125 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk

StereophileDream
post Oct 12 2010, 01:39 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(StereophileDream @ Oct 12 2010, 11:01 AM)
Hi,is anyone know that the exact model number and price for F4EG 1.5TB and 2TB?
Cz I found out that for 1.5TB there is currently F2,F3,F4?,in the market.Dun like to buy an obsolete model with the 'latest'price.
QUOTE(8tvt @ Oct 12 2010, 11:13 AM)
u can always check the model no. for the latest..
Can u please list the exact model no for F4EG 1.5 and 2TB? notworthy.gif
There are shops out there that mix F2,F3,F4 and sell it together.Buy HDD like go through a 'lucky draw'.SO cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
8tvt
post Oct 12 2010, 01:52 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

ur plain lucky i not ask u to google around..

HD155UI
Spinpoint F4EG
capacity : 1.5TB
interface : Serial ATA 3.0 Gbps
buffer memory : 32 MB

HD204UI
Spinpoint F4EG
capacity : 2TB

now jot down the model no. for the sake of buying the correct HD..
wildwestgoh
post Oct 12 2010, 02:30 PM

2,215 posts

At least once a day, people will ask for the model number LOL... quite sad, now we just need to pin one thread for all this FAQ... LMAO...
StereophileDream
post Oct 12 2010, 06:15 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Oct 12 2010, 01:52 PM)
ur plain lucky i not ask u to google around..

HD155UI
Spinpoint F4EG
capacity : 1.5TB

HD204UI
Spinpoint F4EG
capacity : 2TB

now jot down the model no. for the sake of buying the correct HD..
Thanks bro!Sorry for asking this question repeatedly. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Will go and buy the HDD soon.Did you got any idea on NAS? tongue.gif
nles
post Oct 12 2010, 06:16 PM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

I'm looking to buy a external 2TB Hdd to store my media files. Don't want to buy internal 1, as my PC on 24/7 later HDD lifespan die very fast.

Need some recommendation, search at the web, alot were saying WD HDD comes with a lot of bloatware and cant be removed, so WD is out of question.

Was wondering is Samsung external reliable or not since u guys have good comment on the internal 1.

Either Samsung, Seagate or Custom one. (don't feel like getting buffalo, I have 1 external Buffalo 500gb hdd and it's not good)
jchue73
post Oct 12 2010, 06:41 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(StereophileDream @ Oct 12 2010, 06:15 PM)
Thanks bro!Sorry for asking this question repeatedly. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Will go and buy the HDD soon.Did you got any idea on NAS? tongue.gif
What about NAS? How many are you gonna buy? drool.gif

Added on October 12, 2010, 6:41 pm
QUOTE(nles @ Oct 12 2010, 06:16 PM)
I'm looking to buy a external 2TB Hdd to store my media files. Don't want to buy internal 1, as my PC on 24/7 later HDD lifespan die very fast.

Need some recommendation, search at the web, alot were saying WD HDD comes with a lot of bloatware and cant be removed, so WD is out of question.

Was wondering is Samsung external reliable or not since u guys have good comment on the internal 1.

Either Samsung, Seagate or Custom one. (don't feel like getting buffalo, I have 1 external Buffalo 500gb hdd and it's not good)
Just get a custom one. Get your own hardisk and the external casing that you like.

Added on October 12, 2010, 6:42 pm
QUOTE(everling @ Oct 12 2010, 01:39 PM)
That's a strange benchmark. Instead of behaving like HDDs, it looks somewhat like SSDs in the way it crosses the graph. I would have thought it was some bottleneck, but it doesn't seem to be that way.  hmm.gif
That is what you call short-stroking the hardisk. Build your RAID 0 partition to only include the first 10% portion of the hardisk.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Oct 12 2010, 06:42 PM
everling
post Oct 12 2010, 10:33 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 12 2010, 06:41 PM)
That is what you call short-stroking the hardisk. Build your RAID 0 partition to only include the first 10% portion of the hardisk.
Oh! Good catch there!

Short stoking a RAID-0 to 20% of the total capacity. That probably wasn't what nam3le5s had in mind. doh.gif
dlwl
post Oct 12 2010, 10:55 PM

4,789 posts

if i understand it correctly, that means it's something like RAID-ing 2 partitions from 2 different HDDs, instead of RAID-ing the whole HDD?
everling
post Oct 12 2010, 11:29 PM

3,591 posts

No. Short-stoking involves absolutely ignoring the remainder. If you short-stoke to 20%, the remaining 80% is inaccessible on the software level.

I really don't see the point of short-stoking when partitioning should work just as well and you get to keep 100% of the capacity.
dlwl
post Oct 12 2010, 11:34 PM

4,789 posts

wow, now that you've mentioned, I don't really see a point in doing that either, unless for benchmarking purposes? hmm.gif

jchue73
post Oct 13 2010, 09:42 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Oct 12 2010, 11:34 PM)
wow, now that you've mentioned, I don't really see a point in doing that either, unless for benchmarking purposes? hmm.gif
Errr... Does not mean that you short stroke the hardisk and render the remaining partitions useless... rolleyes.gif Might as well get SSD then.

