iPhone 4 and iOS 4, Discussion Thread

mmmbop
post Apr 6 2010, 02:32 PM

753 posts

Lol. take a close look of last year 3gs. Maxis launch 3gs about a month after the announcement la. Every telco partner of apple will get it

3g was launched late because there is no telco offering it yet during the announcement.

Added on April 6, 2010, 2:35 pm
QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Apr 6 2010, 12:58 PM)
well honestly, i use the phone to make calls and do some basic vid recording.. all in all.. there might be some hardware diff's.. but the software would be 90 % identical... 2g-3gs (i would say go for it..) 3g-3gs( meh.. really for a compass and vid recording..meh..) smile.gif. Well that's my opinion anyway.

Added on April 6, 2010, 12:59 pmanyway, lets see what the big diff would be.. cause its going to be huge smile.gif
Individual preference obviously. But to me buying an iPhone without using its function to the max is a serious burner on the wallet. Not using the GPS, accelerometer and the digital compass to good use is really a waste of money. I would rather buy Nokia instead if for basic call function only

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Apr 6 2010, 02:35 PM
mmmbop
post Apr 7 2010, 01:31 PM

753 posts

Leak from UK O2 site

Excited? You bet I am! rclxms.gif
mmmbop
post Apr 7 2010, 03:46 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(shdwkillr @ Apr 7 2010, 03:04 PM)
erm... hihi... we're talking about iPhone OS 4.0 or iPhone 4.0?
it seems like in your prediction only "multitasking" and "better passcode" fit in the iPhone OS 4.0
while "higher resolution", "video conversation" and "HD capability" fit in the prediction of iPhone 4.0, which I doubt they will say anything during tomorrow's event otherwise we will then know that the next gen iPhone has "better display" and "front camera", which, Apple will not do so until the iPhone event..
(correct me if I'm wrong then)

If I'm not mistaken this thread is about the new OS and not the new hardware.. hmm.. shouldn't we strictly stick to the discussion of the original thread title?
The fact that OS 4.0 refers to new iPhone 4G means it's no harm to relate both at all. Afterall, there might be some indication of what hardware there will be in the OS itself. Specific software is needed to run particular hardware similar to what 3.0 showed info regarding to digital compass and video camera last time.
mmmbop
post Apr 7 2010, 05:43 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 7 2010, 05:36 PM)
hopefully they will come out with a smarter phone to auto configure the 3G and gprs/edge with no possible way to disable it.
Honestly, is this such a major problem? Every single telco will have different setting so it's clear configuration need to be done manually..which I think isn't that difficult.

no possible way to disable it

And what good this will be? blink.gif
mmmbop
post Apr 7 2010, 11:38 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(unioptom @ Apr 7 2010, 07:07 PM)
Good question. Probably opening a big can of worms here but isn't the ability to be online all the time part of the iPhone experience? Granted that some of you may live / work in areas where there is WiFi most of the time but for those of us who don't having data services means I can have access to emails, twitter,IM etc wherever I am ALL THE TIME.

Case in point - my iPhone has been out of commission for the last 10 days and I've resorted to using the iPod touch again for getting online. It didn't use to bother me that I had to reach home every night before hooking up online and getting my mails etc - after all this was my routine before I got the iPhone last November - but now, it's annoying me to pieces that I get stuck in the traffic and can't check in on my mails. Or send off a tweet.

So, in my personal opinion, everyone who has an iPhone should get some form of data plan to go with it. Yes, it costs extra but we don't moan about having to pay for phone calls, do we? Otherwise, you're better off getting a regular phone and saving some money at the same time.

My two cents smile.gif
Indeed that is the idea. I have never turn off 3g as well be it low in juice or in wifi area.

But his idea of constant availability of 3g is perplexing due to the fact that it's an optional setting. A personalization.

Just simply on/off at any time that you want. An individual choice. Why would he prefer this setting to be omitted? doh.gif

If he wishes to have 3g on 24-7, then don't change the setting.

As simple as that.

