Home Networking N Router By Asus RTN-66U / Asus RTN-16 / RT-N56U, Asus RT-N Series Supported Unifi

klseet
post Jun 8 2011, 12:54 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(vergas @ Jun 8 2011, 11:52 AM)
... the best is when DD-WRT can do the Vlan tagging for Unifi properly...
Yes, it can support vlan.500 (internet only) nod.gif
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...id=81&Itemid=77

On my case a bit strange, after I create and tagged vlan2.500, re-booted again, I went back to the vlan tagging tab, somehow the vlan2.500 didn't show up on WAN Port Assignment.

I click on other tabs, wait for about 1min and go back, then it show up ! blink.gif

So I just proceed to assign it to WAN port and unbridged both vlan2 & vlan2.500, Saved-->Apply Settings --> Re-boot again

and it works without fail, noticed the interface is smooth & responsive, been torrenting almost 24hours heavily still kicking alive, could be due to the 2x ram size tongue.gif

However, the wifi transfer rate seem slightly lower than on stock firmware, not sure whether it's my setting issue or dd-wrt driver issue .... hmm.gif
klseet
post Jul 29 2011, 10:24 PM

130 posts

@firestonez

Please refer to [towards the bottom section]:
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...id=74&Itemid=70
for the custom Download Manager update.
klseet
post Jul 29 2011, 11:55 PM

130 posts

Did you plug-in a USB2 HDD before running the Download Master?
Exactly what error message are you getting after you click the "File --> Connect"?

I just did another test again with a 2.5" USB2 WD250G HDD:
klseet
post Jul 30 2011, 02:06 AM

130 posts

Hmmmm, strange thing, you may want to try:

1. "Factory Restore" the device and re-setup again, leave all those USB Application setup as default.

2. Re-format or clean up the HDD, especially those created by the device like:

3. Plug-in the HDD & reboot the device

4. Network browse and ensure can access the "\\<your device's IP>\AiDisk_a1\" drive, test copy file to ensure it's fully functional.

5. Then start Download Master (installed from the Custom Utility), click File --> Connect, should work.

If still not working, then try another HDD or even a 4G USB thumbdrive, remember to re-boot before plug-in.
klseet
post Jul 31 2011, 02:09 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Jul 30 2011, 10:36 AM)
Bro klseet any custom firmware for Asus RT-N16 ?
There is plan to do it but not sure the schedule yet.
I've confirmed with ASUS team and they are confident to do 3 digits vlan on Broadcom chip ! wink.gif

QUOTE(firestonez @ Jul 30 2011, 02:01 PM)
Already tried reflash, restore n also reset the router still got same problem....
Please try on other HDD, format it or clean up before plug-in & re-boot the device.

If all still fail, your last try may want to format the HDD to ext3 either using EASEUS (Windows-base) or
GParted (Linux).
klseet
post Aug 2 2011, 10:18 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Jul 31 2011, 09:17 AM)
Bro something wrong with DDNS on Asustek RTN-56U it seems to be not working and updating the DDNS ?

The log doesn't show any updates
May I know are you using standard or custom firmware for UniFi?

I just did some testes this 2 days on the latest custom firmware RT-N56U_1.0.1.4o (around middle section with 2Aug2011 date) :
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...id=85&Itemid=80

USB2 (both NTFS & ext3)+Download Master (current standard Utility), torrent download & DDNS all good. nod.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Aug 2 2011, 10:33 PM
klseet
post Sep 23 2011, 10:01 PM

130 posts

RT-N16 - UniFi Beta Firmware is now available, thanks to ASUS team ! rclxms.gif
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...=109&Itemid=100

Just complete 18 hours heavy torrenting test on this beast sweat.gif :
- no d/c at all
- page-loading also seem to be faster
- the Broadcom wifi is damn fast & stable, so far the best transfer rate I ever get on my current laptop!
- online xbox360 game server loading/searching also seem to be faster
Overall I'm very happy & satisfied with is Broadcom gigabit device !

This time I include the default setup file to save some time since most click require re-start ....
So just restore it, change your PPPoE, SSID+password, router's password will do, enjoy!

For RT-N13U-B1, been getting few emails about the d/c issue on latest firmware, which I don't have such issue based on my home HG850a & office HG655a.

