V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

limhongwoon
post May 30 2010, 04:46 PM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

All Sifu , i have some question to ask :

How you guys install the tweeter in BH ??
What is the best song for the swiftlets ??
Which tweeter should i buy for internal and external ??

tauyik
post May 30 2010, 05:10 PM

85 posts

hi everyone..im new in this industry,i've setup a birdhouse in a shop lot since 6 months ago, however there's not even a bird nest yet. i've throw out all my saving for this investment, is there anyone that can help me?

and here are a few things that im curious,
1. should i destroy all the partition? my sifu say it won't effect birds from coming in.
2. what is the best humidity and temperature in birdhouse? my sifu says its not important.

ChanK
post May 30 2010, 05:32 PM

451 posts

while waiting for cergau announcement, why not go to bookstore and grab a book to read?

http://dinmerican.wordpress.com/2010/05/20...averick-part-1/

as for tauyik, different conditions, different solutions. if you think all the partitions are blocking the birds from entering then u should slowly removed it one by one and see whether it improve your birds count or not.

if your sifu say is not important abt humi n temp, then u should instead of removing the partitions, u should removes your sifu first then only u remove the partitions one by one. look at the bird shits spot on the partition, u might find which part of the partition that u should removed.

again, i am totally new in this buz so treat it as reference or second opinions.

good luck.
West Wing
post May 30 2010, 05:51 PM

1,397 posts

Lately, haven't you all notice that the mosquitoes now are also getting smarter. These maybe due to the fact that our swiftlets are eating up these mosquitoes so fast that the mosquitoes need to invent a new strategy to survive.

The mosquitoes now dive straight down whenever they sense danger, wanting to evade the swifltets that may wipe out the mosquitoes in town; the lesson learned by the mosquitoes is that if you can't outrun them, dive straight down and swiftlets can't dive straight down. SO clever, you mosquitoes and hope that the authorities also learn like the mosquitoes.............. smarter for the sake of our nation.

The raayat should appreciate that with the swiftlets coming to town, they have controlled the mosquitoes populations as well as other pests like houseflies and termites which have been causing millions of ringgit of damages yearly.
Ada Walet, Tiada Nyamuk or
Hapuskan Dengue Dengan Walet
Cergau
post May 30 2010, 06:02 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ May 30 2010, 05:32 PM)

if your sifu say is not important abt humi n temp, then u should instead of removing the partitions, u should removes your sifu first then only u remove the partitions one by one. look at the bird shits spot on the partition, u might find which part of the partition that u should removed.

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

tauyik,
That's how some wisdom is dispensed here, sometimes.
ie there's wisdom in what was said in response.
Pls do not expect an A-Z write-up. The best has yet to be written.
You may hv done yrself a favour if you have posted a sketch/plan of yr BH.
No 2 here will agree on the ultimate design, but you have nothing to lose anyway.

limhongwoon,
Your questions are general and rather open ended.
I suggest you pick up the basics from V1 & V2. The links are available on the 1st page of this thread (V3).
If u dun need the basics..You may have better luck with more specific questions and get specific answers.
Otherwise you will invite smart-assed answers like
How you guys install the tweeter in BH ?? -----firmly
What is the best song for the swiftlets ?? ------their favourite
Which tweeter should i buy for internal and external ??-----the correct ones biggrin.gif
Oh I forgot to let you know, I not sifu, I tipu biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Cergau: May 30 2010, 06:23 PM
West Wing
post May 30 2010, 06:05 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ May 30 2010, 04:46 PM)
All Sifu , i have some question to ask :

How you guys install the tweeter in BH ??
What is the best song for the swiftlets ??
Which tweeter should i buy for internal and external ??
These are only the ABC of BH. and all here do know and can help. If you are buying, many do sell these products here and you may want to buy from them with some professional advice thrown in for free, I think.

1. Tweeter Arrangement ...all depend on which Sifu.
2. Best Song.....I like Teresa Teng and what about you? No best song but which one is more suitable to your area.
3. Better ones( Maybe waterproof) for the external and simple ones for the internal. If you have more money to waste, then you may want to buy all expensive tweeters...................