Though, our prolonged discussion has seem to complicate things biggrin.gif

Added on April 7, 2010, 11:49 pm
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 7 2010, 09:56 PM)
since iphone OS 4.0 will be in iphone 4th gen, nothing wrong to speculate hehe. e.g. if iphone OS 4.0 supports videocall, then we can bet iphone 4th gen will have front facing camera

hm i forgot where i read but, A4 chip, unlike the snapdragon, cannot videocall? but i dun mind lah, i nvr videocall...still feels awkward to me tongue.gif

we shud know something about the resolution too. but then i hope it stays the same smile.gif
Quite a lot of industry sources claim that Apple has purchased 5MP sensor including flash as well. But I would like to see improvement in the performance of the sensor itself rather than higher MP. But obviously is going to be a bonus to have higher MP.

But the core deficiency presently is indoor quality picture. iPhone suffers in this department. Even though most digital camera particularly camera phone speak the same volume, I've seen better camera phone than iPhone when taking picture indoor

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Apr 7 2010, 11:49 PM
mmmbop
post Apr 8 2010, 08:57 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Apr 8 2010, 12:32 AM)
lol.. today is 8 april de.. looking forward on the announcement wondering which os will come out
April 8th there, 9th April here. Somewhere around 1 am I guess
mmmbop
post Apr 9 2010, 10:26 AM

753 posts

Whoa..I left it at page 5 yesterday and now we are already 11 pages in front.

BTW, to those questioning the unavailability of several key features of 4.0 to 3g, I guess steve has summed it up.

But I just want to reiterate that other than hardware issue, it's just simply marketing strategy.
If Apple give it all out to all older versions, then when will Apple get that massive sale for the latest iPhone?

Plus, flash on iphone is not related to hardware issue. I believe it can be done. But there must be some unsettled business or a dispute in agreement with Adobe.

Bluetooth file transfer I reckon is also a settled business. There's no way they will let us transfer files and songs without breaching the copyright issue.

In the mean time, I love all the first 4 features while the rest does not really of my interest.

Really hoping they won't left out vid call by this summer though.

Let see what analyst and dev can dig up from the beta. Hopefully something juicy like vid call.

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Apr 9 2010, 10:26 AM
mmmbop
post Apr 9 2010, 11:38 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 9 2010, 11:20 AM)
n not only got front camera only can video call..my previous phone, n6630 can make video call by camera at the back..
but i think current iphone hardware not support video call
Yup but it's ridiculous.

Reason is, it will make you look like a dork for looking and smiling at the back of your camera while chatting with your friend. biggrin.gif

I won't even use that function if it's going to be available for 3gs. laugh.gif

Added on April 9, 2010, 11:40 am
QUOTE(chenster @ Apr 9 2010, 11:22 AM)
but the iphone 4.0 SDK already have the ichat API...
so i expect them to announce this in yesterday's 4.0 preview as one of the tentpole functions..
Well, they call it sneak peek for a good reason.

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Apr 9 2010, 11:40 AM
mmmbop
post Apr 9 2010, 11:51 AM

753 posts

I always think that if, by any chance Apple is going to introduce video call, it must be something really good.

And good does not mean come from Apple alone, but the network that support such capability must be excellent as well.

Case in point, video call on current 3.5g still have serious frame rate issue, and voice lag of about 2-3 seconds.

The new HTC Evo released recently in US has a 1.3MP front camera for a very good reason. It's a Wimax phone.

So unless iPhone 4G brings any network enhancement in the form of LTE or the lesser probability of Wimax, I don't think this feature will ever be released.

Video call needs matured technology, before it can work beautifully.

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Apr 9 2010, 11:52 AM
mmmbop
post Apr 14 2010, 12:57 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Apr 14 2010, 11:28 AM)
Well, anything that uses any form of radio signals needs to go through SIRIM for approval.
It's clear he referring to the delayed problem. There's no proof whatsoever that SIRIM to be blamed for the delay.

Added on April 14, 2010, 12:58 pm
QUOTE(tabs @ Apr 14 2010, 12:15 PM)
SIRIM approval is a very headache process.. last time i order an some item from other country but kena kastam block at the end need to go here and there to get some document from SIRIM and other department.. that was my last time that purchase from other country
Lucky me then. Bought an electronic equipment last time from US without any hitch.

