Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

Shinichi
post May 12 2010, 03:04 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

@Lester - reply to feedback on http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=33630959
Thanks for debit card suggestion. Yeah I have another option to consider now smile.gif
Anyway, just curious which debit card has the best rebate in terms of higher $ rebate /or/ more options to get rebate?

@tyj82 - reply to http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=33634308
Pardon me, Nets = payment via ATM card?

@Mackiddo - reply to http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=33643108
Considering we earn SGD, is it cheaper to buy groceries in Msia and bring back to SG?
What are the cost differences if we include & excludes travelling expenses from SG to JB? Overall, which option is cheaper?

@kockroach - reply to http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=33651679
Thanks for your feedback smile.gif
Shinichi
post May 17 2010, 10:35 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, my friend told me we stand higher chance to apply job if we state SG address and phone number in resume (regardless if we are PR), is this true?
May I know how many from this thread applied for job while in Malaysia?

Shinichi
post May 19 2010, 12:56 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ May 18 2010, 12:21 PM)
i think the diff is by putting local contacts, u give the impression or to have them ASSUMED that u are staying around in SG or maybe not PR, but at least EP. So it's easier to access or see u than ppl staying in M'sia.  They have the impression u are around town.

Resume is just like first appearance.  Whether they like ur face or not, in this case, ur face is the resume. It's something like preference /perception.
And unfortunately if they dun contact u, u won't get a chance to explain, sell urself, etc..
QUOTE(r1v3r @ May 18 2010, 12:54 PM)
there is no motivation to get a person in JB if they can get a person with local contact.

If I am the one who make phone call, I will avoid overseas call if I have alternative local contact.
Thanks for feedback. Is it enough to have just SG phone #? How about address?
I think those staying in JB will have higher chance to get called than those in KL or Penang, is this true? (assumption: all candidates have same qualification & requirements, only difference is location in MY).
Shinichi
post Jun 24 2010, 01:31 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, any tips for applying for job in SG? I've been applying for jobs in SG since 1-2 months ago but so far no news yet.

Shinichi
post Nov 14 2010, 10:05 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Nov 13 2010, 01:39 AM)
i have been hearing many EP rejected cases recently. It seems like gov is seriously tightening control over the influx of ppl like us. Anyone working in HR can shed light on this?

I was lucky for mine to be approved last month.
Is this true? Mean it will be harder for newcomer to apply for jobs in SG?
Shinichi
post Nov 18 2010, 11:25 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

For IT related job in SG, which area are high in demand?
Shinichi
post Nov 19 2010, 12:09 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 18 2010, 11:29 PM)
Application development using java is still sought after. Since its OS independent. plus it'll run on legacy machines since a large majority prefer "old is gold".

You wont believe how many businesses wont bury windows xp or programs that only support a win xp environment. Im talking to you lloyds register.
Thanks bro smile.gif
I'll need to brush up my programming skills first... I'm thinking to venture into Android and iPhone programming...

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 18 2010, 11:45 PM)
yeah, most businesses are resistant to change since they dont want to disrupt their operations or force themselves to learn how to use an OS again.
Ya, I noticed this among my co-workers too... I'm using win7+Office2010 now but some of them still using XP+Office2003... but at least my current company is literally forcing all employees to migrate to Windows 7 and Office 2010 by phase...
Shinichi
post Nov 20 2010, 01:00 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 19 2010, 07:46 AM)
most of those Android and iPhone programmer have to work in India. Not much of that demand in SG though. Mayb there are but those big company that do iPhone programming usually have their programmers in India.
Thanks bro for the heads up smile.gif
Then I should venture into another field. Been waiting for months for calls from SG companies tongue.gif
Shinichi
post Nov 22 2010, 10:35 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, will we stand higher chance to get a job in SG if we take a short course to study in SG while also looking for job opportunity?

0.0195sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:58 PM