Hi everyone
Who have about MS 2334:2010(P) Edible- Birdnest (EBN) - Specification or document file, I need it. thank you.
V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus
Dec 11 2010, 12:46 PM
1 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Hi everyone
Who have about MS 2334:2010(P) Edible- Birdnest (EBN) - Specification or document file, I need it. thank you. |
Dec 11 2010, 01:19 PM
1,397 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
When you want to JV, I believe for the follow reasons.
!. You have land and don't have money and you have money but no land. Either way, it's for win win situation. Here, a very long partnership as high investment is involved. 2. You have both but no time to take care of BH and need someone to do and take care of the BH so that you can make money. This method is like getting a caretaker and pay him in the form of EBN. Here, a very small percentage is taken as payment and the contract is limited to a lesser than 10 years. 3. The land belong to both and so there is no alternative but to JV. 4. For failed BH or new BH, it's very stupid to JV, dividing earning just to get birds and method of doing so can be easily obtain and need not go into extreme in giving into partnership with consultants. I do provided suggestion and solved problems for friends without consultation charges nor fees but occasionally get hampers and XO....taking the gifts is knowing that you have make another man happy and not that I cannot afford hampers or XO as we are all in the same trade and maybe in future, I too may need their help. By helping, they also make me richer as there are more fledged birds, my BHs increment will also prosper......God's wealth is to share and by sharing may bring health, peace and long life. So, my sincere advice to all who have succeed, do share your experience with new biz as nothing is really so secretive about BH management at all. I share and everyone that I share my knowledge, are my best of friends till today. Do share as when everyone around you are happy, so will you........talk too much again...sori |
Dec 11 2010, 03:33 PM
1,131 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuching |
yea agree........ bird house have to do it together
Dec 11 2010, 04:08 PM
3,625 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Hornbill land |
yeah i also dont really like consultants. and internet lack information about latest gadgets for swiftlet farming too. i also wish to share my knowledges about BH. But mine is operated in a old way. 5 chicken coup humdifier that's all. temperature around 29-31C for upper level. Going to update my BH status after i back next week helping my mum to monitor the BH.
So far problems i faced: 1. Few new birds are dead( lizard?) 2. Lizard. |
Dec 11 2010, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(mois @ Dec 11 2010, 04:08 PM) yeah i also dont really like consultants. and internet lack information about latest gadgets for swiftlet farming too. i also wish to share my knowledges about BH. But mine is operated in a old way. 5 chicken coup humdifier that's all. temperature around 29-31C for upper level. Going to update my BH status after i back next week helping my mum to monitor the BH. Talking about dead chicks, it is expected that during this period, there shall be dead chicks. Many Consultants and esp. Buyers will tell you to throw away all eggs and chicks as they are interested in getting to your nests.....telling you that all eggs and chicks will die anyway. This, I will emphasis again again if needed to that only a handful will die or maybe alittle more but majorities will survive to see the day. In one of my BH, about 30 dead chicks counted but then there are thousand of chicks and what 30 chicks to a thousand chicks.......So far problems i faced: 1. Few new birds are dead( lizard?) 2. Lizard. If all BH owners have hearts, those thousand or maybe million of chicks that live through the monsoon will start very soon start new families and producing nests and your dream of having thousand of nests or maybe 10k or 20K nests will not be just a dream. IshaAllah, we shall all succeed. Till today, there is nothing can beat our old Chicken Coop Humidifiers as they are cheap and easy to maintain; not that other type are no good but many are expensive and difficult to maintain. Concerning your old chicken coop Humidifier, don't throw them away if they fail because they are easily repair and cost very cheap. You can do the repair yourself if you understand how... if a seniorman like me can do it then there should be no problem for you all. |
Dec 11 2010, 06:13 PM
5,867 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Just got myself a Black & Decker heat gun fresh from Jusco. Ready to test it out whether it works on stopping or rather deter the growth of white mold on the nesting plank. But wait a minute, can I hand carry this gun on a plane ?