Anywhere, just pull it out from store room again, now running on it with a USB Seagate 640GB on it, later will heavy torrent it before I go sleep, will see how it goes tomorrow morning.
klseet
post Sep 24 2011, 12:21 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 23 2011, 10:01 PM)
..Anywhere, just pull it out from store room again, now running on it with a USB Seagate 640GB on it, later will heavy torrent it before I go sleep, will see how it goes tomorrow morning.
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...=110&Itemid=101

There is no d/c, re-boot or hang, the device survived on my overnight "torturing" tongue.gif

And the other unit, which I've configured as AP with FTP sharing only, been running for >10 days without any hang/re-boot.

Since there is no detail provided and I can't simulate the "hang" situation, you may want to self diagnose/trouble-shoot some of the following area :

- did you ever login to change/mess around with the BTU/VDSL2? (I personally won't play around with it.)
- is the line really stable? did you often encounter interruption on the BTU/VDSL2 side?
(try to use stock to re-confirm this, if yes, contact TM to ensure the line is stable)
- did the flash went well?
- setup correctly?
- what exactly the action/things you did right before the hang?
- when hang, can still access via LAN cable?
... etc ... etc ...

Try to test 1 thing at a time, from basic IPTV, internet, USB .... to nail down the exact area/action right before the hang.

Good luck!
klseet
post Sep 24 2011, 01:36 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(dchk @ Sep 24 2011, 12:33 PM)
klseet,

which unit are you referring to as AP mode with FTP sharing? Is that RT-N16?

It's RT-N13U-B1, I have 2 of them.
klseet
post Oct 1 2011, 12:05 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(dchk @ Sep 24 2011, 01:41 PM)
... when I tried to setup DDNS ...
QUOTE(natzakaria @ Sep 29 2011, 11:03 AM)
Can someone advise is the DDNS feature working after flashing?...
I've just tested DDNS function on all the 3 units with latest custom firmware on UniFi:
RT-N13U-B1
RT-N56U
RT-N16

Both ASUS & DynDNS (free) working without any problem. nod.gif

I'm not sure about the standard / non-UniFi firmware, I can't use it either since I only have UniFi line.

QUOTE(Slaiman @ Sep 30 2011, 04:54 PM)
... I can access the IpTv but  I cannot access the internet from the router...
Got your email & just replied, likely you've entered the PPPoE user Id & password wrongly, take note it's case sensitive.

This post has been edited by klseet: Oct 1 2011, 12:05 AM
klseet
post Oct 2 2011, 12:55 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Protoss-Zealot @ Oct 1 2011, 11:54 AM)
..i'm wondering is it too stress to handle 7 wifi device...
I tested & "tortured" the unit for 2 days, connected about 10~15 devices, mixture of NASs, PCs, laptops, MediaPlayers, xbox360, LED TV, mobile phones, etc ....
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...=110&Itemid=101

No problem for me smile.gif

QUOTE(Slaiman @ Oct 1 2011, 02:41 PM)
...thanks alot for the info and the email smile.gif..
You are welcome, enjoy your new toy & UniFi ! smile.gif

QUOTE(selvenz @ Oct 1 2011, 03:07 PM)
N16 or n56 which would you guys recommend.
Actually I like both ! laugh.gif

Apart all other things being equal, I like RT-N56U :
- the design drool.gif
- dual-band

I like RT-N16 :
- strong signal & excellent transfer rate (on 2.4 spectrum) flex.gif
- good ventilation

Both are excellent, surely no regret nod.gif

Just my personal view, you may need to research more base on your requirement+setup+budget.
Whatever the decision, bite the bullet & never look back, enjoy every bit of it ! smile.gif
klseet
post Oct 3 2011, 01:40 AM

130 posts

@kennji,

Under the WAN setup, scroll to to the bottom, you should see some ISP-specific setting:

Both UniFi & SingTel's exStream vlan tagging has been hard-coded for user ease of selection, whereas the Manual mode is user-definable vlan entry for other vlan-tagged services.

For the RT-N16 custom utility download manager, I've done the preliminary test, still waiting for ASUS team to refine further before releasing, stay tuned for update.

Enjoy your new toy & UniFi ! laugh.gif

@selvenz,

Can't get your eyes off the back-diamond ler ! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Oct 3 2011, 01:44 AM
klseet
post Oct 13 2011, 02:36 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(mamasos @ Oct 10 2011, 09:37 AM)
After i installed the beta unifi firmware  for RT16, i can't used the download manager. anyone got this issue?
Just uploaded the custom utility for RT-N16 HERE

Again, like the stock standard also, the current ASUS DM may not work on all torrents since it's not truly a torrent client.

