What firmware is the best for RT-N13U B1?
Home Networking N Router By Asus RTN-66U / Asus RTN-16 / RT-N56U, Asus RT-N Series Supported Unifi
Aug 17 2012, 07:54 PM
2,176 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
What firmware is the best for RT-N13U B1?
Aug 18 2012, 01:14 PM
257 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Aug 18 2012, 01:24 PM
Aug 18 2012, 01:35 PM
257 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Aug 18 2012, 01:43 PM
Aug 18 2012, 01:56 PM
130 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(eugene88 @ Aug 18 2012, 01:43 PM) Nope.The ASUS Download Master only works on stock firmware See below if you want to flash RT-N13U-B1 to dd-wrt, complete with Optware+Transmission => then you can torrent gao-gao QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 1 2012, 09:24 PM) Look at past few pages seem like there are lots of RT-N13U-B1 users having problem.... The above is my setup to use the RT-N13U-B1 as standalone downloader only, I don't use it for RG (router gateway).Have not been playing with the N13 for a long time, few weeks ago I just flashed it to dd-wrt r19342: ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V.../Asus-RTN13UB1/ and make it a standalone Transmission: http://klseet.com/index.php/asus-ddwrt/rt-...aretransmission The r19342 really make optware+Transmission installation much easier! At first I thought the device sure dead/crash if torrenting gao-gao since it's only 64MB (I didn't configure any Swap as stock dd-wrt does not support it), however it's still kicking alive despite hundres of GB down/up-load ! When running the Transmission, the CPU almost full load with less than 10% mem left, but it will still running until completed the download. I remembered also tested the vlan2.500 on r19342 and it's working also. So this might be another option for RT-N13-B1 user to consider. If you decided to install Optware+Transmission, just make sure you start torrent only when no one using the internet, otherwise the hungry Transmission will eat all the CPU+mem ! As for IPTV, try to login the DIR-615, either disable the vlan.500 interface or set it to dial manual. Then connect it to the modem's port2, should be able to watch IPTV via the DIR-615 vlan.600 at LANport4. RT-N13U-B1 uses the same chip like the DIR-615 & WHR-G300N, but it has double the ram size. If you want to setup as RG with PPPoE vlan2.500, you may refer to this: http://klseet.com/index.php/dd-wrt-for-uni...tagging-example This post has been edited by klseet: Aug 18 2012, 02:08 PM |
Aug 18 2012, 02:57 PM
130 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Wah, read past few pages, seem to see lots of N13 users have big problem with stock firmware ....
I remembered around end of last year I received quite some emails & PMs on the N13 stock firmware, so I did some testings, my last 2 testings (on my HG850a) was: FW8.22.2.3 FW2.0.2.5g Generally I'll test at least 2~5 days, but I did not encounter such frequent daily dc/hang situation. After that I don't really test or play with the N13 anymore. I remember normally this is how I flash & setup the N13 stock firmware: - only connect 1 cable to N13's LANport, NO wifi NO WAN connection - Restore Factory default both before & after flashing - always use Firmware Restoration procedure (I do notice the N13 will become unstable later if flashing too frequently using webgui) - always setup manually, never use the CD or wizard - on WAN setup, ensure to disable the UPnP - on LAN setup, change the default IP (say to 192.168.0.1) - on DHCP, put smaller range (say 192.168.0.101~199), ALWAYS enter the Default Gateway IP (say 192.168.0.1) On WiFi: - use Auto mode - diable the WPS - enter a channel number (eg, 6 or 11) - use 20Mhz only - use auto WPA/WPA2 with TKIP+AES - don't use TX-burst (Important: once setup the wifi, try not to mess around or even visit the webgui page again) On the QoS/EzQoS: DON'T use it! DON'T even touch it or visit the QoS webgui page!!!! Except for the ASUSWRT, I noticed most stock ASUS (the one with green colour & the rather annoying small doctor) the QoS just won't work properly, it can cause the router to become unstable or become kuku .... And once the setup is done, except going to the use PortFoward, try not to login the webgui too often. So this is generally how I setup the N13 up to those last few FW mentioned earlier. In fact this is 1 of the toys which I've tested