where to get?
stuffx
post Nov 23 2010, 09:02 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(MEAKU15 @ Nov 23 2010, 05:59 AM)
hello peeps,

i just got my torch as well, damn nice!!! slick and awesome.... anyways, i am trying to look for a case so it can be as new as it is for a long time. can't seem to find one yet... anyone know where to get?
u can try ebay.. i bought the OEM pocket case by RIM at 25USD inclusive shipping
MEAKU15
post Nov 23 2010, 09:07 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 23 2010, 09:02 AM)
u can try ebay.. i bought the OEM pocket case by RIM at 25USD inclusive shipping
Dude thanks a lot. Pity nothing in my yet. I will chect out ebay
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 23 2010, 11:49 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Torch user upgrade your device to leaked OS for better performance and stability...
stuffx
post Nov 23 2010, 02:55 PM

719 posts

just got my OEM pocket case delivered today.. took 5 days from US.. very happy biggrin.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 23 2010, 03:00 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

This nice... I believe it fits on BOLD Series as well... You got it for USD25 including shipping, right??
stuffx
post Nov 23 2010, 03:17 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 23 2010, 03:00 PM)
This nice... I believe it fits on BOLD Series as well... You got it for USD25 including shipping, right??
not really sure if it can fit bold.. most probably can fit but the auto sleep mode might not work

yes i got it at 25usd inclusive shipping coz my friends and i bought 3 units with combined shipping.. if buy 1 the total is 45usd inclusive shipping
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 23 2010, 03:19 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

IC any link for Bold pouch which looks like this??
ilyas_jamal
post Nov 23 2010, 04:09 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(MEAKU15 @ Nov 23 2010, 06:59 AM)
hello peeps,

i manage to "POW" the phone dealer to give me a original holster frm the bold 2 series.. fits just nice.. not that loose.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 23 2010, 04:33 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Means you are using Bold 9700 pouch for your Torch 9800??
ilyas_jamal
post Nov 23 2010, 04:55 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 23 2010, 05:33 PM)
Means you are using Bold 9700 pouch for your Torch 9800??
yes indeed... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif biggrin.gif planning getting a otterbox later.. (did i get the spelling right sweat.gif )

by the way have u seen the holster that comes together with the 9780 (bold3)..? serious.. look like pasar mlm cover...holster not like 9700...

This post has been edited by ilyas_jamal: Nov 23 2010, 04:58 PM
xtrasher_kingx
post Nov 23 2010, 05:18 PM

199 posts

hello fellow torch bearers! can our torch watch live stream football EPL? like iphone?
Ray_1882
post Nov 23 2010, 05:28 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 23 2010, 02:55 PM)

just got my OEM pocket case delivered today.. took 5 days from US.. very happy  biggrin.gif
may i know any diff with this??

http://blackberryhousing.blogspot.com/2010...lster-case.html

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 23 2010, 05:30 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

3rd party pay Apps got this software...
stuffx
post Nov 23 2010, 05:33 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(Ray_1882 @ Nov 23 2010, 05:28 PM)
as mentioned by the blogger himself, it is not original that he's selling
magiara
post Nov 23 2010, 05:38 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 23 2010, 11:49 AM)
Torch user upgrade your device to leaked OS for better performance and stability...
got new leaked OS out?
xtrasher_kingx

199 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 23 2010, 05:30 PM)
3rd party pay Apps got this software...
were u answering my question? hahaha sorry got lost so in order to watch live stream need app? cannot from browser?
Ray_1882

256 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 23 2010, 05:33 PM)
as mentioned by the blogger himself, it is not original that he's selling
sorry to mis-lead, what i meant in terms of the quality & the fitting, is it big diff?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 23 2010, 06:02 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Nov 23 2010, 05:38 PM)
got new leaked OS out?
Yes.. v6.0.0.337... Installed??
Zyn11
post Nov 23 2010, 06:13 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 23 2010, 02:55 PM)

just got my OEM pocket case delivered today.. took 5 days from US.. very happy  biggrin.gif
Anyone else wana bulk buy this? smile.gif

Although i'm probably selling my torch haha. Anyone want? RM1950?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 23 2010, 06:23 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

So fast wanna sell?? Few of my forumer are giving up on Torch 9800 as well, just wondering whats the prob??
Zyn11
post Nov 23 2010, 06:36 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 23 2010, 06:23 PM)
So fast wanna sell?? Few of my forumer are giving up on Torch 9800 as well, just wondering whats the prob??
The phone is fine. No probs. I just don't like the slider and keypad. I prefer using the 9700. As keypad is easier to use and don't need to keep sliding up and down. Battery is fine on mine as well, i'm surprised some people are complaining about the baterry drain. I can get 2 days out of my battery on 3G.