You can still partition the remaining of the hardisk for normal data to RAID 0, RAID 1 or even RAID 5 if you have 3 or more hardisk. The boot partition containing important programs and OS is the one you want to short stroke.
Sata_Cable
post Oct 13 2010, 02:09 PM

114 posts

Hahaha..4 of my samsung 1 TB and 500GB F3 is already 7 months and 3 days..hopefully can survived as long as it can..
StereophileDream
post Oct 13 2010, 02:43 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 12 2010, 06:41 PM)
What about NAS? How many are you gonna buy?  drool.gif

Added on October 12, 2010, 6:41 pm

Just get a custom one. Get your own hardisk and the external casing that you like.

Added on October 12, 2010, 6:42 pm

Considering of buy a whole new NAS(maybe not price wise)or turning my acient core 2 into a File server better .Doesn't have any idea yet.Btw,HDD price drop like crazy,I think maybe 2TB F4EG will drop below RM250 by year end. hmm.gif Anyway will gotta get 1 2TB(if the price below RM300)in 2 weeks time.
jinaun
post Oct 13 2010, 03:29 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(StereophileDream @ Oct 13 2010, 02:43 PM)
Considering of buy a whole new NAS(maybe not price wise)or turning my acient core 2 into a File server better .Doesn't have any idea yet.Btw,HDD price drop like crazy,I think maybe 2TB F4EG will drop below RM250 by year end.  hmm.gif Anyway will gotta get 1 2TB(if the price below RM300)in 2 weeks time.
2TB F4EG is now oledi RM290
saturn85
post Oct 13 2010, 04:39 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(Sata_Cable @ Oct 13 2010, 02:09 PM)
Hahaha..4 of my samsung 1 TB and 500GB F3 is already 7 months and 3 days..hopefully can survived as long as it can..
haha, good luck.
my samsung spinpoint f3 500gb already got bad blocks. sweat.gif
karhoe
post Oct 13 2010, 05:29 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Oct 13 2010, 04:39 PM)
haha, good luck.
my samsung spinpoint f3 500gb already got bad blocks. sweat.gif
Bad blocks covered under warranty anot
everling
post Oct 13 2010, 06:11 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 13 2010, 09:42 AM)
Errr... Does not mean that you short stroke the hardisk and render the remaining partitions useless...  rolleyes.gif Might as well get SSD then.

You can still partition the remaining of the hardisk for normal data to RAID 0, RAID 1 or even RAID 5 if you have 3 or more hardisk. The boot partition containing important programs and OS is the one you want to short stroke.
No, you want to create an OS partition, not crippling a HDD by short stroking it.

Here is the screenshot that started this discussion.
QUOTE(shawnlut @ Oct 12 2010, 12:28 AM)
Samsung F3 1TB RAID 0 =
[attachmentid=1828887]
My initial impression that this was a 20% short stroke was wrong. jchue73 was right by saying 10%.

10% of RAID-0 1TB x 2 = ~200GB.

Here is my screenshot of my Samsung F3 1TB. This benchmark is artificially short stroked to 10% by HD Tune. I did not actually used short stroking and I still have access to all 1TB of my HDD.

Ignoring the outlying random access times (which caused the 10.6ms access time), my benchmark of my not short stroked HDD is more or less the same as a short stroked HDD. In effect, people who are short stroking their HDDs instead of properly partitioning their HDDs are wasting their money by throwing away perfectly usable capacity.
saturn85
post Oct 13 2010, 06:18 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Oct 13 2010, 05:29 PM)
Bad blocks covered under warranty anot
i think cover by warranty. unsure.gif
jchue73
post Oct 13 2010, 07:59 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Oct 13 2010, 06:11 PM)
No, you want to create an OS partition, not crippling a HDD by short stroking it.

Here is the screenshot that started this discussion.

My initial impression that this was a 20% short stroke was wrong. jchue73 was right by saying 10%.

10% of RAID-0 1TB x 2 = ~200GB.

Here is my screenshot of my Samsung F3 1TB. This benchmark is artificially short stroked to 10% by HD Tune. I did not actually used short stroking and I still have access to all 1TB of my HDD.

Ignoring the outlying random access times (which caused the 10.6ms access time), my benchmark of my not short stroked HDD is more or less the same as a short stroked HDD. In effect, people who are short stroking their HDDs instead of properly partitioning their HDDs are wasting their money by throwing away perfectly usable capacity.
Sorry but I think you need to read more about short stroking a hardisk. I'll repeat that it does not involve crippling a hardisk or wasting money by throwing away usable capacity.

I had 3 Samsung F1 750GB hardisk and created a 300GB boot OS partition for RAID 0. The balance left over partitions were created in RAID 5 set that gave me a 1.3TB partition (650GB from the total theoretical balance of 1950GB was used for parity). All this is done with Intel's ICH10R chipset. I fully utilised the space on the 3 hardisk. No money or space wasted by short stroking the 3 hardisk. whistling.gif
everling
post Oct 13 2010, 09:06 PM

3,591 posts

Unless I'm mistaken, then you are not short stroking the HDDs or the RAID array.

This post has been edited by everling: Oct 13 2010, 09:08 PM

125 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:34 AM