QUOTE(sdp75 @ Oct 10 2011, 11:31 AM)
.... router was working fine for the last 1 months but since yesterday, it bricked ..
... the warranty was void when i flashed it with the beta ...
Strange issue, sound like device issue....
No worry, warranty is still covered, all those custom firmware are from ASUS directly!

Try another clean flash again, then restore the default setup file and test again.
If still problem, then you may want to RMA with ASUS.

QUOTE(ChiFoong. @ Oct 11 2011, 10:49 PM)
Anyone got a decent and easy to use guide for ASUS RT-N13u ? for the firmware 8.22.2.3 ?
To make it easier, I made the following UniFi default config file:
RT-N13U.RB_8.22.2.3
RT-N56U-8.1.1.4
RT-N16_9.22.2.37

Read the "ReadMe" file first !
klseet
post Oct 13 2011, 02:39 AM

130 posts

Upcoming ASUS new products & new UI !! brows.gif
klseet
post Oct 13 2011, 03:41 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(mamasos @ Oct 13 2011, 09:12 AM)
my asus ddns is not working, ...
If you check few pages before, I've tested the DDNS on all 3 units without any problem:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry45694910

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Oct 13 2011, 07:29 AM)
Bro, could you adv. which one ...
... I'm having difficulties issue accessing router but was half solved the problem aft5er purchase the antenna ...
Which 1 it's really depends on your requirement+setup+budget, check out & compare features here:
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...id=42&Itemid=39

For me, the RT-N13U-B1 is more suitable for general normal usage, whereas RT-N56U & RT-N16 is different league, more suitable for heavy usage, between this 2 I would say:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry45712580

Btw, you mean you change the stock DIR-615 antenna? How? blink.gif

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Oct 13 2011, 11:28 AM)
... Im having connection issue with my Samsung Galaxy S due to drop speed and connection issue...
Wifi thing very complicated ....
- try to Google & use Xirrus to check those wifi around you
- always set 5 channel away from those few strongest around you
- channel width = 20MHz
- wifi security = WPA/WPA2-Auto with AES+TKIP for maximum compatiblity
klseet
post Oct 14 2011, 02:23 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Oct 13 2011, 06:44 PM)
How do you dump the config file?
Where do I apply it to?
It's under "Administration-->Restore/Save/Upload Setting" section

Restore = Restore the device back to default (must do this BEFORE & AFTER flashing the firmware)
Save = Save config file
Upload = Upload config file

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Oct 13 2011, 09:23 PM)
ok i have a rt-n16 and using the university student pack rm88 for 4mb line...is it ok i use the custom firmware unifi for my rt-n16?
No you can't, the UniFi custom firmware is for UniFi only.

This post has been edited by klseet: Oct 14 2011, 02:24 AM
klseet
post Oct 15 2011, 01:14 AM

130 posts

@vergas
I have to admit that the current DownloadManager is a bit cacat, not really a P2P client....

I did mention/suggest/request to ASUS team, they are aware of this, their engineer are revamping the whole DM, will look something like this:
even got mobile version! brows.gif

So yes, P2P is coming !! drool.gif

@whateva2k
Waliao, you over-praised me la ... blush.gif
I'm learning (and still) from many more even greatest out there, I'm merely doing my little part to share only.... laugh.gif

The last I heard the RT-N66 should be here around Dec'11, custom UniFi firmware is planned 1 or 2 months after it.
The ASUS team is extremely busy, need to queue-up our request ... sweat.gif

To achieve maximum 5GHz throughput, should get those 802.11n type, set N-only with WPA2 + AES

Next, RT-N12 (Broadcom again yeah!) custom UniFi firmware planned next month Nov'11 wink.gif
klseet
post Oct 16 2011, 01:06 AM

130 posts

@unifiwish

Er, I no longer use IE, almost forgot how to spell it tongue.gif
Anywhere, I just check my current Win7Pro 32 & 64 bit computer, I only have IE8, no problem loading my site smile.gif

@vergas

Roughly how many days it hang?
Btw, did you use the QoS function?

Guess I have to pull out and find time to test again .... sweat.gif

klseet
post Oct 22 2011, 11:22 AM

130 posts

RT-N13U-B1 users

Ok, I tried few rounds and I managed to get a "hang" tongue.gif

Mostly I use PC wired for torrenting, after going through those emails complaints, I noticed some common hang situation on torrenting through wifi.

So I tested torrenting on an old laptop (with LinuxMint) wirelessly, day 1 was ok, but day 2 it hang, IPTV also won't work, LED still lights-on when insert cat cable, but router inaccessible even on wired.

