V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

benchai
post Dec 11 2010, 10:23 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(swiftlailai @ Dec 10 2010, 06:23 PM)
Uncle Ben where are u. This newbie needs your help so am i. Mine is a stand alone birdhouse in rubber plantation, results only so so la. Found out during last harvest last week the nests are very wet and one or two show sign of pinkish colour. I do not operate any humidifier yet humidity is very high. Please advice all sifu how to solve this. Thanks icon_question.gif
Yes I am still a life and kicking. Been busy just commission my 7 Th standalone BH since Jan 2010. will commission one more tomorrow and another completed BH to be commission on 2 Jan 2011 owner chose this very ospecious day.
Sold 5 bh since dec.2009 and have only two standalone in stock. My Eco park is spread over a wide area.

Your bh ,is the water table very high ? And is your floor concreted or just dirt floor? Usually to be on the safe side I lay a layer of PVC sheet before pouring the concrete slap.

In one of my BH 50 meters from the river , moisture slip through the concrete floor and make a mess and uncontrollable fungus growth. I lay a layer of PVC sheets and randier 2 inches of mortar on the top and solved the problem. I wipe every nesting planks them spray alcohol base aroma from my Sifu Pak Han ( at that time it was still on trial and given to me by Pak Han for free) hmm.gif

Recently one bh I built in Sabah 50 nests and established markings in 4 months. The roof leaks on to the ceiling and seeps through the insulation and and caused a wet patch all the nest in this area turns orange color and very pretty and very thick as it's loaded with water. The chicks all seem to be healthy and suffer no ill effect from the excessive moisture. I will harvest next visit and see if I can produce my first red nest. whistling.gif

When you say that your bh is doing so so. This depend on the bird population in your area. In some place 30 nests is acceptable in other place 1000 nests in 1.5 years is possible provided you have the technic . Quote Pak Han " Successful BH is 5 0/0 luck and 95 0/0 skill" unquote. Belief me A bh design by me and built by Prof. Yap in Kuching 600 nests in 1.5 years and his neighbor only 500 meters away only 50 nests. To add insult to injury this BH is now 2years and 2 months old moreover the bh is exactly on the flight path and the birds coming back to Yap's bh are coming from the direction of the other bh. rclxub.gif

Above is meant to be for fun reading and if anyone care of give more input will be a great help as this one problem suffer by most bh owners. Good luck.
benchai
post Dec 12 2010, 05:00 PM

167 posts

I build in Sabah. Those in Kuching are design by me and build by Prof. Andy Yap and Calvin Chai. pls googlr swiftlets4u .

We are all Pak. han's students and his support with Sounds , aromas and technic .
benchai
post Dec 13 2010, 11:18 PM

167 posts

Want to build in Kuching contact Calvin Chai at waletasia blogspot. Com. No Pak Han don't sell sound but provide sounds for BH built by student under his group and only if he can trust them to use the sound for that exclusive BH only.

Try to contact Pak Han if he trust you he will entrust them to you for free. I have not paid a single cents to Pak Han to Date. Quote " Pak Ben If I give to you My sound you are responsible but if I sell to you you can do whatever you like" unquote . (meaning you can sell them.) His bad experience was about a year ago he put in the market Romana 1 and Romana 2 . Immediately they were copied and rename and sold for up to RM 1000 per copy.

you will realize that sounds are being rename with some dangerous name and sold for lots of money. Example Baby King sold by Hairy Crab is from EKa walet I bought them from pontinanak 3 years ago for RM 60 . Any one interested I will send you this ancient and out of date sound for free.

I don't think I deserve to be branded as distorted genes. That crab was not welcome to Sabah for the last seminar as participant started to cancel their bookings and wants their money back. The organizer found a replacement speaker and ask him not to come. His private trip ended in disaster as he was avoided and refused entry ti bh in Kudat.

A Sabah owner Whose 2 BHs were commissioned by Hairy Crab remains empty and refused to check the Empty BH with excuses of NO TIME !! And WE shouldn't disturb the birds. Finally the owner told him that he have checked the empty BH and there is nothing to DISTURB . YES they spoted a couple of single drop and the delighted HC claim them to be heaps. I doubt he can get a refund

PPL pls open your eyes. I am asking you to be wise and I don't want newbi to be taken for a expensive ride. I am not enverous in any way as I do not consult nor making chicken feed commission But build and sell, PPL like That crab in not in my league and no compaterter .

