Protoss Discussion Thread Ver. 1, [SEASON 2] Tips & Strategies.

LostWanderer
post Aug 23 2010, 10:32 AM

315 posts

perfect counter for MMM = high templars...but you'll need a sentry in base to prevent that early push

it's really hard to fend those off from your base if you don't have a "few" sentries to force field that ramp

MMM = op, just IMO

and throw in ghost, tanks and vikings is pretty much counters for everything you can use against any race...especially protoss

This post has been edited by LostWanderer: Aug 23 2010, 10:33 AM
LostWanderer
post Aug 23 2010, 06:20 PM

315 posts

charge = a researchable skill from twilight council for zealots to run to it's target and try to slice them up before they slice it up

if it is on low health = a skill for them to run to their deaths...

and another thing is that it also can be a skill for you to have your zealot to run like speedy gonzalez on the map and get it shot as it is unable to reach its desired target
LostWanderer
post Aug 28 2010, 10:56 AM

315 posts

ppl are saying that a proxy rax is gonna screw the protoss much too...XD
LostWanderer
post Nov 6 2010, 08:52 AM

315 posts

early pool rushes against zerg...

seriously, does most zerg like to do a 6 pool, 8 pool or a 10pool against toss?

best strat to counter is to build 2 gates and pull probes to be the gate keeper in anticipating that all zergs will use this strat early game, right?

an early 2 gate would be easy to transition as well...we do need the cybercore when the rush is over (which i believe the zerg will just keep on pumping lings eventhough the attack has been nulled)
LostWanderer
post Nov 6 2010, 03:40 PM

315 posts

"u will just roll over to the 3-5RR build.."
5RR = 5 roach rush?

anyway, i'm trying to think of a best counter to those early ling rushes cause as toss, i think most zergs will try to just do a ling run by and kill the pylons before the 1st zealot is out...which is not impossible if you spawn in a 2 player map...even on a long rush distance map such as scarp station...and think of the huge ramp there is on that map...LOL

anyway, if the oppo goes mass roach, at least when u got 2 gates (and there isn't any "mass" lings coming knocking on your ramp), you only slightly delayed the cyber core a little and could pick up from there considering that roach moves slowly without creep...not as slow as hydralisk, but yea

and roaches can wipe off expos easily now with their 4 range buff...and i doubt that you would want to fast expo if your oppo is gonna ling rush ya, right?XD

This post has been edited by LostWanderer: Nov 6 2010, 03:40 PM
LostWanderer
post Nov 6 2010, 04:22 PM

315 posts

i get what you mean now evo

so a 1gate --> forge is the best way to play around vs anything early the zerg could pull off against a toss?

problem is that, i made a 13gate and laid down a 17 cyber core and my lot isn't (halfway) done when i was 8 pooled rush on scrap station

prolly is cause i did a 14 gas while the pool was like 80% completed?LOL
LostWanderer
post Nov 6 2010, 04:32 PM

315 posts

well...true, but if it's scrap station...prolly need another pylon to do so...and of course...needs to be alert where the lings are...not like when they are just right outside your ramp, lol
LostWanderer
post Nov 6 2010, 08:30 PM

315 posts

hmm, so, toss has a pretty safe FE build too eh?lol

and yup, i know that gateway units are helpless against roaches, haha
LostWanderer
post Nov 7 2010, 07:34 AM

315 posts

to me, collosus is the key to victory in pvp

1st one to collo tech wins...haha
LostWanderer
post Feb 1 2011, 04:23 PM

315 posts

sometimes, charge is a double edge sword as well when ur lots run into the enemy army and suicide when ur not looking, lol
LostWanderer
post Feb 1 2011, 05:10 PM

315 posts

yea, can charge on own unit...iirc, if u dun click away, it will attack it soon after...lol

oh, and i now noticed how op is 3 bunker with 12 marines and 4 marines outside is without stim...

it can take out a lot of toss units and the only way to break that is with collosi...>.<"

This post has been edited by LostWanderer: Feb 1 2011, 05:13 PM
LostWanderer
post Feb 1 2011, 07:13 PM

315 posts

i had no choice to bust down those bunkers since i had like 2 banshees with cloak tech in my base harassing my probes...=(

my army size i would say not bad...but it's an uphill (ramp) battle and there's only 1 way to go...up...lol

oh well, next time should be smarter when i see 3 bunkers...robo bay and retreat my army...no point sitting outside...or i could try the hallu tech and warp in via back door...XD
LostWanderer
post Feb 1 2011, 07:58 PM

315 posts

i had 3 gate 1 robo, 2 immortals can't even kill all 3 bunkers, took 2 bunkers down and 1 in the red, killed a few marines and my army gone...lol
LostWanderer
post Feb 1 2011, 08:31 PM

315 posts

nope, he didn't manage to repair it on time...the high ground advantage and the small ramp did help him fortify his base, nearly impossible to break it down with a 3 gate robo rush, lol...only 16 marines...gawd...>.<"

oh, and got 2 seige tanks...but no seige tech yet iirc

This post has been edited by LostWanderer: Feb 1 2011, 08:31 PM
LostWanderer
post Feb 1 2011, 09:27 PM

315 posts

maybe i was a bit too slow, lol...

when i pushed out and took a peek at his ramp, he only had 1 seige, after i push down and noticed the banshee which he did proxied it right at the bottom right of the base, i was like, i'll push up and the 2nd tank just spawned

should be ard the 11min mark i think

xelnaga and 2 immortals walking there takes a while even with cb used...although not being constantly boosted, haha
LostWanderer
post Feb 1 2011, 09:42 PM

315 posts

at the 9 min mark
his army = 16 marines, 1 seige tank + 2 banshess on the way to my base

my army = 5 lots, 4 stalkers 2 sentries 1 immortal

pulled back due to 3 bunkers on ramp and my units shields depleted due to that

then when the banshees reached my base...my my army added prolly 2 stalkers, 1 lot and 1 immortal...

and that seige tech just kicked in as well...all within the 9 min 30 sec mark...dry.gif

my bad actually to not move my units as well when that seige tech kicked in and it's all lumped in the ramp...lol

artosis had units in his base, and i was pushing out with all my units...XD, nothing to guard against banshees...haha
LostWanderer
post Feb 1 2011, 10:12 PM

315 posts

if there's no bunkers...well at least not 3 of them, those 2 immortals could have taken it out easily...didn't expect to see 3 of them there, lol

4 gate vs terran still not that good isn't it?o_O
LostWanderer
post Feb 1 2011, 10:39 PM

315 posts

i really doubt that i can micro so many things at one time, lol

how u guys manage so many things within a few secs always amuses me...haha

This post has been edited by LostWanderer: Feb 1 2011, 10:40 PM
LostWanderer
post Feb 3 2011, 06:57 PM

315 posts

so get 1 stalker out instead of 1 lot?XD
LostWanderer
post May 30 2011, 10:25 PM

315 posts

quick question:

is the counter to a 3 gate expo for pvp = blink stalkers? every time i open a fast expo and my friend who goes blink stalkers, i can't seem to hold the stalkers from blinking into my expo...lol

bad micro? units composition? or just something that's instant win?XD

This post has been edited by LostWanderer: May 30 2011, 10:27 PM

0.0436sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:05 AM