168 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

lurker2010
post May 14 2010, 06:45 PM

Hi guys i'm in a similar predicament. My current salary is RM4600 basic. Offered salary is 3900SGD basic + 300SGD allowance + CPF Cash in lieu (about 500SGD). Should i take up the Singapore offer considering the lower basic?

seantang
post May 14 2010, 08:07 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(lurker2010 @ May 14 2010, 06:45 PM)
Hi guys i'm in a similar predicament. My current salary is RM4600 basic. Offered salary is 3900SGD basic + 300SGD allowance + CPF Cash in lieu (about 500SGD). Should i take up the Singapore offer considering the lower basic?

Your one no brainer lah. It's basically S$4700 vs RM4600. Even if you insist on excluding the CPF in-lieu portion, it's still S$4200 vs RM4600... quite acceptable.

Lester1987
post May 14 2010, 08:23 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(lurker2010 @ May 14 2010, 06:45 PM)

what seantang says is right, SGD3.9k vs RM4.6k really no nid to compare. definitely SGD is better. the 1 they comparing previously is RM7k with SGD 3.8k, thats almost doubled. urs is just few hundred difference. not to mention add up everything, u are getting more. if u dun accept it, then u have some problem.
Sky_Q
post May 15 2010, 12:07 AM

243 posts

add me..i staying in marsiling area work place at orchard.. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Sky_Q: May 15 2010, 11:17 PM
magiclover
post May 15 2010, 12:46 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ May 14 2010, 08:55 AM)
few of us in here are working at the same place... you'll soon meet up with them... smile.gif
Great! Then I know I'l have friends there before I join, how nice!

QUOTE(f.e.a.r @ May 14 2010, 10:51 AM)
Hello guys, i have a friend who got offer from Singapore company for SGD3800 and he also got an offer from AT&T in cyberjaya RM7000..
Which one is better?

In term of:
1.Job exposure, career development
2.Standard of living
3.Money

Please advice..he is in a great dilemma now
I know he has made his decision but I personally think if someone is worth RM7k, he should be quite clear of what he wants in his career already, instead of looking solely at the monetary aspect

xtremesportx
post May 15 2010, 09:03 AM

52 posts

SGD4200 vs RM4600 of course singapore better la!!

SGD4200 x 2.34 = RM9828 ah!! compare with your RM4600, its double your current salary!
Plus your cpf is much much more, employee and employer contribute to 33%!! in 5 years you'll see a substantial amount you never seen before biggrin.gif

Jurlique
post May 15 2010, 10:22 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(xtremesportx @ May 15 2010, 09:03 AM)
SGD4200 vs RM4600 of course singapore better la!!

SGD4200 x 2.34 = RM9828 ah!! compare with your RM4600, its double your current salary!
Plus your cpf is much much more, employee and employer contribute to 33%!! in 5 years you'll see a substantial amount you never seen before biggrin.gif
Its not fair to compare in this manner.

You need to compare the savings on both sides at the end of the day.

Better still factor in the losses you may be facing in terms of not able to meet your gf, parents and your love ones.

Take into account on the opportunity cost that you may loss. For eg, you still need to pay your housing installment in MY despite incurring monthly rentals in SG and you failed to rent your house in MY.

Factor in that you may no longer able to enjoy the tasty nasi lemak in SG and so on.
seantang
post May 15 2010, 10:48 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ May 15 2010, 10:22 AM)
Its not fair to compare in this manner.

You need to compare the savings on both sides at the end of the day.

As far as the financial aspect is concerned, the cost-benefit analysis should stop right here.

zom
post May 15 2010, 04:15 PM

Trying to learn
1,349 posts

hi guys, any idea wat's the room rates like around bukit batok/bukit gombak? thanks
crapp0
post May 15 2010, 09:07 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(magiclover @ May 15 2010, 12:46 AM)
Great! Then I know I'l have friends there before I join, how nice!
I know he has made his decision but I personally think if someone is worth RM7k, he should be quite clear of what he wants in his career already, instead of looking solely at the monetary aspect
Who said ppl tend focus on career, alot of people focus on making as much money in the least amount of time so that they can retire early.

This post has been edited by crapp0: May 15 2010, 09:08 PM
fbjkl
post May 15 2010, 11:24 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(zom @ May 15 2010, 04:15 PM)
hi guys, any idea wat's the room rates like around bukit batok/bukit gombak? thanks
1 = S$400 min
2 = S$500 min

where r u working? taking 188 bus / mrt?
zom
post May 15 2010, 11:29 PM

Trying to learn
1,349 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ May 15 2010, 11:24 PM)
1 = S$400 min
2 = S$500 min

where r u working? taking 188 bus / mrt?
i m working in tuas area and travel with MRT lol, does that price all in include air cond and utili?
Jurlique
post May 16 2010, 12:06 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(zom @ May 15 2010, 11:29 PM)
i m working in tuas area and travel with MRT lol, does that price all in include air cond and utili?
Normally it is included. Negotiate with the owner.
xiang05
post May 16 2010, 03:16 AM

43 posts

Hi guyz,

I am interested to work as software developer in Singapore.
Just got my degree in computing as fresh graduate.
Wondering what is the basic salary for a fresh graduate in Singapore.

crapp0
post May 16 2010, 11:26 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(xiang05 @ May 16 2010, 03:16 AM)
Hi guyz,

For fresh grad in singapore around 2.5K. But since your malaysian, you would get a little bit less then a local unless you studied from local uni like NUS.

I heard a few companies in the US are looking for software developer but for telecommunications sector, focusing on mobile user interface software developer. Primarily focusing on iphone and andriod OS. HP's new acquisition of palm are also looking for developers as well since they are going to roll out HP-Palm phones on webos.

This post has been edited by crapp0: May 16 2010, 11:31 AM
fbjkl
post May 16 2010, 11:52 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(zom @ May 15 2010, 11:29 PM)
utilities included, with air cond +S$50 normally.
yokatasan
post May 16 2010, 12:31 PM

90 posts

i wish to work in singapore
however, should i quit my current job and go there find the job?
is that any other way that get the offered from singapore company without quit current job?

shoduken
post May 16 2010, 01:08 PM

1,741 posts

QUOTE(yokatasan @ May 16 2010, 12:31 PM)
is that any other way that get the offered from singapore company without quit current job?
jobstreet dot com
seantang
post May 16 2010, 01:26 PM

6,624 posts

No, you shouldn't.

zoeyhanz
post May 16 2010, 02:06 PM

37 posts

jobs central n jobsdb
but u think properly~ or u jz cum here for travel+find job for few days or 1 week, bcz nt everyone likes sg, sounds nicer onli sometimes~ and muz hv enuf saving b4 u cum

i jz cum sg n work oso, and....guys any ideas to get room ar? (bugis -> bedok) a bit hard to find room for there
and....bedok nice ar?

Added on May 16, 2010, 2:07 pm
QUOTE(xiang05 @ May 16 2010, 03:16 AM)
Hi guyz,

i saw many offers for this kinda job^^
the salary above $2k i think~
and prepare for the question, why u wanna cum n work in spore? haha

This post has been edited by zoeyhanz: May 16 2010, 02:07 PM

168 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0781sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:22 AM