quite a lot of FWs & feedback to ASUS engineer team. I'm not sure what's the latest development as I have already flashed my N13 to dd-wrt with Transmission as download device only. Oh btw, just to clarify, I DON'T work for or represent ASUS, those testings I've done is genuine result with print-screen, I have no intention to hide anything here, so please be gentle with me ya! Anywhere, I'll try to find some time and might test the latest N13 FW later .... Meanwhile, for those who have problem with the N13 may consider the dd-wrt option which I've posted above. To ASUS team or representatives who are reading this, seeing so many complaints here and potential RG market, honestly I would suggest ASUS Malaysia to seriously consider applying dedicated UniFi/Maxis/P1 (or any up-coming) lines to test those routers thoroughly on varous providers/equipments/vlans. I believe this is the least a reputable & responsible manufacturer can do to maintain it's reputation continously. Everyone have a nice weekend and enjoy the up-coming Hari Raya holiday, cheers ! |
Aug 18 2012, 08:51 PM
25 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 18 2012, 02:57 PM) Wah, read past few pages, seem to see lots of N13 users have big problem with stock firmware .... Waaa lannnnnn eh!!!! Sooooo many pantang larangs just to flash 1 shitty router.. Really not worth the hassle... Next thing we r told to see if got anak bulan n all the planets in our solar system must align thn only can flash... Must i wear my undies inside out just to buang suay? 1 word - POOOOODAH!!!!! I remembered around end of last year I received quite some emails & PMs on the N13 stock firmware, so I did some testings, my last 2 testings (on my HG850a) was: FW8.22.2.3 FW2.0.2.5g Generally I'll test at least 2~5 days, but I did not encounter such frequent daily dc/hang situation. After that I don't really test or play with the N13 anymore. I remember normally this is how I flash & setup the N13 stock firmware: - only connect 1 cable to N13's LANport, NO wifi NO WAN connection - Restore Factory default both before & after flashing - always use Firmware Restoration procedure (I do notice the N13 will become unstable later if flashing too frequently using webgui) - always setup manually, never use the CD or wizard - on WAN setup, ensure to disable the UPnP - on LAN setup, change the default IP (say to 192.168.0.1) - on DHCP, put smaller range (say 192.168.0.101~199), ALWAYS enter the Default Gateway IP (say 192.168.0.1) On WiFi: - use Auto mode - diable the WPS - enter a channel number (eg, 6 or 11) - use 20Mhz only - use auto WPA/WPA2 with TKIP+AES - don't use TX-burst (Important: once setup the wifi, try not to mess around or even visit the webgui page again) On the QoS/EzQoS: DON'T use it! DON'T even touch it or visit the QoS webgui page!!!! Except for the ASUSWRT, I noticed most stock ASUS (the one with green colour & the rather annoying small doctor) the QoS just won't work properly, it can cause the router to become unstable or become kuku .... And once the setup is done, except going to the use PortFoward, try not to login the webgui too often. So this is generally how I setup the N13 up to those last few FW mentioned earlier. In fact this is 1 of the toys which I've tested quite a lot of FWs & feedback to ASUS engineer team. I'm not sure what's the latest development as I have already flashed my N13 to dd-wrt with Transmission as download device only. Oh btw, just to clarify, I DON'T work for or represent ASUS, those testings I've done is genuine result with print-screen, I have no intention to hide anything here, so please be gentle with me ya! Anywhere, I'll try to find some time and might test the latest N13 FW later .... Meanwhile, for those who have problem with the N13 may consider the dd-wrt option which I've posted above. To ASUS team or representatives who are reading this, seeing so many complaints here and potential RG market, honestly I would suggest ASUS Malaysia to seriously consider applying dedicated UniFi/Maxis/P1 (or any up-coming) lines to test those routers thoroughly on varous providers/equipments/vlans. I believe this is the least a reputable & responsible manufacturer can do to maintain it's reputation continously. Everyone have a nice weekend and enjoy the up-coming Hari Raya holiday, cheers ! Nvr hv i come across soooo many precautions whn it comes to flashing anything.. EPIC fail... Seriously y give us soooo many options/features in the router whn it gonna make it unstable?? Think abt it? Dont use QOS dont even open it... Dont use 40mhz.. Disable WPS.. Dont do use this/tat.. Disable this/tat.. 3 words... WTF????!!! 'nuff said. Thnks anyway Klseet.. Appreciate it. This post has been edited by zapster: Aug 18 2012, 08:56 PM |
