1,766 posts

NIce review by Eric Soong.
http://blackberryhousing.blogspot.com/
EightPhantomz
post Nov 13 2010, 10:51 AM

1,766 posts

In love with my Torch.

Its definitely the best BB ever for me. I've used Bold1, Storm1 and Bold2 before.
It sure was awkward to have all three touchscreen, trackpad and qwerty pad but after getting my hands on it for just a mere 5-10mins, I just feel at home.
I guess u need to be a real fan or long-time user of BB to get that feeling.
It might be hard to adjust for new users.
The three functions really compliment each other. Touchscreen is nice for scrolling, dragging and such but it point feature is quite sensitive. This is when trackpad comes in. I will use trackpad to select. Very easy. Less error made.
For a long time Bold user, the thoughts of using the virtual keyboard really scares me. But after trying it on Torch, I was surprise of its point accuracy. I rarely miss a key. So yeah, I'm officially hook with Torch. Glad I bought it.

P/S I have updated my firmware to the latest version. Its almost perfect IMHO. Very that, I found few bugs. And the touchscreen were at times lagged. wink.gif
EightPhantomz
post Nov 14 2010, 12:15 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 14 2010, 02:30 AM)
Lol.. Why so much OS issue with Torch??
I dont have any issues. wink.gif

Added on November 14, 2010, 12:28 pmPlease dont jump to a conclusion so fast.
Sorry for being a fanboy now. Even before I bought my Torch, I dont see my frens having so many issues with theirs.
If they have any, they will immediately solved it.

The other day we hanged out at Murni Discovery at Amansuria. My fren was reading tweets then suddenly a "macha" came saying the Torch is crap. Said he regret in buying it. I asked why, he said so many bugs and all. I asked to check his Torch and guess what? Its still a factory set. Old firmware. Cheh. Then I tell him to update, he complained how come telco sell him out-of-date one. *Sigh* Better use the old nokia then.
No use using smartfons if dunno and not willing to learn using it.

Smartfons nowadays are like computers. U need to do alot of reading, surfing to keep updated. The learning is neverending.

I'm sorry if I sound rude to any of u. But please do lots and loads of research before complaining. I've done my research way before I bought my Torch. I've bookmarked all the solutions sites, tutorials, etc for reference so that when I get my fon, I know what to expect and what to do solve it.

BTW, this msg is not pointed at u dicksonbell. U misunderstood me last time. LOL.

~With love. wink.gif

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Nov 14 2010, 12:33 PM
EightPhantomz
post Nov 14 2010, 02:00 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 14 2010, 01:52 PM)
my speaker phone seemed fine
just nice
just the battery only last one n half day maybe
if heavy surfing one day gone..sigh
Alot of ppl will be thankful to get that one and a half day.
Mine, can only last like half a day only.
Maybe bcoz I just got mine, so quite heavy use lah.
Always want to surf.
Excessive Twitter and BBM.
EightPhantomz
post Nov 14 2010, 02:47 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(cpchew @ Nov 14 2010, 02:09 PM)
I am a heavy phone user that on average I will make and receive about 40 calls. Each last for about 4 minutes. I don't surf the internet often, only about 1 hour per day when I am bored. I don't use GPS only when I am in KL, that will be about 25 days in a year

I need a good contact retriving system, good calender and organizer, easy to access calculator and maybe a good camera. Be able to acess spreadsheet and word prosseser is a definite plus.

I need my phone to be able to last for at least 18 hours everyday, and I always charge it at night when I sleep. But I never swith it off, even during charging.

Question : Is Blackberry Torch 9800 suitable for me?

Thanks in advance.
I think Nokia will probably more suited for you.

Normally ppl will use BB for the push emails.
I do alot of transactions via the internet and email is the best way to communicate.
The calendar/organizer is ok but not that great. But I did meet a businessman who can really utilize it.
It does have the home screen organizer to keep track of your daily appointments.

All in all, BB is a power hungry device. Same as Iphone. Not sure if its suitable for heavy phone users.
But then again, if you really like BB, just buy a car charger and extra battery, you are set to go!

