ah_khoo
post Dec 22 2010, 12:37 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 22 2010, 12:24 PM)
Yup, read that the GX 650W has a few flukes in its performance, ripple etc.. sweat.gif

d only solid cm psu i've ever used was i-green 600w, but that was at least years ago product. sweat.gif i'm quite allergic whenever any manufacturers come out w/ gamer/gaming series for their products, to me it's more to gimmicks rather than being quality products (bar d gskills ripjaws > yes., i'm officially gskill fans_oldman tongue.gif )

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Dec 22 2010, 12:55 PM
athlonmax
post Dec 22 2010, 12:49 PM

558 posts

[quote=cloudwan,Dec 22 2010, 12:24 PM]
Yup, read that the GX 650W has a few flukes in its performance, ripple etc.. sweat.gif

Issit? damn maybe that's the problem that i'm having atm?
should have make more research b4 buying, i thought CM product should be okay wan... doh.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 01:06 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 22 2010, 12:37 PM)
d only solid cm psu i've ever used was i-green 600w, but that was at least years ago product.  :/sweat: i'm quite allergic whenever any manufacturers come out w/ gamer/gaming series for their products, to me it's more to gimmicks rather than being quality products (bar d gskills ripjaws > yes., i'm officially gskill fans_oldman tongue.gif )

Ya lor nowdays almost all manufacturer are quick to put the word gaming in their product, even Corsair are coming out with their GS PSU (Gaming series doh.gif)

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 12:49 PM)
Yup, read that the GX 650W has a few flukes in its performance, ripple etc.. :/sweat:
Issit? damn maybe that's the problem that i'm having atm?
should have make more research b4 buying, i thought CM product should be okay wan... :/x
I read about them from hardwaresecrets or was it johnnyguru, they are quite good website for reading bout PSU's.. hmm.gif
For the same price could have get Seasonic S12II 620W or M12II 620W hmm.gif

Don't be sad bro, ur not the only one tricked by the GX, i bought one for my friend too last time, i didn't read bout the review 1st b4 purchasing doh.gif doh.gif
Luckily my friend's rig is not that too crazy in oc, just mild oc only sweat.gif
athlonmax
post Dec 22 2010, 02:16 PM

558 posts

Ya lor, wasting money only..haiz
But our mistake too bcos didnt read/research first.
I thot upgrading the heatsink/gfx should be no problem, now different
issue came.. nasib,nasib lol
mitodna
post Dec 22 2010, 02:28 PM

14,039 posts

hmm, I think I am going to stick with B40 stock, I tried "Test-Mode" overclocking mode, it increased everything to 215MHz, RAM at 700MHz, can play around windows stable > 1 hour, but I did Prime 95, upon it minimize to systray, I am unable to bring it back up

/offtopic: what can GPU that Seasonic S12II 520W support?

Can support Radeon 6850 (AMD web said 500W ) or GTX570 (Nvidia said minimum 550W sad.gif )?

Hmm, hmm, what should I increase performance (I mean decrease wink.gif ) gradually for RAM timing? Below is the Mushkin Essential 4gb.
[attachmentid=1952767]

This post has been edited by mitodna: Dec 22 2010, 02:39 PM
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 02:48 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 22 2010, 02:28 PM)
hmm, I think I am going to stick with B40 stock, I tried "Test-Mode" overclocking mode, it increased everything to 215MHz, RAM at 700MHz, can play around windows stable > 1 hour, but I did Prime 95, upon it minimize to systray, I am unable to bring it back up

/offtopic: what can GPU that Seasonic S12II 520W support?

Can support Radeon 6850 (AMD web said 500W ) or GTX570 (Nvidia said minimum 550W :/( )?

Hmm, hmm, what should I increase performance (I mean decrease  ;/) ) gradually for RAM timing? Below is the Mushkin Essential 4gb.

Why play with mobo auto oc setting, i really don't trust these manufacturers settings, sometimes oc a bit also need to use so high volt doh.gif
Play with fsb 1st see how high ur cpu can go with stock volt, at the same time keep ur rams & httlink & cpu-nb at its nearest stock speed setting 1st..
When u know ur cpu wall do it pulak for ur ram, see how high it can go hmm.gif
Quite tedious but if u have the heart & time for it why not tongue.gif

I'd say with the Seasonic S12Ii 520W u could even power up a HD6950 ley tongue.gif
athlonmax
post Dec 22 2010, 09:43 PM

558 posts

Ok, i've upped my FSB to 205 * 18.5 NB volt 1.24 vcore at 1.450 3.792Ghz speed
So far seems okay, but haven't test on WoW yet cos the server currently down atm.
Here's the SS below:

Will try to up a little bit more and see how it works.

