Home Networking N Router By Asus RTN-66U / Asus RTN-16 / RT-N56U, Asus RT-N Series Supported Unifi

vickyrao
post Aug 29 2011, 01:27 PM

1,531 posts

anyone knows how to configure the download master for rt-n13u? i tried and tried but failed... also is there a dd-wrt for this model? from the site does not have it.... any idea?
vickyrao
post Nov 7 2011, 05:06 PM

1,531 posts

hi guys... i was using 2.0.2.0 on my rt-n16u. then found the 2.0.2.5 from klseet site... tried to upgrade firmware and i think its bricked now. no access to it at all. power light is blinking. tried all the manual hard reset methods and it failed. any idea how to get this fixed?
vickyrao
post Nov 7 2011, 11:57 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Nov 7 2011, 10:32 PM)
RT-N13U-B1 UniFi beta firmware 2.0.2.5g test result:
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...=118&Itemid=109

with primary test on torrenting wirelessly, after more than 2 days testing over the weekend, 33GB downloaded & 38GB uploaded, NO disconnection/hang/hiccup issues at all, still running now, but I don't have things to download liao ...  sweat.gif

This beta firmware is good, better than those previously released for this device.  nod.gif
1. Check the bottom of your router, make sure push it to set as "Router" mode
2. check the downloaded firmware's MD5
3. clear your all browser caches
4. MUST perform factory restore, BEFORE & AFTER flashing the firmware
5. DO NOT connect any WAN cable during flash & setup, use wired LAN2/3, NOT wireless

If for whatever reason your device is brick or corrupted, use Firmware Restoration to rescue:
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...id=79&Itemid=75

It should work just fine.  nod.gif
I suppose you mean RT-N13U-B1, please see above.
hi,

i tried the firmware restoration. followed step by step. but the software was unable to locate any connected devices though. windows firewall is not enabled at all. service is disabled completely. using win7 64-bit. chrome browser. i have f-secure and i have stopped it completely by disabling the services. but still was unable to use the tool to connect to router.
vickyrao
post Nov 8 2011, 02:40 AM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Nov 8 2011, 12:21 AM)
Strange, I have 2 units of RT-N13U-B1, I've been playing & messing around to/fro those beta firmwares, even to/fro DD-WRT, all without any problem.  Whenever it brick, I always use Firmware Restoration process to return back to any ASUS firmware I want it to be, I'm using Win7 Pro 32Bit & WinXP.  nod.gif

If you confirm your unit is RT-N13U-B1 and still unable to Firmware Restoration, I suggest you RMA with ASUS.  No worry, it's still cover even you brick it by flashing the UniFi beta firmware.

Good luck!
ouch.... time to RMA then and upgrade to rt-n56u lor... sad.gif
vickyrao
post Jun 9 2012, 08:40 PM

1,531 posts

anyone has a copy of the 2.0.2.5H firmware? can upload and share please?

i am having hell of problems with G FW. Getting fedup of this N13. Biggest regret to buy this. using it over a year now and at least have to reboot once a day on average. at times, twice or more.
vickyrao
post Jul 18 2012, 02:25 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Jul 13 2012, 09:53 AM)
Hi guys,
It seems like some of you here is facing problem with RT-N13U. I guess it's our responsibility to look into this problem and rectify it at the 'end-user' level at this point of time. We are looking at various possibilities to solve this problem. One of the solution we are considering is replacing it to a different model. We are calculating the cost. At the mean time, i would appreciate those who are facing problem kindly PM me your details as per below. I'll get our Networking Product Manager to contact those who are facing problems with RT-N13U for solution ASAP.

Name:
Lowyat.NET Nickname:
Model: RT-N13U
Date of Purchase:
Reseller: C-Zone/Viewnet
Issue:
Solution tried:
Email Address:
Contact Number:
Pm'ed already.

Added on July 18, 2012, 2:26 pm
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Jul 18 2012, 10:48 AM)
We have given an BETA firmware to those who have PMed me on their RT-N13U issue. Let's see if it helps.
Hi, could you share the BETA for me as well to try? I just PM'ed you about my router details.