The touch function is good but i've used the IP4 and cannot compare haha. To me the ultimate BB would be a 9780 with a slightly larger screen with touch ability. No need to slide up and down. I don't really use the touch function much. So I am willing to give up on the larger screen for ease of use with a 9780.

stuffx
post Nov 23 2010, 07:11 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(Ray_1882 @ Nov 23 2010, 05:38 PM)
sorry to mis-lead, what i meant in terms of the quality & the fitting, is it big diff?
i have no idea about fitting and quality wise.. u have to try the non original one by yourself.. but the original one fits very well for sure

i think the most significant difference is the look..

original
- red lining finishing (as u can see in the pic)
- embossed with chrome BB logo in front
- leather

non original
- no red lining finishing
- embossed with white color BB logo in front
- PVC perhaps?
EightPhantomz
post Nov 23 2010, 08:14 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(Zyn11 @ Nov 23 2010, 06:36 PM)
The phone is fine. No probs. I just don't like the slider and keypad. I prefer using the 9700. As keypad is easier to use and don't need to keep sliding up and down. Battery is fine on mine as well, i'm surprised some people are complaining about the baterry drain. I can get 2 days out of my battery on 3G.

The touch function is good but i've used the IP4 and cannot compare haha. To me the ultimate BB would be a 9780 with a slightly larger screen with touch ability. No need to slide up and down. I don't really use the touch function much. So I am willing to give up on the larger screen for ease of use with a 9780.
Just curious, what do u mean by touch ability? The trackpad? It does not have touchscreen. The only upgrade from the 9700 is the 5MP camera, OS6 and the slightly larger memory.

------------------------------------------
A friend asked me whether 9780 is a good upgrade from 9700, told her to either upgrade to Torch which she rejected due to her dislike at the slider OR keep her 9700. She just bought it few month ago with Maxis 24-month contract. Dont think its worth the hassle. My opinion. smile.gif
Ray_1882
post Nov 24 2010, 01:15 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 23 2010, 07:11 PM)
i have no idea about fitting and quality wise.. u have to try the non original one by yourself.. but the original one fits very well for sure

i think the most significant difference is the look..

original
- red lining finishing (as u can see in the pic)
- embossed with chrome BB logo in front
- leather

non original
- no red lining finishing
- embossed with white color BB logo in front
- PVC perhaps?
thank for your information.. i will try to find out on that.. smile.gif

Added on November 24, 2010, 1:21 amhi all,

currently i encountered one issues many times on my 9800 which is BIS logo will dissappear and the services will stop after i used it for few hours..

even this issues could resolve after i perform battery pull on that devices, but i felt so annoying on this..

may i know anyone encounter the same issues as me? is it the hardware problem or telco problem??

This post has been edited by Ray_1882: Nov 24 2010, 01:21 AM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 02:08 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

You are on old OS, should try the leaked .337
MEAKU15
post Nov 24 2010, 02:40 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 24 2010, 02:08 AM)
bro, when trying out the leaked, what are the pros and cons?
magiara
post Nov 24 2010, 07:01 AM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 24 2010, 02:08 AM)
i feel the new OS feels laggy rclxub.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 09:50 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

At least not so many bugs from the previous version, right?
stuffx
post Nov 24 2010, 09:54 AM

719 posts

anyone interested to bulk buy the OEM torch pocket case? i can help u to get it from ebay. min and max are 5 buyers. rm100 each. can choose to COD in cheras or free poslaju