Take care and be happy.
benchai
post Dec 16 2010, 07:44 AM

167 posts

Hi Friend you should be over the moon. This increase is what we term X factor. PPL in Trock is claiming success with 50 nesting 1.5 yearssss !!!

Pls keep quiet don't advertise to the robber or some Sufi will contact you and inspect your BH and tell you to put in useless VIP rooms and 1000 more speakers to get one more 1000 birds one more for each speakers. HAHAHA. This will screw up your amp. Then your birds will say bye bye!!

Just maintain your BH and prevent invasion from OWLS ,RATS,ANTS and by natural population growth you should be laughing all the way to the bank.

Try changing your external sound every now and then to keep the birds interested. The more birds circling your BH will definate pull more of these flock animals towards your BH and hopefully will stay.

benchai
post Dec 19 2010, 08:45 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(swiftlailai @ Dec 16 2010, 10:39 AM)
Thank Ben, actually my birdhouse floor is made of concrete but humidity has been on the high side all the time. Some people suggest to open more ventilation holes, but the problem is its wall and not easy to hack open again. I am also worried if more work done to renovate the building, the few hundred birds will be scared and start shifting to other birdhouses.

I still remember you when Pak Hen conducted course here in Pulau Kapas, Kuala Terengganu more than 3 ago already. Can you help me to get some sound from Pak Hen for my own use. Thought of changing to new sound for external and internal but I only have 2 types only. What if I fix another hexagonal speakers on roof top?

Thanks very much for your assistance.
Hi one of my BH built 500 meters from the river and high water table suffer same problem as I failed to put on a layer of PVC sheets before pouring on the concrete floor. In fact I found water droplets on the ventilaters and celing on the ground floor. the fungus growth was severe.

I laid on a layer of PVC sheets and a I inch sq.chicken wire then randier on about two inches on molter. This solved the humidity problem. All this was done on one morning and the door of the BH was left open and closed back at 4 pm. There were no noticeable ill effect to the birds populations. My workman wipe every NP with damp cloths . I sprayed on H3N1. I have been using this product for the last 2 and half years supplied by Pak Han on trial and free of charge. I achieved 53 nests in 8 months and the BH have since been sold.

Our group all Pak Han's students has the privilege and advantage of using H3N1 while it was still on trial. My shared BH with Prof. yap in Kuching more the 100 nests 10 months. Prof Yap's BH in Jemokan 600 nest a 1.5 years. J Tan Daro 1000 nests 1.5 years . pls google Swiftlets4U and see video. Capt L.. BH in Sabah ( turned Key By the writer ) 131 nests in 8 months. Two BH for Datuk H. In Sabah 50 nests in 5 months each.

So far I have not found any dead birds in any of these H3N1 BH mentioned above but on the contry the birds population keep increasing. In fact Just inspected another turn key BH in Tuaran today together with the owner. The 5 months old Bh has 33 nests and established Markings and BH handed over to Owner for self management.

Uncle WW Your comment has always been treasured by Me and many readers. Your writing is always helpful and with one motive which is to help others .

benchai
post Dec 20 2010, 07:37 PM

167 posts

Sour grapes sour grapes sour grapes. Capt. L..'s BH sound on 19.4.10 last week counted 131 nests. This BH use H3N1 exclusively . Just Harvested 15 nests for Christmas . Eat your heart out. HAHAHA.
benchai
post Dec 20 2010, 09:35 PM

167 posts

Agrees with ww the plastic covers I bought from Sam Gan are great. The improved version is even better.

Few points How high is your BH celling ? If celling is more then 10 ft high then you don't have a problem. With a damp spot and fungus growth directly on the top of the humidifier . You can remove the fan and it works equally well.

What is essential is a timer . Say start running your chicken humidify starting at 9 am
in the morning for 15 mins every 2 hours interval till 6 pm. If you do not achieve the desired humidity then increase the operation time. If you run them for the whole day then then you will have a wet floor.

