iPhone 4 and iOS 4, Discussion Thread

kae_ae
post Jun 10 2010, 09:36 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 10 2010, 06:52 AM)
From the iPhone 4 tech specs
The Retina display is really just a super high resolution IPS (in-plane switching) LCD display found in the Apple Cinema Display and iPad.

Speaking of which, I found it interesting that new iPhone-native apps will have such high resolution that the blow-up in the iPad display won't send you back to the 90s.
WhAt i meant is, what it has in comparison to whats in the market compared to other smartphones. I was made to understand that ipad introduced led backlight for apple which uses less power, i might have misread tho.
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 09:36 AM

753 posts

BTW, this is a little bit OT, but I realized that some persons are barkingly mad when iPhone is being criticised for being unable to customised wallpaper, multitask etc (OS 3.0). Get another phone, these persons said. But these guys also championing the JB method which is a cure to some of the deficiencies of the iPhone. If they really stick to the standard features of iPhone, why do they JBed it?

I don't JB my phone because I love it as it is. If you have something that so valuable you won't change it to your liking. If I do have an Audi A4 for example, I won't change it to something else. Not even skirting or useless stickers etc. Only those that bought wira modified it like an EVO, which actually made it uglier.

iPhone is not perfect. But so does other phone. It's your call.

Added on June 10, 2010, 9:40 am
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 10 2010, 09:26 AM)
r u sure ur number 4 point is true?
long agi i always play 3g video call from my nokia phone with other friends and there is no data charges like u said
My mistake. It should be video call rate. Must be mistakenly with internet data charges. What I meant here, the rate is still quite high to some users and that prevent them from using it frequently.

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Jun 10 2010, 09:44 AM
leongtat
post Jun 10 2010, 09:42 AM

950 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Jun 10 2010, 09:34 AM)
or perhaps some people dont know anything trying to act smart. no doubt they have no stock right now, you think they are so stupid to keep stock? obviously when they launched their iphone, they were trying to clear their stock fast knowing that iphone 4 is about to launch. perhaps you should search LYN's forums on those who are selling digi plan. they were willing to give rebate up to RM500. so tell me whether this is true or not that digi was desperately trying to clear their stock. only those who are still in their fantasy world will think otherwise.
because i work inside. End story.
Don't try to act smart bro...
TakanoKyohei
post Jun 10 2010, 09:43 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(epool86 @ Jun 10 2010, 08:20 AM)
Nothing special about iphone4, I'm expecting they come out with better product but I wrong. With the price u can actually get much more better device.

But one thing for sure, apple fanboy will buy it and proud with it on the street without knowing some people is actually laughing at them because trying to show off their lousy device.

No offense, just my opinion.
no offense taken dude. the story is like this. apple do they stuff and people whining about it but the fact is, iphone user around the world become bigger and bigger as the time come. even a child or and old lady bought it, those people are fanboy too?
In US, UK, my eldest brother who are cabin crew who always flight around the world see at least 2 of 4 people use iphone. in airplane cabin, at least 3 of 18 customer in flight use ipad.

its true apple have limited function as others recall it has, bluetooth cannot send music etc, camera 5MP rather than others phone who have 12mp camera but the quality of the product? who win in this situation, im not apple fanboy my self but i do like apple product because of its design and the quality of its,
my eldest brother and his fellow crew friends use iphone also eventhough the are not apple fanboy.

if you think nothing special about iphone 4 and say with the price is you can easily get better device then go on. there are people who like the design and there are people who like the function and they can actually chose with device suitable for them and we obviously know that you dont like iphone at all do you?

btw discussing about iphone cannot have this function, others phone have this function. that function, apple fanboy, apple not so fanboy will continuously so i suggest that we discuss it seriously,

as again, No offense, just my opinion.

cheeers

taka.

c010
post Jun 10 2010, 09:45 AM

281 posts

[quote=nimrod323,Jun 8 2010, 06:02 PM]
Maybe you might not know this, many manufacturers have the price protection policy, that is any leftover stock would be retuned back so that the TELCO's dont lose out, any Telco wont just sign up for apple knowing that they would lose out, think of it in this way app developers get a 70% cut out of app sales, whatever apple makes goes to maintenance of servers and service.

not sure whether there is such arrangement on returning the leftover or not, but for sure that the contract signed between Maxis with Apple was to commit 120K units which i doubt Apple is willing to take back their phone. that's the reason why both telcos were trying to get rid of the phone before iphone 4 announced. things happening ppl may not see or know, but what actually is going on i know, cos i am from telco industry.

hihihehe

13,791 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jun 10 2010, 11:36 AM)
BTW, this is a little bit OT, but I realized that some persons are barkingly mad when iPhone is being criticised for being unable to customised wallpaper, multitask etc (OS 3.0).  Get another phone, these persons said. But these guys also championing the JB method which is a cure to some of the deficiencies of the iPhone. If they really stick to the  standard features of iPhone, why do they JBed it?