Aug 18 2012, 11:17 PM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(stan001 @ Aug 14 2012, 11:07 AM) I think it was REALLY REALLY "nice" that ASUS organise a feedback session right here in KL... how many other vendors (local and overseas) actually care about customer feedback or customer satisfaction on their products... All products does have bugs but to the extend of operation couple of days then hang. If compare to Dlink DIR-615, it does not hang, the only issues are the wireless coverage and if the router stress out (non stop doing torrent for weeks) it will reboot and recover the connection. Asus router when hang it need to physical power off/on. So DLink or Asus Better? All products these days have bugs.... live with it... Zapster... You should have done your research on which router model before you make the purchase... even the TM version of the Dlink DIR-615 router is a lousy piece of crap with lots of software bugs... did you make such BIG complain to both TM or Dlink yet ?? Any feedback session from TM or Dlink to hear your problems ?? QUOTE(andychucky @ Aug 14 2012, 11:46 AM) Stan, Me too, we recommend friends or customers to use TPlink. For your information, Dell sent me a laptop replacement about 8 years back and it cost around MYR 4,800 back then, just because it has mould problem. This is what i call good customer service. So WHATS the FUSS with ASUS? But Dell's products deteriorate as time passes and now i am using ASUS N53SV laptop which i have no complain. But, these N13U really wasted my time because i bought quite a few for my customers and all my customers complained. They hang and hang and hang until the total network could not be pinged. Even a person bring in the smartphone and log on to the wifi hangs the router. They are so crapped which i replaced them with TP-Link d. Never understand what is ASUS doing for the router division. TP-Link is really fast. They bring in a China guy who can't even speak good English but managed to solve all firmware issues for me. QUOTE(flowerhorn @ Aug 15 2012, 10:52 AM) Hi. Since we have a asus rep here, I'm still facing this problem after you guys replaced me with a new n56u unit. I suppose you guys might not have tested the issue I face? Anyway, can you please help me follow up on a ticket I logged in to asus support pls. This is the ticket number 7203943. Thank you. Wow!!! l thought the higher end ASUS router does not have problems. QUOTE(prasys @ Aug 16 2012, 05:48 PM) I think probably ASUSMY should just fuse some changes whatever is done into DD-WRT (since its open source anyway) into RT13-U , create some sort of custom firmware. I think probably your engineers should take a look at it and see what causes DD-WRT to be stable on RT13-U (which needed to be patched to support VLAN 100 and above) Since DD-WRT works fine on the RT13-U, this prove that nothing wrong the hardware design, it just the shit head ASUS engineers are not qualify as a programmers. The ASUS Top Management should retire the entire team. Anyway I bought 56U , and flashed it to custom firmware (sorry but stock firmware is all wonky and slow and lacks of control that I demand from a router). Thats my recommendation to people buying routers , see if it has 3rd party firmware , and just flash it - chances are it would be much more better as its optimized and it includes heaps of changes QUOTE(howeisheong @ Aug 17 2012, 04:19 PM) I had the same problem and frustration as you. Changed to Linksys E2500, never have to reboot....not even once l intended to purchase ASUS Padphone sometime back. At this very moment l have kiss them goodbye.I'm done with ASUS products, everything ASUS Added on August 17, 2012, 4:21 pm Sorry the reply above is for this post : had the same problem and frustration as you. Changed to Linksys E2500, never have to reboot....not even once I'm done with ASUS products, everything ASUS QUOTE(eugene88 @ Aug 17 2012, 07:54 PM) Non of the released firmware (ASUS) are stable on RT-N13U excerpt DD-WRT (Without IPTV). |
Aug 20 2012, 01:15 PM
But klseet's review looks just fine?
