iPhone 4 and iOS 4, Discussion Thread

TSdvlzplayground
post Apr 6 2010, 12:16 AM, updated 16y ago

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

iPhone 4

RULES:

1) DO NOT POST UNCONSTRUCTIVE POST. ALL UNCONSTRUCTIVE POST WILL BE DELETED.
2) DO NOT POST OR SPAM ONELINERS.
3) DO NOT POST HOW LONG IT TAKES FOR YOU TO DOWNLOAD THE FIRMWARE. IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE IOS 4. ALL THESE POST WILL BE DELETED.

DO NOT POST IF YOU GOT NOTHING CONSTRUCTIVE TO POST.

--

Apple has just announced the new iPhone on WWDC 2010 (around 1 AM June 8th Malaysian time). And boy does it look gorgeous!

Available in 16GB or 32GB, black or white.

The new features:

FaceTime - basically videocall, but between iPhone 4 to iPhone 4 only for now. Also for now, only by using WiFi. The reason is because AT&T will struggle to support the bandwidth, but we'll see if Apple and Maxis can arrange it for us here smile.gif Also, this is an open standard, so we can expect phones from other manufacturer to support FaceTime as well. Both front and back cameras can be used.

5 MP camera, LED flash, Backside Illumination Sensor, Front Camera
- you should probably know more megapixels equals more noise, but the camera sensor in iPhone 4 has also been increased as well, and paired with backside illumination technology. BIS and LED flash should result in better low-light photos. Front camera can also be used for easier camwhoring!

HD Video & iMovie for iPhone - self-explanatory tongue.gif

Retina Display with IPS technology - our beloved 3.5" Multitouch display now has a resolution of 960x640 (4x iPhone 3GS), so that's a stunning 326 pixels per inch! 800:1 contrast ratio and oleophobic coating for both the aluminosilicate glass screen and back panel. Also, IPS technology gives better colours and viewing angles…should beat AMOLED anytime.

Gyroscope - iPhone reinvented mobile gaming with the accelerometer. This is the next invention.

Bigger battery - Hey, it's Apple.

And of course, iPhone 4 is powered by the Apple A4 processor.

Read more about the new features here and drool at the tech specs here

iOS 4 (previously known as iPhone OS 4)

user posted image iPhone 4 Downloads *Only iTunes 9.2 or later supports iPhone 4
*do not unzip the firmware. Remove the .zip extension. Your firmware should ends with .ipsw extension

IOS 4 Download

iPhone 3G IOS 4 Firmware - Download

iPhone 3GS IOS 4 Firmware - Download

iPhone 4 IOS 4 Firmware - Download

*Hold shift and click restore for Windows users and select the firmware. Hold Alt/Option and click Restore for Mac users and select the firmware. (Do a full backup before you proceed).

New features:

Multitasking - It's finally here! Double-tapping the home button will show all the apps you are currently running. This multitasking system is designed for minimum impact on battery life.

Folders - Effortlessly organize your apps in folders.

iBooks - Just like from the iPad, you get to purchase eBooks from the iBookstore

Unified Mail Inbox - manage multiple email accounts, and you can also view messages in threads

Frequently Asked Questions

READ THIS BEFORE YOU POST A QUESTION! You can always visit the official iPhone 4 page on Apple.com, and here's a useful article from Engadget. Feel free to ask or comment anything in this thread, but please no bashing and one-liners. Keep this thread clean so anyone can find information they need as easy as possible.

All unconstructive post, oneliner post will be deleted by moderators

Thank you smile.gif

iPhone 4 FAQ

1. When will it be released in Malaysia?

2. So long have to wait! Can I buy from other countries and bring it to Malaysia?

3. So how much will it be priced in Malaysia?

4. But wait, iPhone 4 uses microSIM?! How long do we have to wait to have this in Malaysia? Any news from Maxis, Digi or Celcom?

5. Malaysia don't have 4G network laa!

6. Adobe Flash support?

7. How to play Farmville?!?!?!

8. Will the price drop anytime soon?

9. I saw someone in Garage Sales (or other places) selling the iPhone 4 for an absurdly high price! Why is that person ripping me off?!