Dec 11 2010, 06:37 PM
416 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 11 2010, 06:13 PM) Just got myself a Black & Decker heat gun fresh from Jusco. Ready to test it out whether it works on stopping or rather deter the growth of white mold on the nesting plank. But wait a minute, can I hand carry this gun on a plane ? dun know if flight safety regulation will allow carry on but what can you do with that?threaten to blow dry a stewardess's hair? |
Dec 11 2010, 10:23 PM
167 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(swiftlailai @ Dec 10 2010, 06:23 PM) Uncle Ben where are u. This newbie needs your help so am i. Mine is a stand alone birdhouse in rubber plantation, results only so so la. Found out during last harvest last week the nests are very wet and one or two show sign of pinkish colour. I do not operate any humidifier yet humidity is very high. Please advice all sifu how to solve this. Thanks Yes I am still a life and kicking. Been busy just commission my 7 Th standalone BH since Jan 2010. will commission one more tomorrow and another completed BH to be commission on 2 Jan 2011 owner chose this very ospecious day.Sold 5 bh since dec.2009 and have only two standalone in stock. My Eco park is spread over a wide area. Your bh ,is the water table very high ? And is your floor concreted or just dirt floor? Usually to be on the safe side I lay a layer of PVC sheet before pouring the concrete slap. In one of my BH 50 meters from the river , moisture slip through the concrete floor and make a mess and uncontrollable fungus growth. I lay a layer of PVC sheets and randier 2 inches of mortar on the top and solved the problem. I wipe every nesting planks them spray alcohol base aroma from my Sifu Pak Han ( at that time it was still on trial and given to me by Pak Han for free) Recently one bh I built in Sabah 50 nests and established markings in 4 months. The roof leaks on to the ceiling and seeps through the insulation and and caused a wet patch all the nest in this area turns orange color and very pretty and very thick as it's loaded with water. The chicks all seem to be healthy and suffer no ill effect from the excessive moisture. I will harvest next visit and see if I can produce my first red nest. When you say that your bh is doing so so. This depend on the bird population in your area. In some place 30 nests is acceptable in other place 1000 nests in 1.5 years is possible provided you have the technic . Quote Pak Han " Successful BH is 5 0/0 luck and 95 0/0 skill" unquote. Belief me A bh design by me and built by Prof. Yap in Kuching 600 nests in 1.5 years and his neighbor only 500 meters away only 50 nests. To add insult to injury this BH is now 2years and 2 months old moreover the bh is exactly on the flight path and the birds coming back to Yap's bh are coming from the direction of the other bh. Above is meant to be for fun reading and if anyone care of give more input will be a great help as this one problem suffer by most bh owners. Good luck. |
Dec 12 2010, 11:40 AM
Talking about RED nests, you need to see it in order to believe it cos it do happened but not because the bird make red nest, we caused it.
Just like my friend's BH, his Consultant sealed the roof with a sheet of steel to prevent burglary. Good luck and no break in for the last 5 years but then leakage in the roof and rain water seep in and cause the metal to rust and in the process, create red nests, dull red nests. So, if you want white nest, never use metal near nests or else, you may get red nests if the metal become rusty and spread to the plank and nest. A suggestion, you may put wet copper sheet near your nests to create green nest and other colors if you use different metal..........not recommended but maybe for the fun of producing multicolor nests to show off. hahaha |
Dec 12 2010, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(benchai @ Dec 11 2010, 10:23 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « bro so whare are u from ? do u set up BH for ppl in kuching ?? Added on December 12, 2010, 3:20 pm QUOTE(West Wing @ Dec 12 2010, 11:40 AM) Talking about RED nests, you need to see it in order to believe it cos it do happened but not because the bird make red nest, we caused it. so those red nest got extra benefit ? its the same rite ? jus diff color cause by the nearby environment ?Just like my friend's BH, his Consultant sealed the roof with a sheet of steel to prevent burglary. Good luck and no break in for the last 5 years but then leakage in the roof and rain water seep in and cause the metal to rust and in the process, create red nests, dull red nests. So, if you want white nest, never use metal near nests or else, you may get red nests if the metal become rusty and spread to the plank and nest. A suggestion, you may put wet copper sheet near your nests to create green nest and other colors if you use different metal..........not recommended but maybe for the fun of producing multicolor nests to show off. hahaha This post has been edited by Jackygwh: Dec 12 2010, 03:20 PM |
Dec 12 2010, 05:00 PM
I build in Sabah. Those in Kuching are design by me and build by Prof. Andy Yap and Calvin Chai. pls googlr swiftlets4u .
We are all Pak. han's students and his support with Sounds , aromas and technic . |
Dec 13 2010, 01:38 PM
Dec 13 2010, 09:45 PM
263 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Dec 13 2010, 11:18 PM
Want to build in Kuching contact Calvin Chai at waletasia blogspot. Com. No Pak Han don't sell sound but provide sounds for BH built by student under his group and only if he can trust them to use the sound for that exclusive BH only.