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Apr 14 2010, 12:58 PM
mmmbop
post Apr 15 2010, 10:02 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Apr 15 2010, 09:50 AM)
Any news on wifi problem? Does os4 solve the wifi issue? Almost 1 year my iPhone without wifi sad.gif
Wifi? Nobody complain on wifi problem. That means it's not OS version is the problem. Rather the phone itself
mmmbop
post Apr 19 2010, 09:53 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Apr 16 2010, 02:05 PM)
There are tons of complain (10k post complaining i think) in Apple forum regarding wifi issues after upgrading to 3.0 firmware. Include non-jb and jb.
Maxis set. The previous set encounter wifi problem after jb. Then i thought, wifi chip burnt. Then i get a replacement set. 2 days after that, I jb again, then the wifi fakap again. And that's me wonder either its OS problem or hardware problem.

As for hardware, using terminal (jb) wifi chip is available.
Considering both JB and non-JB users in this forum have no wifi problem whatsoever, probably there might be an application that you installed after JB that cause all this. Highly unlikely the hardware is the problem. Why going through all the trouble when you can be safe and sound without JB?
mmmbop
post Jun 8 2010, 06:09 PM

753 posts

Love all the new features esp the cam, the -n band, the gyroscope and the screen, but particularly dissappointed with iPhone-iPhone video call. Already heard of the wifi rumors but that should be settle by new FW.

Problem is what's the point of having a video call function that can't make video call to other phone?
mmmbop
post Jun 9 2010, 05:32 PM

753 posts

Contrary to some of the opinions published here, I believe video call is a great tool of communication. In fact, I'm a heavy video caller and it's a feature that I would love to use on iPhone. Particularly because my wife, my sisters and even my parents have video call feature on their phone.

Not really indulge and reading much into the technology behind FaceTime, but it seems like a different method of technology that departs from the current video call that we have now. Other than the optional JB, it seems that FaceTime might not be compatible with other phone even they have release FW which able to use 3G.

If that's really the case, my omnia has to stay on.
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 09:15 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 9 2010, 08:05 PM)
Big screen + high resolution video = death/evolution of sexting?
You'll likely get a similar, if not better experience on the desktop, but having the same functionality on the phone does a difference. To bring up an analogy, it's similar to the introduction of integrated cameras on phones. While many know they can get better picture control and quality using full blown digital cameras or (D)SLRs, most tend to shoot more pictures and videos using their camera phones because it's less intrusive and much more spontaneous. So while it's technically better to get on the desktop for a video chat, the ability to do it on the phone means you don't need to be in front of the computer monitor and all the fuss that comes with it. Simple example, which is easier: showing off your baby (or car, bike, laptop, 60" Kuro Plasma, etc) with your iMac/Macbook's iSight, or your iPhone?
We all know video call has been around for years. I'm myself have been using it for 2 years. However, there are several limitation to video call technology:

1. It strictly requires 3G reception or higher, no less, so the area you are in is utmost important
2. It requires phone with front-facing camera, ideally (because some phone with only rear camera do have video call function)
3. It requires persons on both end of the video call to abide no 1 & 2
4. Data charges
5. Extreme lagginess of video frame rate

Thus, I don't see an evolution or even revolution is in the making.

Plus, now with iPhone 4, it has add in another two more limitations:

1. With iPhone 4, you can make a video call to another iPhone 4 only. not even 3Gs will get the special treatment, though without front facing camera, we know FaceTime is able to use the rear camera.
2. Wifi only for the time being.

I believe I understand the reason for using wifi for FaceTime. 3G/3.5G unable to give you the kind of user experience that you expect to get from video call. Low frame rate means both of your voice and video will response to the other caller after 3-4 seconds later. Being Apple, they wish to give the ultimate experience to their customer. And lousy frame rate is not what they have in mind. Since 3.5G is the fastest and widely use right now, they have to resort to wifi until LTE comes alive probably next year in the US. If LTE do start operational next year in US, probably we can expect iPhone 4G to be launched. And that will be the right tonic to FaceTime

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Jun 10 2010, 09:21 AM
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 09:20 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(yusvogue @ Jun 10 2010, 09:15 AM)
Huumm.. my old HTC Dual Touch (oredi 3 years old) can edit ringtones by the day...  icon_rolleyes.gif
So, why not iPhone?
Because you are one of the ignorant bunch of users. It has nothing to do with technology. It's copyright issue. If you still have trouble with that explanation, I assume you're one of the thousands that prefer to buy cheap crocs and pirated DVD at pasar malam.
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 09:36 AM

753 posts

BTW, this is a little bit OT, but I realized that some persons are barkingly mad when iPhone is being criticised for being unable to customised wallpaper, multitask etc (OS 3.0). Get another phone, these persons said. But these guys also championing the JB method which is a cure to some of the deficiencies of the iPhone. If they really stick to the standard features of iPhone, why do they JBed it?