That's my opinion on the matter above.

Added on May 30, 2010, 6:19 pm
QUOTE(ChanK @ May 30 2010, 05:32 PM)
while waiting for cergau announcement, why not go to bookstore and grab a book to read?

http://dinmerican.wordpress.com/2010/05/20...averick-part-1/
as for tauyik, different conditions, different solutions. if you think all the partitions are blocking the birds from entering then u should slowly removed it one by one and see whether it improve your birds count or not.

good luck.
Chank,

I just love your" U should removes your Sifu first" and I strongly agreed with you........no offence, Sifu if you are reading my comments cos you really don't know the art of swiftlet ranching if you have given such advice. Many Consultants out there are giving wrong and bad advices to newbiz and that's what's contributing to the public's complaints about the loud sound disturbances. For those who don't abide by the regulation that the sound be kept at a reasonable level and at reasonable time.....go ahead and dismantle their amplifier and issue these black sheeps with a ticket for bringing unrest to the raayat.

This post has been edited by West Wing: May 30 2010, 06:19 PM
Cergau
post May 30 2010, 09:22 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ May 30 2010, 05:51 PM)
SO clever, you mosquitoes and hope that the authorities also learn like the mosquitoes.............. smarter for the sake of our nation.

So, instead of being a wannabe Zimbabwe, we instead hope
to be a nation led by the mosquito brained?

What if they don't learn as fast as the mosquitoes?
Will our nation be led by mosquitoes and administered by zombies with mosquito brains?
Won't our swiftlets have to go on a weight loss program with such sizeable insects?
Overtime, they will evolve into my night mare of turkey size swiftlet and tyre size nest. biggrin.gif

West Wing
post May 31 2010, 02:46 PM

1,397 posts

As I see it......

So far so good as there are no failure in prime swiftlet town area and only very very slow growth in some of them. This will continue as long as those old Bhs maintain their support and supply by providing new birds to the new BHs. As long as the owners of the old BHs have the confidence that their BHs wil remain, they will not resort to the feeling as though that the end of the world is around the corner by harvesting to the fullest as if there are no tomorrow.

As the government encourage the raayat to invest into this industry, the agriculture BHs can flourish only if BHs @ town allow their birds to reproduce and fledge or otherwise, there will be little or no growth as 80% of the new birds are coming from the town. What the old BHs will get back is a max. of 25% of its fledged birds returning to breed and the rest will fly to other locations.

What the government decide now will definitely change the whole industry. To allow the BHs in town forever will be a key factor in the success of the industry. To say 'NO" or to give a few years will have a negative impact to the industry. To move is like putting the industry back by at least 10 years.

Success in core area is almost certain presently but at agriculture land may depend on its location and the number of new BHs. This is why many has posted that only 20% success rate in new BHs as many are at bad locations, and out of swfitlets' towns. Selection of location is the most importance of all in the making of BH........as I see it.

My little understanding to share with all for the future and knowledge of all interested in the Art and Science of Providing Sanctuaries for Swiftlets. If armed with all knowledge in the art and science of the trade and if you fail, you can only blame it on your ill luck or on the government bad decision and action on your unfortunate failure. Omitofo

htc
post May 31 2010, 02:58 PM

110 posts

does anyone here know the guidelines for poultry farming? chicken coop in particular?
1M'sia
post May 31 2010, 09:03 PM

Hi everyone,

Anyone here use the H3N1 aroma before?

Mind to share your experience on this aroma?

waletjohor
post May 31 2010, 11:51 PM

Hi all,
I Just purchased one bag of ammonia powder to be used in my BH.

But after putting the powder, the smell of it is so strong that my eyes actually waters and quite difficult to breath inside my bh!!