I'm not technical engineer, not really sure what went wrong, looks the WAN interface could be broken when torrent intensively through wifi, something goes wrong between WAN-->wifi interfaces on heavy traffic.

Since I can't get any System Log, I've explained the situation to ASUS team, still waiting for response, hopefully they can simulate the hang and perhaps another fix sweat.gif

Will update further once I get reply.

RT-N56U users

Fyi, there is another firmware release version 1.0.1.7c :
http://my.asus.com/Networks/Wireless_Route...TN56U/#download

I've tested, UI is even more responsive now, seem stable built version now. smile.gif

I've also uploaded the default UniFi setup config file HERE

Always remember clean flash:
- Factory Restore both BEFORE & AFTER flashing the firmware
- only connect LAN 2/3 wired during flashing & setup process, NO WAN cable !

Please note there is also a new utility (at the bottom section of the same page) for this version.
Again, don't expect the current Download Manager to behave like BT client, hopefully the new UI and DM will settle this once and for all !

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Oct 21 2011, 06:48 AM)
... I just bought Asus N56U and Linksys AE1000 yesterday. ...
I have a small house, double storey 20x70 linked. But looks like the 5GHz signal is not strong enough to travel between 1 floor...
So I can't use the 5GHz, the one and only reason why I bought N56U.  blink.gif  rclxub.gif  cry.gif  doh.gif  smile.gif  tongue.gif ....
What's your setup?

The 5GHz might not be strong enough to transmit far distance, but definitely it's good enough to handle a double storey house, I have no problem on my laptop built-in Intel AGN5100, even upstairs into the room into the washroom with 2 layer of wall, still got 2~3 bars.

I'm really sure about the AE1000, please find out whether it's pure-N. Try to play around with this settings first:
Wireless mode=N
Channel bandwidth=20MHz
Channel=(start with the lowest 36 first)
For Authentication & Encryption:
- start with WPA-Auto-Personal with AES+TKIP first
- if works, then WPA2+AES for pure-N

You may also try the latest firmware (above mentioned), also can consider the default config file.

QUOTE(RageWeaver @ Oct 19 2011, 01:34 AM)
..So bro klseet, which one u reco for me? 1 wired and 1 wireless most of the time(sometimes 2 wireless,mobile phone).
Will RT-13U be the most suitable for me?
Might wana check this thread as well
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry46096567
I was reading both your PMs and those links, walioa, it seem lots of posts and I really have hard time to read through all ler .... sweat.gif

If I read you correctly, your main concern is QoS, then you may consider the TL-WR841ND since it offer better QoS function at very affordable price.

klseet
post Oct 23 2011, 01:11 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(vergas @ Oct 22 2011, 07:07 PM)
... downgrade to older firmware the RT-N13U.RB_2.0.2.0_0531w, now close to 5 days without hang.
Did you try torrenting over wifi with the older firmware?
If ok, then ASUS might have added something on WAN/wifi interface on the 8x version ......

QUOTE(RageWeaver @ Oct 23 2011, 12:00 AM)
...And,I can buy different antenna for this router(if wifi signal is not strong enuf) since it is detachable,right?
You mean like THIS ! tongue.gif

Unless you have big house and tick wall, otherwise I think the stock antenna is good enough la ....

Ooops, out of topic liao, hope Mod/TS don't mind ... sweat.gif

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Oct 23 2011, 08:23 AM)
... I think AE1000 is fine, because its the same thing with my Playbook and iPad....
....as I walk upstairs, the connection bar drops ....

.... straight line of sight distance between my AE1000 and N56U is around 5.5 meter (this is pretty accurate as I used a laser rangefinder) ....
Try test to put the device upwards (stand), away from any electrical items, on higher level (say on top of a cabinet) free of metal/wall blocking, see whether the 5GHz signal improve or not.

Also try to use Xirrus to check other wifi around you, always keep 5 channels away from those few closest to you.

If result still the same even with other 5GHz adapter, then you might need to call or RMA with ASUS. smile.gif

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Oct 23 2011, 08:23 AM)
Isn't Beta version 8.1.1.4 newer than 1.0.1.7c?
Yes, I've tested it on UniFi and it's working fine ! nod.gif

Actually I was Googling & read some Singapore forum HERE and notice the latest is 1.0.1.7c

Also I remember I didn't see this the last time I visited ASUS official site, not sure why the date is different ... unsure.gif

0.0307sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:18 PM