117 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Protoss Discussion Thread Ver. 1, [SEASON 2] Tips & Strategies.

Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2010, 06:07 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(nexous @ Aug 27 2010, 03:09 PM)
Yeah you better check how pros are actually using stalkers.
Blinking and picking up SMALLER groups. Just check what happened when tester blinked up stc's main for the 2nd time; he was forced to retreat to what seems like an equal or smaller army even!

Stalkers have a niche, ranged weak dps with a lot of mobility. If you think they can form the backbone of your army, you're going to lose to the basic MM again and again.
Remember that this discussion started because you think protoss vs Maru aggression, zealots are not needed. Think again. Marus cream Stalkers, and they're actually cheaper even.

Did tester outproduced stc? Hardly. The stargate was idle midgame onwards and it's difficult to say that the VR did enough damage to justify the tech. The DT shrine hardly paid for itself. The DT didn't do much damage. HTs could have changed it all but they came too late. All the while stc only made MMM. Solid MMM. Tester didn't have a larger army to deal with the MMM, and was slow on the tech (HTs).

What's your IGN anyway?
equal, definitely not smaller, and STC was already well prepared on that blink with vision seeing them coming. and again, lets not forget tester fighting on STC's ground with units continue to produce non stop. by the end of that skirmish tester was already overwhelmed by new units and was forced to retreat.

and i will still stand by my stance that stalkers CAN be massed and be your backbone of your army, however i did not say zealots are not needed. what ive said is zealots are USELESS without charge. especially to any MARAUDER army with concussion and stun.

army/production/income tabs are equal on both sides until the drops begin. if you're still not convinced from the youtube, goto TL forum and find/download the replay. (i believe husky even shown the tabs and even commented about it)

as for my IGN, refer to my signature.
Instant_noodle
post Aug 27 2010, 06:15 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(nexous @ Aug 27 2010, 03:09 PM)
Yeah you better check how pros are actually using stalkers.
Blinking and picking up SMALLER groups. Just check what happened when tester blinked up stc's main for the 2nd time; he was forced to retreat to what seems like an equal or smaller army even!

Stalkers have a niche, ranged weak dps with a lot of mobility. If you think they can form the backbone of your army, you're going to lose to the basic MM again and again.
Remember that this discussion started because you think protoss vs Maru aggression, zealots are not needed. Think again. Marus cream Stalkers, and they're actually cheaper even.

Did tester outproduced stc? Hardly. The stargate was idle midgame onwards and it's difficult to say that the VR did enough damage to justify the tech. The DT shrine hardly paid for itself. The DT didn't do much damage. HTs could have changed it all but they came too late. All the while stc only made MMM. Solid MMM. Tester didn't have a larger army to deal with the MMM, and was slow on the tech (HTs).

What's your IGN anyway?

are joo throwing down a challenge??

hmmm...

can joo guys post replay(s) after this??

and put moar insulting in game chat, kk??
Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2010, 06:16 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Aug 27 2010, 06:15 PM)
are joo throwing down a challenge??

hmmm...

can joo guys post replay(s) after this??

and put moar insulting in game chat, kk??
my replays are on first page.
evofantasy
post Aug 27 2010, 07:00 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 27 2010, 06:16 PM)
my replays are on first page.
PvP grudge match, nt ur ladder matches LOL
nles
post Aug 27 2010, 07:48 PM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

Just finish my 5 placement match, Silver , Rank 12.

So how much would I need to grind to get into Gold?

4 wins out of 5 games, tried to play cannon rush and lose lolx.
Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2010, 08:19 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 27 2010, 07:00 PM)
boleh pun. lol

Added on August 27, 2010, 8:19 pm
QUOTE(nles @ Aug 27 2010, 07:48 PM)
Just finish my 5 placement match, Silver , Rank 12.

So how much would I need to grind to get into Gold?

