haha lucky i'm a guy...so easy to stay comfortable and still look good. not so easy for girls...
Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...
May 17 2010, 11:01 AM
804 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
haha lucky i'm a guy...so easy to stay comfortable and still look good. not so easy for girls...
May 17 2010, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ May 17 2010, 10:35 PM) Hi all, my friend told me we stand higher chance to apply job if we state SG address and phone number in resume (regardless if we are PR), is this true? Highly doubt it. Either you are a PR or you're not. Having a Sg number or not doesn't change that fact. And anyway it's not any easier to call a local number than it is to call a malaysian number. they just need to add a +60.May I know how many from this thread applied for job while in Malaysia? Thanks. |
May 18 2010, 06:55 PM
my gf says she would rather die than have her kids be schooled in sg. i dunno, she believes that malaysian education at least is more well rounded and the kids have a more meaningful childhood. i guess its about what we want out of society.
May 18 2010, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 18 2010, 08:03 PM) There was a time when they said that whilst the school plays a big part, parents is ultimately the driving force and the pillar of the child's growth, irregardless of being in M'sia, Singapore or JB, no miracle in school can save the child from his parent's neglect to be the guide in all things. I think I agree with this the most. |
May 18 2010, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(r1v3r @ May 18 2010, 09:51 PM) if you prepare to send your kids for good overseas uni, system quota is not a problem. Yeah, I mean, I didn't turn out too bad and i followed sekolah kebangsaan all the way through. Agree that in the case of higher education, it may be harder to get into the 'top' universities, but AFAIK, my employers just see my cgpa, relevance of subjects and how I present myself. As long as they understand that you are from a gov uni, that is usually enough (as its hard enough for nonmalay to enter public universities). Many malaysian student do very well in many places including NTU and NUS. How wrong can the pri and sec school be? I don't just see the report cards and the list of awards/medals. There are more things to learn in school. I was however asked to rank my university (UTeM) by a singaporean interviewer. I told them that usually the university here follow the trend of age (the older you are, the higher you rank, mostly). She seems satisfied, and explained that the reason they ask is because their trainee program is only open to the top 4 universities in Malaysia, but they may bend the rules. In Malaysia, I was never questioned about the validity of my degree, or how good my university is during interview. |
May 19 2010, 06:05 PM
yeah usually corporate plans are better because the company provides subsidies? or at least it will be better than what the general public gets. Funnily enough the corporate plan at a company I work with last time didn't have coverage inside its own building (certain areas).
May 21 2010, 03:57 PM
I am going to Sg soon, working at Jurong but my friend might be working at Bedok (other side of the freaking island). What would be a nice compromise location to stay in terms of distance? His place is just in front of Bedok mrt, so for him is quite easy as long as he can get access to mrt.
I'm thinking either Clementi area or the red line MRT area near CCK , although I welcome any suggestions. I am guessing in terms of rental, preferably if can keep below $300 per pax. |
May 21 2010, 04:31 PM
so with budget around $600 what area is available that is near to the middle of the island (hv to be away from town area i suppose)?
May 21 2010, 07:17 PM
Thx for the feedback all, so probably I will aim for Clementi/Commonwealth area...other places nearer to town on Green Line a bit out of budget liao.
May 22 2010, 10:34 AM
I'm from Melaka, usually they will just arrange time for an interview. Sometimes if I lazy, I will request them to do phone interview. But from Melaka take earliest bus to Sg, reach also noon ady, so I guess any further and it's not realistic to expect the candidate to go down for face 2 face interview.
Incidentally my friend from Klang got call for 2nd interview, which must be f2f, so he will have to spend a night at his hostel in Melaka before going down. Don't need to think so much, just apply and if the company wants you they will let you know. I secured a job thru just a phone interview once, even tho the HR told me if I passed phone interview I would still need to go down for f2f. Sometimes it's about luck, and meeting the right interviewer with authority to go against established company policy if they find you to be a suitable candidate. |
May 22 2010, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(Patricia_85 @ May 22 2010, 11:50 AM) wow..seems like it's quite easy for msians to get called for interview. i sent out around 100s of my resume and none of them called..i wonder what's wrong with my resume.. Are you working already? What position are you looking for? Sometimes it's a bit of luck also...i feel like giving up already coz no calls for the past few mths i started sending out resume. Added on May 22, 2010, 4:12 pm QUOTE(hyulan @ May 22 2010, 03:57 PM) Thanks for all your replies!! Actually, I'm staying in JB. Sorry I forgot to mention that Current political climate, and also increased worker levy starting soon may discourage some companies from recruiting across the causeway. But for bigger companies usually they already have a working relationship with MOM so the permit application, although an extra step to deal with, is not a big problem for them.I guess I think too much Furthermore, hiring foreign workers means they immediately save on some 1x% of CPF contribution, and they get to offer a lower salary compared to locals. Or sometimes certain jobs its harder to get locals to join due to negative perception towards the job. One of my fren, an engineering fresh grad, is only working for 2k salary over there. As long as the dollars make sense, they will always be willing. This post has been edited by reign226: May 22 2010, 04:12 PM |
May 31 2010, 10:31 PM
I will most probably be going to Singapore by next month. Anybody got contact for nice cheap single room (or, who wants to share room with me)? Looking around West or North area.
May 31 2010, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(uberlebender @ May 31 2010, 11:14 PM) about looking for a room, what are the chances of getting a landlord that can give stay without advance payment if only starting job at singapore? You are looking for a room too? maybe we can team up.Depends on landlord...last time my landlord is kind enough to only take my 1st month rental. I told him its my first job in Singapore and he said its okay, the 1 mth deposit i can pay to him next month after I get my first paycheck. I guess you can check with your landlord b4 signing agreement. |
Jun 1 2010, 12:22 AM
its very hard to find rooms without agent...they are swamping most of the sites with their ads, which are sometimes pointless and advertise other irrelevant properties as well.
Jun 2 2010, 08:43 AM
I thought once you restore, Apple won't know if you jailbreak it before?
Jun 2 2010, 10:23 AM
Jun 2 2010, 05:25 PM
Jun 2 2010, 06:01 PM
lets say cust support like the previous poster mentioned
Jun 3 2010, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(jonnie @ Jun 3 2010, 02:39 AM) You are gonna be working in Sg soon too?QUOTE(cks2k2 @ Jun 3 2010, 08:34 AM) Why is S Pass more troublesome than E Pass? |
Jun 3 2010, 11:08 AM
I think S Pass got somesort quota within a company so they have to play balancing act, whilst E Pass no such limit. Correct me if wrong.
| Change to: | 0.0506sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:48 PM |