144 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Astro B.yond V5.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

willkso
post Jun 2 2010, 03:31 AM

993 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jun 2 2010, 02:13 AM)
damn... tested with thumbdrives... doesnt work... it first checks the total disk space before continue doing anything else.... sigh... looks like im gonna get myself the WD hdd lol
I guess that's because it reserve 100GB for VOD function..
AjkR06
post Jun 2 2010, 06:45 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

Hmm.. one other question, with Byond PVR, can I extend the recording. Like this, if the program ends on 10.00pm based on EPG, but I wanna to extend that to 10.10pm.., can or not? Max can do like that.... so, I wonder if Byond PVR can do it or not. Sorry if I ask the noob question. Already read the PVR FAQ, but it didn't state any about that... notworthy.gif
rayfoo
post Jun 2 2010, 06:52 AM

2,562 posts

look again in the FAQ tongue.gif, there's a start & end recording extension function smile.gif

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jun 2 2010, 06:45 AM)
Hmm.. one other question, with Byond PVR, can I extend the recording. Like this, if the program ends on 10.00pm based on EPG, but I wanna to extend that to 10.10pm.., can or not? Max can do like that.... so, I wonder if Byond PVR can do it or not. Sorry if I ask the noob question. Already read the PVR FAQ, but it didn't state any about that... notworthy.gif
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 07:20 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Jun 2 2010, 02:24 AM)
which part of the below post don't you understand?
WHAT???!! where's the funding go?
shakehead.gif  ok, that's it... the lot of you better look for new jobs next week.

wink.gif

you just KNOW some people are going to complain about this  vmad.gif
you can be sure od that Justin! We Malaysians like to complain. Looking at what is happening, you beeter go apply for a job in MCMC they will need more people. biggrin.gif
stasio
post Jun 2 2010, 07:31 AM

18,503 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jun 1 2010, 07:31 PM)
anyone have firmware 2.0 yet?
Yeah,today morning updated to 2.0.0.001 May 15 2010
g400g400
post Jun 2 2010, 07:50 AM

"HiTech Gadget Lover"
1,381 posts

astro pvr will be more useful, watch one channel and record the other. if using ext. hdd, which can only record the current channel u watching then no point in paying the rm5, just use the video out to record using PC via encorder. Just my 2 sen worth.. smile.gif

Par@dox
post Jun 2 2010, 08:10 AM

Gantzer
1,222 posts

QUOTE(Par@dox @ Jun 1 2010, 09:39 PM)
just got my astro byond installed today... when the installer was here, everything was working fine.. signal strength 201..

but when i tried out the byond just now.. the decoder kept hanging.. reboot.. after 5 mins.. hang again..

how come lar?
anybody know what is the likely cause of my problem?

could it be concealed cabling?

the signal strength and signal quality is decent though... would concealed cabling cause the decoder to hang?
TallJustin
post Jun 2 2010, 08:10 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(g400g400 @ Jun 2 2010, 07:50 AM)
astro pvr will be more useful, watch one channel and record the other. if using ext. hdd, which can only record the current channel u watching then no point in paying the rm5, just use the video out to record using PC via encorder. Just my 2 sen worth.. smile.gif
can't record HD quality that way, you'll get downscaled.
AjkR06
post Jun 2 2010, 08:13 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

I just ordered the new Astro PVR Boxed tongue.gif

Added on June 2, 2010, 8:14 am
QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jun 2 2010, 06:52 AM)
look again in the FAQ tongue.gif, there's a start & end recording extension function smile.gif
Ohh.. my mistakes. Did not read FAQ carefully... doh.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jun 2 2010, 08:14 AM
rayfoo
post Jun 2 2010, 08:28 AM

2,562 posts

oh so fast, how many days for installation smile.gif?
QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jun 2 2010, 08:13 AM)

Added on June 2, 2010, 8:14 am

Ohh.. my mistakes. Did not read FAQ carefully...  doh.gif
TSapexg2
post Jun 2 2010, 08:39 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

wah....suddenly have 10 page oledi.......

i dun mind sharing people here but...must remember, please mind ur words coz this is open thread...everybody can read it.......they are supplier and we are customer....if dun accept their offer, dun take it...its just optional rite.....dun blaim here and there....its better think abt how to fully use if take the option...