This post has been edited by stuffx: Nov 24 2010, 10:10 AM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 09:57 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Bold Series got?
stuffx
post Nov 24 2010, 10:06 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 24 2010, 09:57 AM)
Bold Series got?
bold does not come with that design.. however that case can fit storm2 as well and the auto sleep function works, i tested that.. u can come to see me if u want to try whether it fits bold
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 10:18 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Okay will arranged time, btw are you in my BBM contacts??
MEAKU15
post Nov 24 2010, 11:37 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 24 2010, 09:54 AM)
anyone interested to bulk buy the OEM torch pocket case? i can help u to get it from ebay. min and max are 5 buyers. rm100 each. can choose to COD in cheras or free poslaju

bro if you get your buyers today, when can we expect the goods? plus the pos laju cause im in kota damansara
auhckw
post Nov 24 2010, 11:50 AM

1,008 posts

Soon to be 9800 user checking in... Company asked me go buy and become a user to BB. Lucky is claimable smile.gif

Lots to learn from you guys. Virgin to BB.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 12:07 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Welcoming you to BlackBerry Torch family...
stuffx
post Nov 24 2010, 12:10 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 24 2010, 10:18 AM)
Okay will arranged time, btw are you in my BBM contacts??
nope.. what's ur pin?

QUOTE(MEAKU15 @ Nov 24 2010, 11:37 AM)
bro if you get your buyers today, when can we expect the goods? plus the pos laju cause im in kota damansara
based on my purchase before, it took 5 days from US to reach me.. the ebay seller used fedex for shipping.. so u can expect around 1 week +- if u want me to send via poslaju but i highly prefer COD
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 12:13 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Check your PM...
spinworkz
post Nov 24 2010, 12:56 PM

68 posts

finally got my Torch from maxis this morning.. icon_rolleyes.gif

charging now..first thing to do after this is update to the latest OS version biggrin.gif

by the way..where'd u guys get ZAGG invisibleSHIELD screen protector for your BB?
any other places i can get a nice quality protector other than eBay?

thanks in advance smile.gif

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 12:58 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Try ask Eric:

Link: http://blackberryhousing.blogspot.com/

This is cool...

This post has been edited by dicksonbell: Nov 24 2010, 01:00 PM
Zyn11
post Nov 24 2010, 02:23 PM

40 posts

This post has been edited by Zyn11: Nov 24 2010, 02:27 PM
stuffx
post Nov 24 2010, 02:28 PM

719 posts

torch pocket case bulk

1. my fren

anyone else? please be informed that i need at least rm50 deposit to avoid last minute cancellation

This post has been edited by stuffx: Nov 24 2010, 02:36 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 02:54 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

What is the price again? I will ask my forumer/friends and associates...
stuffx
post Nov 24 2010, 03:01 PM

719 posts

rm100 including shipping
auhckw
post Nov 24 2010, 03:03 PM

1,008 posts

Wow.. dicksonbell

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 03:07 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Why anything wrong with it???
auhckw
post Nov 24 2010, 03:12 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 24 2010, 03:07 PM)
Why anything wrong with it???
No wrong. I'm just impressed rclxms.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 03:21 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Im a BlackBerry addicted so will just stay here and reply all the discussion/questions I could!
MetalHeads
post Nov 24 2010, 03:25 PM

81 posts

How come you reply so fast from your bb
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 03:28 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Not from BlackBerry phone... Im at my office desk in front PC...
spinworkz
post Nov 24 2010, 03:36 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 24 2010, 03:28 PM)
Not from BlackBerry phone... Im at my office desk in front PC...
ahahaha.. same here... laugh.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 24 2010, 03:56 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Haha... Office become our BlackBerry port for discussion...
beguiler
post Nov 24 2010, 06:50 PM

145 posts

looking for a leather case with magnetic clip and without belt clip!
fubs
post Nov 25 2010, 12:16 AM

201 posts

upgraded to .337 today.

now my gtalk notifications shows "net_rim_bb_qm_google" instead of "gtalk" as the title in the notification page :|

anyone else has this problem?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 25 2010, 01:42 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 24 2010, 06:50 PM)
looking for a leather case with magnetic clip and without belt clip!
Too bad we are selling the one with belt clip...
hfadzl1
post Nov 25 2010, 01:29 PM

94 posts

Guys..Not sure if you guys have already read it before but i just wanna share the link below with u guys. For those who has problem with the slider/screen wiggle can try this. I will definitely try this. Probably this weekend.Hope this can solve my wiggle problem for good.

http://forums.crackberry.com/f209/better-f...ake-two-528892/
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 25 2010, 02:38 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Nice sharing... Thanks.. smile.gif
hfadzl1
post Nov 25 2010, 02:47 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 25 2010, 02:38 PM)
Nice sharing... Thanks.. smile.gif
Ur welcome.. biggrin.gif I cant wait to try this..Coz the wiggle thing is very annoying..

