V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

coolandy
post Dec 21 2010, 08:46 PM

314 posts

Aroma Challenge.

I am thinking of conducting an experiment on the effectiveness of aromas in the market and I am willing to award RM5000.00 to the successful one.

I propose to apply the aromas to 6 nesting planks in a row. Each NP has to be at least 10ft in length.

NP1. Apply aroma on the right half.
NP2. Apply aroma on the left half
NP3. apply aroma on the right half
NP4. Apply aroma on the left half and so on.

After 3 months, the birds should gather right-left-right-left etc as per pattern of aroma application.

I will be conducting the experiment and need witness too. Any takers?

Input from you all are welcome. Spread the news. Hope this will put an end to the argument about the effectiveness of man-made aromas.

Is RM5000 enough? I am willing to place the amount up front for safekeeping to a trusted source. See seng? WW? Ben chai?
htqueck
post Dec 22 2010, 02:12 AM

QUOTE(coolandy @ Dec 21 2010, 08:46 PM)
Aroma Challenge.

I am thinking of conducting an experiment on the effectiveness of aromas in the market and I am willing to award RM5000.00 to the successful one.

I propose to apply the aromas to 6 nesting planks in a row. Each NP has to be at least 10ft in length.

After 3 months, the birds should gather right-left-right-left etc as per pattern of aroma application.

Input from you all are welcome. Spread the news. Hope this will put an end to the argument about the effectiveness of man-made aromas.

Is RM5000 enough? I am willing to place the amount up front for safekeeping to a trusted source. See seng? WW? Ben chai?
JUST INTRODUCE MYSELF I AM NEWBIES AT SWIFTLETS FARMING , GOT RBW BUILT BY CONS...ULTANT OLEDI 13 MONTHS BUT NO BIRD AT ALL , SUDDENLY I DISCOVER THIS ON SWIFTLETS FARMING ... FOR ME IS OKAY RBW NO BIRD , NOTHING WILL HAPPEN

FUNNY SWIFTLETS MUST...MUST .... IMPORTANT THAN HUMAN LIFE.... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif cry.gif cry.gif

ATTENTION TO ALL PLS READ CAREFULLLY

AEROSOL SPRAY

Aerosol Poisoining in Birds 濕劑對鳥類的毒化

Precaution: Aerosol Spray Can Be Fatal to Your Swiftlet !!!
I hate to write this article but after reading the hazard of aerosol spray to birds at:
http://www.petmd.com/bird/emergencies/pois...rosol_poisoning it is my responsibility to make everyone aware.

This have something to do with those BH aroma using the aerosol spray method.

After reading and fully understand of this 2 posting i going to take following for this coming MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEARS 2011

1. HOUSEKEEPING TO MY HOUSE CLEAR ALL AEROSOL SPRAY AT MY HOUSE LIKE INSECT KILLER (FUMAKILA , RIDSECT , SHETOX ) ALL AEROSOL SPAY AT MY TOILET , PERFUME , W-40 ETC BCOS FOR ME MY FAMILY LIFE IS IMPORTANT THAN SWIFTLETS

2. TO STAY AT HOME NOT GOING OUT ESPECIALLY FULLY AIR CONDITION AREA LIKE SHOPPING COMPLEX , PUBLIC TOILET , ALL SHOP USING AEROSOL SPRAY LIKE RESTORAN , BODY SHOP , PHAUMACY ETC BCOS SURE THEY SELLING AEROSOL SPRAY ITEM ...

3. TO TELL MY BOSS TO TAKE DOWN ALL AEROSOL SPRAY PERFUME AT OFFICE , TOILET OTHERWISE I WILL RESIGN TO SAFEGUARD MY LIFE ...

4. TO MAKE REPORT AND COMPLAIN TO OUR GOVERNMENT TO TAKE ACTION AGAIN THOSE USING AEROSOL SPRAY AND BANNED ALL AEROL SPRAY PRODUCT BASED ON INFORMATION PROVIDED AT THIS 2 BLOG ...

5. TO PASS THIS INFORMATION TO ALL MY FRIENDS AND ALL PRESS TO ADVETISE IN ALL LOCAL NEWS PAPER ABOUT THIS SO CALL IMPORTANT INFORMATION AT THIS 2 BLOG...