The temp. Of your bh will remain stable if the floor is very wet but once the floor start to dry up and a damp floor the temp. Will rise and feel very stuffy and you may loss some birds.

What ever you do don't put on those colorful tar base floor cover you get from the hardware store. One such BH in Sabah was advise by you know who , to do just that and most of the birds run away. I was fortunate to have just built and commissioned a BH about 1 KM away and you guest right. 100 birds moved in and this BH Has 33 nests in 4 months.

Good Luck

benchai
post Dec 22 2010, 08:47 PM

167 posts

Coolandy clearly miss the point. It's not about proofing who have a superior aroma. There ars many brands in the market. I have been using Eka Walet Aroms and is quiet happy with them. I went to take a course on making aroma and it works well for me. Even PPl in Terock is jumping into the band wagon and should be marketing them shortly and backed up by tons of testimonie$$$$$$$$$ ha ! I am very sure that they are very Good!!

I did complained about the bad result using LP and only warn members when the manufacturer put disclaimers and I am still waiting for a refund. Pls. Go to Yen Yen site and see the independent assessment on aromas.

It's about attic !!!!

benchai
post Dec 24 2010, 05:45 PM

167 posts

Minggu, 28 November 2010
Effektifitas Aroma H3N1

Diposkan oleh HenMulia di 13.31 0 komentar
Jumat, 12 November 2010
Whenever You Drink The Water, Please Remember Where The Water Come From

Many peoples learn swiftlet's farming from me but once they grow and run always forget me and some of them TIKAM from behind. One of them is Blogger who always like to critized my seminar. Actually, 2 years ago he also learn from me and from my forum, KPW. Once he become consultant he tried to block peoples to join my forum KPW by mis-link KPW address in his blog, that is why we have decided to deactivate his KPW account.
Why he mis-link KPW address?? May be he don't want people know his background or his history in KPW or may be he don't want people become clever because get information from KPW forum. I don't know what his reason.

Just to remind to Blogger, where he come from.... and hope he not arrogant and always think that he is the best. On the SKY OVER the SKY.

So, please keep in your mind: Whenever you are drink the water, please remember where the water come from.

SWIFJAMES(bHouse)Friday, May 9, 2008 8:50 PM
From: This sender is DomainKeys verified"Swifjames Chong" Add sender to Contacts
To: "hendri mulia"
Honorably Sifu Pak Hendri,

I have learned a great deal from you. Thank u so much for your teaching. I can proudly say that you are a good Teacher.

Thank u millions

God Bless U,

Warmest Regards
James

--- On Fri, 5/9/08, hendri mulia wrote:
Subject: Re: SWIFJAMES(bHouse)
To: swifjames@yahoo.com
Date: Friday, May 9, 2008, 8:08 AM

James, you already got the answer.... very good

Swifjames Chong wrote:

Hendri,

Its good to have yr reply, what is the reason of you choosing Pic1?.Is it when the walet dive in they have a longer "run way" to fly as compared to pic2 LMB?

In order for most walets to cover the whole farm and also to enter LAR therefore the LAR has to be at the south part like in Pic1.

James
Cheer

Date: Friday, May 9, 2008, 3:16 AM

James,

I prefer picture 1, but please take out the partition and change it using hanging partition.

Regards,

hendri mulia

Swifjames Chong wrote:
Dear Hendri,

Thk u so much for the reply, very much appreciated. Yes 2 lubang. 1 from Open/roof then 1 more from roving to nesting ,this is the old concept to protect sunlight. But now new concept I un'stnd most without partition and walet not afraid of light and the farm should be as open as possible. So what is yr comment if in the pic1, taken out the partition is it better then the pic2?

Bird coming back from the left side of the Pic that mean the position of the LMB of pic2 is facing walet coming back.

Thank you

Warmest
Regards
James

Date: Friday, May 9, 2008, 1:27 AM

Pak James,

May I know what is direction of birds coming back home?

In the first picture, i see you have 2 LMB i.e.: 1 from open roof go to roving room and 1 from roving room to nesting room. Is it correct? Any reason you make 2 LMB?

Regards,

Hendri Mulia

Swifjames Chong wrote:
Dear Hen Mulia,

Pls find attached pics n the 2 earlier emails I sent to u.My surname is Chong, so it James Chong.