I'm using 2.0.2.5 btw.. I'm only using 1Mpbs Streamyx so don't have IPTV How to insert magnet links on Download Master btw? |
Aug 20 2012, 05:12 PM
1,531 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Bandar Sunway |
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Aug 14 2012, 03:17 PM) Just a short teaser on the upcoming plan for Lowyat.NET users who had problem with RT-N13U. Looks like the feedback session may not be taking place, therefore an "announcement" here. The debug tool we have is actually a tool to capture an error log file of the RT-N13U. So this tool need to be switched on for a long period for random freeze/hang cases. Whoever who are facing problem with RT-N13U will be provided this tool to generate the log file. Then our engineer will produce a specific firmware in reference to your error log file just for your usage. So this will be one-on-one basis solution. Hi,Thanks for being a rep. However, i did not pay for this product to have this kind of troubleshooting and giving me custom firmwares specifically for me. Since there are just too many people with this issue, why not ASUS start treating this issue with high priority and get it resolved instead? If the product is a failure, replace a new product for us. I dont mind paying the difference for it! Cause even if i sell this router, no one is gonna buy it. Hence the reason why it is stocked up high in every IT outlet cause its not selling at all. This is a complete waste of money. Is ASUS that ignorant to its consumers? This post has been edited by vickyrao: Aug 20 2012, 05:13 PM |
Aug 20 2012, 05:21 PM
zzz I just bought this router
Aug 21 2012, 02:02 PM
Aug 21 2012, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(vickyrao @ Aug 21 2012, 02:02 PM) better go return it immediately and change to TPLink. Or high end Asus such at 56u or 66u. but its gonna cost alot more. cheaper and stable solution is TPlink. Can replace one meh?That shop is mainly sell Asus one so no TP Link TP Link got one modem router only less than RM100 |
Aug 21 2012, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(eugene88 @ Aug 21 2012, 05:07 PM) Can replace one meh? then topup budget and get n16 or n56 or if can n66..That shop is mainly sell Asus one so no TP Link TP Link got one modem router only less than RM100 i just ditched the stupid ASUS RT-N13 router and bought the RT-N66U for RM570... damn... but this one surely did fixed my problems! im so gonna create a public complain against ASUS and im gonna be needing everyones complain! |
Aug 21 2012, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(vickyrao @ Aug 21 2012, 10:22 PM) then topup budget and get n16 or n56 or if can n66.. RM570!!!!i just ditched the stupid ASUS RT-N13 router and bought the RT-N66U for RM570... damn... but this one surely did fixed my problems! im so gonna create a public complain against ASUS and im gonna be needing everyones complain! What problems did you encounter with RT-N13? |
Aug 21 2012, 10:29 PM
1,026 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
vickyrao, RT-N66U for RM570. That is a good deal.
Latest firmware : 2012.08.15 ASUS RT-N66U B1 Firmware Version 3.0.0.3.178 http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLan....B1%29&p=11&s=2 |
Aug 22 2012, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(eugene88 @ Aug 21 2012, 10:25 PM) no doubt its pricey but worth every cent! N13 always hang. few times a day and ping spikes when playing online games. when router hangs, need to off and on.QUOTE(ldragon @ Aug 21 2012, 10:29 PM) vickyrao, RT-N66U for RM570. That is a good deal. yea im already using the latest firmware. downloaded and installed as soon as i got it. and i followed klseet's guide on the tweaking and im having fun with it now.Latest firmware : 2012.08.15 ASUS RT-N66U B1 Firmware Version 3.0.0.3.178 http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLan....B1%29&p=11&s=2 rm570 was paid using card but cash could be cheaper. got this from c-zone. awesome price. |
Aug 22 2012, 04:34 PM
RM570 is really too expensive for me..
Guess I'll buy the TP-Link TD-W8961ND |
Aug 22 2012, 05:23 PM
86 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Vicky, you have so much money. Spend us for a meal better. What for give to those ASUS fellows. Never treat us as customers properly. Treat us like Junk. Some more as us to do the test work for them. Unify line also cant afford to get one for the testing.
| Change to: | 0.0288sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:21 PM |