[attachmentid=1953441][attachmentid=1953443]
Mie131085
post Dec 23 2010, 03:44 AM

136 posts

Hey guys..

did try to solve the previous problem that i faced before...
(temp doesn't displayed in Core Temp)

some say it caused by the CPU Unlock is set to Enabled in the BIOS

i did try to test it out by disabling the CPU Unlock, now the temp is displayed..

for your info i've downloaded & use the AMD Overdrive tool.. and try to test it out..
here's the result:

what i did 1st is i set the CPU core multiplier a lil'bit higher

& then i'm running the Stability Test (AMD Overdrive) for 20 min...
if there's BSOD or system hang, i reboot pc, i then set the CPU Voltage a lil'bit higher
and redo again the previous configuration (previous max clock that caused BSOD or system hang)
and the re-run the Stability Test...

and that is the max i get.. for now...

just a question tho, is the Stability Test (that is provided also in the AMD Overdrive), is it reliable?

if everythin ok then i'll try to set it out (the max clock) on the BIOS...
fatalynx05
post Dec 23 2010, 08:36 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(Mie131085 @ Dec 23 2010, 03:44 AM)
Hey guys..

i did try to test it out by disabling the CPU Unlock, now the temp is displayed..

for your info i've downloaded & use the AMD Overdrive tool.. and try to test it out..
here's the result:

if there's BSOD or system hang, i reboot pc, i then set the CPU Voltage a lil'bit higher
and redo again the previous configuration (previous max clock that caused BSOD or system hang)

just a question tho, is the Stability Test (that is provided also in the AMD Overdrive), is it reliable?

why ur vcore r to high? hmm.gif mine 1.4v at 4ghz is it require more volt to increase 100mhz? sweat.gif iam afraid u encounter same prob with athlonmax doh.gif

cloudwan
post Dec 23 2010, 09:05 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 09:43 PM)
Ok, i've upped my FSB to 205 * 18.5 NB volt 1.24 vcore at 1.450 3.792Ghz speed
So far seems okay, but haven't test on WoW yet cos the server currently down atm.
Here's the SS below:

Will try to up a little bit more and see how it works.
[attachmentid=1953441][attachmentid=1953443]
When u say NB Volt u mean the IMC@CPU-NB Volt right? Don't mistaken the regular NB@Northbridge Volt coz IMO it got nothing to do with OC'ing ur cpu hmm.gif

QUOTE(Mie131085 @ Dec 23 2010, 03:44 AM)
Hey guys..

here's the result:

AOD Stability test is a bit weak, try testing it with prime95, orthos or OCCT.. hmm.gif
And like fatalynx05 said thats kinda high cpu volt just for a mere 100mhz increase sweat.gif
fatalynx05
post Dec 23 2010, 09:32 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 23 2010, 09:05 AM)
When u say NB Volt u mean the IMC@CPU-NB Volt right? Don't mistaken the regular NB@Northbridge Volt coz IMO it got nothing to do with OC'ing ur cpu hmm.gif
AOD Stability test is a bit weak, try testing it with prime95, orthos or OCCT.. hmm.gif
And like fatalynx05 said thats kinda high cpu volt just for a mere 100mhz increase sweat.gif
prime is da best flex.gif btw here some testing with my adata paired with kingston value tongue.gif
Uploaded with ImageShack.us

ah_khoo
post Dec 23 2010, 09:54 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Dec 23 2010, 09:32 AM)
prime is da best  flex.gif btw here some testing with my adata paired with kingston value  tongue.gif
Uploaded with ImageShack.us
nicely done bro... can u do me a favor, try lax timing & see how far d kvr can go? w/ d rate it's goin now (1700 @ 6-8-6), i can forsee it goes beyond 2k... drool.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Dec 23 2010, 09:55 AM
fatalynx05
post Dec 23 2010, 10:09 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 23 2010, 09:54 AM)
nicely done bro... can u do me a favor, try lax timing & see how far d kvr can go? w/ d rate it's goin now (1700 @ 6-8-6), i can forsee it goes beyond 2k...  drool.gif
hohooho...shifu u want me to test kvr only or with adata? hmm.gif before this i tried push above 2k no luck with adata sweat.gif i tried before with no luck sweat.gif mybe not fully focus lol laugh.gif