This post has been edited by hfadzl1: Nov 25 2010, 02:47 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 25 2010, 02:48 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Please let us know your feedback after trying it...
hfadzl1
post Nov 25 2010, 02:49 PM

94 posts

sure..i will..
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 25 2010, 02:50 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Thanks...
spinworkz
post Nov 25 2010, 07:48 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 16 2010, 06:49 PM)
Yes indeed this is BlackBerry Torch 9800 topic... Why dont you guys 9800 owner create a chat group on your Torch and invite everyone here??
is there a bbm group for all Torch user?
should i create one? hmm.gif
although i'm still newbie to BB biggrin.gif

by the way.. how to check the current data usage of BIS?
i know this has been discussed before, but i can't find it now...sorry..

Ray_1882
post Nov 25 2010, 08:46 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Ray_1882 @ Nov 24 2010, 01:15 AM)
thank for your information.. i will try to find out on that.. smile.gif

Added on November 24, 2010, 1:21 amhi all,

currently i encountered one issues many times on my 9800 which is BIS logo will dissappear and the services will stop after i used it for few hours..

even this issues could resolve after i perform battery pull on that devices, but i felt so annoying on this..

may i know anyone encounter the same issues as me? is it the hardware problem or telco problem??
i have tried update to .337 but is seem does not help.. anyone facing the problem like i face?? or any recommendation for me??
Suemitraa
post Nov 25 2010, 08:46 PM

Artsy Fartsy
794 posts

I am looking for a flip leather casing so I don't need to take out my phone :/ anyone know where to get one?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 25 2010, 09:12 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Try Eric blogs..

http://blackberryhousing.blogspot.com/
ilyas_jamal
post Nov 25 2010, 09:14 PM

259 posts

torch users are growing each day.. in my office alone theres 2 new users.. haha.. torch seems like the IN THING
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 25 2010, 09:18 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

That for sure... But in my contacts have 2 people are selling it out...
maxilias
post Nov 25 2010, 09:21 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 25 2010, 09:18 PM)
That for sure... But in my contacts have 2 people are selling it out...
why wana sell out ?..anyway, why torch is much popular than 9780 ? probably im abit bias as i am not a big fan of slides phones lol
ilyas_jamal
post Nov 25 2010, 09:47 PM

259 posts

wonder why.. is it caused due to wiggle on sliders?it actually depends no how u use it.. any how i love my torch..love the big screen..i dont user much on the slider..prefer more on the touchscreen, only use the keypad while browsing..
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 25 2010, 09:57 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Maybe the prefer candy types of BlackBerry rather than slide...
maxilias
post Nov 25 2010, 10:02 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(ilyas_jamal @ Nov 25 2010, 09:47 PM)
wonder why.. is it caused due to wiggle on sliders?it actually depends no how u use it.. any how i love my torch..love the big screen..i dont user much on the slider..prefer more on the touchscreen, only use the keypad while browsing..
or just simply its a new series by itself ?...first torch right ?
ilyas_jamal
post Nov 25 2010, 10:08 PM

259 posts

clam shell BBs are nice as well.. rclxms.gif
beguiler
post Nov 25 2010, 10:12 PM

145 posts

i got the similar case from ebay for just 3.99usd
free shipping to malaysia
so cheap!
maxilias
post Nov 25 2010, 10:13 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 25 2010, 10:12 PM)
i got the similar case from ebay for just 3.99usd
free shipping to malaysia
so cheap!
got link to the seller ?..ebay au or us ?or my ?
ilyas_jamal
post Nov 25 2010, 10:18 PM