Looking forward to yr reply.

Warmest Regards
James Chong

--- On Thu, 5/8/08, chong wrote:
Subject: : Thank you (bHouse)
Date: Thursday, May 8, 2008, 5:56 AM

----- Original Message -----
To: henmulia@yahoo.com
Sent: Wednesday, May 07, 2008 1:41 PM
Subject: Thank you (bHouse)

Dear Pak Hen,

Here are the second picture that has less obstruction, but its most used by people. Whivh would it be better?

Your kind advise is very much appreciate. You may add anything you may want.

Thank you
God bless You
James (swifJames)

Open your eyes an be careful !!! Try to raise RM 100,000 and we will be interested and able to cover our cost . RM 10,000 not even cover our travelling expences.

I think we will loss cus some green looking product can pull in 700 birds in 2 weeks as claimed. Also birds rushing in to stay in unfinished BH.

This is dangerous for the NB market as a whole . With this type of result BN prise will soon drop to RM 50,00 per kilo.
benchai
post Dec 24 2010, 11:25 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Dec 24 2010, 02:44 PM)
I am not talking about applying aroma to an unsuccessful BH. It has to be applied to a successful BH where there is still room for the tests to be conducted, or even to new BH.

In the case of old BH, the empty NP would be able to gather birds after the aroma is sprayed. No other aroma must be used prior to this to eliminate other uncertainties.

In the case of new BH, that is easy. The birds, due to their gregarious nature, would again populate the area where the aroma is sprayed.

The beauty of this is that you don't even need CCTV to confirm this because just by the accumulation of bird droppings under those NP would be proof enough.

As for the simultaneous testing of various aroma, I am not for it. Each test should be done using just 1 aroma on a set of NP. Other aromas can be applied to a different region in the BH using another set of NPs. The good thing is if aroma works, we can tell the difference in efficacy between the types of aromas. If it doesn't work, then the pattern of bird droppings will not be seen. Of course, CCTV videos would even be better.

Thank you all so far for the various contributions. I can prepare a few BHs from friends and my own for the test. Some of the BHs has more than 2000 ebn and some are new.

Participants can also volunteer their own BH for this project. I am waiting for the aroma promoters to come forward with confidence. No hearsay, no testimony, just PURE SCIENTIFIC experiment where the results can be repeated anywhere provided the same test methods are applied.

Prize winner of RM10K  is still up for grabs. It is time to walk the talk.

Added on December 24, 2010, 3:08 pm
Pak Hen,

You are most welcome to stipulate the conditions needed for this test. You can choose your own BH, which series of NP, when to do it etc. I just want to see bird droppings below the NPs, better still together with video.

If success, the RM10k is yours. That simple.
tan2020 wrote:
henmulia wrote:
calvincsh80 wrote:
Hi justin , good post ya .. But look like coolandy still want to callenge with our master product ..

if the present is RM. 50,000 we will go in this competition. Asking Jim lee to take care and apply H4N1 Aroma. H4N1 need to be test in certain area in Indonesia and Malaysia.

Should I ask them to jack up the prize to RM50,000 before we enrol.
New Aroma ? H4N1 - i will be willng to test too. he he

Yes... because we need to do inspection of the BH internal and manage the BH, if too small, who will pay Jim Lee's meal, transportation and accommodation? If win, i will give this money to Jim lee and his team.

Yes, i will arrange it to send H4N1 to you

Hi here is Pak Han accepting the challange. see KPW site . The ball is on your court and" put you money where your mouth is "

benchai
post Dec 27 2010, 09:08 PM

167 posts

HI tuchfook appreciate the lesson in science and wish I have the opportunity of having better education but unfortunately was lacking during my time. I am a sceptic and everything I do is based on scientific approach.

I am very passionate and do lots of experiment and research on whatever is my hobby is at that time and they are too many to mention. I breed racing ponies and endurance horses in Australia for 17 years and formulated my own feed and does my own entire vet work.

My record in Sabah will be impossible to beat having won all 7 cup races straight for 3 consecutive years. During this period have breed about 200 horses. My last endurance horse was sold to Middle East for AU75, 000 3 years ago. All these are public records and can be verified.