ah_khoo
post Dec 23 2010, 10:16 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Dec 23 2010, 10:09 AM)
hohooho...shifu u want me to test kvr only or with adata?  hmm.gif before this i tried push above 2k no luck with adata  sweat.gif i tried before with no luck  sweat.gif  mybe not fully focus lol  laugh.gif
im no shifu but i rike seafoods... laugh.gif

u've did a great job of runnin mix ram 1700MHz @ rather tight timing... thumbup.gif

pls try to run 2 sticks of kvr around 2k (be it higher or lower), mesia got sweet batches of kvr for sure... drool.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 23 2010, 10:26 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Dec 23 2010, 09:32 AM)
prime is da best  flex.gif btw here some testing with my adata paired with kingston value  tongue.gif
[

Naise clock there bro, but why the mix of ram bro? hmm.gif
athlonmax
post Dec 23 2010, 10:41 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 23 2010, 09:05 AM)
Opps i think regular NB volt cos at 1.26v, which one is the IMC@CPU-NB volt?
Lemme post the ss of the bios

#i've changed the NB voltage control to 1.26v, HT link standard at 2000mhz and CPU northbridge freq at 2000mhz also.
now running at 3.8ghz

[attachmentid=1954087]

This post has been edited by athlonmax: Dec 23 2010, 10:46 AM
fatalynx05
post Dec 23 2010, 10:57 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 23 2010, 10:16 AM)
im no shifu but i rike seafoods...  laugh.gif

u've did a great job of runnin mix ram 1700MHz @ rather tight timing...  thumbup.gif

pls try to run 2 sticks of kvr around 2k (be it higher or lower), mesia got sweet batches of kvr for sure...  drool.gif
huhu..ok later i'll update any changes and failures hahaha laugh.gif

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 23 2010, 10:26 AM)
Naise clock there bro, but why the mix of ram bro?  hmm.gif
actually kvr is my old ram before replacing with adata xpg sweat.gif

Added on December 23, 2010, 10:58 am
QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 23 2010, 10:41 AM)

#i've changed the NB voltage control to 1.26v, HT link standard at 2000mhz and CPU northbridge freq at 2000mhz also.
now running at 3.8ghz
[attachmentid=1954087]
aik...how come dunt have? hmm.gif or i dont know tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fatalynx05: Dec 23 2010, 11:06 AM
cloudwan
post Dec 23 2010, 11:05 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 23 2010, 10:41 AM)

now running at 3.8ghz
[attachmentid=1954087]
Don't see that cpu-nb volt control there, have u tried pressing CTRL+F1 or is it F2 in the bios? Gigabyte has the habit of hiding bios options sweat.gif
athlonmax
post Dec 23 2010, 11:06 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Dec 23 2010, 10:57 AM)
huhu..ok later i'll update any changes and failures hahaha  laugh.gif
actually kvr is my old ram before replacing with adata xpg  sweat.gif

Added on December 23, 2010, 10:58 am

cpu-nb is nb voltage if iam not mistaken  sweat.gif kinda diff from mine
yeah the name so different from each mobos, i dunno what the heck are CPU PLL voltage for lol
If i up the CPU northbridge freq to say like 2400 or 2600, do i need to change to HT link equal as well?

fatalynx05
post Dec 23 2010, 11:07 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 23 2010, 11:05 AM)
Don't see that cpu-nb volt control there, have u tried pressing CTRL+F1 or is it F2 in the bios? Gigabyte has the habit of hiding bios options sweat.gif
like mine pressing f1 unlock the nb spread spectrum features tongue.gif

Added on December 23, 2010, 11:14 am
QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 23 2010, 11:06 AM)
yeah the name so different from each mobos, i dunno what the heck are CPU PLL voltage for lol
If i up the CPU northbridge freq to say like 2400 or 2600, do i need to change to HT link equal as well?
just leave the HT link default 2000mhz speed(dont oc the HT) u need to find the cpu-nb volt 1st or need to update bios ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by fatalynx05: Dec 23 2010, 11:15 AM

123 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:40 PM