THANKS TO THIS 2 CON...SUL..TANT SIFU YR CONTRIBUTION R HIGHLY APPERICIATED... SWIFTLETS WILL LIKE YOURS SO MUCH BCOS REALLY CARE ABOUT THEIR LIFE INSTEAD OF HUMAN LIFE AND SAFETY AAAAAAA......... SWIFTLETS LOVE YOURS CAN TALK BAHASA BIRD...

MY HUMBLE AND SINCERE TO SIFUS ...

1. PLS PROMOTE OUR MALAYSIA BOLEH PRODUCT AND ASK GOVERNMENT TO BAN ALL INDO PRODUCT WE OLEDI LV WHY NEED H3N1 CINTAI LAH BARANGAN BUATAN MALAYSIA

2. CALL AND TELL THE BIRD THE DANGER OF H3N1 I BELIEVE YRS CAN TALK BAHASA BURUNG WALIT NOT WALET ...MALAYSIA BOLEH

3. TELL OUR MINISTER AND VETERNINAR DEPARTMENT , CALL OUR PM BAN H3N1 AT 1GP GUIDELINES I BELIEVE YRS MAKE IT HAPPEN I VERY YR CAN DO IT MALAYSIA BOLEH

4. DO MORE R & D SWIFTLETS PRODUCT ASK BIRD WHAT THEY WANT AND PLS DO ACCORDING AND TELL THEM H3N1 INDO NO GOOD MALAYSIA 1 VERY GOOD ..

5. DO MORE CHARITY WORK AND CHARGE CHEAPER FEE TO HELP OUR MALAYSIA SWIFTLETS FARMER TRAP AND CON BY INDO PROFESSIONAL CONSULTANT SEMINAR , PRODUCT...... SINCE WE MALAYSIA BOLEH WHY GO OVER TO INDO LEARN ALL THIS THING ....SO FUNNY IF MALAYSIA BOLEH WHY INDO ... PENING ...

TO RESPECTED SAUDARA PAK BEN CHAI , CALVIN , JIM LEE ... PLS TELL YR SIFU PAK HM FOLOWING ....

1. DO TELL ALL AND TEACH EVERYTHING SWIFTLETS SECERET AT SEMINAR TO SPOIL OURS RICHBOW ...

2. PLS DON'T SELL YR GOOD PRODUCT AT MALAYSIA SELL AT INDO , BAD PRODUCT R WELCOME OTHERWISE NO SICK HOUSE WE DOCTOR CANNOT CARI MAKAN ... I NEED TO TAKE CARE MY FAMILY PLS DON'T TOO MUCH ......

3. TELL ME YR H3N1 FORMULA I AM COPY CAT ...

4. YR PRODUCT MUST DISTRIBUTE THOUGH ME OTHERWISE THIS THING IS NOT THE 1 AND LAST ... CANNOT SELL SO CHEAP WE CANNOT LAWAN...

5. I FIRE U PLS KEEP DIAM ... BCOS I WANT TO TUPANG YR NAME SINCE YR NAME R SO FAMOUS , U TAK RUGI APA-APA.... PLS LET ME TUPANG...IF I NOT TIKAM U , NO BODY KNOW ME ....PLS LET ME TIKAM U ... I PROMISE I TIKAM RINGAN SAJA TAK SAKUT ...

6. WE NEED TONGKAT AND POINT JARI TO OTHER IS OUR CULTURE HOPE U UNDERSTAND AND DON'T MIND AND PLS DON'T REMOVE OUR TONGKAT BCOS WE VERY WEAK ON THIS ... WE NEED YR FULL CORPERATION

7. PLS DON'T TOO SERIOUS ON SWIFTLETS CONSULTANTCY AT MALAYSIA ... CHIN CHIN CHAI CHAI SUDAH ...BCOS MALAYSIA GOT A LOT OF DOCTOR NEED TO SURVIVE .... INDO IS OKAY ...WE MALAYSIA BOLEH ... IF I ASK YR ADVISE PLS KEEP P & C LAH , GENTLEMEN SIKIT LAH JANGAN POST DI INTERNET SY MALU MAH ..... SELUAR SUDAH JATUH NAMPAK BANA.....

