mcchin
post Nov 18 2010, 09:50 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(yaphong @ Nov 17 2010, 08:17 PM)
Sigh I just got my i7 950 2 months ago. Now obsolete again. hahaha
i7 950 is still far from i7 980x and the latest leaked 995x

later when LGA2011 come out and become mainstream, hopefully the 1366 proc will be cheaper

the way i see it, the normal user, its better to skip a gen
I totally skipped Core 2 series and now aiming for the Core i7
mcchin
post Nov 18 2010, 10:17 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 18 2010, 09:58 AM)
That won't happen. You can't buy high-end proc of previous gen at cheap price. They'll simply phase it out and put it out of production.
Even higher end C2Q chips today not that cheap.

That's how to do business.
what i mean is
2nd hand types
like the recent influx of Q9000 series of Core 2 extreme

for me the difference between i7 920 to even 965 is minimal at normal usage

the 970 980x is different
cant underestimate the extra 2 core in the future
mcchin
post Dec 13 2010, 06:18 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

well the bridges does segregates the chips into multiple groups
with more OC capability on the pricier ones
whereas 1156 chips have almost equal opportunity to OC
mcchin
post Dec 16 2010, 12:41 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Dec 16 2010, 12:06 PM)
Yes but wont be so soon anyway it's too early to say.
Somehow from the benches observed, 1366 is still a lot better than 1155. Something like 4.7ghz 1155 = 4.5ghz 1366.
but how easy is achieving maximum on a 1155 vs 1366
though you say a 1366 @ 4.5
most ppl would oc-ed to 4ghz + @ air

where as mass produced 1155 potential is yet to be seen
mcchin
post Jan 24 2011, 09:18 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Jan 24 2011, 09:03 AM)

hmmmm i think will skip Sandy Bridge, wait Ivy Bridge. Sure Sandy drop price also hahaha ...!
then when every one is happy using SB
you here wait for Ivy

then come 2012 (that's is >1 years away)
news come leang out of another new architecture, just around the corner

then would you play the wait game all over again?

remember first half of 2010 can be Jan, Apr or even June 2012
mcchin
post Feb 1 2011, 10:28 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

been trawling the info

has anyone knows the timeline for the degradation
like how long before symptoms starts to show?
mcchin
post Feb 1 2011, 11:02 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

got some info from techreport

This problem apparently wasn't detected early on because of its nature, involving a slow degradation of SATA connectivity over time. Intel estimates that something like 5% of systems could develop problems over a three-year life span, assuming typical laptop usage patterns. Beyond that time window, the failure rate might rise further. For systems with heavier usage patterns, the failure rate during that initial three-year window could be as high as roughly 15%. That's obviously high enough to warrant the drastic action Intel is taking.

mcchin
post Feb 1 2011, 01:18 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Zakov @ Feb 1 2011, 12:25 PM)
Just think of it this way, it affects all chipsets released until the announcement was made. Because, the fault-free chipsets are currently being processed and is targeted to be delivered sometime around mid-February.
the feb timeline is for supply to OEM/mobo manufacturer
that is for the soonest, while the expected commercial sale is around march end to april
if all goes well

QUOTE(gnne84 @ Feb 1 2011, 12:28 PM)
hi all,
just wan to verify.
this cougar point issue just affected the motherboard chipset right?
the Sandy bridge processor still solid. only replacement for motherboard needed right?

As part of ongoing quality assurance, Intel has discovered a design issue in a recently released support chip, the Intel® 6 Series, code-named Cougar Point, and has implemented a silicon fix. In some cases, the Serial-ATA (SATA) ports within the chipsets may degrade over time, potentially impacting the performance or functionality of SATA-linked devices such as hard disk drives and DVD-drives. The chipset is utilized in PCs with Intel’s latest Second Generation Intel Core processors, code-named Sandy Bridge. Intel has stopped shipment of the affected support chip from its factories. Intel has corrected the design issue, and has begun manufacturing a new version of the support chip which will resolve the issue. The Sandy Bridge microprocessor is unaffected and no other products are affected by this issue.   
yes the processor is unaffected
but nobody gonna buy newer ones with the news of mobos to only available at Mar-Apr

QUOTE(881118 @ Feb 1 2011, 01:06 PM)
new batch of p67 mobo will only reach around APRIL?