this thread now, i think 'they' are also read in our forum...u all forget ar?in version 3, we have made a public poll about wish channel....and i think they have consider it...i think so la...even we here got technical people who work with 'they'.....so, please dun too much fire....fire a bit, normal la...

erm, please 'jaga' our thread coz this thread are among the fastest thread here in LYN(correct me if im wrong)....just a soft remind....
AjkR06
post Jun 2 2010, 08:43 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jun 2 2010, 08:28 AM)
oh so fast, how many days for installation smile.gif?
they promised to me within 10 working days. Same as Byond... hopefully... sweat.gif
g400g400
post Jun 2 2010, 08:53 AM

"HiTech Gadget Lover"
1,381 posts

QUOTE(TallJustin @ Jun 2 2010, 08:10 AM)
can't record HD quality that way, you'll get downscaled.
true, is there any recorder that can accept HDMI as input?? then can record in HD....??? rclxms.gif
eMKs
post Jun 2 2010, 09:00 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jun 2 2010, 08:13 AM)

Only 500GB - 100hrs of HD recording, not even enough to record all World Cup match. If you use byond with ext HDD, you can add another HDD brows.gif

Added on June 2, 2010, 9:03 am
QUOTE(g400g400 @ Jun 2 2010, 08:53 AM)
true, is there any recorder that can accept HDMI as input?? then can record in HD....??? rclxms.gif

There is recorder with HDMI input, but you can't record from byond HDMI output, it's protected with HDCP

This post has been edited by eMKs: Jun 2 2010, 09:03 AM
writesimply
post Jun 2 2010, 09:05 AM

933 posts

QUOTE(lapaq @ Jun 2 2010, 02:07 AM)
your deduction is not entirely correct. I can say that much. Ask yourselves this question. Out of 3 mil Astro customers, what's the percentage of customers who would require an upgradable pvr box? The answer? Personally i only see a small fraction. Those as techie as you and me will never really need it simply because we have our PS3, HD media player HTPC and etc to play our bluray, HD Movies and etc.

Ask yourself, what would an average joe use it for? To record indefinitely and fill the hdd within the first week N never delete anything?

Your argument here cancels each other out. I wouldn't need an upgradeable because I have a ___ device yet I can't transfer any of the recordings from B.yond to my ____ device to free up the HDD space. Essentially, what I delete will be lost forever and I'm supposed to be happy with that.

Regardless of the percentage of customers that would require an upgradeable PVR, it is another feature that is user-friendly. Most people don't know or care that their DVD player can play DIVX content but at least it's there if/when they need it, just like most laptop owners don't burn lots of DVDs either even though their drives are perfectly capable.

Having 500gb is more than enough for today's customer. If one day Astro decided to fit a PVR with a 1 TB hdd it can be done just like the PS3 and xbox 360, those who bought first will get only 500gb and those who bought later will get 1TB.  Astro just need to update the software.
I said that about my 20GB HDD. Then my 80GB HDD. Then my 1TB HDD. Those who have lots of CDs to rip or Tivo-ed content would always want a bigger drive.

Malaysian is not ready to have that options yet especially when it comes to astro. Then again, as astro said it during the launch event, they are going to add more hdd in the list to be compatible with byond in the future. Just let them do the testing and ensure that consumer and the company interest is protected. That is all.

I know they said that. They also said that 1) you can't open up the B.yond PVR and upgrade the HDD yourself and 2) you can buy your own WD AV HDD 320GB and activate the recording function. 1 discourages user participation while 2 encourages it, thereby sending conflicting signals. As I said, they should open it up so that users can add whichever HDD they want.

By the way, you can't remotely program your B.yond PVR or B.yond + HDD using the internet. That means if you forgot to do it at home, you better hope Astro repeats the broadcast. They should have put this feature in at launch.

fuad
eMKs
post Jun 2 2010, 09:13 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Jun 2 2010, 09:05 AM)
By the way, you can't remotely program your B.yond PVR or B.yond + HDD using the internet. That means if you forgot to do it at home, you better hope Astro repeats the broadcast. They should have put this feature in at launch.