Is that ok for the bird or the powder should mix with other stuff to reduce the so strong effect?
DarkNite
post Jun 1 2010, 08:58 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ May 30 2010, 04:34 PM)
THANK YOU FOR VISITING, DO COME BACK

Watch this forum for an announcement in a day or two.

Today is 1June2010. Any development?
CWG
post Jun 1 2010, 09:55 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(waletjohor @ May 31 2010, 11:51 PM)
Hi all,
I Just purchased one bag of ammonia powder to be used in my BH.

But after putting the powder, the smell of it is so strong that my eyes actually waters and quite difficult to breath inside my bh!!

Is that ok for the bird or the powder should mix with other stuff to reduce the so strong effect?
See my blog about my experience in using H3N1.
http://yenyen-swiftlet-farming.blogspot.com/

Other reader comments on H3N1
http://swiftletfarmingreview2.webs.com/h3n1.htm

Added on June 1, 2010, 9:56 am
QUOTE(1M'sia @ May 31 2010, 09:03 PM)
Hi everyone,

Anyone here use the H3N1 aroma before?

Mind to share your experience on this aroma?

Opp...Replay wrongly. Should be for 1M'sia

This post has been edited by CWG: Jun 1 2010, 09:56 AM
Cergau
post Jun 1 2010, 10:23 AM

416 posts

Fellow forumers,
We have tried reaching out to the authorities and the alleged 'industry representative'
1)Fed Assoc (both the Chairman and the secretary were addressed in email correspondences) - as shared earlier the secretary asked for an intro and was left at that.
They simply have chosen to ignore us despite my proposed (already past) deadline.
2)DVS - they have responded with a holding reply stating that the good Dr will respond and has not, thus our questions remain unanswered todate.
3)Our proposed press response to the Local Govt Minister's press statment in The Star remain unpublished and correspondence with NST is too totally ignored.
4)Only the legal depts of the government branches are responsive and deserves a pat.

As Parliament is to reconvene in early June, it leaves us little room and time for much else but a Petition.
After you have signed the Petition, please copy and paste from hereon to email away to friends and families and their families and friends.
The email below will be sent to 200 MPs some days after posting here.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(suggested email in English)
Fellow Malaysians,
We seek your indulgence and intervention to help avoid being smothered a nascent industry. A god given opportunity of a estimated 1 mil ordinary citizen
for self help to mitigate the negative impact from the dire national financial state is being endangered.
Extract of our Petition
"A gross injustice is about to be permitted and institutionalised, where a whole plethora of new regulations with uncertain and frivolous objectives are put in place,
to regulate the conscientious majority, instead of penalising the errant few with breaches of existing by-laws.

We appeal that the industry be allowed to grow organically and not be smothered with unnecessary and misplaced 'assistance' coupled with severe penalties
that unnecessarily make criminals of ordinary citizens.

In the light of the precarious standing of our national finances and the dire need to enhance efficiency, let us not further pile on wasteful and costly bureaucracy."

Your assistance appreciated to further our cause by forwarding this email to friends and family.
Your influence is very much appreciated.
Kindly Read and Sign our Petition here
http://www.PetitionOnline.com/YgWalet/petition.html

(suggested email in B Malaysia)
Wahai Warga Malaysia,

Kami ingin menarik perhatian dan campur tangan tuan/puan untuk membantu mengelakkan tekanan keatas industri yang masih belum berkembang. Kesempatan yang diberikan Tuhan kepada warga biasa dianggarkan menjangkau 1 juta RM, berkeupayaan membantu masyarakat umum di dalam mengurangkan kesan negatif dari kegawatan kewangan yang meruncing.

Ekstrak Petisyen kami

“Ketidakadilan akan terus berlaku apabila mereka yang bersalah tidak dihukum dengan undang undang yang sedia ada tetapi majoriti pengusaha dikekang dengan peraturan-peraturan baru dengan tujuan yang kurang jelas.

Kami merayu agar industri walet dibenarkan tumbuh secara organik dan tidak dikekang dengan peraturan yang kelebihan dan sia-sia.

