AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season

rest_24
post Jul 3 2011, 06:06 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jul 3 2011, 06:02 PM)
if u oc without knowledge, u might end up killing ur hardware.. is better u read some guides before oc.

and also rm108 still "around 100"
yep, just made some references on youtube n google...safe OC with stock coolant is to 3.4 - 3.6GHz only..but one person managed to do 4.0GHZ with stock coolant (he lives at north pole or what sweat.gif )

btw is the full name for the coolant -> COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 for AM2 / LGA-775? (to make sure and avoid confusion and buy the wrong one tongue.gif )

This post has been edited by rest_24: Jul 3 2011, 06:07 PM
kuntawakaw
post Jul 3 2011, 06:10 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(rest_24 @ Jul 3 2011, 06:06 PM)
yep, just made some references on youtube n google...safe OC with stock coolant is to 3.4 - 3.6GHz only..but one person managed to do 4.0GHZ with stock coolant (he lives at north pole or what  sweat.gif )

btw is the full name for the coolant -> COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 for AM2 / LGA-775? (to make sure and avoid confusion and buy the wrong one  tongue.gif )
no.. its cooler master hyper 212+

4ghz on stock cooler? try load/stress it. it wont survive.

on stock cooler, better u run on stock also
rest_24
post Jul 3 2011, 06:22 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jul 3 2011, 06:10 PM)
no.. its cooler master hyper 212+

4ghz on stock cooler? try load/stress it. it wont survive.

on stock cooler, better u run on stock also
oh i see....not good for long time usage blink.gif
well i think i would go for CM 212+...hope it will make a difference...btw thanks bro! rclxms.gif
dafreak
post Jul 3 2011, 09:54 PM

1,064 posts

you sure need 4ghz? sweat.gif IMO 3.6ghz is good enough to play
rest_24
post Jul 3 2011, 11:29 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jul 3 2011, 09:54 PM)
you sure need 4ghz? sweat.gif IMO 3.6ghz is good enough to play
currently now i'm at 3.6GHz..but playing the game are still laggy. fps during play only 30-ish, the game need at least 50 fps and more. or do i need to improve others, such as ram?

This post has been edited by rest_24: Jul 3 2011, 11:45 PM
ah_khoo
post Jul 3 2011, 11:58 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(rest_24 @ Jul 3 2011, 11:29 PM)
currently now i'm at 3.6GHz..but playing the game are still laggy. fps during play only 30-ish, the game need at least 50 fps and more. or do i need to improve others, such as ram?
i believe no matter how good a chip is, it wont able to help to increase d fps in game for > 20fps... u need better gfx instead... hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 4 2011, 12:09 AM

- Knob -
8,421 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 3 2011, 11:58 PM)
i believe no matter how good a chip is, it wont able to help to increase d fps in game for > 20fps... u need better gfx instead...  hmm.gif
True, but then again what reso we're talking here? hmm.gif
If he's playing on a 2560x1600 reso, don't think any cheap gpu is enough liao sweat.gif
rest_24
post Jul 4 2011, 12:24 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 3 2011, 11:58 PM)
i believe no matter how good a chip is, it wont able to help to increase d fps in game for > 20fps... u need better gfx instead...  hmm.gif
whoa...my msi r5850 1gb ddr5 still not good enough? wow, to high demand lah like that cry.gif but i think i've seen others who used slightly lower gpu but still running smooth with 3.5ghz and more cpu. i've tried running the game during i'm at 4.0GHz..and it runs smooth! (until i got BSoD bcoz of normal coolant fan sweat.gif )

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jul 4 2011, 12:09 AM)
True, but then again what reso we're talking here? hmm.gif
If he's playing on a 2560x1600 reso, don't think any cheap gpu is enough liao sweat.gif
not so high, around 1280 x 1280 are nice already... thumbup.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 4 2011, 12:29 AM

- Knob -
8,421 posts

QUOTE(rest_24 @ Jul 4 2011, 12:24 AM)
whoa...my msi r5850 1gb ddr5 still not good enough? wow, to high demand lah like that cry.gif  but i think i've seen others who used slightly lower gpu but still running smooth with 3.5ghz and more cpu. i've tried running the game during i'm at 4.0GHz..and it runs smooth! (until i got BSoD bcoz of normal coolant fan sweat.gif )
not so high, around 1280 x 1280 are nice already... thumbup.gif
Wahlau, 1280x1024 using a cheapo HD4670 also u can get smooth FPS liao.. What game are u really trying to play here? hmm.gif
Even when i'm playing games my cpu just run at 3.3ghz & gpu a measly HD5770 can get smooth FPS in every games i play ah, that at even 1920x1080 reso liao hmm.gif
rest_24
post Jul 4 2011, 01:00 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jul 4 2011, 12:29 AM)
Wahlau, 1280x1024 using a cheapo HD4670 also u can get smooth FPS liao.. What game are u really trying to play here? hmm.gif
Even when i'm playing games my cpu just run at 3.3ghz & gpu a measly HD5770 can get smooth FPS in every games i play ah, that at even 1920x1080 reso liao hmm.gif
haha, normal computer game i can play smoothly lah (dirt 3 also can). now i want to play gran turismo 4 using ps2 emulator, PCSX2. GT4 is a demanding game loh, even with native (original PS2 graphics) still got low fps. my gpu is ok i think, but got slow gameplay bcoz not fast enuf CPU speed sweat.gif
shinjite
post Jul 4 2011, 10:46 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,176 posts

Is GT4 fully supported by PCSX2? Is your PCSX2 the latest version?

For emulators, if the game is not 100% fully supported, it is useless
rest_24
post Jul 4 2011, 05:22 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jul 4 2011, 10:46 AM)
Is GT4 fully supported by PCSX2? Is your PCSX2 the latest version?

For emulators, if the game is not 100% fully supported, it is useless
now i have both version 0.9.6 and 0.9.8, the latest one. in PCSX2 game compatibality list GT4 is categorised in fully playable.
haziqk10
post Jul 4 2011, 09:36 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(rest_24 @ Jul 4 2011, 05:22 PM)
now i have both version 0.9.6 and 0.9.8, the latest one. in PCSX2 game compatibality list GT4 is categorised in fully playable.
u only hv 2gb of ram...maybe that is the reason...
ah_khoo
post Jul 4 2011, 11:59 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

my 1st ever attempt usin bbse sticks to run 1800 @ 6-8-6... smile.gif

kuntawakaw
post Jul 5 2011, 03:18 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 4 2011, 11:59 PM)
my 1st ever attempt usin bbse sticks to run 1800 @ 6-8-6...  smile.gif

oh..ur lv on bbse for sure? good2..
how about 6-7-6 u tried earlier?
ah_khoo
post Jul 5 2011, 03:27 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jul 5 2011, 03:18 PM)
oh..ur lv on bbse for sure? good2..
how about 6-7-6 u tried earlier?
not yet dato... but 6-7-6 is too tight imo... will give it a try thou... smile.gif

yup2, this is veli2 old batch lv, sure bbse... nod.gif

0.0257sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:43 PM