Intel LGA1155 P67/Z68/Z77, Sandy/Ivy Bridge Architecture

owikh84
post Feb 24 2011, 08:01 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Feb 23 2011, 02:50 PM)
ok here some experience log from me

i hav a 2600k, p8p67 deluxe setup
and a RAID 0 2 x samsung spinpoint F3 1tb x 2 on sata II port
1 DVDRW @ sata II port and 1 x 1TB Caviar Black on SATA II
all my SATA III port are empty.
after 1 and a haft month (i bought my pc since/before it launch)
with 24hours 5 days every week downloading @ 240kb/s i notice quite a serious degradation upon 1month the first day i test my raid setup the sequential read min is around 155mb/s but as compare to latest test i carried out yesterday 13mb/s (sudden spike 4 times during the test). and my pc noticeablely "stuck" a moment when opening folders(even after restart).

so what i do is switch my RAID 0 to Intel Sata 3 port and WDCB to marvel sata 3 port
and i can conclude tat is obviously is the chipset issue not my drive degraded coz i obtain back a min of 160+- MB/s after i switch to sata 3 port,
so intel so-called 3 years time frame is highly doubted. tongue.gif

just sharing my experience. pls dun flame me ^^.

p.s
i going to refund my board on early of March hopefully Z68 chipset is launched.
Ehh u r supposed to get about 13Mbps even u switch to SATA3 ports if the HDD is degraded. nod.gif
Now switch back to SATA2 and feedback.
mcchin
post Feb 24 2011, 09:03 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Intel take on a typical usage (i think) does not encompassed 24hr DL-er

But i do agree that, at the risk of corrupting data on the drives, it would be helpful for Mr.Lonely to try place the drive back to Sata2 to double confirm

@cybersans it's not paranoid when the figures show much lower value
and that the responses are obviously much slower
unless the user suddenly increase his own responses 10 fold
billytong
post Feb 24 2011, 10:44 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 23 2011, 03:37 PM)
The difference is so huge after 1 and half month?  sweat.gif

To be honest, I am quite surprise too, I had all sort of random crash problem when I use Sata2, since switching to my sata3 havent had any problems.
alcllee
post Feb 24 2011, 11:48 AM

61 posts

Good news for those who havent buy the board and existing MSI's user... MSI had updated their latest B3 Stepping boards on their website. I think Malaysia will available very soon...
http://us.msi.com/index.php?func=prodpage1&maincat_no=1
jeopardise
post Feb 26 2011, 01:14 AM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

QUOTE(alcllee @ Feb 24 2011, 11:48 AM)
Good news for those who havent buy the board and existing MSI's user... MSI had updated their latest B3 Stepping boards on their website. I think  Malaysia will available very soon...
Fixed boards should have B3 stickers, so ppl won;t make wrong purchase

http://www.fudzilla.com/motherboard/item/2...affected-boards
Mr.Lonely
post Feb 26 2011, 12:21 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Feb 24 2011, 08:01 AM)
Ehh u r supposed to get about 13Mbps even u switch to SATA3 ports if the HDD is degraded.  nod.gif
Now switch back to SATA2 and feedback.
yes, confirmed not HDD degraded coz it stuck again when opening folder when i using sata II port, din go do a benchmark cause windows explorer crash a few time and pc hang-ed, so switch back to sata III port and now i m spamming the forun biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mcchin @ Feb 24 2011, 09:03 AM)
Intel take on a typical usage (i think) does not encompassed 24hr DL-er

But i do agree that, at the risk of corrupting data on the drives, it would be helpful for Mr.Lonely to try place the drive back to Sata2 to double confirm

@cybersans it's not paranoid when the figures show much lower value
and that the responses are obviously much slower
unless the user suddenly increase his own responses 10 fold
mcchin
post Feb 26 2011, 12:48 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(alcllee @ Feb 24 2011, 11:48 AM)
Good news for those who havent buy the board and existing MSI's user... MSI had updated their latest B3 Stepping boards on their website. I think  Malaysia will available very soon...
buh..buh...buh..... the new ones dun have the free sata3 addon card... sad.gif
Mr.Lonely
post Feb 26 2011, 12:51 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Feb 26 2011, 12:48 PM)
buh..buh...buh..... the new ones dun have the free sata3 addon card... sad.gif
not only that, starting they(some manufacturer) promoting sale return a.k.a refund but i just called and asked a few shop they seem no idea with sale return cry.gif mean malaysia become isolated case again ???
owikh84
post Feb 26 2011, 01:43 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Think U asked the wrong person dude.
Most pc shop staffs are noob n know nothing coz they dont follow up news from distro. Noob asking noob.
cybersans
post Feb 26 2011, 02:05 PM

319 posts

true. calll local hot-line info (not reseller). warning: even operator that will pick-up your phone sometime acting n00b and clueless. then, ask their supervisor to assist.

http://www.asus.com/News.aspx?N_ID=cqnNC5pGSATog5Pf
good news, i think.

by then, why so hurry? don't be such paranoid. 2 years 9 months, 13 days, 2 hours, 18 minutes, and 17 seconds before KABOOM! (although the paranoid will defy me back tongue.gif)
ukimaro
post Feb 26 2011, 05:15 PM

636 posts

MSI ships fixed Sandy Bridge motherboards

MSI has just announced that its first Sandy Bridge motherboards with the revised B3-stepping chipset have started to leave its factories.