I don't JB my phone because I love it as it is. If you have something that so valuable you won't change it to your liking. If I do have an Audi A4 for example, I won't change it to something else. Not even skirting or useless stickers etc. Only those that bought wira modified it like an EVO, which actually made it uglier.

iPhone is not perfect. But so do to other phone. It's your call.

Added on June 10, 2010, 9:40 am

My mistake. It should be video call rate. Must be mistakenly with internet data charges. What I meant here, the rate is still quite high to some users and that prevent them from using it frequently.
alamak..different ppl different preferences mah
JB can do more thing such as tweaking,etc...
like ur example of car,is not about sticker or skirt,etc..those just appearance..JB is like modify the engine of car..push it to another level or modify your car to do more than that(increase bhp,etc)
g3n0c1d3

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jun 10 2010, 09:36 AM)
BTW, this is a little bit OT, but I realized that some persons are barkingly mad when iPhone is being criticised for being unable to customised wallpaper, multitask etc (OS 3.0).  Get another phone, these persons said. But these guys also championing the JB method which is a cure to some of the deficiencies of the iPhone. If they really stick to the  standard features of iPhone, why do they JBed it?

iPhone is not perfect. But so do to other phone. It's your call.
thats what the dev team is all about.... this so called geeks of technologies JB their phones because they see an untap potential of the iphones....

like u said urself.. if u buy a stock car u dont like to modified it...
well some of us like to modified it and to the max.. at the end of the day, its up to the users what they want...

u may like it just as it is...
some people just like to push the limits....
leongtat
post Jun 10 2010, 09:52 AM

950 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 10 2010, 09:43 AM)
no offense taken dude. the story is like this. apple do they stuff and people whining about it but the fact is, iphone user around the world become bigger and bigger as the time come. even a child or and old lady bought it, those people are fanboy too?
  In US, UK, my eldest brother who are cabin crew who always flight around the world see at least 2 of 4 people use iphone. in airplane cabin, at least 3 of 18 customer in flight use ipad.

its true apple have limited function as others recall it has, bluetooth cannot send music etc, camera 5MP rather than others phone who have 12mp camera but the quality of the product? who win in this situation, im not apple fanboy my self but i do like apple product because of its design and the quality of its,
my eldest brother and his fellow crew friends use iphone also eventhough the are not apple fanboy.

if you think nothing special about iphone 4 and say with the price is you can easily get better device then go on. there are people who like the design and there are people who like the function and they can actually chose with  device suitable for them and we obviously know that you dont like iphone at all do you?

btw discussing about iphone cannot have this function, others phone have this function. that function, apple fanboy, apple not so fanboy will continuously so i suggest that we discuss it seriously,

as again, No offense, just my opinion.

cheeers

taka.
Nice word there bro... the technology might exist long time ago but apple done it right.... do remember apple is only selling their only one phone? You expect them to lump everything into their iOS when it launch back in 2007? What is their selling point in the future then?
Apple do it nicely but steadily.... iOS is a new OS and apple objective is to always ensure customer experience on the devices are always top notch. there is no half baked product from them.... when they intro some new feature they are making sure they are the best... Just look at the multitasking..... Yes most device have it but which device can beat iPhone in term of the multi-tasking performance? I can say i have used Symbian and Windows OS... Both become very sluggish after you open few application at once... then we encounter hang....
Before i used iPhone, i have exactly the same thought of few fellows here.... Why people are so crazy about apple product???? Sorry to tell you that we are not apple fanboy but we are just attracted to the entire packages that apple offered. What's the point of having 1Ghz of processor when you OS is always hang?
Ojimaru
post Jun 10 2010, 09:53 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jun 10 2010, 09:15 AM)
1. With iPhone 4, you can make a video call to another iPhone 4 only.
This isn't necessarily true. FaceTime was developed as an open standard, meaning it can be incorporated into other video chat clients like iChat, Skype and maybe even future phones. For now, yes, it's limited to iPhone 4s only.

