168 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

TSdokidoki
post May 16 2010, 04:09 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Sky_Q @ May 15 2010, 12:07 AM)
add me..i staying in marsiling area work place at orchard..  cool2.gif
added you o the 1st page smile.gif
Jurlique
post May 16 2010, 04:13 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(yokatasan @ May 16 2010, 12:31 PM)
i wish to work in singapore
however, should i quit my current job and go there find the job?
is that any other way that get the offered from singapore company without quit current job?
How about apply for internal transfer?
Imagine
post May 16 2010, 04:46 PM

I love singapore, when you have money but no time to spend.

A heaven for fat ppl like me, force me to walk to station and office than driving to office in KL. Now i am thinner by a lot as compared to those days in KL.

Those who want to come to Singapore remember one thing, besides working in Singapore, you will be queuing for everything else, foods, and entertainment.

I work as an auditor in Raffles Place, work life "no" balance as compared to KL, if anyone of you seeking for a job in Singapore, try MNCs and not Singapore company as the pay varies a lot e.g. Singapore company pay avg $2000 for a fresh grad but MNCs around $3000. If you are a CFA holder with bank experience try a german bank (cannot disclose which one but you can find out yourself) they are paying around $8000 excluding allowance for fresh grads with littel experience.

My engineer friends here earning close to $10k. Hence anyone earning below $5k is just entry level in this country just like Malaysia, but with $5k here you can save up to $3k per month = Rm6.9k, not bad to think of it, i can own a BMW 5 series back in KL.. hahaha but not in singapore coz COE and ERP can kill me. Every morning i need to pay $6 for ERP and not counting my parking of $3 for every half an hour, hence i choose to take the Sardin MRT that cost me $3 per trip.

Go scout around first before making drastic decision, the country is nice, good technology, cheaper cost of living (i can still find S$1.50 lunch in Benoi) but rental is the killer and i think during the 1st week you need to get a good pair of shoes for walking biggrin.gif if you are a guy, girls here are hot but not beautiful, penang girls are beautiful but not hot. Some sg Guys are good looking but i am not sure whether they are gay.. hahaha... try converting our malaysia "la" to "le" and always use the word "jia lat lo" you will be a singaporean soon.

Remember food here is less sugar and less salt because of health reason, and do not get shock when you see old grandmother still working in Fairprice or Mos Burger, they have to work to pay for their medic in Sg as medic cost here is expensive not like malaysia RM1.

One think i note in Sg. discrimination is low, as most of the ppl here come from diff countries, cleaners, contractor workers, SPA & K-oke workers are from China, IT specialise & trash collectors from India, Philipino maid and cheap professional labours are from Malaysia and Directors are "Ang Mo".

If you are young try Singapore first and i believe you will appreciate your country well thumbup.gif
seantang
post May 16 2010, 09:05 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Imagine @ May 16 2010, 04:46 PM)
If you are a CFA holder with bank experience try a german bank (cannot disclose which one but you can find out yourself) they are paying around $8000 excluding allowance for fresh grads with littel experience.

Don't believe 100% everything you hear about DB. This is a current ad at another bulge bracket bank for a VP position, offering about $12-15K per month. I don't believe that $4-7K is enough room to differentiate all the positions between a freshie (even one with CFA) and a VP. I mean, how thin can you slice it and still keep the AMs, Ms, SMs and AVPs happy?

VP - Valuations Control (Exotics)

Base salary circa. SGD 140 – 180k plus annual bonus, Rare opportunity with exceptional exposure, High visibility leadership position

With a strong global presence and a progressive and forward thinking growth plan for their business this bank has a brand presence and reputation that is the envy of its competitors. We are currently seeking a suitably qualified and experienced professional to join our Client’s Valuations Control team as a VP.

This is a high visibility role, offering you a significant amount of interaction with the front office, senior management and stakeholders, as such well developed and solid interpersonal skills are mandatory.

In this role you will be responsible for independently identifying, analysing, reporting and mitigating risk in the valuations of the Investment Bank’s instruments, with a particular focus on exotic and structured products.

In addition to valuations you will also be responsible for price testing function for various areas of the Bank’s business globally and setting pricing and reserve policies.

You will be managing and mentoring a high performance team and taking ownership and responsibility for their development and growth.