I like this feature, hopefully Astro will add it later.
They also can improve EPG to include 'also in this week/month'. That's mean, you will know when the show will repeat.
SiriuslyCold
post Jun 2 2010, 09:21 AM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(g400g400 @ Jun 2 2010, 07:50 AM)
Do not undervalue the ability to pause and rewind the TV program (and subsequently FF through the commercial breaks)

WHEN IS THE TIME MACHINE COMING???? laugh.gif

seed80
post Jun 2 2010, 09:30 AM

127 posts

Hi guys.. thumbup.gif rclxms.gif Some info about FX channel.. rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

FX is a television channel in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland, owned by Fox, launched in 12 January 2004. It was originally branded as FX289 in reference to its Sky Digital EPG number. It was rebranded to FX in May 2005 as the channel began to move places on the Sky EPG.

FX targets a demographic between 25 to 44 year olds. Unlike its sister channel in the US, FX promotes both FX produced and non-FX produced shows. Some of the most popular shows which air on the channel include Family Guy and American Dad. It has a similar format to its American sister channel FX Networks, with a schedule consisting largely of Fox-produced shows, including comedy such as Family Guy and King of the Hill, and dramas such as The Shield, The X Files, NCIS, NYPD Blue and Dexter. Non-Fox-produced shows rerun or receiving their UK premiere on the channel include Babylon 5, Carnivàle, Highlander, JAG, NCIS, Sleeper Cell, E-Ring and Huff, Generation Kill and True Blood

FX HD is a high definition television channel, which launched on Monday 28 April 2008 at 10pm in the UK and Ireland. It initially broadcast a completely separate schedule from the standard definition channel, with only HD contents and without ads.
FX HD was originally due to launch on 21 April, but as stated on the FX Forums, the reason why the date has been pushed back to 28 April 2008 was down to "technical difficulties at the transmission end".
The station broadcasts between 7pm and 2am every day.
On 24 April 2009 FX HD become a simulcast of FX, only broadcasting HD contents when possible.

[edit]Current programming

American Dad!
Babylon 5
Blind Justice (HD)
Breaking Bad (HD)
Brotherhood (HD)
Buffy the Vampire Slayer
Burn Notice (HD)
Carnivàle
Chappelle's Show
Charlie Jade
Cheers
COPS
Dexter (HD)
E-Ring (HD)
Eastbound & Down (HD)
Family Guy
Forensic Investigators
From the Earth to the Moon
Generation Kill (HD)
Highlander
Huff
JAG (HD)
Kenny vs. Spenny
King of the Hill
Life on Mars USA
MacGyver
Nash Bridges (HD)
NCIS (HD for certain episodes)
Nip/Tuck (HD)
Playmakers
Raven
Reno 911!
To Catch a Predator
The Showbiz Show with David Spade
Third Watch (HD)
True Blood (HD)
Sleeper Cell (HD)
Unhitched
Water Rats
The Wire
10 Items or Less
The X-Files
No Signal!
The Listener

vnair
post Jun 2 2010, 09:39 AM

53 posts

I have also applied for the PVR as I need the ability to record one channel whilst watching another. There is sometimes a squabble at home as to who watches what. To me RM10 is a small price to pay to resolve this problem although I would rather pay an upfront charge with no further monthly fees. I was told that someone from Astro would be contacting me within 48 hours for confirmation and it would then take 10 working days.

If we are paying the recording monthly charges of RM10, will the hard disk be replaced FOC by Astro should it become problematic after 1 year ( or longer ) hmm.gif . I cant recall having read this in the FAQ. Thanks. smile.gif
klseet
post Jun 2 2010, 09:47 AM

130 posts

Hi TallJustin & others sifu who already tested:

Some questions really need confirmation here:

1. Is it confirmed that, if we opt for the RM5 monthly ext HDD recording option, can only work with that particular 320G WD model?

2. On the power consumption issue, what about other ext HDD with individual power supply?

3. TJ mentioned some other ext HDD will reboot after long hours, can you share with us what models?

Sorry, this thread is really moving too fast and I really don't have time to read through every pages now. blush.gif

Really hope to confirm the above before making final decision, thanks in advance ! notworthy.gif

144 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:36 PM