My research BH in Miri I installed 8 cctv to monitor the birds behaviour and reactions to the different sounds, volume and aromas, speakers placements and so on. Belief me I have done everything needed achieve the best result and some more. This very successful BH has seen been sold for a lot of $$$ at least for me as far as I am concerned.

I have used from EKA wallet, ammonia, duck eggs, bird shits, LP, NP socked in sea water the lot. The best result is oil extracted from the gland of civet cat but at last where to find so much civet cat glands?? I found my home made aroma formulated by Pak Han to be satisfactory. Since I was privileged to use H3N1 since the trial 2 yrs ago I have not look back. It is convenience to use and the smell lingers for a long time. All the BH I built (10 this year) is enjoying good result while my neighbour is a distance away. The only problem now is I have to pay for them and gladly do so for the result that I am getting.

Like horse breeding you use your used farm cloth to clean and wipe the foul at birth especially around the nose and head. This is call “IMPRINTING”. The foul will grow up to be very tame and can be handled before breaking in. The same here with swiftlets and the continuous spray every 15 mins between 3 pm to 7 pm and H3N1 sprayed every two weeks directly on to the nesting planks. This practice I belief will imprint into the swiftlets homing instinct and hopefully don’t loss them to your neighbour and maybe pull their birds to your BH.

I doubt that there will be any takers for the aroma challenge. I do not know you and coolandy personally and belief you are sincere. I will send 2 cans of H3N1 to both of you FOC to be sprayed on the unoccupied corners of your BH and after 3 months just give all of us your honours findings. Of cause our representative will detects where you use the aroma. Spraying on NP nearest to the LMB with bright light is a wasted exercise.

Let me know your locations and your address and thanks for support.

Merry Christmas.

benchai
post Dec 27 2010, 10:48 PM

167 posts

No I am not a vet but a psychiatric Nurse by training. Served out my Govt. contract and became a self made bussinesman in Logistics, Property Delopements.

I think you are refering to Dr. Ho . He have since left the NSF and gone to China dealing in Gas Business.

I used to hunt a lot and train German short hair pointer and staffordshire bull terrier x bule heeler and use as pig dogs.

Jim Lee will be our nearest contact base in K.T.
benchai
post Dec 28 2010, 12:05 AM

167 posts

Hi sorry we are not interested to put our product to be tested.

We have been testing them in more then 15 of our group's BH in E. Malaysia and 4 BH in K.T. for almost 2 years . We know the result and we don't have to prove anything.

We mearly have the courage to put our product for demo and not test. kaput ?? We don't need H4N1 , H3N1 will do for now.
benchai
post Dec 29 2010, 11:28 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(swift4ever @ Dec 29 2010, 08:48 PM)
Hi Pak Ben, I've talked to Julia Ho about the ownership of land title by west Malaysian in Sarawak as suggested. Visited  sites and your group's BH in Sarawak. To me, It is really eye-opening to see BH development is starting to shift into high gear in Sarawak and the result from your group's BH after all the talks and promotions about the product at the seminar and forum. Salute to your group for being unselfish to share knowledge beside birds sounds. Wish you all a very Happy New Year!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Thank you for the compliments. I was in Kuching harvesting with my partner Prof. Andy Yap. Should I know that you are in Kuching would love to buy you dinner. Spoke to Julia today before departing foe Miri.

All those BH are mostly design by me and built by Yap and Calvin in Kuching as I am fully occupied in KK. All BH endorsed by Pak Han and Sounds and commissioned by Pak Han. Jim Lee and Justin Tan will come and met up with us on PHM visit and we criticize our own work this enable us to keep improving our design and technic

.In this now such a competitive environment and at times hostile and envious smalltimers , we need that small edge to stay on the top. Our books are full I wonder why.??? Thanks to Pak Han and our group support . 6 heads is better then one.

We enjoy what we do and get paid handsomely for our effort . whistling.gif
benchai
post Jan 7 2011, 07:50 PM

167 posts

If your BH is giving you a couple of Kgs why be so greedy and you might kill the golden goose . One very well established BH in Sarawak force harvested just before being raided by Forestry Dept. Again force harvested when being informed of another inpending raid. The populations have now dropped by 50 percent and never recovered. Every BH owners in this area knows about this incident .

