All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk
StereophileDream
Jun 25 2010, 11:21 PM
Hello,if the Samsung F3 is out of stock when I go to LYP next week,what must I do?Wait for the newer version(is there any?)to release or move to other brand?Since the Samsung is quite value for money if wanna use for downloading and storing data.
StereophileDream
Jun 25 2010, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(mitodna @ Jun 25 2010, 11:29 PM) Which model are you looking? 1TB or 1.5TB/2TB EcoGreen series? Try Compu-zone.com (Czone) I think will try to get the best value in price per GB.Since I will just used it to download and store data.Will go LYP to find out which shop offer the best deal before decided on it.
StereophileDream
Aug 23 2010, 12:17 AM
Hello,which capacity HDD is worth buying now?Is that rational to buy a 1TB than a 1.5TB HDD fill it up and wait for the HDD price to drop further before purchasing a bigger capacity HDD? What is the price for 1TB and 1.5TB HDD now,cz the price list doesn't update for sometimes.
StereophileDream
Aug 23 2010, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(malayneum @ Aug 23 2010, 09:57 PM) just buy 1.5TB now. Its running scarce in lowyat now. Last months its RM270+, now its RM230. Im sure they will stop production soon. I think the price for 1.5TB back in July is around RM280 for Samsung F2.How is the price for 1TB and 1.5TB for those HDD manufacture,the price list seem like outdated. This post has been edited by StereophileDream: Aug 23 2010, 11:14 PM
StereophileDream
Aug 24 2010, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(n3w @ Aug 24 2010, 11:07 AM) The bigger is always the better. Invest in 2TB. Got my 2tb seagate external last Nov. Now it's like, left 300+g. You'll never know when you will run out of space! I'm just waiting for the 2TB to breach lesser than 300 bucks mark before getting one for backup purposes. Hahaha,what is the extact price for now?But my opinion is maybe 1.5TB more worthwhile in price/GB.I only want to use the new HDD in my 'toaster' to store my content.What is the extact price for the HDD now? Maybe will buy a 1TB now,cz i think the price ll drop in a very short time,then I will buy a HDD with a bigger capacity.
StereophileDream
Aug 24 2010, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(n3w @ Aug 24 2010, 05:35 PM) I got my seagate freeagent 1tb around 315 bucks end of last year. Now should be much, much lesser. Better get the 2TB imo. More space. And registering at the website does not take long, and you'll automatically get 5 years warranty.  Wow,which brand did you mention as after register ll automatically get 5 years warranty? Anyway,did you know the exact price for 1TB,1.5TB,2TB now?I think the gap between 1.5TB and 2TB is around RM100 at the moment,dun think is worth to buy it.
StereophileDream
Aug 28 2010, 11:45 PM
Did,Seagate and WD got any news on their pricing for HDD?Seem like their product price are higher than others.
StereophileDream
Aug 30 2010, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 30 2010, 09:27 AM) Samsung F3 2tb i would suggest. It's 5400 rpm but don't let it's spindle speed fool you. It can walk the walk with the other 2tb 7200rpm drives out there Uses less watts, less noise and generates less heat as well, yet price if cheap per gig and performance almost the same as the 2tb 7200rpm drives. Whats not to like  I am using for storage purposes. If you want for your OS, i would suggest using a single SSD for OS, and use the samsung for storage. @ahsiah Thanks but i don't think i can wait. My QNAP 659 just arrived in Malaysia. It may be sent to me today, so seems i will have to settle for the Samsung 2tb F3 :/ oh well. Wow,I thought those Samsung 1.5TB and 2TB out there is just F2 version.Mind to share the model no. and price for F3 1.5 and 2TB? Is that it is value for money compared to WD 1.5 and 2TB since I just wanna use it on my 'toaster'.
StereophileDream
Aug 31 2010, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 31 2010, 08:02 AM) SAMSUNG HD203WI It's a 2tb 5400 rpm 32mb cache drive using 4 platter. The Samsung F4 coming out in September 2010 is 3 platter, uses less watts, and uses safer ROHS compliant materials. I installed 4 of the Samsung F3 HD203WI into my QNAP 659 as EXT4 raid5. No problems even after doing smart disk complete test :} You can forget 1.5tb, and just get the Samsung hd i got. Best bang for buck and good performer for storage. Wow,best bang for buck?I thought is 1.5TB maybe is most value in terms of price/GB.  ,maybe just buy 1TB and consume all the space and wait for F4,is it a better idea?
StereophileDream
Sep 2 2010, 06:54 PM
yeah definately. Unfortunately for me, i am beta testing a new QNAP model, so i needed to get the drives urgently. But i'm not too sad because it's still a good drive  [/quote] O,so you just bought the 2TB?Is that rasional to creat a NAS as a personal file library? QUOTE(malayneum @ Sep 2 2010, 06:13 AM) HD203WI is actually an F2 because of the 5400rpm. but Samsung simply named it as F3. Bought Samsung 1.5TB that comes with the model no of HD154UI,what version is this HDD(F2,F3).How many platters use?The shopkepper told me is the 'latest 'batch of Samsung 1.5TBćHDD.
