Samsung Galaxy Tab, review
rifhamdi
Jan 5 2011, 07:48 PM

QUOTE(tplus1 @ Jan 5 2011, 02:13 AM) a question. does the galaxy tab sold in Msia the same in Korea? if so, can i use Msia galaxy tab in korea? I don't know if its the same as the ones sold in Korea but all I know the ones sold by Maxis (the first batch upon launching) are fully imported and made in Korea. Not too sure if they are currently made in China now like most mobile phones these days.
sphiroth
Jan 5 2011, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(rifhamdi @ Jan 5 2011, 07:48 PM) I don't know if its the same as the ones sold in Korea but all I know the ones sold by Maxis (the first batch upon launching) are fully imported and made in Korea. Not too sure if they are currently made in China now like most mobile phones these days. Mine also made in korea (bought from digi). I don't think samsung will manufacture their high-end product in China since China is famous for copying others product. Added on January 5, 2011, 9:37 pmNow I'm starting to fully utilized the Tab as mobile phone. Instead of using BT headphone, I just use the call forwarding function to divert call to a my old and small nokia 8210 (I thinks) with a pre-paid numbers. This post has been edited by sphiroth: Jan 5 2011, 09:37 PM
basSist
Jan 5 2011, 10:45 PM
divert call got extra charges?
yoyoan
Jan 5 2011, 11:15 PM
Hello guys, just got my SGT outright at Maxis Sunway last week after testing a unit at KLCC while contemplating. Worth the 4 hours wait I guess, because since then I have yet to use my netbook.
No issues so far with the set save for the lack of USB port, KIES and soft loudspeaker. The stock browser lag is still acceptable for me. (read somewhere because of flash, anyone knows how to turn it off?)
Enjoying it very much. Used it as my main phone for the first few days but encountered problem with contacts and messaging + the size so transferred sim card back to my old faithful phone.
Connecting to my mifi also not a problem, eventhough needs the mifi to be very close to get full bar of signal. Has a solid feel. only installed few apps and some games...especially angry birds and labyrinths, which my son enjoyed playing very much.
marzuki75
Jan 5 2011, 11:45 PM
HELP PLSSSSSSSS
i can't update my device when i klik updates firmware....y?
PDA: P1000XXJK1 PHONE:P1000XXJK1 CSC: P1000XXJK1
basSist
Jan 5 2011, 11:48 PM
where u get from this set o?
marzuki75
Jan 6 2011, 12:26 AM
From lowyatt forumer call bro joe.
Y?
Added on January 6, 2011, 12:26 amFrom lowyatt forumer call bro joe.
Y?
This post has been edited by marzuki75: Jan 6 2011, 12:26 AM
basSist
Jan 6 2011, 01:20 AM
i think that one is AP set. i almost want to buy from him but when get know AP set then donwan buy d. haha i want buy original set!!
jloi
Jan 6 2011, 01:22 AM
QUOTE(basSist @ Jan 6 2011, 01:20 AM) i think that one is AP set. i almost want to buy from him but when get know AP set then donwan buy d. haha i want buy original set!! AP set kenot update firmware?
basSist
Jan 6 2011, 01:37 AM
maybe different firmware code. not sure.
marzuki75
Jan 6 2011, 06:21 AM
heeeeeeelllllllllllpppppppppppppppppp
waeguk
Jan 6 2011, 08:04 AM
You updating using latest KIES i presume. And SGT is connected via usb, in KIES mode. You have to be more specific in your problem. Normally when click 'update', KIES will search if there's a new firmware first, if yes, then only click update. So what error or which step you have problem? QUOTE(marzuki75 @ Jan 5 2011, 11:45 PM) HELP PLSSSSSSSS i can't update my device when i klik updates firmware....y? PDA: P1000XXJK1 PHONE:P1000XXJK1 CSC: P1000XXJK1
jloi
Jan 6 2011, 09:31 AM
i am planning to get 1..izzit advisable to get AP set?
ajay67
Jan 6 2011, 09:44 AM
yeah i want one too!! looks like this is the one for me
laowai
Jan 6 2011, 11:51 AM
What is difference AP vs original price?
benny888
Jan 6 2011, 12:23 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(laowai @ Jan 6 2011, 11:51 AM) What is difference AP vs original price? AP price is about RM300 - RM 400 cheaper. If you wish to buy AP buy from a reputable shops with a direct linkage to the AP importer. I will not encourage you to buy it from any of those independent resellers , eg A would have got it from B who possibly source it from C who is the authorized reseller of the AP product. When you have warranty claims , just imagine the the trouble seller A has to go through to submit in a claim for you. If you wish to buy AP , make sure you are told who is the AP importer - it is better if it is a local setup. Many "AP" sets are actually underwater sets brought in from Singapore or HongKong - these are very troublesome when you need to make claims I have been buying AP smartphones for several years. There was one time I got caught buying from a kiosk in LowYat ( good price cheaper by M 450 ) - I was shown it was a Spore Singtel set ; starightaway I know it is underwater. Anyway this seller promised me he will arrange sent back to Spore for me if any issue. On the 2nd week I have some issues, and the set was returned to seller. After a week I called him, he said set still with him as he was awaiting for some other guys to arrange a trip down together to Spore ; ask me wait few days and call him back. A week later , called him he said set still with him. He even has the nerve to tell me to wait for another 1 possibly 2 months to get a replacement set !!! He suggested I go down Spore myself to claim if I cannot wait. After a few unhappy calls to n fro, he courier set back to me and I went down to Spotre to get it service back within the same day. Example of one of the unpleasant perils of buying such AP underwater sets
ressko
Jan 6 2011, 12:47 PM

guys, i have to say i m bit relieve(or rather shiok sendiri), after so many launches at ces yesterday, and not forgeting the honeycomb preview. The better ones notably notion ink and xoom are 10". So SGT will still the 'most' powerful 7" android tablet for a little bit longer atleast this quarter..  So we all still be fine this year.. but pray hard we will get android 3.0 aka honeycomb later this yr... NOTE - about the honeycomb video, i still think 2.2 and 2.3 is good as it is so flexi for us to customize, but think the UI in the video is stock. It should be more flexi in real life... After watching most videos on notion ink,playbook and now honeycomb. I feels sick seeing their UI, acted more like a digital photo frame.... just my stupid thought.
nikmh
Jan 6 2011, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(sookk @ Jan 3 2011, 09:16 PM) I thought the latest firmware has some protected bootloader or something like that ... is it safe to flash a custom ROM to the GTab at this point in time? I think unless you are experiencing some major performance issue with the GTab on the standard firmware ... there really isn't any good reason to flash a custom rom ... correct me if I'm wrong I got a real problem with my tab at that time, bought AP unit.. cannot upgrade with Kies...so unlucky, it leave me no choice.. i follow exactly the steps and its work...
marzuki75
Jan 6 2011, 02:31 PM
Yup. I download latest kies. Then i klik firmware updates n it said this device cannot be updated. Arghhhhhh. Need help
g400g400
Jan 6 2011, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(marzuki75 @ Jan 6 2011, 02:31 PM) Yup. I download latest kies. Then i klik firmware updates n it said this device cannot be updated. Arghhhhhh. Need help look like your ap set is not an asian version, if that's the case then u have to manually flash the firmware. go to xda they have step to step quide in manual updating of firmware... good luck.