AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season

fuzore
post Dec 22 2010, 12:51 AM

<motion sickness around>
2,142 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 22 2010, 12:40 AM)
ermmm... imo u should get a mid range board like 870/880/890g instead of goin 790fx. not sayin 790fx aint gud (see how well bro verdict doin w his gd70) but upgradin from 790fx ddr2 to 790fx ddr3 just lack d... ummppphhh... ram oc is slightly easier on 8xx series too (if u get d right board lah)... my 2 cents bro...  wink.gif
well thats what i had in mind at first ... i guess need to wait for a bit more time then will look for a more suitable 8** series mobo ... thanx bro ah_khoo me so newbie la biggrin.gif
verdict
post Dec 22 2010, 01:44 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

its true what ah khoo and bang oltromen said...lack of umpphh...

i feel lucky with my GD70 and it serve me well...if only i have extra moolahh...sure will go for higher series...

790FX is quit harsh in ram clocking...compare to 8 series mobo...they act flawlessly...

This post has been edited by verdict: Dec 22 2010, 01:44 AM
fatalynx05
post Dec 22 2010, 08:16 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 21 2010, 09:54 PM)
the temp if im not mistaken around 35-40c after upping it up to 4.0ghz.
i'm not sure it's a overheating problem because b4 this im using old heatsink
and it running perfectly on 3.9ghz range.I'm also baffled, i've already re-check the heatsink it's properly mounted and
all the fans running okay.

Right now im running with default clock speed 3.4ghz.What u guys should suggest, play around CPU NB Freq/and multiplier more?

@ kuntakaw: yeah its weird, i dunno why changing gc n heatsink would be a problem. hmmm so frustating lol

#Updated with SS
Right now running @ 3.8ghz with 2200 NB Freq and vcore 1.475v, just now tried with 1.450v but windows wont load.
last time i encounter this prob... my solution is to increase a bit the nb volt for stability because the chipset r fully utilize when installing the gc and oc stuff.. i noticed when i used mid range / high end gc the chipset will be a bit hotter (even using passive cooler or improve the ventilation on it) just my experience notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by fatalynx05: Dec 22 2010, 08:24 AM
athlonmax
post Dec 22 2010, 10:34 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Dec 22 2010, 08:16 AM)
last time i encounter this prob... my solution is to increase a bit the nb volt for stability because the chipset r fully utilize when installing the gc and oc stuff.. i noticed when i used mid range / high end gc the chipset will be a bit hotter (even using passive cooler or improve the ventilation on it) just my experience  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
i think i tried increasing the NB volt, my default setup is 1.2v for the NB.
Last night i tried increase my NB Freq from 2000 to 2200 and the windows cannot load lol...
How much increment did you put on your NB volt? hmm maybe i should try increasing the NB volt and the vcore also..
So frustrating, the bsod is really getting on my nerves lol..

@ bro cloud: the bsod that i kept getting much the same as when i tried to oc it with my previous g.card and old heatsink.
prolly i'm sure its not the g.card driver issue, cos i did uninstalled the Ati Radeon driver b4 i installed my Geforce in.
i afraid my cpu kong or something sweat.gif
fatalynx05
post Dec 22 2010, 10:48 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 10:34 AM)
Last night i tried increase my NB Freq from 2000 to 2200 and the windows cannot load lol...
How much increment did you put on your NB volt? hmm maybe i should try increasing the NB volt and the vcore also..

@ bro cloud: the bsod that i kept getting much the same as when i tried to oc it with my previous g.card and old heatsink.
prolly i'm sure its not the g.card driver issue, cos i did uninstalled the Ati Radeon driver b4 i installed my Geforce in.
i afraid my cpu kong or something   sweat.gif
last time with 3.9ghz setting have u run prime test on it? is it really stable? nb frequency also sometime vital fot system stability.. i think u should back to zero tried to find the most stable cpu and nb frequency to troubleshoot the problem.. sweat.gif 3.8ghz is enough for daily use i think nod.gif

here some ref for u : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1003744