SORRY I DAH RUPA ENGLISH AND BAHASA MELAYU CAMPUR-CAMPUR HOPE U UNDERSTAND , BIASALAH BUKA SALAH YA ... SALAH CIKGU ... SY BETUL DAN PREFECT , MANA BOLEH ADA SALAH ... SY BETUL SEMUA DAN JANGAN BUANG PASIR DALAM RICH BOWL , GIVE ME MORE OXIGEN TO NAFAS..... HA..HA....

ALL THIS IS MY PERSONAL OPINION AND WITHOUT PREJUDICE ANY PROBLEM PLS CONTACT MY PERSONAL LAWYER ...

PLS LET OURS BRAIN TO WORK FOR US THINK LOGIC AND COMMON SENSE ...... PLS ASIST ME IF I AM WRONG AND MY SINCERE APOLOGISE TO ALL

THANKS FOR YR TIMES rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
West Wing
post Dec 22 2010, 10:17 AM

1,397 posts

Aroma Challenge.

Well, Coolandy,

We shall leave the Aroma Challenge to the Aroma Pros.......and in that way, we will seperate the good from the bad.......and the winner still walk away with Rm5K.

As far me, I will continue to post what I see and believe to be the truth and right for all to discuss. I would advice BH owners to have coffee break together and discuss about swiftlets ways and problems and in this way, all will learn from other experaince, mistakes and ideals.

One reader PM me on the subject on sound changes and my advice to him are as follow:

As for consultant telling you to change sound every 4 months is either is that he doesn't understand the reason why well or just to make money from you and I will advice you to use the sound as long as it pulls in the birds. Only change when the sound doesn't excite the new birds which you are hopping for right?? New Birds and not the old faithful ones who will be faithful to you even if you play MC Hammer. Luckily they didn't ask you to renovate your BH; maybe they told you that the birds will get fedup with the old look lah.

My advice is to change when require to and not every 4 months even if it's only 1 months or 1 years. If the sound doesn't work, then it's isn't a good sound even it's been tested well at another location cos' your location's birds maybe different. Like in Rome, don't speak Bahasa. Never look at the price tag of the sound, if it pull in the birds, then it's a good sound otherwise, it's bad even if it cost you a thousand ringgit to buy.

Anyone disagree with me, pls post it here so that we all will learn as even an old man like me also learn; " Live to Old, learn to Old" as the saying goes.
calvinswiftlet
post Dec 22 2010, 11:00 AM

35 posts

Aroma Challenge.

Hi , i post the comment in here is not try to challenging the aroma with other .. I just wan to tell the true boz someone talk bad about aerosol product ..The both of the blogger n
know PHM very well boz they drink the water before but they forgot ..PHM knw more about swiftlet than them .. We are very understand about swiftlet to be safe .. PHM never try to defense or explain about his aroma but he say to me ,the user will know ..

CWG
post Dec 22 2010, 11:12 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Dec 22 2010, 10:17 AM)

One reader PM me on the subject on sound changes and my advice to him are as follow:

As for consultant telling you to change sound every 4 months is either is that he doesn't understand the reason why well or just to make money from you and I will advice you to use the sound as long as it pulls in the birds. Only change when the sound doesn't excite the new birds which you are hopping for right?? New Birds and not the old faithful ones who will be faithful to you even if you play MC Hammer.  Luckily they didn't ask you to renovate your BH; maybe they told you that the birds will get fedup with the old look lah.

My advice is to change when require to and not every 4 months even if it's only 1 months or 1 years. If the sound doesn't work, then it's isn't a good sound even it's been tested well at another location cos' your location's birds maybe different. Like in Rome, don't speak Bahasa. Never look at the price tag of the sound, if it pull in the birds, then it's a good sound otherwise, it's bad even if it cost you a thousand ringgit to buy.

Anyone disagree with me, pls post it here so that we all will learn as even an old man like me also learn; " Live to Old, learn to Old" as the saying goes.
Hi WW,

Normally when play new sound, a lot of bird will come and play. But after a while, the number of birds will reduce. Have you encountered this before? If yes, do you change the sound or check any increase in new nest before you change the sound?