I believe I understand the reason for using wifi for FaceTime. 3G/3.5G unable to give you the kind of user experience that you expect to get from video call. Low frame rate means both of your voice and video will response to the other caller after 3-4 seconds later. Being Apple, they wish to give the ultimate experience to their customer. And lousy frame rate is not what they have in mind. Since 3.5G is the fastest and widely use right now, they have to resort to wifi until LTE comes alive probably next year in the US. If LTE do start operational next year in US, probably we can expect iPhone 4G to be launched. And that will be the right tonic to FaceTime
I don't agree with this. I think it's more of a matter of bandwidth made available by cellphone carriers and how much they can handle. Current video calling protocols split the voice and video into 2G and 3G bands, respectively. FaceTime seems to be combining both streams, thus requiring more bandwidth. Considering that iPhone users in the US have the biggest data usage among smartphones, AT&T's 3G has been constantly hammered by internet-hungry users, especially since they debuted that unbelievable US$30 unlimited 3G on the iPad. As Steve Jobs is capable of making the act of watching paint dry exciting and the next Big Thing, AT&T probably took one look at Apple's plans and told them to go fly kite.
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 09:58 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 10 2010, 09:45 AM)
alamak..different ppl different preferences mah
JB can do more thing such as tweaking,etc...
like ur example of car,is not about sticker or skirt,etc..those just appearance..JB is like modify the engine of car..push it to another level or modify your car to do more than that(increase bhp,etc)
Well if you read carefully my statement is intended to those who said in the previous posts that iPhone is only for those who accept it as it is. But these same persons said that they can JBed their phone to remedy some of the lack of the features. Which all in all, two different contradictory statements. And these same persons bashed anyone who said negatively on iPhone.

This is in my opinion a true fanboyism. We criticised because we want an improvement. A blind defence of something that is crystal clear won't help. And Apple have given a lot of improvement in iOS4. Like an article that I've read before, Jbed seems irrelevant after iOS4. And those that do JBed the phone is either to get disapproved apps or venture into pirated apps.

I have nothing against those that Jbed so they can have better user experience. An exception of course those looking to the pirated software that is.

Plus, song as a ringtone is out of question as well.
Ojimaru
post Jun 10 2010, 10:03 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jun 10 2010, 09:58 AM)
Well if you read carefully my statement is intended to those who said in the previous posts that iPhone is only for those who accept it as it is. But these same persons said that they can JBed their phone to remedy some of the lack of the features. Which all in all, two different contradictory statements. And these same persons bashed anyone who said negatively on iPhone.

This is in my opinion a true fanboyism. We criticised because we want an improvement. A blind defence of something that is crystal clear won't help. And Apple have given a lot of improvement in iOS4. Like an article that I've read before, Jbed seems irrelevant after iOS4. And those that do JBed the phone is either to get disapproved apps or venture into pirated apps.

I have nothing against those that Jbed so they can have better user experience. An exception of course those looking to the pirated software that is.

Plus, song as a ringtone is out of question as well.
Just like to point out that the reason jailbreaking on iOS 4 is less relevant because it can run apps written in HTML5, thus allowing for a second unmoderated app ecosystem.
hihihehe
post Jun 10 2010, 10:05 AM

13,791 posts

although iOS4 cover some of the features from JB, but there is still some features that iOS4 cant do..SBSettings is 1 of it..others like 5 icons dock,lock info,etc...
so is up to each users whether they want their iphone do more than that or not
aleluya
post Jun 10 2010, 10:08 AM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

While it's cool to have iphone 4 launches, but still it didn't really attracts me to invest to those upgrades.

No offense here but there's really not much major upgrades. And the most afraid thing is; after you buy iphone 4, like iphone 3g; within less than 1 year, there's 3gs announce and you are like wtf?

I believe there's some enhancement to iphone 4; and it may be quick enough. smile.gif
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 10:08 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 10 2010, 09:53 AM)
This isn't necessarily true. FaceTime was developed as an open standard, meaning it can be incorporated into other video chat clients like iChat, Skype and maybe even future phones. For now, yes, it's limited to iPhone 4s only.
I don't agree with this. I think it's more of a matter of bandwidth made available by cellphone carriers and how much they can handle. Current video calling protocols split the voice and video into 2G and 3G bands, respectively. FaceTime seems to be combining both streams, thus requiring more bandwidth. Considering that iPhone users in the US have the biggest data usage among smartphones, AT&T's 3G has been constantly hammered by internet-hungry users, especially since they debuted that unbelievable US$30 unlimited 3G on the iPad. As Steve Jobs is capable of making the act of watching paint dry exciting and the next Big Thing, AT&T probably took one look at Apple's plans and told them to go fly kite.
Thank you. Like I said, I don't know much on video call technology other than being a user that is. You have explained my mind boggling question before of why video call must be on 3G. But my point on the limitation still holds true IMHO. Considering that the conventional video call technology is the abundantly use currently, the only hope for explosion of video call on iPhone can only happens when other phone manufacturer uses the same protocol. And that means current video call enabled phone will remains incompatible. Plus not everyone has iChat and Skype
nimrod323
post Jun 10 2010, 10:09 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Jun 10 2010, 09:45 AM)
not sure whether there is such arrangement on returning the leftover or not, but for sure that the contract signed between Maxis with Apple was to commit 120K units which i doubt Apple is willing to take back their phone. that's the reason why both telcos were trying to get rid of the phone before iphone 4 announced. things happening ppl may not see or know, but what actually is going on i know, cos i am from telco industry.
They have similar arrangements with the Apple resellers, have some buddies working there aswell, how it works if i understand it portion of the money from the cost will be returned back to the telco, so that it'll soften their blow, and they could sell it cheaper, at the end of the day if they still have leftover stock they either try to clear it off or send it back. But i think the telcos are getting smarter especially Digi, they knew whats was happening and cleared off just in time. I hope at any rate Celcom if they are willing to commit, would do the same. But i guess as for maxis, the real money lies in the corporate bulk purchase no?