This post has been edited by fatalynx05: Dec 22 2010, 10:50 AM
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 10:57 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 10:34 AM)

i afraid my cpu kong or something  sweat.gif
Please did u tried cooling down ur pwm's & mosfet's when u oc? Oc'ing ur 125W cpu with a 4+1 phase mobo does put quite a huge load on them.. hmm.gif
Last time i put a 80mm fan on top of my pwm area to keep it cool on a pwmsink'less mobo hmm.gif
fatalynx05
post Dec 22 2010, 11:00 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 22 2010, 10:57 AM)
Please did u tried cooling down ur pwm's & mosfet's when u oc? Oc'ing ur 125W cpu with a 4+1 phase mobo does put quite a huge load on them.. hmm.gif
Last time i put a 80mm fan on top of my pwm area to keep it cool on a pwmsink'less mobo hmm.gif
some more running 3.9ghz... later fried ur mofset sweat.gif sweat.gif dont end like me old time lol laugh.gif
ah_khoo
post Dec 22 2010, 11:17 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 21 2010, 09:30 PM)
Hi guys,
New to this overclocking thing, my current problem atm, my current rig as below:
Processor : AMD Phenom™ II X4 965 3.40GHz black edition C3 Deneb
Motherboard : GA-880GMA-UD2H
Ram : Mushkin PC1600 DDR3 2GB X 2 Silverline
Graphic card : ASUS ENGTX460 1GB GDDR5 TOP
PSU : CoolerMaster GX 650W
Heatsink : Hyper 212 Plus

Before i upgraded by video card to GeForce and my heatsink, i managed to OC my CPU to 3.9Ghz by changing the multiplier only.And after changed both parts, i go back to the 3.9Ghz again and the bsod came up everytime when i playing games or by doing nothing.

I tried everything by upping the vcore to 1.5v and change the multiplier to 20x(@ 4.0ghz) at normal HT link and default NB frequency, running okay around 1 hour and then baam bsod came out.

Tried to downclock the ram to 1333 and still same problem.
Any suggestion on how to improve my rig to reach around 3.8-4.0 range?

Thanks for reading. :/)
q1. what was d previous gfx used?
q2. 3.9GHz setup which gave u bsod is d same (ram freq & timing, nb freq & all voltages) as previous setup?
q3. is there any frequent voltage fluctuation during full load?

For a start, u can try 240 * 15, divider @ 1333, timing @ 7-8-7/8-8-8, votl @ 1.65~1.7v, nb freq @ 2400, imc volt @ 1.25v. if evrything goes well, proceed with higher cpu multi. smile.gif

QUOTE(Mie131085 @ Dec 21 2010, 11:45 PM)
Hi there all,

new forumer here  icon_rolleyes.gif

im on AMD Phenom II x6 1090T BE mobo is Gigabyte 890PA-UD3H..

i did try to test out by configuring the BIOS 1st..

setting the processor from 3.6GHz to 3.8GHz

the problem is when i'm on windows & running the CoreTemp,
CoreTemp just displaying 0 celcius for all core...

what went wrong? what step that i missed out?  rclxub.gif

Thanx in advance
mind not d coretemp coz even they're givin normal temp but infact those are inaccurate readin. i'll take cpu temp anytime for thuban coz d so called core temp are too good to be true. bios update mite help. nod.gif

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 22 2010, 12:51 AM)
Last time they were doing a clearance sales on the MSI 790FX IIANM, it was around RM3xx only :/hmm:
x nak msi... tongue.gif

joke aside, gd70 was & is still one hell of a board. notworthy.gif
QUOTE(fuzore @ Dec 22 2010, 12:51 AM)
well thats what i had in mind at first ... i guess need to wait for a bit more time then will look for a more suitable 8** series mobo ...  thanx bro ah_khoo me so newbie la  :/D
yeker bro, newbie2 nanti kuar 4.5GHz wprime result... sweat.gif

go ahsos if u can afford bro, they did pretty well this time (8** series), other than d high price tag (CHIV) & vdrop/overvolt issue, i have no complaint bout 'em. smile.gif

QUOTE(verdict @ Dec 22 2010, 01:44 AM)
its true what ah khoo and bang oltromen said...lack of umpphh...

i feel lucky with my GD70 and it serve me well...if only i have extra moolahh...sure will go for higher series...

