168 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

r1v3r
post May 18 2010, 12:50 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(smile888 @ May 17 2010, 09:25 PM)
hi people, what are the chances like to apply teaching to MOE in Singapore? I wonder do I stand a chance...
at which level? For primary, sec must take their NIE Education cources before you can start teaching.

Why you want to teach in Singapore? muntah darah jobs.
Imagine
post May 18 2010, 01:10 AM

Hahaha, in Bank's VP does not really mean VP in the whole bank in Singapore, VP are just like a assistant head of department (the department may consist of 15 person), just like banks in Malaysia.

Now sales man, no longer called themselves sales man, the reassigned/reposition themselves as senior sales manager/sales manager ('my company does that too"). Sounds power in the name card ma, but the grading is some where near a management executive. blush.gif

Recently, i heard a lot of my friends got rejected from becoming PR and more indian from india get their PR here, it that true?? any info?? Uncle Lee does not want any more Malaysian??

This post has been edited by Imagine: May 18 2010, 01:11 AM
smile888
post May 18 2010, 01:38 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ May 18 2010, 12:50 AM)
at which level? For primary, sec must take their NIE Education cources before you can start teaching.

Why you want to teach in Singapore? muntah darah jobs.
at junior college level i think? because i have passion in teaching? the reason to teach in Singapore is because i can one stone kill two birds - fulfill my dream and at the same time still able to provide allowance to my family and have savings.

doubt i can still provide the same amount of allowance to my family (that i provide now) if i venture into teaching in msia for the first few years.

is it really that muntah darah?
seantang
post May 18 2010, 08:03 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Imagine @ May 18 2010, 01:10 AM)
Hahaha, in Bank's VP does not really mean VP in the whole bank in Singapore, VP are just like a assistant head of department (the department may consist of 15 person), just like banks in Malaysia.

I didn't say VP of whole bank. Sure, VP is synonymous with manager elsewhere. And they call their execs everything from AMs to SM. However, that doesn't chmage the fact that banks are hierarchical and won't pay freshies the same pay as VPs.
crapp0
post May 18 2010, 08:20 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(smile888 @ May 18 2010, 01:38 AM)
at junior college level i think? because i have passion in teaching? the reason to teach in Singapore is because i can one stone kill two birds - fulfill my dream and at the same time still able to provide allowance to my family and have savings.

doubt i can still provide the same amount of allowance to my family (that i provide now) if i venture into teaching in msia for the first few years.

Wait till you meet the singapore student, i have one singaporean fren who worked as a teacher in one of the schools, but after a year tak boleh tahan the attitude of the students. Coz if the student complain about you (and trust me, its singaporeans favourite past time), you'll be hauled for disciplinary action and be told off by both the parents and the principal (just to jaga the school muka).

r1v3r
post May 18 2010, 10:46 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(smile888 @ May 18 2010, 01:38 AM)

nod.gif for most school.

each type of school have their own type of problem as the targeted student are different. JC means student have good O'level result and are aiming to enter good uni cources, very demanding bunch. The character of some singapore student are very interesting, I wish you good luck. Have you seach youtube for video of JC student fliming their teacher?

A good number of student have the mentality that they are the paying customer that expect you should service them up to their satisfaction. If they fail, it is not because they stupid, it is the teacher don't know how to teach. Your get the blame from school, parent and the student. To these student, teacher have no right to lecture them on their bad behaviour. They will tell you "my parent never lecture me, who are you to lecture me?". One JC principle was force to resign because he punished one JC student.

You know teacher don't just teach right? you better jump in with your eyes open. blink.gif

crapp0
post May 18 2010, 10:52 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ May 18 2010, 10:46 AM)
nod.gif for most school.

each type of school have their own type of problem as the targeted student are different. JC means student have good O'level result and are aiming to enter good uni cources, very demanding bunch. The character of some singapore student are very interesting, I wish you good luck. Have you seach youtube for video of JC student fliming their teacher?

A good number of student have the mentality that they are the paying customer that expect you should service them up to their satisfaction. If they fail, it is not because they stupid, it is the teacher don't know how to teach. Your get the blame from school, parent and the student. To these student, teacher have no right to lecture them on their bad behaviour. They will tell you "my parent never lecture me, who are you to lecture me?". One JC principle was force to resign because he punished one JC student.

You know teacher don't just teach right? you better jump in with your eyes open. blink.gif
Oh, forgot you can see the torture right on youtube. Nowadays with 3G technology, all your actions can be video recorded and posted on youtube with video evidence. But one thing its true is that since there is no public schools but most of them are pirvate but follow guidelines of MOE, the students are paying customers and if they dont get what they want, then they have the right to screw you good and proper to make you know where your place is in the school.
Lester1987
post May 18 2010, 11:20 AM

2,017 posts

I mean when u are matured, u will have that kind of mentality, when i go back to my school, i will just scold the clerk at my school when i collect my cert. when i see my teacher, when she is trying to show those stupid arrogant attitude at me, i will just tell them "is this how u treat ur boss? i am paying ur salary ok? I am a tax payer now"
MPIK
post May 18 2010, 12:19 PM

1,838 posts

I can see this thread there are alot of Auditors and Accountants lurking around.