This post has been edited by vickyrao: Jul 18 2012, 02:26 PM
vickyrao
post Jul 20 2012, 03:25 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(fookyuan @ Jul 18 2012, 08:40 PM)
testing the beta fw since 16th Jul 2012
Day1:
Right after upgrading the FW, need to reboot the router once, else unable to connect back to UniFi for Internet svc
Repeated file transfer, router slows down where transfer speed is about 1.xxMB/s
Tested with LINUX laptop, router hang when DHCP request came from the WiFi interface of the LINUX laptop
Total times rebooted: 3
Day2:
Continous use for normal downloading (not heavy, only 1 pc downloading)
Router hang again, rebooted. Normalize condition
Router went crazy again after about 8hrs, can't get IP (DHCP gone case) for LINUX laptop again
Total times rebooted: 2

Pls advise, don't seem like the FW is a fix
QUOTE(vergas @ Jul 18 2012, 10:08 PM)
This happens to me as well, but I think its no big deal. Currently after 1 reboot, seems ok for 1 day and 2 hours. Let see if it can pass the 1 week test. smile.gif
me too. same issue. router hang after less than 24 hours of usage. sad.gif
vickyrao
post Jul 26 2012, 03:15 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 21 2012, 09:58 AM)
I am using DD-WRT. I was told that there are some problems with 13U. Currently DD-WRT fixes disconnection issue , however you'll lose IPTV. It can't do IPTV routing , so if you don't mind losing IPTV and want stable Internet , get DD-WRT
bro.. i tried ddwrt but failed to get unifi to connect. is there a specific firmware to flash or method to flash?

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Jul 24 2012, 03:19 PM)
Dear Lowyat.NET users,
In regards to the RT-N13U sage, here is the update. We have forwarded all the feedback gathered to HQ. Therefore a debug device will be sent to ASUS Malaysia office to test run on RT-N13U. We are glad engage prasys to have it tested first. After that we are hoping a volunteer would help us to test it as well. We are truly sorry for a concrete solution. Hopefully after this test, we would be able to come out with one.
let me know if you want me to do testing. i dont mind. im kinda at my limit of of using this rt-n13u.
vickyrao
post Jul 27 2012, 02:09 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Jul 26 2012, 06:36 PM)
Dear Lowyat.NET users,
Here is some of the info needed, hopefully it's not too much to ask. And we deeply appreciate the patience from you guys. Thank you for giving us another chance.

For those who are facing 'hang' problem
1. Are you using USB Storage at the same time? If yes could you provide us the disk format (NTFS/FAT32/EXT3 or others) ?
2. Referring To STC post: “One thing I noticed that while DC the LAN lights flickers steadly but slightly...You have to really watch carefully for the difference while connected and not connected.”  - Is everyone facing this same syndrome as well?
PS: After prysys test the debug device, i'll pass it to STC to test it out. ETA of the device to arrive is tomorrow.
No i am not using any devices on it. Only 2 computers connected by cable and iptv on cable. the rest are on Wifi. USB is not in use.

Yes the LAN lights will flicker slightly and WIFI lights are stagnant. that is how i know it has HUNG.
vickyrao
post Jul 31 2012, 03:33 PM

1,531 posts

Any news from ASUS? How long is this gonna take?
vickyrao
post Aug 8 2012, 03:08 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(ipvoice @ Aug 7 2012, 06:13 PM)
HI ASUSmy & prasys

Kindly inform us on the result of the testing.
Yes i agree.. Please update us at least with something??
vickyrao
post Aug 9 2012, 03:11 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Aug 8 2012, 03:38 PM)
Hi all,
Sorry for the delay of update. Currently our disti, AVF is conducting a internal test on it. Perhaps next week i'll be able to pass it to prysys for his testing. Then STC.
However this is getting longer.... Can any other workaround be given by ASUS? Replacement unit or something else?
vickyrao
post Aug 20 2012, 05:12 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Aug 14 2012, 03:17 PM)
Just a short teaser on the upcoming plan for Lowyat.NET users who had problem with RT-N13U. Looks like the feedback session may not be taking place, therefore an "announcement" here. The debug tool we have is actually a tool to capture an error log file of the RT-N13U. So this tool need to be switched on for a long period for random freeze/hang cases. Whoever who are facing problem with RT-N13U will be provided this tool to generate the log file. Then our engineer will produce a specific firmware in reference to your error log file just for your usage. So this will be one-on-one basis solution.

Thanks for being a rep. However, i did not pay for this product to have this kind of troubleshooting and giving me custom firmwares specifically for me. Since there are just too many people with this issue, why not ASUS start treating this issue with high priority and get it resolved instead? If the product is a failure, replace a new product for us. I dont mind paying the difference for it! Cause even if i sell this router, no one is gonna buy it. Hence the reason why it is stocked up high in every IT outlet cause its not selling at all.

This is a complete waste of money. Is ASUS that ignorant to its consumers?

