V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

htc
post Jan 19 2011, 02:56 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Tweeter @ Jan 19 2011, 12:55 PM)

Anyone try using dehumidifier in BH before?
Any comments or recommendation would be highly appreciated.
malaysia humidity not sufficient....i dont think anyone would be dehumidifying inside of a birdhouse.

why? ur bh in thailand is too damp inside?
aeiou228
post Jan 19 2011, 03:35 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Tweeter @ Jan 19 2011, 12:55 PM)

Anyone try using dehumidifier in BH before?
Any comments or recommendation would be highly appreciated.
Lol ! You are in the same boat with me. tongue.gif I have been looking for dehumidifier for my BH too. Pretty expensive in Malaysia. What about Thailand ? I saw China website selling quite cheap.

QUOTE(htc @ Jan 19 2011, 02:56 PM)
malaysia humidity not sufficient....i dont think anyone would be dehumidifying inside of a birdhouse.

why? ur bh in thailand is too damp inside?
As the matter of fact, rural area is pretty humid. my BH in agri land always MAX in rH% reading.

coolandy
post Jan 19 2011, 07:45 PM

314 posts

During the monsoon season, the interior of the BH can reach 98%RH or more. Nesting planks can become moldy as a result.

I don't know of any feasible and economical way to to dehumidify the BH during this period except to close off all the vents.
Jackygwh
post Jan 19 2011, 07:45 PM

1,131 posts

hi guys this is my own DIY sound tester sad.gif caN use but messy.......and since this tester have finished.... it nvr lure any bird when i tested it..... sad.gif issit the speaker only 2 ? or jus the sound not suitable ? OR the place dont have any birds ?

but last Sun i tested it out when i saw switflet flying above the sky... although i dont know which type it is.. but i m sure its switflet ...
and when i switch on the sound... the birds seem dont care bout the sound.... jus fly away.... sad.gif

any idea ?? and i wanna know if the area have birds.... how long you have to play the sound until they fly around ur car ??
Tweeter
post Jan 20 2011, 12:23 AM

57 posts

It'because of the design and location of the house. Double walls with styrofoam design is not suitable to the wet land area. But the house was already built and thus has high humidity all the time during monsoon season. All vh can not be closed, otherwise it will be even worse. Currently just use fans to lower the humidity. PS. It' not my house. It's my friend's house.

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Jan 20 2011, 12:26 AM
West Wing
post Jan 20 2011, 09:24 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Tweeter @ Jan 20 2011, 12:23 AM)
It'because of the design and location of the house. Double walls with styrofoam design is not suitable to the wet land area. But the house was already built and thus has high humidity all the time during monsoon season. All vh can not be closed, otherwise it will be even worse. Currently just use fans to lower the humidity.            PS. It' not my house. It's my friend's house.
May I add,

Many BHs @ Agriland didn't even plastered their walls to save cost but then this create high humidity during raining season. Water seep into the wall and I have found in friends' BH @ Agriland that their BHs nests are wet due to the seeping of water from the wall to the nests. Although short Bad time and although the birds will return but losing of precious time for the increment of nests and new birds.

Better spend alittle more by plastering and having roof that prevent the water from direct flowing down the wall. Paint the wall is even better but no one is doing so @ Agriland but then painting can wait later until the birds start to stay, and you make enough to pay for the work.

tuckfook
post Jan 20 2011, 10:50 AM

360 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jan 20 2011, 09:24 AM)
May I add,

Many BHs @ Agriland didn't even plastered their walls to save cost but then this create high humidity during raining season. Water seep into the wall and I have found in friends' BH @ Agriland that their BHs nests are wet due to the seeping of water from the wall to the nests. Although short Bad time and  although the birds will return but losing  of precious time for the increment of nests and new birds.

Better spend alittle more by plastering and having roof that prevent the water from direct flowing down the wall.  Paint the wall is even better but no one is doing so @ Agriland but then painting can wait later until the birds start to stay, and you make enough to pay for the work.
Styrofoam sandwich has been a problem with many BHs because it becomes a sealed box without natural ventilation through the walls. Many people listening to inexperienced " Sifus " suffered because of the lack of total understanding.

Yes, styrofoam is a very good insulator of heat. Yes it will prevent the BH from getting heat from the outside as well as losing heat to the inside. BUT it is like a plastic bag and will be waterproof !

Bricks especially clay bricks will absorb water as well as dry up to the air. Sand & cement brick will do so also but depends on how much cement was used in the manufacture. Similarly plaster does the same but depends on the amount of lime added.

Understanding RELATIVE HUMIDITY is another aspect which all BH owners should try to grasp. Though it is not easy to understand fully, thermodynamics, unless you have covered physics at A levels, let alone remember after all these years as is the case with me.

if my memory holds true;

Basically hot air holds more water than cold air. Note "relative" term being used

In other words the higher the temperature the more water can 'dissolve' in the air. Note that humidity is not MIST. Water dissolved in air is invisible. So letting air into your BH in the hottest part of the day at Rh80% could mean that when it cools down at night, the internal Rh goes to 100% at which point water droplets begin to form and get deposited on the sides of the walls.