259 posts

so how's going to start creating the Torch'ians BBM Group? but for sure the BBM will vibrate all day when theres a chat on going.. anyone starts and ill be joining as well.. haha..
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 25 2010, 11:23 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

You can start create Torch group if you want... After the group is created you can mute all tones and vibrate inside the chat group you created... It won't disturb... I got 12 groups in my Bold, all notification are permanent off...
beguiler
post Nov 25 2010, 11:29 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(maxilias @ Nov 25 2010, 10:13 PM)
got link to the seller ?..ebay au or us ?or my ?
bro here you are

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...e=STRK:MEWNX:IT

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 25 2010, 11:31 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

eBay seller can be trusted? Reliable??
stuffx
post Nov 25 2010, 11:41 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 25 2010, 11:29 PM)
it's not original.. that's why u can get it at 3.99usd

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 25 2010, 11:31 PM)
eBay seller can be trusted? Reliable??
seller is from hong kong.. i dont really trust free shipping from hong kong coz i have one item that wasn't delivered before.. if wanna buy from hong kong seller make sure opt for shipping with tracking number
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 25 2010, 11:48 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Then have to be extra careful!
richardson.wan
post Nov 26 2010, 12:05 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 25 2010, 11:48 PM)
Then have to be extra careful!
ebay are safe & secure..
anything wrong can make dispute..
cause pay via pay-pal...

This post has been edited by richardson.wan: Nov 26 2010, 12:05 AM
beguiler
post Nov 26 2010, 12:18 AM

145 posts

yup ebay is very safe
paypal nv fail me
worse come to worse refund
is 3.99 usd only hehe

found another one at amazon

http://www.amazon.com/BlackBerry-Leather-P...90702233&sr=8-2

http://www.amazon.com/BlackBerry-Torch-Lea...f=pd_rhf_shvl_2

all below 10 usd ^^ good deal ^^

This post has been edited by beguiler: Nov 26 2010, 12:29 AM
maxilias
post Nov 26 2010, 12:28 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 26 2010, 12:18 AM)
yup ebay is very safe
paypal nv fail me
is 3.99 usd only hehe

but sometimes sampai our malaysian kastam not safe d, there are few times my fren bought stuff, sure some units missing, for example bought a vuvuzela from HK during worldcup, bought 6, kastam sebat 1. sleep.gif''
beguiler
post Nov 26 2010, 12:30 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(maxilias @ Nov 26 2010, 12:28 AM)
but sometimes sampai our malaysian kastam not safe d, there are few times my fren bought stuff, sure some units missing, for example bought a vuvuzela from HK during worldcup, bought 6, kastam sebat 1. sleep.gif''
hahaha your friend so unlucky
so far i got no problem with kastam at all ..all arrived safely ^^
maxilias
post Nov 26 2010, 12:31 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 26 2010, 12:30 AM)
hahaha your friend so unlucky
so far i got no problem with kastam at all ..all arrived safely ^^
haha..yea lar..all luck lar..its best to request the seller to wrap entirely..as in put lots of adhesive so that its hard to unpack ?
stuffx
post Nov 26 2010, 12:35 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 26 2010, 12:18 AM)
yup ebay is very safe
paypal nv fail me
is 3.99 usd only hehe

http://www.amazon.com/BlackBerry-Torch-Lea...f=pd_rhf_shvl_2

all below 10 usd ^^ good deal ^^
amazon always have a good deal but too bad most sellers won't deliver to malaysia.. including the items that you quoted
beguiler
post Nov 26 2010, 12:37 AM

145 posts

got but the postage so expensive lol!
maxilias
post Nov 26 2010, 12:39 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 26 2010, 12:35 AM)
amazon always have a good deal but too bad most sellers won't deliver to malaysia.. including the items that you quoted
they tot malaysia is terrorist country is it ? sleep.gif'' sweat
stuffx
post Nov 26 2010, 12:47 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(maxilias @ Nov 26 2010, 12:39 AM)
they tot malaysia is terrorist country is it ? sleep.gif'' sweat
not really.. actually due to a lot of lost packages during custom clearance at KLIA.. u can try to google, there are a lot of stories about this issue.. that's why it is important to get the tracking number to know where exactly the items location so we know who to blame