West Wing
post Dec 22 2010, 12:14 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(CWG @ Dec 22 2010, 11:12 AM)
Hi WW,

Normally when play new sound, a lot of bird will come and play. But after a while, the number of birds will reduce. Have you encountered this before? If yes, do you change the sound or check any increase in new nest before you change the sound?

Good, Good but since the post address me than I shall reply to the best of my ability.

Fact 1. New sound draw in the birds but will the birds stay. As you already say that new sound will bring in birds but will reduce very quickly if the sound isn't good at all. Like one famous Blogger wrote in his site that the sound of dying chicks and the smell of broken eggs will instantly bring in birds but they are there to check out and save the chicks if possible. Didn't anyone tell you that once before, a consultant told one newbiz that he can draw in alot of birds and he did so by playing "Distress" sound and he got the job to renovated the BH because the newbiz just saw what is in the sky and he is happy of what he saw...... a super Consultant with a Super sound .......and honestly, the sound was played at the BH for over afew months until no more birds are interested in the sound and the few months old BH is still empty....... Do you know that in one very successful BH, the same sound was used for over 3 years and still strong as we are interested in new birds and not the old ones as I have said earlier. New birds haven't hear your old sound yet so the old sound still sound new to the new birds.....which we are seeking and not the old birds which are forever faithful to us.

Fact 2. When the good is going, why spoil the good running by changing sound. For that, let me tell you a true fact in one of my BHs, I didn't use any sound, internal or external for the past 2 years as I have already plenty of original good sound and till today, that BH's nests are still increasing to my satisfaction. Alot of new nests are observed each time I enter the BH, although I seldom enter unless necessary....so as not to disturb the birds.

Nice of you to share information here. Hopefully, more will join in the forum for discussion of creating a prefect way of maintaining BH. Only thru mutual exchange of ideas and knowledge can we all gain....... also will this forum lasts and of interest to all.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Dec 22 2010, 08:29 PM
Bobby C
post Dec 22 2010, 03:59 PM

663 posts

The latest 2010 Mega Christmas Sale talk contributed by the two buggers in the blogosphere to Malaysia Swiftlet Industry must have stirred some mega jokes in towns.

This is serious allegation. But, don't take them too seriously, we know their background. If that's true, all toilet deodorizers around the country will be affected. Big MNCs like Sara Lee have to recall their products from Giants, Tescos, Carrefours, Juscos etc. Health Ministry will be informed to look into all hotels, shopping centres etc to ban all these aerosol products.

Yup, Santa Clause certainly coming to town with the 2 jokers in Malaysia.

Still remember which joker recommended putting Fedona into humidifiers and made ur Bhs into gas chamber for both birds and humans? Tats certainly going to create more damage to the mother nature due to human stupidity cum greed. Another one putting eerie looking green water into humidifier wonder what kind of green water is tat? Whether approve by Ministry of Health?

Peace to all esp during this Christmas seasons. Life short, don't because of greed, forget u are human after all.

benchai
post Dec 22 2010, 08:47 PM

167 posts

Coolandy clearly miss the point. It's not about proofing who have a superior aroma. There ars many brands in the market. I have been using Eka Walet Aroms and is quiet happy with them. I went to take a course on making aroma and it works well for me. Even PPl in Terock is jumping into the band wagon and should be marketing them shortly and backed up by tons of testimonie$$$$$$$$$ ha ! I am very sure that they are very Good!!

I did complained about the bad result using LP and only warn members when the manufacturer put disclaimers and I am still waiting for a refund. Pls. Go to Yen Yen site and see the independent assessment on aromas.

It's about attic !!!!

coolandy
post Dec 22 2010, 09:47 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(benchai @ Dec 22 2010, 08:47 PM)
Coolandy clearly miss the point. It's not about proofing who have a superior aroma. There ars many brands in the market. I have been using Eka Walet Aroms and is quiet happy with them.  I went to take a course on making aroma and it works well for me. Even PPl in  Terock is jumping into the band wagon and should be marketing them shortly and backed up by tons of testimonie$$$$$$$$$ ha ! I am very sure that they are very Good!!