4 wins out of 5 games, tried to play cannon rush and lose lolx.
grind doesnt work, just get better

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 27 2010, 08:19 PM
deodorant
post Aug 27 2010, 08:33 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Haha my placement I did all protoss and lost 3/5 and got into bronze.

one of my losses i didn't know stalkers need vision to blink to higher ground, by the time i got a starport and that cheap air unit out too late already

another loss didn't scout properly, do 4gate push but the opponent got immortal already (1gateway then terus robotics)

and the 3rd loss was against mm ball drop at my mineral line ... zzzz what sucks is that i use that tactic so much in practice league sad.gif
Instant_noodle
post Aug 27 2010, 09:47 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 27 2010, 07:00 PM)

in b4 either one on then goes 'oh u in <region A>, but i'm in <region B>... it would be an not so epic battle but... meh...'
evofantasy
post Aug 27 2010, 09:51 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

arghh i gonna shoot myself over PvT...
its such a tough nut to crack (inb4nerf terran)...
MM based builds like MMG is jz so hard...

other than that i have a chance like using VR opening (that got me to diamond at last)
Quazacolt
post Aug 28 2010, 03:31 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Aug 27 2010, 09:47 PM)
in b4 either one on then goes 'oh u in <region A>, but i'm in <region B>... it would be an not so epic battle but... meh...'
saw the FAQ? lol
Phonzy
post Aug 28 2010, 09:30 AM

542 posts

f*** terran
evofantasy
post Aug 28 2010, 10:23 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Phonzy @ Aug 28 2010, 09:30 AM)
f*** terran
./agree
with the possible warpgate nerf by 5 sec, i dun see how can we outbuild a 3rax build of MM+G...
LostWanderer
post Aug 28 2010, 10:56 AM

315 posts

ppl are saying that a proxy rax is gonna screw the protoss much too...XD
MintDarker
post Aug 28 2010, 01:14 PM

187 posts

The change is okay for mid game, 1 extra warpgate is all you need. But toss will have hard time countering early rush like proxy rax marauder, and 6pool lings especially in 1v1 short distance map. T.T Kinda surprise they keep marauders unchange duh.
evofantasy
post Aug 28 2010, 01:22 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(MintDarker @ Aug 28 2010, 01:14 PM)
The change is okay for mid game, 1 extra warpgate is all you need. But toss will have hard time countering early rush like proxy rax marauder, and 6pool lings especially in 1v1 short distance map. T.T Kinda surprise they keep marauders unchange duh.
well the slower zealots is a big blow as zealots are ur meatshield vs MM-based builds...
hw often u wish ur warpgate cooldown be fast as there is a 5sec delay for the warp-in animations as we...
i thot of the extra gate build if u are doing a timing push, that would set u back by quite a lot imho...
they might make changes to warpgate as well...
SUSAzurues
post Aug 30 2010, 02:40 AM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

Big changes on toss probably due to zerg player's complain for being too weak in certain areas.

Yea rather than focusing on zerg, i rather focus on "how to counter terran MMM and moar MMM".

Huge nerf on siege tank as well as some nerfs on toss but thankfully colossus stays alive laugh.gif
nles
post Aug 30 2010, 03:27 AM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

Still having hard time winning terran, easiest still proxy gate them.

Got myself up to gold rank 1, but lose to quite a few plat players.
commanderz
post Aug 30 2010, 04:34 PM

676 posts

ya...really hard on using protoss vs terran....especially when terran get siege tank...it will smash all your ground force...
ZeratoS
post Aug 31 2010, 12:28 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

I did a readup on the HT vs Colossus issue in PvT and I guess most people would expect the typical 3 gate robo so I'm gonna try and stick with High Templar tech off one base with chargelots.

Anyone got a good BO for this to exploit timings?

This post has been edited by ZeratoS: Aug 31 2010, 12:31 AM
Sesshoumaru
post Aug 31 2010, 02:16 AM

1,190 posts

Hate reaper. Meh. Zeals are too slow for their micro. Only way is to try and scout early -> straight cybernetic core?

117 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.7917sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:44 PM