Imagine that a BH only lets air in during the day then the air inside gets very humid at night and deposit the excess water on the walls. Again the next day the same happens, NOTE that the walls do not dry up because it is insulated from outside heat and water to evaporate needs heat, so more air laden with water is let into the BH. At night when it cools, more water deposits.

Repeated over a period of days the walls are dripping wet keeping the RH 100% all day and dripping wet at night, hot or cold.

That principle is also a proposal to recycle water in space.

The answer lies in WHEN to ventilate the BH. NOT just ventilation holes and ventilation only when the wind blows on the outside or from internal convection ! Which is why a modern BH MUST have electric ventilation fans.

BirdNest_Satay
post Jan 20 2011, 08:32 PM

67 posts

My dad read the newspaper about some kind of regulation is out today ... is it the 1gp ?
Jackygwh
post Jan 21 2011, 12:15 PM

1,131 posts

QUOTE(BirdNest_Satay @ Jan 20 2011, 08:32 PM)
My dad read the newspaper about some kind of regulation is out today ... is it the 1gp ?
what paper ?? can post here ?
CWG
post Jan 21 2011, 01:05 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Jan 19 2011, 07:45 PM)

hi guys this is my own DIY sound tester sad.gif caN use but messy.......and since this tester have finished.... it nvr lure any bird when i tested it..... sad.gif issit the speaker only 2 ? or jus the sound not suitable ?  OR the place dont have any birds ?

but last Sun i tested it out when i saw switflet flying above the sky... although i dont know which type it is.. but i m sure its switflet ...
and when i switch on the sound... the birds seem dont care bout the sound.... jus fly away.... sad.gif

any idea ?? and i wanna know if the area have birds.... how long you have to play the sound until they fly around ur car ??
Most likely the sound you play is not right
BirdNest_Satay
post Jan 21 2011, 01:31 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Jan 21 2011, 12:15 PM)
what paper ?? can post here ?

please help me on 4 questions nod.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry39354086

This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Jan 21 2011, 01:41 PM
Tokine
post Jan 21 2011, 03:06 PM

QUOTE(BirdNest_Satay @ Jan 21 2011, 01:31 PM)
Hi everybody, I have 4 questions

about how much does a retractable alluminium ladder around 6-7m cost ?

---------------Good Quality Alliminium 7m cost around 300.-------------------

I think it would be a worthwhile investment rather than using DIY wooden ladder for access to the entry hole and rooftop.
Safety and weight issues are the primary reasons for this.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My partner insist on applying the pheromone but I would like to avoid buying from NT in JB, any other place to buy ?

-----wut do u mean by NT? anyway u can buy it from http://swiftfarmequipments.blogspot.com/... try to ask for discount------------
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
There are currently a few buckets of fermenting wet guano in paint buckets placed on 2rd and 3rd floor.
The 2nd floor bucket have tiny black flying insects while 3rd floor bucket have white crawling maggots inside, are there any precautionary steps I should do next ?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The row of shophouses where my BH is located have pigeon-on-roof problem.
We have tried to seal up all the visible entry holes above our unit but the pigeons returns to roost near the swiftlet landing strip.
In a desperate attempt, we had to on ext and internal tweeters to discourage the pigeons from eventually entering even when the incomplete BH was lacking the correct internal bird song .mp3 thumbdrive.
The most recent visit we spotted pigeon droppings directly below the swiftlet's entry hole.
I have read on some blogs about certain products such as electric wire, razor wire, pigeon spike carpet but I don't want to turn the entry hole into a dangerous place.
Is there any solution to this problem ?

-----------make it danger for those unwelcome guests--------------

Thanks in advance, hope to contribute in the future when I have experience.
BirdNest_Satay
post Jan 21 2011, 03:17 PM

67 posts

Thanks for replying.

I have seen that website before but the outlets very far from Johor sad.gif
mois
post Jan 21 2011, 07:54 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

what is the current price for bird nest? in sarawak dropped so much now only Rm4100 per kg
Tokine
post Jan 22 2011, 08:50 AM

@BirdNest_Satay
Call Them Post it to you lor...... easy and reliable.

@mois
Keep ur bird nest and wait for the higher price, now u sell it sure cheap caz china dont need so much atm caz chinese new year ma..... keep it.....dont let middle man press our price..... once u got a lot..... u can bargain.
West Wing
post Jan 22 2011, 10:16 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Tokine @ Jan 22 2011, 08:50 AM)
@BirdNest_Satay
Call Them Post it to you lor...... easy and reliable.

@mois
Keep ur bird nest and wait for the higher price, now u sell it sure cheap caz china dont need so much atm caz chinese new year ma..... keep it.....dont let middle man press our price..... once u got a lot..... u can bargain.
Agreed with you on the above matter cos there are no buyer here so the local agents are cashing in to buy cheap and sell high when the buyers return after CNY. Price will definately goes up provided CYN provide good sales for the EBN otherwise, it won't be worst than now. Now, if you have nests on hand and desperately in need of cash, then you are in for a kill and the price will drop more as CNY get nearer.

