Yeah, Sempron 140 for a dual core also worth it. But I think better spend another 100MYR or so. Just in case
What the usual stability test , Prime 95, OCCT? any others. Thanks.
AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season
Dec 21 2010, 01:02 PM
14,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sorry to hear that. Did you install those Belkin surge protector?
Yeah, Sempron 140 for a dual core also worth it. But I think better spend another 100MYR or so. Just in case What the usual stability test , Prime 95, OCCT? any others. Thanks. |
Dec 21 2010, 02:57 PM
3,795 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Varies.... |
QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 21 2010, 01:02 PM) Sorry to hear that. Did you install those Belkin surge protector? very lucky.. Yeah, Sempron 140 for a dual core also worth it. But I think better spend another 100MYR or so. Just in case What the usual stability test , Prime 95, OCCT? any others. Thanks. i bought 3 propus all turn out cant be locked. one can be unlocked but wont able to boot into windows.. and died d for me, ill use prime95..best so far |
Dec 21 2010, 04:12 PM
8,526 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: The Jungle Of Pahang |
QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 21 2010, 01:02 PM) Sorry to hear that. Did you install those Belkin surge protector? Hahahaha its ok bro just came back from home, kudos to TM for their prompt action in checking my net problem.. Yeah, Sempron 140 for a dual core also worth it. But I think better spend another 100MYR or so. Just in case What the usual stability test , Prime 95, OCCT? any others. Thanks. Apparently my modem all ok, kudos to my APC Surgeprotector it stop the lightning dead on its track but the consequences is that i need to look for a new surgeprotector U can forget about belkin surgeprotector bro, from what i read got a lot of complaints from forumer's that it doesn't even work I agree with u, sempron is gud but still if i had the fund i'd go with the X3 too |
Dec 21 2010, 04:20 PM
8,753 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
mitodna,
u just use single ram or double? how's the mushkin oc? |
Dec 21 2010, 04:33 PM
8,103 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tanah Lot @ Dungun, Terengganu. |
QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 21 2010, 04:12 PM) Hahahaha its ok bro just came back from home, kudos to TM for their prompt action in checking my net problem.. sad to hear that bro, i expect d lightin killed all so that u can ship me d chiv for house deco... Apparently my modem all ok, kudos to my APC Surgeprotector it stop the lightning dead on its track but the consequences is that i need to look for a new surgeprotector U can forget about belkin surgeprotector bro, from what i read got a lot of complaints from forumer's that it doesn't even work my koss avr always shorts d fuse, dunno how many fuse i've replaced ledi so far. as for lightin, there's hardly any near my place. if only my board can be killed by lightenin on d 1st day of my bonus... QUOTE(8tvt @ Dec 21 2010, 04:20 PM) i'd recommend mushkin ridgeback bro, bro Slappa did great with his... This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Dec 21 2010, 04:34 PM |
Dec 21 2010, 05:31 PM
14,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 21 2010, 09:30 PM
558 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Batu Caves/Gombak |
Hi guys,
New to this overclocking thing, my current problem atm, my current rig as below: Processor : AMD Phenom™ II X4 965 3.40GHz black edition C3 Deneb Motherboard : GA-880GMA-UD2H Ram : Mushkin PC1600 DDR3 2GB X 2 Silverline Graphic card : ASUS ENGTX460 1GB GDDR5 TOP PSU : CoolerMaster GX 650W Heatsink : Hyper 212 Plus Before i upgraded by video card to GeForce and my heatsink, i managed to OC my CPU to 3.9Ghz by changing the multiplier only.And after changed both parts, i go back to the 3.9Ghz again and the bsod came up everytime when i playing games or by doing nothing. I tried everything by upping the vcore to 1.5v and change the multiplier to 20x(@ 4.0ghz) at normal HT link and default NB frequency, running okay around 1 hour and then baam bsod came out. Tried to downclock the ram to 1333 and still same problem. Any suggestion on how to improve my rig to reach around 3.8-4.0 range? Thanks for reading. This post has been edited by athlonmax: Dec 21 2010, 09:30 PM |
Dec 21 2010, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 21 2010, 09:30 PM) Hi guys, Whats ur cpu temp b4 BSOD? Maybe its overheating prob? New to this overclocking thing, my current problem atm, my current rig as below: Processor : AMD Phenom™ II X4 965 3.40GHz black edition C3 Deneb Motherboard : GA-880GMA-UD2H Ram : Mushkin PC1600 DDR3 2GB X 2 Silverline Graphic card : ASUS ENGTX460 1GB GDDR5 TOP PSU : CoolerMaster GX 650W Heatsink : Hyper 212 Plus Before i upgraded by video card to GeForce and my heatsink, i managed to OC my CPU to 3.9Ghz by changing the multiplier only.And after changed both parts, i go back to the 3.9Ghz again and the bsod came up everytime when i playing games or by doing nothing. I tried everything by upping the vcore to 1.5v and change the multiplier to 20x(@ 4.0ghz) at normal HT link and default NB frequency, running okay around 1 hour and then baam bsod came out. Tried to downclock the ram to 1333 and still same problem. Any suggestion on how to improve my rig to reach around 3.8-4.0 range? Thanks for reading. |
Dec 21 2010, 09:47 PM
3,795 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Varies.... |
@athlonmax
i donno whats wrong with changing cooler and gc will cause this.. u have compared the temp before and after change the cooler? possible not properly mounted / prob with TIM.. |
Dec 21 2010, 09:54 PM