I did complained about the bad result using LP and only warn members when the manufacturer put disclaimers  and I am still waiting for a refund. Pls. Go to Yen Yen site and see the independent assessment on aromas.

It's about  attic !!!!
Dear Ben Chai and ALL

My posting is not to challenge you at all. It just came to my mind one fine day to put an end to the aroma debate from doubters and promoters. Bird like my aroma, super effective, do not work, aerosol danger macam-macam, sudah sakit kepala. Testimonies are just testimonies and do no carry much weight. The proof of the pudding is in the eating. I am not interested in hearsay. Science is the way to move forward. A properly conducted test can rule out coincidence.

I am putting the challenge up so that those with the right aroma can participate. Only by doing the experiment scientifically can the effectiveness of aroma in making birds make love etc can be determined. I am not saying whose aroma is good or bad. I just want solid proof that it works and I am willing to pay for it (actually my swiftlets are paying for it thumbup.gif :-) ). The rsults will be posted in this forum to be shared.

Pass the challenge around. Any takers? This is time to walk the talk.

Anyone else wants to chip in? Top up the fund and see if the aroma promoters are up to it.

Btw, Ben Chai, you could try the rig-left-right-left method and if the birds gathered in the similar pattern, this would prove once and for all that the birds like the aroma. So simple.

I hope Harry, James and others can participate.

If you all think 5k is not enough, then suggest a figure. I will try to raise the fund size if needed. Also, can choose any BH for the test. A neutral one is best.

So aroma defenders or opponents, why not join in the fun? Nothing to lose. It is my money from swiftlets.

This post has been edited by coolandy: Dec 22 2010, 09:58 PM
APR56
post Dec 22 2010, 11:05 PM

Aroma Challenge.

"I TOP UP another RM5k for this experiment "

This post has been edited by APR56: Dec 22 2010, 11:07 PM
coolandy
post Dec 23 2010, 12:25 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(APR56 @ Dec 22 2010, 11:05 PM)
Aroma Challenge.

"I TOP UP another RM5k for this experiment "
APR56,

Thanks for wanting tp be part of this experiment.

So far, the aroma challenge prize is RM10k.

Contributors welcome.

Aroma promoters will make a fortune through the publicity gained if their aroma truly works. We will separate the real ones from the fakes. If it works, all farmers would benefit tremendously. If it doesn't work, then we farmers have been taken for a ride for far too long.

htc
post Dec 23 2010, 10:42 AM

110 posts

any one can enlighten Mr Tam Yeng Siang from Petaling Jaya?

samlow82
post Dec 23 2010, 11:39 AM

Dear all respected seniors, do you have any contact for me if I would like to join Persatuan Pedagang Sarang Burung Negeri Kedah?

Is there any procedure to join the association? Online application?

I couldn't find any information in GOOGLE....

0cool
post Dec 23 2010, 11:58 AM

REMEMBER..?

http://swiftletfarming.blogspot.com/2010/0...piders-try.html

Monday, July 12, 2010

If You Wish To Kill Those Spiders Try Fumakilla H2O Spray !!!

If you wanted to kill those spiders inside your BH try to use Fumakilla H2O spray.

This was something which was discovered by one of my blog reader.

"Pak Harry, I wanted to share something strange that happened to my BH."

This was the first part of my telephone conversation with a new blog reader from Perak.

"During one of my BH visit I used those water based aerosol insects spray, to be exact Fumakilla H2O, to kill those spiders. I was surprised that after the spraying works I saw many birds entered my BH. It was never like that before and it happened just after the spraying operation."

"What is your opinion?"

Wah liow weh, I have never come across about this new aroma from Fumakilla Texchem.

This is something strange and I do not know what to advise. I am speechless !!!

From my point of view if the water based aerosol is per his explanation, we can now have a new set of aroma which we can easily purchase from Tesco or Giant.

No need to buy any of those high priced canisters spray or portion or pheromone.

However I am of the opinion that if you wish to try, be careful and do not go overboard.

Try with a small volume and see if this new finding is effective as per claimed.