The company's components marketing specialist, Scott Bentley, told us that ‘all being well, we hope to have stock at our key resellers during the week commencing 7 March.’

The new H67 and P67 chipsets with B3 stepping resolve the flaw in Intel’s original chipsets, which can lead to performance degradation and data corruption over the SATA 3gbps channels after a year or two of regular use.

MSI will highlight these revised boards with a slightly baffling sticker proclaiming the board to be ‘MSI B3 Stepping Ready.’ Of course, the board either has the B3-stepping chipset or it doesn’t – whether or not the board is ready for B3 silicon is irrelevant.

At least there’s an attractive logo on the box, which reassures customers that the board has the fixed chipset. MSI has shown us two examples of B3 motherboards and their packaging, so you can see what you need to look for.

‘In addition to the B3 sticker, each new revision mainboard will have further B3 branding as a part of the product code and retail box,’ MSI told us. This takes the form of a B3 suffix for the name of the product, as well as a grey square on the box that says 'B3' in the middle.
Mr.Lonely
post Feb 26 2011, 10:46 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Feb 26 2011, 01:43 PM)
Think U asked the wrong person dude.
Most pc shop staffs are noob n know nothing coz they dont follow up news from distro. Noob asking noob.
i actually called asus support but they seem cool with refund but not the shop. haiz they say they only do replacement nv heard of sale return.

QUOTE(cybersans @ Feb 26 2011, 02:05 PM)
true. calll local hot-line info (not reseller). warning: even operator that will pick-up your phone sometime acting n00b and clueless. then, ask their supervisor to assist.

http://www.asus.com/News.aspx?N_ID=cqnNC5pGSATog5Pf
good news, i think.

by then, why so hurry? don't be such paranoid. 2 years 9 months, 13 days, 2 hours, 18 minutes, and 17 seconds before KABOOM! (although the paranoid will defy me back tongue.gif)
cybersans
post Feb 27 2011, 01:40 AM

319 posts

the reason why some shops tell that you only can swap but cannot return for money back is because some people will return, and buy another brand, of worst case, get back the money, and buy from another shop. wink.gif

but you can read this to the reseller loudly, probably you may want to pull their ear and yell:

"You may also contact the retail outlet where you purchased your affected motherboard directly to return the product."

taken from http://vip.asus.com/eservice/changeSandybr...slanguage=en-us

ask them to call local distributor, or ask them to call their boss. talking to the sales person sometime looks like talking with wood pile wink.gif

This post has been edited by cybersans: Feb 27 2011, 01:44 AM
billytong
post Feb 28 2011, 01:01 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

I heard most major manufacturer pay for ur 2 way postage fees, so why give the fuss about bothering Retailers, just request local distro to send u the package for collections and wait for ur new board, right?

but one thing is the Asus "B3" stepping identifier is not really secure, they should have printed the B3 directly to the mobo PCB, not on box,sticker. doh.gif

This post has been edited by billytong: Feb 28 2011, 01:03 PM
Randomization
post Feb 28 2011, 01:22 PM

460 posts

True but it's more cost effective for them to just add a sticker instead.

Perhaps they already stockpiled a lot packaging before the problem appeared.

Can't blame them really.
mcchin
post Feb 28 2011, 03:43 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Feb 28 2011, 01:01 PM)
I heard most major manufacturer pay for ur 2 way postage fees, so why give the fuss about bothering Retailers, just request local distro to send u the package for collections and wait for ur new board, right?

but one thing is the Asus "B3" stepping identifier is not really secure, they should have printed the B3 directly to the mobo PCB, not on box,sticker.  doh.gif
pcb might be so
since the board would be built up from scratch
so addition to a silk screen mark can be placed

not with box where most prolly a big stock piled up in their storage, since packaging is usually a non-perishable item

on another note, pardon me for making a conspiracy here
where a month back, Intel promised a date of mid Feb for chipset
and Mar end to early Apr for the mobo arrival

the current situation seems that the time line improved by like a whole month
some theories
1. Intel knew well before when they claim to know it but delayed for for the purpose to gauge the user take up on the new design. With the great take up, they could still hold on to the ppl interest, while settling the debacle and came out with their integrity intact

2. Not all the B2 rev. chip was defective and there is a way to differentiate them, so there would be still the same chips, albeit a more stringent QC-ing on these early batches

billytong
post Feb 28 2011, 04:25 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

stockpile in half a month of manufacturing? thats massive I say.

if it is true, I say us users should be getting replaced easily here in no time, may be in 2weeks +/-
yuka
post Feb 28 2011, 07:56 PM

ヾ(\ ̄ー ̄)
2,265 posts

may i ask. this PC fair PIKOM will bring new batch sandy bridge mobo?
Mr.Lonely
post Feb 28 2011, 09:50 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

the best option is ask for refund and wait for Z68 board or others chip board instead . provided u dun mind 1 to 2 months din have PC, but it seem ok with me coz i dun really mind therefore i going for refund route no matter wat.
zzzz52
post Mar 1 2011, 08:56 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

@Mr.Lonely

What brand of mobo are you using?

156 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:39 AM