so long... will getting a i2600k from intel fren soon...

but now... no mobo.... the proc for decoration only...
put it in a frame and hang it on the wall
put it in a clear pouch and wear it like some bling bling

if the offer is good
just wait for the revise chipset mobo to come out
then can use dee lor
mcchin
post Feb 8 2011, 10:04 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

i do believe that if the person that sold the item to you fail to honour the exchange
the main company will sort things out, by arranging postage or find a centralised collection to deal with this issue

this is because it is a recall nature rather than a typical rma effort
mcchin
post Feb 9 2011, 12:32 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Intel tick tock system

Ivy bridge is is the tick - shrinking from sandy bridge 32nm size to a 22nm size with no change in the architecture
once stabilised @ 22nm, the tock happen where a completely new archi call haswell which is then the tick would be rockwell @ 16nm
mcchin
post Feb 9 2011, 10:17 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 9 2011, 09:39 PM)
I don't think it is good move to resume the shipment with known defective issue.

Even the OEM manufacturers are not using the defective Sata port, but the feeling of customers may not the same.

Just like buying a new car with 4 tyres + 1 spare tyres.
But the 1 spare tyre is defective one, although it won't affect the car operation/driving, everything still run perfectly, but as a customer although you are not using it, the feeling of buying this car is not the same.

Unless the chipset mobo being sold at significantly discount, then make sense for customer
and the customer being told the issue.

Above just my opinion.
your analogy is abit off
in car anology lets take it like this

A 4WD car is being sold but then due to a bad batch of the gearbox,
a new series of the similar car is being sold(with all the same spec) but with the gear box being knowingly lock at 2WD system
the car function as a car so no harm there

unlike the situation above
the 1155 issue is being handled by a middle party (system manufacturer)
and 2 month of no sales is not good in any book

plus, where as the mobo will have a new chipset come april,
the notebook will continue using the current batch until excess stock is finish up
when is that?, nobody (gen pop) knows
mcchin
post Feb 18 2011, 02:11 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

technically no

1156 is (number performance wise) is inferior
even 1336 (enthusiast) have processors struggling to keep up with 1155 even though it cost much (new part comparison)

but for non extreme gaming, benchmarking
1156 can serve it purpose
mcchin
post Feb 24 2011, 09:03 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Intel take on a typical usage (i think) does not encompassed 24hr DL-er

But i do agree that, at the risk of corrupting data on the drives, it would be helpful for Mr.Lonely to try place the drive back to Sata2 to double confirm

@cybersans it's not paranoid when the figures show much lower value
and that the responses are obviously much slower
unless the user suddenly increase his own responses 10 fold
mcchin
post Feb 26 2011, 12:48 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(alcllee @ Feb 24 2011, 11:48 AM)
Good news for those who havent buy the board and existing MSI's user... MSI had updated their latest B3 Stepping boards on their website. I think  Malaysia will available very soon...
http://us.msi.com/index.php?func=prodpage1&maincat_no=1
buh..buh...buh..... the new ones dun have the free sata3 addon card... sad.gif
mcchin
post Feb 28 2011, 03:43 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Feb 28 2011, 01:01 PM)
I heard most major manufacturer pay for ur 2 way postage fees, so why give the fuss about bothering Retailers, just request local distro to send u the package for collections and wait for ur new board, right?

but one thing is the Asus "B3" stepping identifier is not really secure, they should have printed the B3 directly to the mobo PCB, not on box,sticker.  doh.gif
pcb might be so
since the board would be built up from scratch
so addition to a silk screen mark can be placed

not with box where most prolly a big stock piled up in their storage, since packaging is usually a non-perishable item

on another note, pardon me for making a conspiracy here
where a month back, Intel promised a date of mid Feb for chipset
and Mar end to early Apr for the mobo arrival

the current situation seems that the time line improved by like a whole month
some theories
1. Intel knew well before when they claim to know it but delayed for for the purpose to gauge the user take up on the new design. With the great take up, they could still hold on to the ppl interest, while settling the debacle and came out with their integrity intact

2. Not all the B2 rev. chip was defective and there is a way to differentiate them, so there would be still the same chips, albeit a more stringent QC-ing on these early batches

mcchin
post Mar 11 2011, 02:59 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Zakov @ Mar 11 2011, 02:23 PM)
Troublesome innit? tongue.gif
I guess this is one of the 'perks' of being an early adopter.