Dimasa keadaan ekonomi yang meruncing kini, kita perlulah meningkatkan kecekapan. Bukan dengan memburukkan lagi keadaan melalui sistem birokrasi yang sia-sia dan mahal.

Sokongan anda sangat dihargai.

Sila Baca dan tanda tangan Petisyen kami di sini.

(suggested email in Chinese)

至所有马来西亚同胞,

我们请求您的豁免与介入,以帮助一个新兴的产业避免被扼杀。上天所赋予约100万普通市民自助机会,以减轻正受严重威胁的国家财政状况.

我们的请愿书摘录

“ 一个不公新规定即将批准和制度化,整体具有不确定性和轻浮因素, 其规定不适合规范大多数, 而应采用与现有的法律来惩罚少数违反者.

我们呼吁业者可以健康地成长,不要为了不必要的和错误的'协助'而覆盖它, 加上严重的惩罚是不必要的.

在我们国家财政岌岌可危的地位和迫切需要提高效率的光芒,让我们不要再浪费和支付昂贵的官僚。”

感谢您的影响力.
请阅读并在这里签署我们请愿书

This post has been edited by Cergau: Jun 1 2010, 11:05 AM
aeiou228
post Jun 1 2010, 11:07 AM

5,867 posts

Cergau,

I've just signed as 2nd signature after you. Will spread this petition via email to all my kaki, family and friends for more signatures.

Last but not least, thank you so very much for your effort to help the BH owners. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jun 1 2010, 11:07 AM
Cergau
post Jun 1 2010, 11:11 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 1 2010, 11:07 AM)
Cergau,

I've just signed as 2nd signature after you. Will spread this petition via email to all my kaki, family and friends for more signatures.

Last but not least, thank you so very much for your effort to help the BH owners.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
thks, do that and ask the same of them to their frens and families.
But I haven't signed yet being so busy getting this ready.
I will sign later on after I've washed up he he.

I would like to thank those of you who have volunteered and assisted.
Thank You rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Cergau: Jun 1 2010, 11:14 AM
DarkNite
post Jun 1 2010, 11:47 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Any info for the man-in-the-street as to why they should also support you?
Cergau
post Jun 1 2010, 01:03 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 1 2010, 11:47 AM)
Any info for the man-in-the-street as to why they should also support you?

Of course they are.....
Just not in a nice little package you can take away to disseminate. biggrin.gif
I'm afraid you will have to depend on your own resourcefulness.

So these are all in question form to trigger discussion and maybe someone will put it all together.
Are we not part and parcel of the national economy?
Is the national financial situation healthy?
Do we not contribute to the national current account and forex?
Anyone know the value of the downstream economic benefit of this industry?
Are we not all fellow sufferers of incompetent little emperors and crony hijacking?
Are we not one of proven green industry with enormous potential.
Someone try comparing income/sq ft vis-a-vis other agricultural industry.
That's why it's considered 'high-value', it's a point we have yet to sell.
What abt carbon footprint, anyone? I will not be too surprised if it goes -ve.
Though some may disagree, I still think that swiftlets do contribute to beneficial control harmful vector borne diseases eg dengue etc...
http://www.nps.gov/archive/npsa/5atlas/partzo.htm
There should be much more ....just add on to David Lim's write-up (oldies here shd know this document)

Anyone want to sponsor a weekend brain storming session?
I can help drive and moderate it, but you guys already 'on-shore' have to fund and organise it.
It would be nice and encouraging if there were more volunteers as there is only so much I can do alone. sad.gif

support you?
just so you know, I DO NOT yet own a BH...so to be accurate s/b
"support existing BH operators"
Cergau
post Jun 1 2010, 01:07 PM

416 posts

Can someone help link/post the petition here? It's in Chinese.
http://cforum1.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?...age%3D1&page=33
DarkNite
post Jun 1 2010, 01:17 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Jun 1 2010, 01:03 PM)

IF THE MAN-IN-THE-STREET had care about these, we would have a new FED GOMEN LIAO.

126 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:17 AM