129 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Bottom

Credit Card v10

rjb123
post Jun 30 2010, 10:03 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 30 2010, 08:09 PM)
However, it should be noted that only people in the USA rely heavily on plastics. In other developed countries such as Western Europe, most people are still using cash.
Yes - this is true , very different in some countries

In UK I can pay nearly everything with plastic , £0.50 for sweets in some supermarket / petrol station no problem , when I went to Iceland - people have credit card with their photo at the back and for small transactions, no signature required (ie. buying coffee)

In places like Germany different, people use it a lot less - shop will give you a funny look if you want to pay for pack of cigs and a drink and pay with card.

How is it places like 7-11 here, have any min. transactions for card payment? So far only been using cash, as my Malaysia CC not arrived yet
babyshey
post Jun 30 2010, 10:09 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 30 2010, 05:24 PM)
Ive been using Shell gold since its launched. Up to last year renewal, they waived my RM195 annual fee. When did you call them ?
I do not know when is the shell card launched but they waived for 1st year only.. I just called them few days ago after received my bill and saw they charged me for annual fees sad.gif
I called the centre in fact talked to 2 person and they also said can't wAived sad.gif

Anyway for them to waived it? Otherwise I really want to cancel the card
TSMilesAndMore
post Jun 30 2010, 10:10 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 30 2010, 10:03 PM)
Yes - this is true , very different in some countries

In UK I can pay nearly everything with plastic , £0.50 for sweets in some supermarket / petrol station no problem , when I went to Iceland  - people have credit card with their photo at the back and for small transactions, no signature required (ie. buying coffee)

In places like Germany different, people use it a lot less - shop will give you a funny look if you want to pay for pack of cigs and a drink and pay with card.

Yeah ... it seems that plastics are more popular in English speaking countries and several parts of Asia. This is obviously influenced by those English speaking countries. Another example is the Platinum credit card. Platinum credit card is pretty much the entry level of credit card in Singapore and Taiwan nowadays.

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 30 2010, 10:03 PM)
How is it places like 7-11 here, have any min. transactions for card payment? So far only been using cash, as my Malaysia CC not arrived yet
Not too sure about 7-11 but there was once at Giant, my friend was told the minimum amount is RM10. Popular bookstore is RM20, if my memory serves me correctly. There are also many family-run supermarket/hypermarket that impose a minimum limit for purchase paid by card.

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Jun 30 2010, 09:32 PM)
iI dont have fixed income, so I apply HL Essential Visa by securing it with RM10k FD. I got rejected. Any idea why? Is it 10k too little for essential card? Or they dont want do my business?
Supposedly there shouldn't be any problem. May be you can try with other banks ?

By the way, i noticed that in our credit report (CCRIS), there is a special note that which credit card is given by the bank without any collateral and which is a secured credit card by FD. Went to Bank Negara to print out my CCRIS for the very first time yesterday.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 30 2010, 10:19 PM
Alec.Yong
post Jun 30 2010, 10:23 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 30 2010, 10:10 PM)
By the way, i noticed that in our credit report (CCRIS), there is a special note that which credit card is given by the bank without any collateral and which is a secured credit card by FD. Went to Bank Negara to print out my CCRIS for the very first time yesterday.
How does it look like in CCRIS?

hye
post Jun 30 2010, 10:25 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(babyshey @ Jun 30 2010, 10:09 PM)
I do not know when is the shell card launched but they waived for 1st year only.. I just called them few days ago after received my bill and saw they charged me for annual fees sad.gif
I called the centre in fact talked to 2 person and they also said can't wAived sad.gif

Anyway for them to waived it? Otherwise I really want to cancel the card
Please ... just cancel the card. I really can't understand why you die die want to keep the card but yet want it to be free. If the bank don't want to give it to you then just cancel it! Don't take me wrongly but cc products come and go and there are even better cc products today which give better rebates than your Shell card.