558 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Batu Caves/Gombak |
QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 21 2010, 09:45 PM) the temp if im not mistaken around 35-40c after upping it up to 4.0ghz.i'm not sure it's a overheating problem because b4 this im using old heatsink and it running perfectly on 3.9ghz range.I'm also baffled, i've already re-check the heatsink it's properly mounted and all the fans running okay. Right now im running with default clock speed 3.4ghz.What u guys should suggest, play around CPU NB Freq/and multiplier more? @ kuntakaw: yeah its weird, i dunno why changing gc n heatsink would be a problem. hmmm so frustating lol #Updated with SS Right now running @ 3.8ghz with 2200 NB Freq and vcore 1.475v, just now tried with 1.450v but windows wont load. This post has been edited by athlonmax: Dec 21 2010, 10:13 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Dec 21 2010, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 21 2010, 09:54 PM) the temp if im not mistaken around 35-40c after upping it up to 4.0ghz. Mind giving us the full setting u use?i'm not sure it's a overheating problem because b4 this im using old heatsink and it running perfectly on 3.9ghz range.I'm also baffled, i've already re-check the heatsink it's properly mounted and all the fans running okay. Right now im running with default clock speed 3.4ghz.What u guys should suggest, play around CPU NB Freq/and multiplier more? @ kuntakaw: yeah its weird, i dunno why changing gc n heatsink would be a problem. hmmm so frustating lol #Updated with SS Right now running @ 3.8ghz with 2200 NB Freq and vcore 1.475v, just now tried with 1.450v but windows wont load. What ur cpu-nb volt? Maybe play with mix of vcore & cpu-nb@imc volt to turn down the amount of volt u need to keep it stable at that speed.. Beside that, the mobo u choose is a 4+1 phase design, that may play into hand why u can't get stable easily, try putting an active cooling solution (eg: fan) to the mobo pwm's to keep it cool.. U don't want that mobo to die prematurely |
Dec 21 2010, 10:55 PM
1,413 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Damansara |
do u try clean install ur video driver?..what gc u use before?..
most probably ur GC would cause the bsod.. btw,try clearing cmos?.. |
Dec 21 2010, 11:45 PM
136 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Melaka <-- -> Kuala Lumpur |
Hi there all,
new forumer here im on AMD Phenom II x6 1090T BE mobo is Gigabyte 890PA-UD3H.. i did try to test out by configuring the BIOS 1st.. setting the processor from 3.6GHz to 3.8GHz the problem is when i'm on windows & running the CoreTemp, CoreTemp just displaying 0 celcius for all core... what went wrong? what step that i missed out? Thanx in advance |
Dec 21 2010, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(Mie131085 @ Dec 21 2010, 11:45 PM) Hi there all, Were u on a different cpu b4 this? If yes try clearing ur cmos using the clear cmos button 1st.. Try see if that work new forumer here im on AMD Phenom II x6 1090T BE mobo is Gigabyte 890PA-UD3H.. i did try to test out by configuring the BIOS 1st.. setting the processor from 3.6GHz to 3.8GHz the problem is when i'm on windows & running the CoreTemp, CoreTemp just displaying 0 celcius for all core... what went wrong? what step that i missed out? Thanx in advance |
Dec 22 2010, 12:01 AM
nope.. this is the new rig...
when im reverting back to previous configuration in the BIOS the coreTemp temperature displayed normally... in the meantime i'll try to google out what is the main problem... try to find out the solution... . i just want to make sure the temp is ok 1st & then i try to proceed OC by test it out using Prime95.. |
Dec 22 2010, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(Mie131085 @ Dec 22 2010, 12:01 AM) nope.. this is the new rig... Well got a forumer faced this prob b4, he was just upgrading his rig from a Athlon II to a Phenom II and he faced this prob..when im reverting back to previous configuration in the BIOS the coreTemp temperature displayed normally... in the meantime i'll try to google out what is the main problem... try to find out the solution... . i just want to make sure the temp is ok 1st & then i try to proceed OC by test it out using Prime95.. Apparently the when he change his cpu, its like his mobo was still carrying bits and pieces info of his old cpu, thats why it reported the 0c temp.. A clear cmos later solves it for him Just my 2 cents ah |
Dec 22 2010, 12:22 AM
ok thanx.. will try to check it out
Dec 22 2010, 12:22 AM
2,142 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: who wants to know? |
guys i got a good deal on a msi 790fx mobo should i take it or should i wait for a 890fx mobo...
Dec 22 2010, 12:40 AM
8,103 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tanah Lot @ Dungun, Terengganu. |
QUOTE(fuzore @ Dec 22 2010, 12:22 AM) ermmm... imo u should get a mid range board like 870/880/890g instead of goin 790fx. not sayin 790fx aint gud (see how well bro verdict doin w his gd70) but upgradin from 790fx ddr2 to 790fx ddr3 just lack d... ummppphhh... ram oc is slightly easier on 8xx series too (if u get d right board lah)... my 2 cents bro... |
Dec 22 2010, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 22 2010, 12:40 AM) ermmm... imo u should get a mid range board like 870/880/890g instead of goin 790fx. not sayin 790fx aint gud (see how well bro verdict doin w his gd70) but upgradin from 790fx ddr2 to 790fx ddr3 just lack d... ummppphhh... ram oc is slightly easier on 8xx series too (if u get d right board lah)... my 2 cents bro... Last time they were doing a clearance sales on the MSI 790FX IIANM, it was around RM3xx only |
| Change to: | 0.0277sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:30 AM |