Try to contact Pak Han if he trust you he will entrust them to you for free. I have not paid a single cents to Pak Han to Date. Quote " Pak Ben If I give to you My sound you are responsible but if I sell to you you can do whatever you like" unquote . (meaning you can sell them.) His bad experience was about a year ago he put in the market Romana 1 and Romana 2 . Immediately they were copied and rename and sold for up to RM 1000 per copy. you will realize that sounds are being rename with some dangerous name and sold for lots of money. Example Baby King sold by Hairy Crab is from EKa walet I bought them from pontinanak 3 years ago for RM 60 . Any one interested I will send you this ancient and out of date sound for free. I don't think I deserve to be branded as distorted genes. That crab was not welcome to Sabah for the last seminar as participant started to cancel their bookings and wants their money back. The organizer found a replacement speaker and ask him not to come. His private trip ended in disaster as he was avoided and refused entry ti bh in Kudat. A Sabah owner Whose 2 BHs were commissioned by Hairy Crab remains empty and refused to check the Empty BH with excuses of NO TIME !! And WE shouldn't disturb the birds. Finally the owner told him that he have checked the empty BH and there is nothing to DISTURB . YES they spoted a couple of single drop and the delighted HC claim them to be heaps. I doubt he can get a refund PPL pls open your eyes. I am asking you to be wise and I don't want newbi to be taken for a expensive ride. I am not enverous in any way as I do not consult nor making chicken feed commission But build and sell, PPL like That crab in not in my league and no compaterter . Take care and be happy. |
Dec 14 2010, 01:23 AM
67 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Hi all,
been reading these 3 threads for the past 2 weeks while my rented JV BH under reno. Still have last 10 pages from v1 and 122 pages from v2 to read. Good to know more about the history and not-so-glamorous side of the BN industry. It's my first time doing contruction work, really surprising how much labour and nails it take to flx up those wood. Thanks to all the seniors helping us newbies for free. This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Dec 14 2010, 01:24 AM |
Dec 14 2010, 04:38 PM
this Calvin Chai is not in lowyat forum ?
Dec 15 2010, 09:53 AM
7 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Hello everyone,
I've just opened my birdhouse about 1 week. In the morning when doing bird call (from 6am - 10am), there are about 100+ birds hovering above my birdhouse at anytime. Then I turn the sound off. I do bird call again in the afternoon (from 4pm - 8pm). The problem is, only about 10 birds hovering above my bird house. I have not had a chance to do bird count in the morning yet. But I think there are not many bird staying inside in the evening. Why there are much more bird in the morning than in the afternoon? Should I stop doing bird call in the morning and doing only once a day in the afternoon? What timeframe does everybody here doing bird call in the day? Thanks. This post has been edited by k12b5: Dec 15 2010, 10:21 AM |
Dec 15 2010, 11:44 AM
35 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Dec 15 2010, 01:14 PM
I never knew that we do have so many experts/ consultants at this forum or otherwise, I should have taken precaution in posting otherwise, I may be shot like a turkey or should I say, an Owl in BH terms.
Good to have many consultants in the forum and hopefully, they do contribute to the learning of all in the trade but can make money but don't cheat. If you do have good way or good thing to sell, by all mean, sell and make clean and honest profit. Please do forgive me if I make mistake as there are so many Sifus watching and I am just an average amateur dicussing what I think is the best way. Hopefully, do let us know that you are a consultant or a contractor in the field so that we may have better understanding. Be proud of what you are and I for one do appreciate good experts, consultants and contractors providing support in this field as they do play very important role in the development of the industry as a whole. Introducing myself, I am just a plain simple swiftlets sanctuary provider with no hidden interest but to make swiftlets happy and by doing so, make me richer and live linger. I just happy to see other BH owners succeed in the field and by doing so, sometime do make some commission if provided like introducing consultant (honest ones) or introducing buyers to seller ( if buyer want to put angpow into my pocket.... aha). Where will most of us be without the advice of consultants and contractors but we shall be looking for are the good apples and not the bad ones or the unripe ones and so, this forum is also for the sharing information on who what and who not. Again, talk too much and so shameful to post in front of so many consultants and experts. Lastly, hope that all experts do share and you gain, the newbiz also gain. Just like a new factory producing goods and if you sell him some new machinery and it's faster and produces more, then why not.... Added on December 15, 2010, 3:31 pmJust my point of view: 1. Just by counting the number of birds entering isn't very importance but the gradual increment of nests is. but but but the fun of counting is really very enticing and you really find peace and happiness in doing so like me long long ago. 2. Yesterday, in your new build BH, you saw hundred but that doesn't mean that today, no birds.....you lose hundreds. For new BH, you may see hundreds birds today but that group may not retun tomorrow but in afew days time. So, you need time to determine if you fail or succeed....so need to be patient. Just like fishing and if you disturb too much, you end up kosong like fishing also. 3. Take a note of all you see and then do evaluation only after a month or two. Then, you decide on your next action. Don't try to out smart yourself and keep on renovating and re renovating until the very few birds that stay also leave...then you are back to square one, kosong with afew expired nests. I speak from my experience and hope if others may wish to post their difference views to share so that I like we can also learn. For new biz, you must look at all angles if you fail to have birds staying but the wise words is to be patient like a father waiting for your first baby to be born. Don't rush and make silly mistake and in the end, you did not get birds and worst you lose alot of money unnecessary that you may not be able to afford. In that case, you may want to sell and I may want to buy if it's cheap and in swiftlets' care area.. Just my humble experience and understanding of swiftlets to share and only if you agree. This post has been edited by West Wing: Dec 15 2010, 03:31 PM |
Dec 15 2010, 05:02 PM
27 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
hi everyone,
i am from KL and am in search of some quality books on this industry, wonder if anyone could advise on where to get such books. thanks |
| Change to: | 0.0338sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:45 PM |