This post has been edited by hye: Jun 30 2010, 10:30 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Jun 30 2010, 10:27 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jun 30 2010, 10:23 PM)
How does it look like in CCRIS?
I'll scan and post it up here later smile.gif

hye
post Jun 30 2010, 10:28 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 30 2010, 10:10 PM)
Not too sure about 7-11 but there was once at Giant, my friend was told the minimum amount is RM10. Popular bookstore is RM20, if my memory serves me correctly. There are also many family-run supermarket/hypermarket that impose a minimum limit for purchase paid by card.
Supposedly there shouldn't be any problem. May be you can try with other banks ?
This is the first time I am hearing that our 7-11 accept credit card. If it is really true then good news!
shoduken
post Jun 30 2010, 10:29 PM

1,741 posts

I heard that if you charge minimum, the owner of that shop have to pay 2% to the bank that issued visa/master machines to the shop if it's below RM50. right?
siutimtim
post Jun 30 2010, 10:31 PM

353 posts

I went to the curve today and the hongleong bank is having promotion HLB will cover 5 years GST... any idea whether this is real? I check their website but nothing found.

still no news from this eon bank at all... application langsung tak ada record after 2 weeks plus.. this bank really poor in service
hye
post Jun 30 2010, 10:32 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ Jun 30 2010, 10:29 PM)
I heard that if you charge minimum, the owner of that shop have to pay 2% to the bank that issued visa/master machines to the shop if it's below RM50. right?
Incorrect. The business owner will need to pay between 2%-3% for whatver amount that is charged using credit card. And there is also the terminal rental charges.

Where did you hear all this weird info bro ?

Added on June 30, 2010, 10:36 pm
QUOTE(siutimtim @ Jun 30 2010, 10:31 PM)
I went to the curve today and the hongleong bank is having promotion HLB will cover 5 years GST... any idea whether this is real? I check their website but nothing found.

still no news from this eon bank at all... application langsung tak ada record after 2 weeks plus.. this bank really poor in service
I am sure you are not new to cc promotions right ? I am sure by now you will know that not all promotions will be published in the website.
What is important is that the agent is able to show B&W of the promo ... and not just using their mouth. This reduces the probability of a false promo.

And EON Bank ... didn't you got so excited about this bank in the beginning coz you like the card so much ? Now changed your mind ?

This post has been edited by hye: Jun 30 2010, 10:37 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Jun 30 2010, 10:47 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 30 2010, 10:28 PM)
This is the first time I am hearing that our 7-11 accept credit card. If it is really true then good news!
Actually i am not even sure if 7-11 accepts credit card laugh.gif But i think i have seen a credit card processing terminal at the counter before. If i happen to go in one tomorrow i'll give you an update.

Alec.Yong
post Jun 30 2010, 11:00 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 30 2010, 10:27 PM)
I'll scan and post it up here later  smile.gif
Hopping to see... tongue.gif
gastacopz
post Jun 30 2010, 11:26 PM

4,928 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 30 2010, 10:47 PM)
Actually i am not even sure if 7-11 accepts credit card  laugh.gif  But i think i have seen a credit card processing terminal at the counter before. If i happen to go in one tomorrow i'll give you an update.
LOL...if accept, great lol... hmm.gif
TSMilesAndMore
post Jun 30 2010, 11:49 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jun 30 2010, 11:00 PM)
Hopping to see... tongue.gif
Here you go ...

hebe87
post Jul 1 2010, 12:06 AM

935 posts

means i can't apply for hongleong anymore now? i want its essential card..

actually with 10k fd, they can just give me 10k credit limit, and it is a sure win business for the bankers.

really dun understand them, when they wanna try to hard look for customer, and now i personally goto branch to apply, they reject pula.. zz
TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 1 2010, 12:27 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Jul 1 2010, 12:06 AM)
means i can't apply for hongleong anymore now? i want its essential card..

actually with 10k fd, they can just give me 10k credit limit, and it is a sure win business  for the bankers.

really dun understand them, when they wanna try to hard look for customer, and now i personally goto branch to apply, they reject pula.. zz
Try Alliance Bank Younique MasterCard. The reward is better.

hebe87
post Jul 1 2010, 12:33 AM

935 posts

any cap for 2% cash rebate?
TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 1 2010, 12:50 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Jul 1 2010, 12:33 AM)
any cap for 2% cash rebate?
Yes. RM5000 maximum.

hebe87
post Jul 1 2010, 12:55 AM

935 posts

ya.. i just calculated.. if my monthly swipe around 5-8k, this card give more rewards since despite cashback, i can earn rewards points on top of that right? smile.gif

just afraid that the bank dun want to approve me onyl.. zz

This post has been edited by hebe87: Jul 1 2010, 12:58 AM
TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 1 2010, 01:10 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Jul 1 2010, 12:55 AM)
ya.. i just calculated.. if my monthly swipe around 5-8k, this card give more rewards since despite cashback, i can earn rewards points on top of that right? smile.gif

just afraid that the bank dun want to approve me onyl.. zz
No harm trying. I am however not sure if they do provide credit card secured by FD.

129 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:52 PM