This post has been edited by vickyrao: Aug 20 2012, 05:13 PM
vickyrao
post Aug 21 2012, 02:02 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Aug 20 2012, 05:21 PM)
zzz I just bought this router
better go return it immediately and change to TPLink. Or high end Asus such at 56u or 66u. but its gonna cost alot more. cheaper and stable solution is TPlink.
vickyrao
post Aug 21 2012, 10:22 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Aug 21 2012, 05:07 PM)
Can replace one meh?
That shop is mainly sell Asus one so no TP Link
TP Link got one modem router only less than RM100
then topup budget and get n16 or n56 or if can n66..

i just ditched the stupid ASUS RT-N13 router and bought the RT-N66U for RM570... damn... but this one surely did fixed my problems! im so gonna create a public complain against ASUS and im gonna be needing everyones complain!
vickyrao
post Aug 22 2012, 01:11 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Aug 21 2012, 10:25 PM)
RM570!!!!
What problems did you encounter with RT-N13?
no doubt its pricey but worth every cent! N13 always hang. few times a day and ping spikes when playing online games. when router hangs, need to off and on.

QUOTE(ldragon @ Aug 21 2012, 10:29 PM)
vickyrao, RT-N66U for RM570. That is a good deal.

Latest firmware :
ASUS RT-N66U B1 Firmware Version 3.0.0.3.178

http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLan....B1%29&p=11&s=2
yea im already using the latest firmware. downloaded and installed as soon as i got it. and i followed klseet's guide on the tweaking and im having fun with it now.

rm570 was paid using card but cash could be cheaper. got this from c-zone. awesome price.
vickyrao
post Aug 22 2012, 11:32 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(andychucky @ Aug 22 2012, 05:23 PM)
Vicky, you have so much money. Spend us for a meal better. What for give to those ASUS fellows. Never treat us as customers properly. Treat us like Junk. Some more as us to do the test work for them. Unify line also cant afford to get one for the testing.
LOL... well i shared with my best friend. we are staying together. and he bought the Asus EA-N66!! Perfect device. I dont know why but when he did speed test with EA N66 he is getting 32Mbps on VIP 20. THis is so weird. is it Magic? i have no idea. i constantly run few times speed test and same test speed. now we are able to play WOW and D3 with superb stable ping. I have no complains ever on ASUS products. Never. They have never disappointed me even once. But this time on N13 they did and nothing is done by them. Very very disappointed with them.

QUOTE(prasys @ Aug 22 2012, 05:47 PM)
I hope that they come up with firmware. Waiting for ASUSMy to hand over RT13 with a fixed firmware or a firmware image or something so I can stress test and see . I've switched to N56 and kept my RT13 (The 5Ghz frequency is amazing , faster wifi transfer speed

Probably I think best bet for ASUSMY is to offer rebate or some sort , like trade in your RT13 and get RT16 or something better for additional RM 100 or RM 150 , I am quite sure people don't mind forking another RM 100 for a better router as someone suggested. Give them an option , so that its a win-win situation for all. Customers who dont want to fork out more , can use your fixed firmware and others who feel that they need more power or a better router can purchase the higher end one at affordable price

Thats my recommendation
ASUSmy has not been able to get us much responses. Though i do not blame him as he is helping us here. However ASUS themselves should take up all our complains and do something about this. If they cannot support the product whats the point. Anyway mine is off to the RMA already. I hope they can give us option to upgrade it with topup or something as i dont mind changing it for another piece of EA-N66 device. smile.gif

ASUSmy, can you please take this up to your management and tell them about us wanting an upgrade with us topping up? some sort of rebate please?

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Aug 22 2012, 09:40 PM)
*sighs
What should I do with my newly bought router...

Added on August 22, 2012, 9:41 pmI only use Streamyx 1 Mpbs
return it for anything else other than RT-N13 junk. Seriously anything else. Even TP-Link performs good and stable.
vickyrao
post Aug 23 2012, 01:51 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Aug 22 2012, 11:37 PM)
I'm trying to contact prysys but failed. Anyway, since i got to know one of my colleague stay very near to him, i have place the tools with my colleague. waiting for prysys to test it out. I'm really sorry for all the delay. I really feel bad about it.

you have to understand one thing that doing this is taking too long. and as a consumer, why are we supposed to be doing the troubleshooting and going through all the tough methods and also suffering and wasting our precious time? We paid for the device and you expect us to do that for ASUS? This is absurd. Please relay this to your management. I have submitted my device for RMA. Perhaps you can use that as a test bed and get the issue resolved. Or give us an alternative to ugprade our current N13.

Regards.
vickyrao
post Aug 23 2012, 02:14 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Aug 23 2012, 02:07 PM)
c-zone rt-n66u = rm570? I just bought one from them, list price rm639!? sad.gif anyways, hoping for no issues to setup unifi later.
LOL... Did you ask for discount? Ahahahaha... I did and he said best is RM570.... Even all IT also gives best price of RM570...

Price list is always higher one la...its normal...
vickyrao
post Sep 2 2012, 10:44 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Sep 2 2012, 05:41 PM)
So I guess the DIR-615 isnt that bad after all huh?
more stable than N13.

0.0263sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:26 PM