In order to be considered for this role you will possess;

* Strong academic qualifications (Mathematics, Engineering, Physics preferred)
    * Postgraduate and/or professional qualifications (Financial Engineering, FRM, CFA) will be highly regarded.
    * Minimum of 8 years experience gained in a global banking environment (PC, Risk Management, Valuations, Pricing)
    * Strong product knowledge

This post has been edited by seantang: May 16 2010, 09:06 PM
Argiope
post May 17 2010, 01:19 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(Imagine @ May 16 2010, 04:46 PM)
Go scout around first before making drastic decision, the country is nice, good technology, cheaper cost of living (i can still find S$1.50 lunch in Benoi) but rental is the killer and i think during the 1st week you need to get a good pair of shoes for walking  biggrin.gif if you are a guy, girls here are hot but not beautiful, penang girls are beautiful but not hot. Some sg Guys are good looking but i am not sure whether they are gay.. hahaha... try converting our malaysia "la" to "le" and always use the word "jia lat lo" you will be a singaporean soon.

QFT.
kaiserwulf
post May 17 2010, 02:14 AM

1,110 posts

Hi guys,

Was wondering if you could help me out with this SG related question...

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1425651

crapp0
post May 17 2010, 08:34 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ May 17 2010, 01:19 AM)
QFT.
If your a guy, you'll know that their gay a mile away.
Argiope
post May 17 2010, 10:48 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 17 2010, 08:34 AM)
If your a guy, you'll know that their gay a mile away.

Yea well but i'm a female. Just sharing how horrible is it to walk that much in high heels, if you are not used to walking to work. You definitely want to get a pair of good heels or walk in flats instead.
reign226
post May 17 2010, 11:01 AM

804 posts

haha lucky i'm a guy...so easy to stay comfortable and still look good. not so easy for girls...
crapp0
post May 17 2010, 11:15 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ May 17 2010, 10:48 AM)
Yea well but i'm a female. Just sharing how horrible is it to walk that much in high heels, if you are not used to walking to work. You definitely want to get a pair of good heels or walk in flats instead.
Women in general walk in high heels to look the part (whatever that may be for them) or to compensate for short stature or their job demands it.
heartbeat83
post May 17 2010, 03:40 PM

Fellow M'sian, I m working @ Tuas area, staying @ CCK. Came to SG in Q4 2008 just before the recession start.

I've been following this thread since V2 smile.gif Nice thread with lots of useful information.
xiang05
post May 17 2010, 04:22 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 16 2010, 11:26 AM)
For fresh grad in singapore around 2.5K. But since your malaysian, you would get a little bit less then a local unless you studied from local uni like NUS.

I heard a few companies in the US are looking for software developer but for telecommunications sector, focusing on mobile user interface software developer. Primarily focusing on iphone and andriod OS. HP's new acquisition of palm are also looking for developers as well since they are going to roll out HP-Palm phones on webos.
Great, coz i oso know a little bit of iphone programming. Can u pm me the Company information so i can try my luck tongue.gif

This post has been edited by xiang05: May 18 2010, 01:30 PM
L7Awesome
post May 17 2010, 05:31 PM

418 posts

One quick question. Is it difficult for EP Pass holder to find another job?
SUSSPS
post May 17 2010, 05:36 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ May 17 2010, 05:31 PM)
One quick question.  Is it difficult for EP Pass holder to find another job?
You will have less job options compared to a Singaporea PR holder or a Singapore citizen.
L7Awesome
post May 17 2010, 05:38 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ May 17 2010, 05:36 PM)
You will have less job options compared to a Singaporea PR holder or a Singapore citizen.
Meaning that if we are to find another job, it will be another round of applying for EP, etc etc?
SUSSPS
post May 17 2010, 06:29 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ May 17 2010, 05:38 PM)
Meaning that if we are to find another job, it will be another round of applying for EP, etc etc?
Precisely. Each EP is unique and is tied to a single employer.
smile888
post May 17 2010, 09:25 PM

95 posts

hi people, what are the chances like to apply teaching to MOE in Singapore? I wonder do I stand a chance...
seantang
post May 17 2010, 10:04 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(smile888 @ May 17 2010, 09:25 PM)
hi people, what are the chances like to apply teaching to MOE in Singapore? I wonder do I stand a chance...

Who are you?

Shinichi
post May 17 2010, 10:35 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, my friend told me we stand higher chance to apply job if we state SG address and phone number in resume (regardless if we are PR), is this true?
May I know how many from this thread applied for job while in Malaysia?

reign226
post May 17 2010, 11:46 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ May 17 2010, 10:35 PM)
Hi all, my friend told me we stand higher chance to apply job if we state SG address and phone number in resume (regardless if we are PR), is this true?
May I know how many from this thread applied for job while in Malaysia?

Highly doubt it. Either you are a PR or you're not. Having a Sg number or not doesn't change that fact. And anyway it's not any easier to call a local number than it is to call a malaysian number. they just need to add a +60.

168 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:24 PM