790FX is quit harsh in ram clocking...compare to 8 series mobo...they act flawlessly...
but yet ur doin great w/ ya bdbg... salute2... notworthy.gif
athlonmax
post Dec 22 2010, 11:24 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Dec 22 2010, 10:48 AM)
last time with 3.9ghz setting have u run prime test on it? is it really stable? nb frequency also sometime vital fot system stability.. i think u should back to zero tried to find the most stable cpu and nb frequency to troubleshoot the problem.. sweat.gif 3.8ghz is enough for daily use i think  nod.gif

here some ref for u : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1003744
Well last time with 3.9ghz setting i ran prime95 once only and it was running okay(for me if playing games can last 2-3 days w/o any issue,consider
stable enuff for me hehe) but at the moment, when i ran Wow, for couple min it will become bsod.
Also at 4.0ghz setting, ran CoD Black Ops for 40 mins smoothly and then bsod.
I cant remember my original BIOS setting for the 3.9ghz setting cos when in installing my new heatsink and gc,my hdd suddenly cant detect.
So i reload back the default setting for the Bios and realize that i didnt note down the overclocking settings on it /silly me vmad.gif

@ cloudwan: i didnt put any cooling on the pwm or mofset on my 3.9ghz setting.How to do that?

@ ah_khoo:
1)My previous gfx is Sapphire Toxic HD 4850 512mb.
2)I think it's the same settings as previous 3.9ghz, cos i accidentally reload back my BIOs settings to default.
3)I'm not sure about that, forgive my noobness smile.gif

u mean FSB 240 * 15 divider? I thought Black Edition doesnt need to adjust the FSB on it?

This post has been edited by athlonmax: Dec 22 2010, 11:36 AM
fatalynx05
post Dec 22 2010, 11:35 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 11:24 AM)
Well last time with 3.9ghz setting i ran prime95 once only and it was running okay(for me if playing games can last 2-3 days w/o any issue,consider
stable enuff for me hehe) but at the moment, when i ran Wow, for couple min it will become bsod.
I cant remember my original BIOS setting for the 3.9ghz setting cos when in installing my new heatsink and gc,my hdd suddenly cant detect.
So i reload back the default setting for the Bios and realize that i didnt note down the overclocking settings on it /silly me  vmad.gif
@ cloudwan: i didnt put any cooling on the pwm or mofset on my 3.9ghz setting.How to do that?
what psu u using? u can applied 3rd party ramsink or can diy any heatsink but make sure dont use doublesided tape sweat.gif use thermal tape.. last time moderno got selling 3m brand thumbup.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 11:38 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 22 2010, 11:17 AM)
q1. what was d previous gfx used?
q2. 3.9GHz setup which gave u bsod is d same (ram freq & timing, nb freq & all voltages) as previous setup?
q3. is there any frequent voltage fluctuation during full load?

For a start, u can try 240 * 15, divider @ 1333, timing @ 7-8-7/8-8-8, votl @ 1.65~1.7v, nb freq @ 2400, imc volt @ 1.25v. if evrything goes well, proceed with higher cpu multi.  :/)
mind not d coretemp coz even they're givin normal temp but infact those are inaccurate readin. i'll take cpu temp anytime for thuban coz d so called core temp are too good to be true. bios update mite help.  :/nod:
x nak msi...  :/P

joke aside, gd70 was & is still one hell of a board.  :/respect:

yeker bro, newbie2 nanti kuar 4.5GHz wprime result...  :/sweat:

go ahsos if u can afford bro, they did pretty well this time (8** series), other than d high price tag (CHIV) & vdrop/overvolt issue, i have no complaint bout 'em.  smile.gif
but yet ur doin great w/ ya bdbg... salute2...  :/respect:
Yeahhh tokan hardware suda keluar laugh.gif

Anyway athlonmax i really believe u can go lower volt at 3.8ghz, here's a SS of my old dumbo oc on my old 955:

I lost my old pic of how but we hang a small fan above this part of ur mobo, its our old way of doing things laugh.gif

athlonmax
post Dec 22 2010, 11:39 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Dec 22 2010, 11:35 AM)
what psu u using? u can applied 3rd party ramsink or can diy any heatsink but make sure dont use doublesided tape  sweat.gif use thermal tape.. last time moderno got selling 3m brand  thumbup.gif
My previous PSU was cooler master 550w only, the new one is cooler master GX 650W 80 plus.
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 11:41 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

