Haha my placement I did all protoss and lost 3/5 and got into bronze.
one of my losses i didn't know stalkers need vision to blink to higher ground, by the time i got a starport and that cheap air unit out too late already
another loss didn't scout properly, do 4gate push but the opponent got immortal already (1gateway then terus robotics)
and the 3rd loss was against mm ball drop at my mineral line ... zzzz what sucks is that i use that tactic so much in practice league
Just won a PvP where the guy went 'gotta go' just as I was attacking, haha. Replay is here if anyone interested to gimme improvement tips.
What I noticed from playing and from watching youtube commentaries ... 95% of the games i've been in i sure kena rush. either mmm rush or zergling rush or zealot rush or proxy reaper or whatever. but in those youtube games, hardly anyone ever rushes, most of the time they tech a bit. how come ah?
Also, zergling rush on maps with backdoor = how? i can't remember which map, but the one with a back door with rocks. i can't wall that off, and when the lings break through they just run past all my forces and own my probes.
sigh, play 5 lose 4 ... all losses against silver league (i'm in bronze).
my main problem, i think, is i don't really know how to (i) properly scout in late-early game, and (ii) break down a turtling terran.
for (i), i think i've developed my scouting well enough to kind of deal with rushes. but after the probe is killed, i'm pretty much blind. observers are defeated by missile turrets ... so i can't react fast enough to whatever the opponent is massing.
(ii) siege tank turtle while the terran techs = how? out-expand and out-macro them? not fun at all dealing with 8 battlecruisers ...
also ... how do you deal with mass banshees? phoenix? i was using mass blink stalkers but the problem is that observers is sooooo slow ...
how do you guys deal with mass banshees? mass stalkers? mass phoenix? seeing as observer move speed is super slow, half the time can't chase the banshees very far.
yay just won against a turtling terran with 122 games played in silver league. i basically just didn't assault him, but camp outside his base to deny him his expansion, while i had one expansion + one on yellow minerals. eventually just mass tons of units and charge in. damn proud lol, cos i'm in bronze with only ~30 odd games
@juzjoe the thing is, if i don't chase and kill, i need to leave quite a bunch of ground units back at base so i can only assault with remainder portion, because banshees are faster than ground ... so ...
anyway today played 7 lost 5 looool ... but overall still +27 points up ... dunno how that's calculated ...
[edit2] watched replay, at the end of the game i had 5000 minerals so wow my macro/spending needs TONS of work ...
This post has been edited by deodorant: Sep 5 2010, 12:31 AM
man f*** streamyx. lost my last 3 games in an hour due to d/c. 2 of them were sure wins cos already defeat the army and pushing into base (the other one ... just started). 2 even match and 1 i am slightly favored so that was like 50 pts loss for nothing =_=;;
and man, lack of proper foresight rapes you so much in this game. was doing regular 4-gate against 'toss, only had like 2 zealots when opponent comes charging in with 6. sigh and i even scouted his super early 2 gate and no gas, why did i just happily tech like normal? T_T
[edit] if i scout a toss base and it's 2-gate, that means almost for sure i will be zealot rush'ed, right? what is the counter? also 2-gate and mass zealots because taking into account run distance my forces should outnumber his? i tried putting down ccore and gateway as choke so that i can like, use 1-2 zealots to block and blast from behind with stalkers, but that isn't quick enough.
This post has been edited by deodorant: Sep 10 2010, 02:18 PM
played a few against terran and wow, mmm build with siege tanks is SO hard to play against if the terran player pushes early. based on my skill, with just gateway units sure die. teching to high templar takes a long time, and it's gg if he pushes before then.
the only game i won, instead of usual 4gate just went 2gate --> robo bay(for observer) --> robotics. no stalkers, just chargelots+immortals+colossus ... but that one the terran player was clearly not that good ... hmmmm.
guys, what to do when facing ultralisks? mass immortals? had a game with a zerg, guess it was kind of even until he came to me with ultras ... then it was gg as they just raped my ground army with them ...
How to Counter a Proxy Barracks Reaper Bunker rush:
Hmm this video says go 10gate, but the thing is, unless you're pre-expecting this proxy rax you will always do 12gate. and even if you scout on the 9 pylon probe you won't put down the gate that early mah.
anyway reapers are SO annoying omg. even with a bunch of stalkers i got harassed big time by a 4-5 reaper terran ... their mobility is so great. front lah back lah side lah, stalkers can't move fast enough. by the time i fended it off, too late to tech to colossus or templar for the coming mmm ball ...
[edit] i've also noticed that the early phoenix harass is only really very effective against zerg. against terran = marines, against 'toss = stalker, these 2 units come pretty damn fast and for the huge investment of at least 1000 resources, there's no way i can recoup even close to that.
and yes, the phoenixes still can be used for scouting, air superiority, etc, but if the terran or 'toss do a push with big ground then it's gg also ...
This post has been edited by deodorant: Sep 19 2010, 07:44 PM
yeah seriously, i watch these videos and i see mass ff's block off a whole fooking wide area instantly. i can barely block off the wider ramps with my a$$ apm.
anyways finally pulled my wlr from 43% up to 50% even. feel like i'm getting better. managed to fend off a marine/marauder push with just gateway units (with zealot legs) and then caught him on the counter while he was teching to mech ... yay die terran /flex
[edit] oh yeah he actually lifted off his command centre and flew to the corner ... sigh waste a few minutes to build starports and chrono boost some vr's to kill it
This post has been edited by deodorant: Sep 20 2010, 05:16 PM
speaking of playing with AI, which I have to do now instead of online because I'm on work trip and can't afford the exorbitant hotel online fees (usd35/day for internet, wtf?), I can cream hard AI easily, but Very Hard normally cannot. I'll match the AI for their first 1 or 2 pushes, but somehow after that it just steamrolls me even without any expansion (regardless of whether i expand or not).
Do i just suck?
@Fly, no, you need to scout. No need to say VR, even 2gate zealot push can rape your 4 gate if you're not expecting it.