This post has been edited by stuffx: Nov 26 2010, 12:48 AM
beguiler
post Nov 26 2010, 12:48 AM

145 posts

haha no tracking number nvm
surely get refund
cause the seller cant provide the tracking info to paypal surely buyer win ^^
maxilias
post Nov 26 2010, 12:49 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 26 2010, 12:47 AM)
not really.. actually due to a lot of lost packages during custom clearance at KLIA.. u can try to google, there are a lot of stories about this issue.. that's why it is important to get the tracking number to know where exactly the items location so we know who to blame
sigh, thats right, its frustrating sometimes certain things its very hard to get in malaysia, or its too expensive to get it here, but when we managed to get it from abroad, we gotta worry another thing - malaysian kastam. zzzz
spinworkz
post Nov 26 2010, 01:36 AM

68 posts

to all Torch users,

a BBM group for Torch users has been created..! smile.gif

scan the group barcode to join the group!

members are allowed to invite their friends who are using Torch too! let's grow our group larger!

see y'all there in BBM!

cheers biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by spinworkz: Nov 26 2010, 02:12 PM

ilyas_jamal
post Nov 26 2010, 02:51 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(spinworkz @ Nov 26 2010, 02:36 AM)
to all Torch users,

a BBM group for Torch users has been created..!    smile.gif

see y'all there in BBM!

cheers  biggrin.gif

joined!! (james - its me!) rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 04:19 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Congratulations "spinworkz" on creating this group.. Dont forget to place the barcode in my forum too... There are a lot of Torch user as well...

P/S: Im not a Torch user (maybe near future) can I join? tongue.gif
auhckw
post Nov 26 2010, 08:23 AM

1,008 posts

1) Does this phone support GPS that can use malfreemaps?

2) Is Celcom's phone locked or unlocked?

This post has been edited by auhckw: Nov 26 2010, 08:24 AM
spinworkz
post Nov 26 2010, 08:39 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 26 2010, 04:19 AM)
Congratulations "spinworkz" on creating this group.. Dont forget to place the barcode in my forum too... There are a lot of Torch user as well...

P/S: Im not a Torch user (maybe near future) can I join? tongue.gif
hi dicksonbell,

i've just placed the barcode in ur forum smile.gif

yes of course u can join! u're very much welcomed to join the group! biggrin.gif
because we're a BlackBerry family icon_rolleyes.gif

looking forward to see u there!

(sigh..i just found that the name of the group is a little bit inappropriate...should i delete and create a new one?)

This post has been edited by spinworkz: Nov 26 2010, 08:52 AM
itommie
post Nov 26 2010, 11:38 AM

I scanned it. Nothing happen. I am lost. New bb user.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 11:43 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

QUOTE(spinworkz @ Nov 26 2010, 08:39 AM)
hi dicksonbell,

i've just placed the barcode in ur forum  smile.gif

yes of course u can join! u're very much welcomed to join the group! biggrin.gif
because we're a BlackBerry family  icon_rolleyes.gif

looking forward to see u there!

(sigh..i just found that the name of the group is a little bit inappropriate...should i delete and create a new one?)
Alright I will join after you create a new one... smile.gif
itommie
post Nov 26 2010, 11:48 AM

Once i scanned, i got to wait to be accepted or something? Cause this is realllllllyyyyy new to me.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 11:51 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Yes you need to wait for the group to confirmed and load... Normally takes about 10 mins...
itommie
post Nov 26 2010, 11:55 AM

Definately been moar than 10 minutes. Maybe i am scanning it wrong.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 12:05 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Then just cancel it and scan again.. Remember its scan a Group Barcode not scan individual Group...
itommie
post Nov 26 2010, 12:17 PM

Does it says anything after the picture has captured? Mine is just a picture.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 12:26 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

It will pop out "Creating group and waiting for respond"
itommie
post Nov 26 2010, 12:27 PM

Crap that didnt happen at all..LOL
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 12:34 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Do a battery pull on your Torch and try again after that...
spinworkz
post Nov 26 2010, 01:32 PM

68 posts

hmmm..i think this group doesn't require confirmation to join.. anyone who scanned the barcode can join straightaway..
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 01:35 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