Ojimaru
post Jun 10 2010, 10:11 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Jun 10 2010, 10:08 AM)
While it's cool to have iphone 4 launches, but still it didn't really attracts me to invest to those upgrades.

No offense here but there's really not much major upgrades. And the most afraid thing is; after you buy iphone 4, like iphone 3g; within less than 1 year, there's 3gs announce and you are like wtf?

I believe there's some enhancement to iphone 4; and it may be quick enough. smile.gif
While that's true for all forms of technology, most of the people in this forum already expect a new iPhone model next year. If people want to wait for the latest technology, they'll end up getting left behind forever.
nimrod323
post Jun 10 2010, 10:14 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 10 2010, 10:11 AM)
While that's true for all forms of technology, most of the people in this forum already expect a new iPhone model next year. If people want to wait for the latest technology, they'll end up getting left behind forever.
whats with *f*** apple is launching a new phone AGAIN next year comments*, nokia and goole launch new phone every month, how does that make you feel? being obsolete in a month to month basis. Ojimaru, relax pal, no point contending to this fellers, they only seem to appear as of yesterday since their thread on bashing iphone 4 in mobile phone subforum was terminated by the mod.
aleluya
post Jun 10 2010, 10:19 AM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 10 2010, 10:14 AM)
whats with *f*** apple is launching a new phone AGAIN next year comments*, nokia and goole launch new phone every month, how does that make you feel? being obsolete in a month to month basis. Ojimaru, relax pal, no point contending to this fellers, they only seem to appear as of yesterday since their thread on bashing iphone 4 in mobile phone subforum was terminated by the mod.
FYI, I am not bashing on Apple. This is only my opinion. Yes true that Nokia did releases new phone every month, but for an iPhone user myself, I don't see my reason for iPhone 4 yet; or perhaps the hidden 100 more features will catch my eyes later on? I don't know either and that's just my 2 cent.

I am using iPhone and iPad, in fact I like Apple for what they have created; but iPhone 4 definitely isn't my preferences yet as the major changes aren't too much compare to 2G to 3G. It's not bashing, it's just preferences.
nimrod323
post Jun 10 2010, 10:24 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Jun 10 2010, 10:19 AM)
FYI, I am not bashing on Apple. This is only my opinion. Yes true that Nokia did releases new phone every month, but for an iPhone user myself, I don't see my reason for iPhone 4 yet; or perhaps the hidden 100 more features will catch my eyes later on? I don't know either and that's just my 2 cent.

I am using iPhone and iPad, in fact I like Apple for what they have created; but iPhone 4 definitely isn't my preferences yet as the major changes aren't too much compare to 2G to 3G. It's not bashing, it's just preferences.
look im not commenting on whether or not you are bashing apple or iphone, im talking about the one liner posts one page back. I was commenting on how you complained about the 1 year cycle, no1 is asking you to upgrade, given the chances, if i had the iphone 3GS i wouldnt either. I'm not gonna go into specifics what apple products i use and all that, thats doesnt matter. Its ridiculous to talk about how iphones go obsolete in one year when many phone vendors introduce their top of the line every 3 weeks to 1 month.
xaw5126
post Jun 10 2010, 10:25 AM

3,488 posts

@aleluya
what do you want in iPhone5? cos you need to decide earlier on, and then when the product is launched in June 2011, you can decide if you wanna buy.

for me, my iPhone1,2 is lagging when opening apps, and many newer OpenGL ES 2.0 stuff doesn't work at all.
the camera is good enough, I did say last year that I want a 5.0 camera. and anyway, there's nothing else better in the market anyway smile.gif

114 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:18 AM