Just 2 days ago, one guy just sold his EBN for Rm3400 per Kg and since I introduce the buyer to the seller, I feel sad but then, I was expecting something around Rm4400 per Kg....... at present time and even suggest the seller to hold on to his nests. Well, it's willing seller, willing buyer and it's a free world.

So, Happy New Year to all @ Forum and wishing you all wealth and fortune in the coming RABBIT year and may your BHs be blessed with nests full............of the EBN, I mean. "Gong Xi Fa Cai"

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jan 22 2011, 05:56 PM
sosos
post Jan 22 2011, 05:04 PM

81 posts

hi,pak west wing and all sifu here ,please give me some advice,thanks for all infor...
these plank i buy it 1 year ago,
is this plank is meranti kayu grade one????

after one year, the colour of plank become like that abit white colour,is it ok??
is it some mold on the plank??
is these plank is good plank??grade 1 meranti?
thanks for advice

This post has been edited by sosos: Jan 22 2011, 05:47 PM
West Wing
post Jan 22 2011, 05:47 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(sosos @ Jan 22 2011, 05:04 PM)
hi,pak west wing and all sifu here ,please give me some advice,thanks for all infor...
Just my observation on your pics. to share,

As for plank information, since your friend is in D buz, then he shall be a better guy to tell you and I am not an expert in wood grading so maybe someone here maybe able to assist you.

1. As to your pics, my layman experience tell me that the white patches at the plank are of so sort of fungus or excrete from the wood which is not good. Possibility due to dead wood or someone care to explain. So, what you have aren't quality planks....to my unprofessional eyes.

2, Second look at D pictures tell me that incorrect installation of tweeters at the BH.........so, if got nests, it maybe only localised and I hope that I am wrong...........hope Sifu here can help.

3. Wasteful of space in your spacing of planks although I personally like wider spacing of planks but not to that extend. If such big spacing, I would go for at least 8 inches planks. Comments pls??

You do take good picture and till today, I still don't know how to take good pictures in the BH.

Above are only my own little beliefs and hopefully, others may want to share what they believe, think or know.
sosos
post Jan 22 2011, 05:50 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jan 22 2011, 05:47 PM)
Just my observation on your pics.  to share,

As for plank information, since your friend is in D buz, then he shall be a better guy to tell you and I am not an expert in wood grading so maybe someone here maybe able to assist you.

1. As to your pics, my layman experience tell me that the white patches at the plank are of so sort of fungus or excrete from the wood which is not good. Possibility due to dead wood or someone care to explain. So, what you have aren't quality planks....to my unprofessional eyes.
2, Second look at D pictures tell me that incorrect installation of tweeters at the BH.........so, if got nests, it maybe only localised and I hope that I am wrong...........hope Sifu here can help.

3. Wasteful of space in your spacing of planks although I personally like wider spacing of planks but not to that extend. If such big spacing, I would go for at least 8 inches planks. Comments pls??

You do take good picture and till today, I still don't know how to take good pictures in the BH.

Above are only my own little beliefs and hopefully, others may want to share what they believe, think or know.
thanks pak ,but i think my friend cheat me... cry.gif
how about this?

so , what can i do now? change the new plank? is the mold serious now???
excrete from the wood which is not good. what is dead wood?
but my bh got 50 nest ad in 1 year.

This post has been edited by sosos: Jan 22 2011, 05:56 PM
Tokine
post Jan 22 2011, 05:52 PM

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jan 22 2011, 10:16 AM)
Agreed with you on the above matter cos there are no buyer here so the local agents are cashing in to buy cheap and sell high when the buyers return after CNY. Price will definately goes up provided CYN provide good sales for the EBN otherwise, it won't be worst than now. Now, if you have nests on hand and desperately in need of cash, then you are in for a kill and the price will drop more as CNY get nearer.

Just 2 days ago,  one guy just sold his EBN for Rm340 per Kg and since I introduce the buyer to the seller, I feel sad but then, I was expecting something around Rm440 per Kg....... at present time and even suggest the seller to hold on to his nests. Well, it's willing seller, willing buyer and it's a free world.

So, Happy New Year to all @ Forum and wishing you all wealth and fortune in the coming RABBIT year and may your BHs be blessed with nests full............of the EBN, I mean.    "Gong Xi Fa Cai"
QUOTE(sosos @ Jan 22 2011, 05:04 PM)

these plank i buy it 1 year ago,
is this plank is meranti kayu grade one????
@West Wing
If RM 340 Per KG u sell all to me la... i Think TYPO mistake lor..... Should be RM 3400

@sosos
Ur Plank Got Fungus la.... got 2 solutions
1. Change all
2. Apply Medicine for it.... where to buy? ask me if u dont know.

Err.. i Think ur so called consultant wont give u meranti big red, they just give u small red with lauya quality

This post has been edited by Tokine: Jan 22 2011, 05:56 PM

126 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:16 AM