If you are so greedy and have no heart and soul left in you and game, go ahead. There is a place reserved for people like you in hell. For those who recommend such gruesome act May the fleas of a thousand camel infest you arsehole for the next hundred years.
benchai
post Feb 2 2011, 06:22 PM

167 posts

Dear All have a happy new year . I wish you all my friends good health and many good years ahead of you. may Your BN business prosper.

It has been a very fruitful year for myself and enjoying every minute learning so many new technic and thanks to so many friends from this blog who are so willing to share their knowledge with me.

Special thanks to Pak Han and our HM group for their support and helping me with designs and suggestions.
benchai
post Feb 3 2011, 10:09 PM

167 posts

Around Sarikei there is no need to do bird testing. If you have any agriculture land and money just build and wait.

Build a good size BH and with the right technic you can retire in 4 years time.
benchai
post Feb 4 2011, 04:17 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Feb 4 2011, 11:24 AM)
This is not true at all. It is not that easy. As the town already very saturated with BH.
Let me repeat good design,right technic, good sound,good aroma and patient !!! With these and you are still unsuccessful in Serikai then I advise you to give up BN farming and go do something else. rclxub.gif

Our friend Tuck Fook mention "Moden BH " hmm.gif please take note , the days of renovating a dark room and some sound and hope for a good result is long gone.

My next BH will be built with composit materials and is burglar proof or at least they have to bring a backhoe and a couple of hours to break in. MY "IQ BH " took me a year to desigh and I will let you know the result in due cause. This quick built system is not cheap and take about 3 weeks to build a two stories BH and 1 month for a 3 stories BH.
benchai
post Feb 6 2011, 11:08 PM

167 posts

Hi happy new year to you. will be building shortly and only when I can show better result compare to the present system I can claim success . of cause it have to be cost effective, security aspect is prime consideration in this case. The first building built in Australia was built in 1971 so durability is not a problem and should out live me.

Of cause I can share my experience to people I know personally as we are aware that there are many smart Alex who will take any opportunity to contradict anything under the sky.

I am a BH developer and sold 5 BHs between end 1909 and 10 . The result must be OK! last year built and commissioned 10 BHs this gives me the Opportunity to keep fine tune the next BH.

Next BH is Called " IQ BH" with new materials and best design base on the last 10 BH taking into consideration the size and hight of the building. The size of the LMB so to control the light density and humidity . I am Still designing the ventilation system with the help of a kind gentelman from Penang. This is to prevent condensation and thus fungus growth.

Most important point shaw your buyer the total amount of usable nesting room in this
24 x 60 x 3 stories BH. Good value for money !!!

In every thing you you must have a winning edge of say 10 percent . If you can achieve this in the BN business you will be laughing all the way to the bank and a bunch of happy And proud BH owners.

Answer to your next question . I have little interest in The BN itself I can generate much more monetary reward doing something else. The challenge of putting a crew together and building a BH in record time and then pulllllll in the birds and build nests really turns me on !

I have been contacted by many friends for advise almost on a daily basis and help where I can . I Apologize to some callers who I do not know and I am reluctant to engage in any serious discussions for obvious reasons . Sorry Man I hope no offend please .

This is mean to be for fun reading only and my 6 cents worth.

benchai
post Mar 11 2011, 10:52 PM

167 posts

Life is so fun and moving so fast that I hardly had time to tata a tata (talk coke).

However from feed back in both Sarawak and Sabah the future of bh in shop lots and residential areas does not look very bright. I don't think WW is shouting wolf ! Most Bh owners having bhs in shop lots are living in denial and hope that the inevitable will not happen.

Some where in Sarawak a BH in residential area have received notice to have the BH shut down and revert the house to it's original state within a set time frame failing which a compound fees of RM 250 per day. The council have to take action due to neighbors complain and can we Blame them ??? If not for the coming state election which is round the corner I think a much more forceful action would have been implemented.

WW is not trying to give you a heart attack but prepare us any eventuality which is AKAN DATANG!! If you only want him to say things you want to hear and give you false hope, he can easily do that I am sure.

By the way WW I should be in KK on 16/3 you can get my HP from GN.

0.0246sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:50 PM