The person who exposed this new finding has a title : J.P. (Justice of Peace). I don't think he would like to share something that is not true.

So if you happened to be visiting a supermarket please get a can and try at your BH.

We need something that can cut out monthly maintenance cost of our BH. This might be the right answer.

If it does not work don't feel bad about it. At least you are brave enough to try something new. Just imagine if it works???
Posted by Harry The Swiftlet Anthusiast !!! at 5:25 PM

NOW YOU JUDGE...

coolandy
post Dec 23 2010, 12:02 PM

314 posts

Remember the story of WD40?
CWG
post Dec 23 2010, 01:27 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Dec 23 2010, 12:25 AM)
APR56,

Thanks for wanting tp be part of this experiment.

So far, the aroma challenge prize is RM10k.

Contributors welcome.

Aroma promoters will make a fortune through the publicity gained if their aroma truly works. We will separate the real ones from the fakes. If it works, all farmers would benefit tremendously. If it doesn't work, then we farmers have been taken for a ride for far too long.
Hi Coolandy,

I like your idea. I suggest to try out on 2 BH. 1 at East coast and the other at West Coast M'sia.
West Wing
post Dec 23 2010, 03:31 PM

1,397 posts

Dear All

Wishing you & your loved ones a Blessed Christmas & a Joyful, Peaceful,
Healthy New Year! May the New Year bring with it hope and peace on
earth esp. BH

This post has been edited by West Wing: Dec 23 2010, 07:26 PM
athlic
post Dec 23 2010, 06:42 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(CWG @ Dec 23 2010, 01:27 PM)
Hi Coolandy,

I like your idea. I suggest to try out on 2 BH. 1 at East coast and the other at West Coast M'sia.
let me propose this design of experiment. it had to be carried out in the same room for controlled environment, preferably a long hall. choose the middle portion with left and right. get rid of all the tweeters nearby. if wanna use fake nest every plank must use, if not no fake nests should be used at all.

1. plank Row1 - no aroma (both left and right)
2. plank Row2 - aroma A (left only)
3. plank Row3 - aroma B (left only)
4. plank Row4 - aroma C (left only)
5. plank Row5 - no aroma (both left and right)
6. plank Row6 - aroma A (right only)
7. plank Row7 - aroma B (right only)
8. plank Row8 - aroma C (right only)

the results should be able to speak for itself. no doubt there are some other factors but all other variations should be cut down to minimum level.
coolandy
post Dec 23 2010, 06:55 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(athlic @ Dec 23 2010, 06:42 PM)
let me propose this design of experiment. it had to be carried out in the same room for controlled environment, preferably a long hall. choose the middle portion with left and right. get rid of all the tweeters nearby. if wanna use fake nest every plank must use, if not no fake nests should be used at all.

1. plank Row1 - no aroma (both left and right)
2. plank Row2 - aroma A (left only)
3. plank Row3 - aroma B (left only)
4. plank Row4 - aroma C (left only)
5. plank Row5 - no aroma (both left and right)
6. plank Row6 - aroma A (right only)
7. plank Row7 - aroma B (right only)
8. plank Row8 - aroma C (right only)

the results should be able to speak for itself. no doubt there are some other factors but all other variations should be cut down to minimum level.
Thanks for all the input. For the results to be valid, all the conditions must be similar.

It can be done in any BH provided the planks where the aroma is to be applied must be the same, i.e. if no speakers on NP1, then the rest also got no speaker.

Only 1 type of aroma per section with each section having anywhere from 4 - 8 planks. If other aroma is also under test, then a different set of NPs should be used.

If the aroma is truly effective, I repeat, the birds should gather as per pattern of aroma application.

Price is now RM10K. Any takers?

If you are convince that your aroma is special, subject it to the test, even in your own appointed BH is fine with me. Come on. help clear the industry of any doubts on aroma.
aeiou228
post Dec 24 2010, 12:04 AM

5,867 posts

coolandy,

I think the aroma makers wouldn't be bothered of your challenge. Because aroma can never be 100% effective. Therefore chances of failure is high and the risk of "brand name" being tarnished forever.

126 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:40 AM