I think I'm just gonna wait until April then swap at the MSI office. Might as well get the free SATA card and get it over with. Don't want to make any extra trips. sleep.gif
from the other thread
There are 3 option, with the one you chosed is one of them

QUOTE(MSI-MY @ Mar 4 2011, 03:27 PM)
Dear all,

We are glad to announce that our distributors have received the shipment of new Sandy Bridge B3 motherboard. The early shipment is due to a favor from Intel by allocating some B3 chipset to us earlier that predicted. Thus as per the initial plan for the shipment to reach our shore on April 2011, the SATA card shipment couldn't make it to Malaysia. This is due to pre-allocation of the SATA card couldn't be allocated to the Multimedia Production Line.

Therefore, MSI customer who is anticipating for our MSI Malaysia Sandy Bridge Swapping Program, we regret to announce that there is a glitch on the SATA card redemption process. Therefore we provide the 3 options as below:
1) Swap new B3 motherboard first and we will courier out the SATA card by PosLaju to end user once we get hold of the stock of SATA Card.
2) Swap new B3 motherboard first. Then drop by to MSI Malaysia Office once again to collect the SATA Card upon stock arrival.
3) Swap new B3 motherboard and the SATA Card together in April 2011 once we get hold of the stock of SATA Card.

However for all the options above, please do take note that end user are required to call MSI Malaysia at 1300-22-1986 two working days before dropping by to our office to ease the allocation process.
Lastly, we would like to apologise to all MSI Sandy Bridge users for the inconvenience caused due to the early shipment of the new B3 mainboard.

Thank you.
mcchin
post Mar 14 2011, 09:23 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

eerr..

the p67 issue came out on Jan 31

by that time the feb issue would be out on sale already
now is Mar 15...
abit early for an April issue? hmm.gif

if Mar issue i can accept

if indeed april issue
then their Mars would also come out on mid feb
which needs their material to be ready before that
which also explain why the no such info in the feb mar issue

explainable situation really..

This post has been edited by mcchin: Mar 14 2011, 09:23 PM
mcchin
post Mar 21 2011, 08:10 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Asrock Fatal1ty Profesional http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Mode...%20Professional
This mobo supports IDE port and old LGA775 cooler called Cooler Combo Option

The one right below it, the Extreme 6 have, weirdly, a Floppy drive ...laugh.gif
but still have the CCO

these two are seriously making me think twice about getting a MSI P67 GD65....sigh

Asrock F1 Pro - a bit high on price
Asrock E6 - no supply here in M'sia
MSI GD65 - no IDE and CCO

Added on March 21, 2011, 8:27 pmjust to add p8p67-LE and M also have the IDE

http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=TzGz...7vc5&templete=2

http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=hcyf...kTNm&templete=2

This post has been edited by mcchin: Mar 21 2011, 08:27 PM
mcchin
post Mar 22 2011, 03:28 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

the nm = nanometer

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nanometre

10^-9 meter or to be clear,
take 1mm and divide that distance to 1000 smaller unit
you will come to micrometer unit, micron for short
then in a single micron, you divide further by 1000 smaller segments
this is nanometer, the basic unit of the current processor

32 or 22nm means the size of each transistor on the processor die
being smaller means you could cram more transistor count within a single processor die

mcchin
post Mar 22 2011, 08:57 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Mar 22 2011, 06:46 PM)
None so far, all my old CD-RW,DVD-RW are useless now.  sad.gif 

or  rely on USB as external drive.  doh.gif
quoting myself
QUOTE(mcchin @ Mar 21 2011, 08:10 PM)
Asrock Fatal1ty Profesional http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Mode...%20Professional
This mobo supports IDE port and old LGA775 cooler called Cooler Combo Option

The one right below it, the Extreme 6 have, weirdly, a Floppy drive ...laugh.gif
but still have the CCO
these two are seriously making me think twice about getting a MSI P67 GD65....sigh

Asrock F1 Pro - a bit high on price
Asrock E6 - no supply here in M'sia
MSI GD65 - no IDE and CCO

Added on March 21, 2011, 8:27 pmjust to add p8p67-LE and M also have the IDE

http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=TzGz...7vc5&templete=2

http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=hcyf...kTNm&templete=2
IDE is not that dead yet
maybe a couple of years more