All depend on network coverage... Some area are slow so this command will pop out it takes time to join... If the reception is good then immediately it will goes into the group.. This my experience from my previous group chat...
spinworkz
post Nov 26 2010, 02:15 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 26 2010, 11:43 AM)
Alright I will join after you create a new one... smile.gif
alright the new group created, new barcode attached.
too bad the group name cannot be too long...
so i keep the title simple and neat smile.gif

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 02:21 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Yes.. Got max on name...
hfadzl1
post Nov 26 2010, 02:45 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(spinworkz @ Nov 26 2010, 02:15 PM)
alright the new group created, new barcode attached.
too bad the group name cannot be too long...
so i keep the title simple and neat  smile.gif
yeap..just add it. smile.gif
realstingzz
post Nov 26 2010, 03:05 PM

82 posts

how to get malaysia holiday calendar sync with our bb?
any file? i try my fren's ics file but cannot..he using iphone and he can sync it with the iphone calendar....
auhckw
post Nov 26 2010, 04:33 PM

1,008 posts

Ran like crazy today...

I wanted to sign up with the Celcom contract set. So I drove to Lowyat. I asked a few shops, and they only sell the device in full amount. When I asked where to buy Celcom contract with the phone, they said Jalan Ampang and there is no shop in Lowyat that has it. One of the shops even said I have to wait 45 days as no stock if I wanted to get Celcom contract set. What bullsh*t

I left Lowyat and called Celcom Careline, and they said Mid Valley has it. So I drove to Mid Valley. Got stuck in traffic jam for 1 hour. Cannot tahan the jam, so I then detour to 1 Utama where they said they have it too. Reached there, they said I can get the phone, but I have wait 3 to 5 working days for them to activate the BB service. They said if I want to activate fast, I have to go Ikano. Sux, so I left 1U and went Ikano...

Finally a day wasted but lucky managed to get it...

This post has been edited by auhckw: Nov 26 2010, 04:41 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 04:38 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Congratulations on your new Torch 9800...
kent_jai
post Nov 26 2010, 05:05 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 26 2010, 04:33 PM)
Ran like crazy today...

I wanted to sign up with the Celcom contract set. So I drove to Lowyat. I asked a few shops, and they only sell the device in full amount. When I asked where to buy Celcom contract with the phone, they said Jalan Ampang and there is no shop in Lowyat that has it. One of the shops even said I have to wait 45 days as no stock if I wanted to get Celcom contract set. What bullsh*t

I left Lowyat and called Celcom Careline, and they said Mid Valley has it. So I drove to Mid Valley. Got stuck in traffic jam for 1 hour. Cannot tahan the jam, so I then detour to 1 Utama where they said they have it too. Reached there, they said I can get the phone, but I have wait 3 to 5 working days for them to activate the BB service. They said if I want to activate fast, I have to go Ikano. Sux, so I left 1U and went Ikano...

Finally a day wasted but lucky managed to get it...

How much u paid for it bro ?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 05:18 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

BlackBerry Torch 9800 without contract-RM2,188

Celcom Exec 50+BlackBerry® Lite-RM1,688 Monthly commitment RM118

Celcom Exec 50+BlackBerry® Pro-RM1,588 Monthly commitment RM148

Celcom Exec 250+BIS-RM1,388 Monthly commitment RM250

auhckw
post Nov 26 2010, 05:24 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(kent_jai @ Nov 26 2010, 05:05 PM)
How much u paid for it bro ?
RM1488 for the phone - 1 year contract - RM188 / month
RM200 for upfront - RM20 deductible per month till finish

RM49 - screen protector
RM30 - pouch

*semua kasi masuk company account smile.gif tq boss
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 05:31 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

I wish I have BOSS like you... smile.gif
kent_jai
post Nov 26 2010, 05:41 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 26 2010, 05:24 PM)
RM1488 for the phone - 1 year contract - RM188 / month
RM200 for upfront - RM20 deductible per month till finish

RM49 - screen protector
RM30 - pouch

*semua kasi masuk company account smile.gif tq boss
They selling Pouch ke ?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 05:42 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Just curious RM30 it is original pouch??
auhckw
post Nov 26 2010, 06:09 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(kent_jai @ Nov 26 2010, 05:41 PM)
They selling Pouch ke ?
QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 26 2010, 05:42 PM)
Just curious RM30 it is original pouch??
I bought the screen protector in the Ikano Celcom cube.