So, accounts and finance professionals are quite demanding in SG yah.
Aloong
post May 18 2010, 12:21 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 17 2010, 11:46 PM)
Highly doubt it. Either you are a PR or you're not. Having a Sg number or not doesn't change that fact. And anyway it's not any easier to call a local number than it is to call a malaysian number. they just need to add a +60.
i think the diff is by putting local contacts, u give the impression or to have them ASSUMED that u are staying around in SG or maybe not PR, but at least EP. So it's easier to access or see u than ppl staying in M'sia. They have the impression u are around town.

Resume is just like first appearance. Whether they like ur face or not, in this case, ur face is the resume. It's something like preference /perception.
And unfortunately if they dun contact u, u won't get a chance to explain, sell urself, etc..

r1v3r
post May 18 2010, 12:54 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ May 17 2010, 10:35 PM)
Hi all, my friend told me we stand higher chance to apply job if we state SG address and phone number in resume (regardless if we are PR), is this true?
May I know how many from this thread applied for job while in Malaysia?

there is no motivation to get a person in JB if they can get a person with local contact.

If I am the one who make phone call, I will avoid overseas call if I have alternative local contact.

giorgene
post May 18 2010, 02:23 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 18 2010, 11:20 AM)
I mean when u are matured, u will have that kind of mentality, when i go back to my school, i will just scold the clerk at my school when i collect my cert. when i see my teacher, when she is trying to show those stupid arrogant attitude at me, i will just tell them "is this how u treat ur boss? i am paying ur salary ok? I am a tax payer now"
Sorry, you are not paying tax in Malaysia now.. Don't simply say it hmm.gif

This post has been edited by giorgene: May 18 2010, 02:25 PM
Lester1987
post May 18 2010, 02:56 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ May 18 2010, 02:23 PM)
Sorry, you are not paying tax in Malaysia now.. Don't simply say it hmm.gif
that was last time la.. after i finish my study while i still working in Malaysia. even i am not paying the tax, I am still a Malaysian and they have to serve me.
cikopek
post May 18 2010, 03:20 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 18 2010, 02:56 PM)
that was last time la.. after i finish my study while i still working in Malaysia. even i am not paying the tax, I am still a Malaysian and they have to serve me.
SOrry 2 say but doesn't work like this way in Msia.
Don believe me?
Go try say it 2 PDRM or MACC
c wat will happen to you smile.gif

crapp0
post May 18 2010, 03:38 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(cikopek @ May 18 2010, 03:20 PM)
SOrry 2 say but doesn't work like this way in Msia.
Don believe me?
Go try say it 2 PDRM or MACC
c wat will happen to you smile.gif
Isnt tax evasion under the IRB, not the pdrm or macc since they just enforce the law, not met out punishment.
cikopek
post May 18 2010, 03:45 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 18 2010, 03:38 PM)
Isnt tax evasion under the IRB, not the pdrm or macc since they just enforce the law, not met out punishment.
We paying taxes & their salaries come from us.
In fact we pay all Public servants salaries
r1v3r
post May 18 2010, 04:59 PM

1,305 posts

aiiyoh... even malaysian ( or just some PR working in SG) have such mentality. shakehead.gif

How you(as parent) think and act now have its consequence on our future. If everything is about money, you future doctor will ask you to wait to die at home because your tax is nothing compare to their salary, you got to pay extra from a piece of tower to a simple “hello” from the doctor. Ambulance will check your medical insurance first before they decide to pickup you. (when you retired and need their service, are you paying tax then? So by right you should not get any service at all!)

Your kid’s teacher will ask you to transfer your kids out of school because you can’t afford tuition fees and overseas enrichment program. Your kids result is a disgrace to the school expensive brand.

These are happing in some societies today. I hope I do not have to retire in one of it.

giorgene
post May 18 2010, 05:02 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 18 2010, 02:56 PM)
you should appreciate your teacher's effort, don't take it for granted that they have to serve you! who do you think you are?

when i see my teacher, when she is trying to show those stupid arrogant attitude at me, i will just tell them "is this how u treat ur boss? i am paying ur salary ok? I am a tax payer now"
you mean after your parents bring you up, now you become an adult, and if they still using stupid arrogant attitude at you like when you were a kid, you going to tell them "is this how u treat ur boss? i am paying your living expenses ok? I am an adult now"

This post has been edited by giorgene: May 18 2010, 05:08 PM
allens
post May 18 2010, 05:52 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ May 18 2010, 05:02 PM)
you should appreciate your teacher's effort, don't take it for granted that they have to serve you! who do you think you are?
you mean after your parents bring you up, now you become an adult, and if they still using stupid arrogant attitude at you like when you were a kid, you going to tell them "is this how u treat ur boss? i am paying your living expenses ok? I am an adult now"
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif agree
ThanatosSwiftfire
post May 18 2010, 05:58 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 18 2010, 11:20 AM)
Really the product of Malaysian education =D

168 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:06 PM