StereophileDream
Sep 3 2010, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(fariz @ Sep 2 2010, 08:33 PM) Sad,cause I saw HD153WI in other shop that day,the shop also got HD154UI.But the shopkeeper told me that the HD154UI is the latest equal as HD153WI as a F3 Eco Green.Really really sad.
StereophileDream
Sep 3 2010, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Sep 3 2010, 03:58 PM) Is the salesman stupid? Or does he try to cheat? HD153UI is F2EG. Well actually it's almost the same, but performance and price wise, F3EG is higher. HD154UI is F2EG?That means HD153WI is F3EG ,
StereophileDream
Sep 27 2010, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Sep 26 2010, 06:50 PM) Hello,what is the exact model for Samsung 2TB F4EG?Is there any 1.5TB F4EG and what is the model?
StereophileDream
Oct 12 2010, 11:01 AM
Hi,is anyone know that the exact model number and price for F4EG 1.5TB and 2TB? Cz I found out that for 1.5TB there is currently F2,F3,F4?,in the market.Dun like to buy an obsolete model with the 'latest'price.
StereophileDream
Oct 12 2010, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(StereophileDream @ Oct 12 2010, 11:01 AM) Hi,is anyone know that the exact model number and price for F4EG 1.5TB and 2TB? Cz I found out that for 1.5TB there is currently F2,F3,F4?,in the market.Dun like to buy an obsolete model with the 'latest'price. QUOTE(8tvt @ Oct 12 2010, 11:13 AM) u can always check the model no. for the latest.. Can u please list the exact model no for F4EG 1.5 and 2TB? There are shops out there that mix F2,F3,F4 and sell it together.Buy HDD like go through a 'lucky draw'.SO
StereophileDream
Oct 12 2010, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Oct 12 2010, 01:52 PM) ur plain lucky i not ask u to google around.. HD155UISpinpoint F4EG capacity : 1.5TB interface : Serial ATA 3.0 Gbps buffer memory : 32 MB HD204UISpinpoint F4EG capacity : 2TB interface : Serial ATA 3.0 Gbps buffer memory : 32 MB now jot down the model no. for the sake of buying the correct HD.. Thanks bro!Sorry for asking this question repeatedly. Will go and buy the HDD soon.Did you got any idea on NAS?
StereophileDream
Oct 13 2010, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 12 2010, 06:41 PM) What about NAS? How many are you gonna buy?  Added on October 12, 2010, 6:41 pmJust get a custom one. Get your own hardisk and the external casing that you like. Added on October 12, 2010, 6:42 pmThat is what you call short-stroking the hardisk. Build your RAID 0 partition to only include the first 10% portion of the hardisk. Considering of buy a whole new NAS(maybe not price wise)or turning my acient core 2 into a File server better .Doesn't have any idea yet.Btw,HDD price drop like crazy,I think maybe 2TB F4EG will drop below RM250 by year end.  Anyway will gotta get 1 2TB(if the price below RM300)in 2 weeks time.
StereophileDream
Oct 18 2010, 02:54 AM
QUOTE(ycs @ Oct 17 2010, 03:30 PM) thanks, got one just now and its F4 one ...  The price is still RM290?Did they mix F3 and F4 and sell it together?
StereophileDream
Oct 18 2010, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 18 2010, 04:23 PM) Haha, I asked 2 times before on 2 shops. Shop 1, Sales person A I: what is the model for this samsung HDD in the price list A: This is the lastest model I: I want to know the exact model code A: 1TB 1: err... never mind. Clearly wasting time in asking, just ask A to bring out and see the HDD directly myself. Shop 2, Sales person B I: What is this samsung model B: Ecogreen I: I know it is ecogreen, I want to know its exact model no. B: Samsung Ecogreen 1TB. I: ....... QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 18 2010, 05:19 PM) Sometimes even after getting replies from the sales person, I would still insist on seeing the model number of the hardisk myself to double confirm. In Malaysia, you need to do homework first on what you want to buy. Very rarely can you expect the sales person to educate you. This is always the case in many parts of the world especially Malaysia.Better try to figure out the model and check yourself(Most shops mix up and sell).
StereophileDream
Oct 27 2010, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(jinaun @ Oct 27 2010, 01:58 PM) guys.. just found out today 2TB F4EG has risen to RM315 Which shop did you ask from?The price list sometimes update once a month,  .Gonna buy 1 next week,if the price rise,maybe force to buy 1.5TB version.Which model of "Hybrid" HDD sold in LYP?