10. The iPhone 4 is a disappointment. When will a new iPhone be released?

11. I heard there's a rumour about a new version of the iPod touch. Is this true?

12. I just bought an iPhone 3GS. Is it worth it to upgrade? Can trade-in?

13. Can I edit my own ringtones in iPhone? Even my old phone can do that!

14. Why no AMOLED screen?

15. What is Retina Display?

iOS 4.0 FAQ

1. Which iPhones n iPod touches are eligible for this update?

2. Is it free? How do I get it?

3. Should I try the Golden Master BETA version?

4. Can I Jailbreak it?

More FAQs coming soon. Any corrections please PM me, thank you smile.gif

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jun 22 2010, 06:59 PM
g3n0c1d3
post Apr 6 2010, 12:21 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 6 2010, 12:16 AM)
that was a shock... suddenly announce three days before the event!

c'monnnn multitasking biggrin.gif
i heard the rumors 2 weeks ago... but not too sure....
shinnyx
post Apr 6 2010, 12:33 AM

215 posts

wow...! excited biggrin.gif
wonder if Apple will makes multitasking works on iPhone/iPad.
boomber
post Apr 6 2010, 12:42 AM

447 posts

According to those news, apple has certified that multitasking is in the list of the feature of iPhone os4. I also hope that this will be included in the new os.
Btw just want to ask when apple announce new os, can we just update it through iTunes? Sorry I am a new iPhone user and wonder whether those updates will be available for existing iPhone user.
g3n0c1d3
post Apr 6 2010, 12:51 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(boomber @ Apr 6 2010, 12:42 AM)
According to those news, apple has certified that multitasking is in the list of the feature of iPhone os4. I also hope that this will be included in the new os.
Btw just want to ask when apple announce new os, can we just update it through iTunes? Sorry I am a new iPhone user and wonder whether those updates will be available for existing iPhone user.
u have to wait for the OS on itunes lah... they only announce it... not really release it yet....

TSdvlzplayground
post Apr 6 2010, 01:11 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

so far even the 1st gen iphone still can upgrade to OS 3.0... shud be able to upgrade to 4.0 i guess smile.gif

actually-useful standby screen please... n easy way to switch tabs in safari tongue.gif
fyire
post Apr 6 2010, 01:12 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(boomber @ Apr 6 2010, 12:42 AM)
Developer Preview version is likely to be made available during WWDC. Of which is very likely the same chaos as the last time with 3.0 is gonna happen again, with people downloading copies off BT, upgrading and finding that they cannot authorize their phones without a developer account and cannot revert back to the previous OS, etc once again.
g3n0c1d3
post Apr 6 2010, 01:17 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Apr 6 2010, 01:12 AM)
Developer Preview version is likely to be made available during WWDC. Of which is very likely the same chaos as the last time with 3.0 is gonna happen again, with people downloading copies off BT, upgrading and finding that they cannot authorize their phones without a developer account and cannot revert back to the previous OS, etc once again.
some people so impatient.... thats all i have to say...
boblp
post Apr 6 2010, 01:23 AM

This is awkward
587 posts

haha.. just stick to those firmware where u dont have any problem.. n wat g3n0cld3 said was very true.. haha
TSdvlzplayground
post Apr 6 2010, 01:23 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

lol i didnt know got such case. hopefully they learnt their lesson!
kalvinhui
post Apr 6 2010, 01:29 AM

112 posts

multitasking is a charm~ but it drains the battery lagi cepat~
hopefully it's free for those 3.0
tabs
post Apr 6 2010, 02:02 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

i have some rumor news but not proven yet.. here is some news that i get from other..

look like iphone will go to 3.3 currently but ipod will go for 4.0 os.. however still consider a good news if rely true rclxms.gif

TSdvlzplayground
post Apr 6 2010, 02:30 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

3,3 and 4,1 shud be the model 'name'.

iphone 2,1 is the 3GS... 1,1 is the 2G, 1,2 is the 3G

but those 3,1 3,2 and 3,3 are new smile.gif
Masamune
post Apr 6 2010, 07:57 AM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

I can't wait lol..
Wonder whether this time got front camera?? tongue.gif
tabs
post Apr 6 2010, 11:07 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

haha.. ya save money now for july new iphone?? haha.. or probably try ipad first lo.. lol
yuvanesh
post Apr 6 2010, 11:15 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Apr 6 2010, 11:07 AM)
haha.. ya save money now for july new iphone?? haha.. or probably try ipad first lo.. lol
but maybe the os 4.0 will be a bit similiar to ipad...HD..hope for ebooks in...love that..
tabs
post Apr 6 2010, 11:21 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

Lol.. if function similar to ipad probably will buy iphone instead of ipad however still hope that iphone will look different..
piscesguy1314
post Apr 6 2010, 11:25 AM

371 posts

anyone know how the coming new iphone looks like??
tabs
post Apr 6 2010, 11:28 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

got some rumor news only u can google press iphone 4g then u will see the picture..
monked
post Apr 6 2010, 11:34 AM

1,079 posts

hopefully apple are not going to make us dissapointed ><
multi task ftw !!

114 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:00 PM