EightPhantomz
post Nov 14 2010, 05:36 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(thebeginning @ Nov 14 2010, 04:02 PM)
hi,

looking for screen protector & holster #bbtorch ?
what is the price? and where can i get it?
any recommendation...
U can try popmyberry.com and blackberryhousing.blogspot.com.
No, I'm not associate with them.
EightPhantomz
post Nov 16 2010, 05:49 PM

1,766 posts

those interested with 9800 will open 9800 community.
those interested with 9780 will open 9780 community.
and this is 9800 thread. :/
EightPhantomz
post Nov 18 2010, 01:05 PM

1,766 posts

Mine still ok. No loose buttons/slider. So far so good.
EightPhantomz
post Nov 20 2010, 08:08 PM

1,766 posts

thanks dicksonbell! wink.gif
EightPhantomz
post Nov 23 2010, 08:14 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(Zyn11 @ Nov 23 2010, 06:36 PM)
The phone is fine. No probs. I just don't like the slider and keypad. I prefer using the 9700. As keypad is easier to use and don't need to keep sliding up and down. Battery is fine on mine as well, i'm surprised some people are complaining about the baterry drain. I can get 2 days out of my battery on 3G.

The touch function is good but i've used the IP4 and cannot compare haha. To me the ultimate BB would be a 9780 with a slightly larger screen with touch ability. No need to slide up and down. I don't really use the touch function much. So I am willing to give up on the larger screen for ease of use with a 9780.
Just curious, what do u mean by touch ability? The trackpad? It does not have touchscreen. The only upgrade from the 9700 is the 5MP camera, OS6 and the slightly larger memory.

------------------------------------------
A friend asked me whether 9780 is a good upgrade from 9700, told her to either upgrade to Torch which she rejected due to her dislike at the slider OR keep her 9700. She just bought it few month ago with Maxis 24-month contract. Dont think its worth the hassle. My opinion. smile.gif
EightPhantomz
post Jan 1 2011, 11:29 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Jan 1 2011, 11:08 PM)
Got it from a friend today smile.gif

Nice! Thinking of getting one too. But probly darker color. wink.gif
EightPhantomz
post Jan 2 2011, 09:57 AM

1,766 posts

Hows everybody? "Torchie" doing good?
EightPhantomz
post Jan 2 2011, 11:12 AM

1,766 posts

Hehe thats what I call my Torch. Nothing much to say. Still waiting for cool apps. Thinking of buying a tablet. Haih.
EightPhantomz
post Jan 2 2011, 05:35 PM

1,766 posts

Yup Apple, but Android is catching up real fast. RIM doing their best to attract more developers. For now, only RIM doesnt have Angry Birds. LOL.
EightPhantomz
post Jan 2 2011, 06:06 PM

1,766 posts

LOL. Yes, we're in Torch's thread.

Maybe just wait for Playbook, then we will see loads of cool apps.
EightPhantomz
post Jan 15 2011, 01:25 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Jan 15 2011, 01:27 AM)
Not only BlackBerry other slide device will have this prob too...

Added on January 15, 2011, 1:52 amuser posted image

OTA: http://bit.ly/g85uoM
Cant download. It opens a code page. Saw an error code at the top.

Anyway thanks for the theme! It looks purrrty.
EightPhantomz
post Jan 15 2011, 05:27 PM

1,766 posts

Got it! Thanks. Nice icons and fonts.

But after awhile, I dont think its for me. I still want my menu to scroll up and down.

Got any recommendations?
EightPhantomz
post Jan 16 2011, 02:51 PM

1,766 posts

Its at the first page. Updated.
EightPhantomz
post Feb 3 2011, 04:00 PM

1,766 posts

The *.450 OS at the first page is stable right? No issues? Just to reconfirm before I download and install it. Thanks!
EightPhantomz
post Feb 3 2011, 04:39 PM

1,766 posts

Thanks for the quick response. Downloading it now! wink.gif

0.0436sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:38 AM