So i reload back the default setting for the Bios and realize that i didnt note down the overclocking settings on it /silly me  vmad.gif

@ ah_khoo:
2)I think it's the same settings as previous 3.9ghz, cos i accidentally reload back my BIOs settings to default.
3)I'm not sure about that, forgive my noobness smile.gif

u mean FSB 240 * 15 divider? I thought Black Edition doesnt need to adjust the FSB on it?
Even tho a black edition, the best way to oc a cpu is to play a combination of multi & fsb to get ur desired speed, how i miss using a BE wub.gif
fatalynx05
post Dec 22 2010, 11:45 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 22 2010, 11:41 AM)
Even tho a black edition, the best way to oc a cpu is to play a combination of multi & fsb to get ur desired speed, how i miss using a BE wub.gif
hahah....suddently remember ur hubBE laugh.gif BE a meant to be oc with variable option and setting brows.gif
athlonmax
post Dec 22 2010, 11:47 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 22 2010, 11:41 AM)
Is that a Gigabyte mobo u posting there? looks similar to my mobo hehe..

I think with stock vcore voltage is enuff to up to 3.8ghz, from the SS of yours u only increase the multiplier, exactly as my previous
setup hehe..
I will try again later when im back from work tonite.
Thanks for all the replies guys /love
fatalynx05
post Dec 22 2010, 11:50 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 11:47 AM)

I think with stock vcore voltage is enuff to up to 3.8ghz, from the SS of yours u only increase the multiplier, exactly as my previous
setup hehe..
lucky for u ...mine b50 require 1.43 for 3.7ghz last time... sweat.gif good luck bro thumbup.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 12:00 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 11:47 AM)

setup hehe..
Yup that was my old MA770T-UD3P, altho color the same but its phase is 8+2, more suitable to play2 with high TDP cpu.. wub.gif
That was my old oc, that time just wanna test my cpu, play2 with multi 1st, then play2 with other settings plak, kire noob oc tuh laugh.gif blush.gif
athlonmax
post Dec 22 2010, 12:04 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 22 2010, 12:00 PM)
Yup that was my old MA770T-UD3P, altho color the same but its phase is 8+2, more suitable to play2 with high TDP cpu.. wub.gif
That was my old oc, that time just wanna test my cpu, play2 with multi 1st, then play2 with other settings plak, kire noob oc tuh laugh.gif  blush.gif
ahh i see, seems like i salah beli mobo lah, should have get the phase 8+2 design doh.gif
If still cannot do, i'm contemplating of getting new CPU lol Phenom II X6 maybe...
ah_khoo
post Dec 22 2010, 12:11 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

@ ah_khoo:
3)I'm not sure about that, forgive my noobness :/)

hmm... from red to green... usually this spells trouble... if @ stock clock (cpu + ram + nb) still got problem most likely driver issue. hmm.gif

voltage fluctation, as in +12v rail/vcore went up & down frequently especially on load. if this happen, it's d sign that psu lacks d punch i think. (otai pls correct me if i'm wrong)... sweat.gif

yup, u can always play2 with htt (or better known as fsb) + multi in amd oc, multi oc alone is kinda boring + mite not able to fully maximize d potential of all component (cpu, ram + nb freq). wink.gif

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 22 2010, 11:38 AM)
Yeahhh tokan hardware suda keluar :/lol:
ape tokan2 bro, my just a retirin noob... sad.gif

commercial time... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Dec 22 2010, 12:13 PM
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 12:24 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 22 2010, 12:11 PM)
hmm... from red to green... usually this spells trouble... if @ stock clock (cpu + ram + nb) still got problem most likely driver issue.  :/hmm:

voltage fluctation, as in +12v rail/vcore went up & down frequently especially on load. if this happen, it's d sign that psu lacks d punch i think. (otai pls correct me if i'm wrong)...  :/sweat:

yup, u can always play2 with htt (or better known as fsb) + multi in amd oc, multi oc alone is kinda boring + mite not able to fully maximize d potential of all component (cpu, ram + nb freq).  ;/)
ape tokan2 bro, my just a retirin noob...  :/(

commercial time...  :/P

Yup, read that the GX 650W has a few flukes in its performance, ripple etc.. sweat.gif

123 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:32 AM