The pouch I bought it in a small stall in front the Ikano Sushi (opposite Celcom cube). Not original (even it has the word original printed on the cover). Here are the photo. Fits nicely smile.gif

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 06:16 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

It doesn't have magnet to auto lock, right... Not bad looks nice and professional too...
auhckw
post Nov 26 2010, 06:24 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 26 2010, 06:16 PM)
It doesn't have magnet to auto lock, right... Not bad looks nice and professional too...
No magnet. How do say those strap... like those primary school shoes kind of strap. Can stick and tear wan... hmmm

Yeah, not bad for the price. Quality good. Does the job.
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 26 2010, 06:28 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

We do have some quality belt clip hostler, do inform us if you interested..

fazdnoah
post Nov 27 2010, 01:47 PM

250 posts

Hye I'm new here...been looking Torch community in Malaysia and finally found it...so much info I got here
Love Torch so much!!! Used to have Curve,Jav,Bold,Storm2 and this one the greatest...but I feel the built quality is not as solid as storm2 and the screen not as clear white and as bright as storm2 and Jav I had before...using it for almost 3weeks and the slider started to wobble/wiggle...
As a crackberry user for 2 and half years,I really hope RIM will more aware of this issue for the future device wink.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 27 2010, 01:51 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Welcome to Torch discussion thread... You can join the chat group as well.. The barcode is few page before this...
maxilias
post Nov 27 2010, 02:31 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(fazdnoah @ Nov 27 2010, 01:47 PM)
Hye I'm new here...been looking Torch community in Malaysia and finally found it...so much info I got here
Love Torch so much!!! Used to have Curve,Jav,Bold,Storm2 and this one the greatest...but I feel the built quality is not as solid as storm2 and the screen not as clear white and as bright as storm2 and Jav I had before...using it for almost 3weeks and the slider started to wobble/wiggle...
As a crackberry user for 2 and half years,I really hope RIM will more aware of this issue for the future device wink.gif
wah..u're an avid bb user...salute.biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
fazdnoah
post Nov 27 2010, 02:49 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(maxilias @ Nov 27 2010, 02:31 PM)
wah..u're an avid bb user...salute.biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
yeah!!! icon_rolleyes.gif
im a BB addict!!!
maxilias
post Nov 27 2010, 02:52 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(fazdnoah @ Nov 27 2010, 02:49 PM)
yeah!!! icon_rolleyes.gif
im a BB addict!!!
never change to others b4 ?..iphone ?..htc ?..
fazdnoah
post Nov 27 2010, 03:02 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(maxilias @ Nov 27 2010, 02:52 PM)
never change to others b4 ?..iphone ?..htc ?..
i had iphone 3gs together with bold but then gave the iphone to my lil bro and get myself an ipod touch instead tongue.gif
well, need a constant connection, instant email and multitasking which iphone lack of

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 27 2010, 04:35 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Hey guys back to Torch discussion please...
fazdnoah
post Nov 27 2010, 05:50 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 27 2010, 04:35 PM)
Hey guys back to Torch discussion please...
Sorry bout that notworthy.gif
I have one q here...anyone feel that the screen is more to yellowish/warm colour?compared it to storm2 hich pure clear white...Torch screen is more superior than storm aite??

*still can't get thru the bbm group sad.gifu

This post has been edited by fazdnoah: Nov 27 2010, 05:57 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 27 2010, 06:08 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Really why its yellowish? Still new what!

Try to scan via Group Chat at your Torch not Individual Chat Group..
fazdnoah
post Nov 27 2010, 06:46 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 27 2010, 06:08 PM)
Really why its yellowish? Still new what!

Try to scan via Group Chat at your Torch not Individual Chat Group..
Yup...its kinda warm screen...obviously can see the diff if put side by side with storm...tot its normal

N yup I scan group barcode but it still waiting confirmation

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1730sec    1.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:42 PM