I don't JB my phone because I love it as it is. If you have something that so valuable you won't change it to your liking. If I do have an Audi A4 for example, I won't change it to something else. Not even skirting or useless stickers etc. Only those that bought wira modified it like an EVO, which actually made it uglier.

iPhone is not perfect. But so does other phone. It's your call.

Added on June 10, 2010, 9:40 am
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 10 2010, 09:26 AM)
r u sure ur number 4 point is true?
long agi i always play 3g video call from my nokia phone with other friends and there is no data charges like u said
My mistake. It should be video call rate. Must be mistakenly with internet data charges. What I meant here, the rate is still quite high to some users and that prevent them from using it frequently.

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Jun 10 2010, 09:44 AM
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 09:58 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 10 2010, 09:45 AM)
alamak..different ppl different preferences mah
JB can do more thing such as tweaking,etc...
like ur example of car,is not about sticker or skirt,etc..those just appearance..JB is like modify the engine of car..push it to another level or modify your car to do more than that(increase bhp,etc)
Well if you read carefully my statement is intended to those who said in the previous posts that iPhone is only for those who accept it as it is. But these same persons said that they can JBed their phone to remedy some of the lack of the features. Which all in all, two different contradictory statements. And these same persons bashed anyone who said negatively on iPhone.

This is in my opinion a true fanboyism. We criticised because we want an improvement. A blind defence of something that is crystal clear won't help. And Apple have given a lot of improvement in iOS4. Like an article that I've read before, Jbed seems irrelevant after iOS4. And those that do JBed the phone is either to get disapproved apps or venture into pirated apps.

I have nothing against those that Jbed so they can have better user experience. An exception of course those looking to the pirated software that is.

Plus, song as a ringtone is out of question as well.
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 10:08 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 10 2010, 09:53 AM)
This isn't necessarily true. FaceTime was developed as an open standard, meaning it can be incorporated into other video chat clients like iChat, Skype and maybe even future phones. For now, yes, it's limited to iPhone 4s only.
I don't agree with this. I think it's more of a matter of bandwidth made available by cellphone carriers and how much they can handle. Current video calling protocols split the voice and video into 2G and 3G bands, respectively. FaceTime seems to be combining both streams, thus requiring more bandwidth. Considering that iPhone users in the US have the biggest data usage among smartphones, AT&T's 3G has been constantly hammered by internet-hungry users, especially since they debuted that unbelievable US$30 unlimited 3G on the iPad. As Steve Jobs is capable of making the act of watching paint dry exciting and the next Big Thing, AT&T probably took one look at Apple's plans and told them to go fly kite.
Thank you. Like I said, I don't know much on video call technology other than being a user that is. You have explained my mind boggling question before of why video call must be on 3G. But my point on the limitation still holds true IMHO. Considering that the conventional video call technology is the abundantly use currently, the only hope for explosion of video call on iPhone can only happens when other phone manufacturer uses the same protocol. And that means current video call enabled phone will remains incompatible. Plus not everyone has iChat and Skype
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 11:53 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 10 2010, 11:44 AM)
Finally got around to watching the FaceTime ad. I think Apple shows the ideal use case for video calling, i.e. people private locations sharing intimate moments, and not out and about in busy pasar malams. Furthermore anybody who has ever around people talking on their phones using the loudspeaker know how &^(*&@^#(@&!^# annoying they can be.

Oh, and it was a nice touch to bring up sign language at the end. Yes, it's been done before, but never with Steve Job's Magic Dust.

OT: Is anybody's Flashblock or equivalent plug-in blocking Quicktime videos on the Apple sites? Or is it just Chrome's FlashBlock (v1.2)?
That and some helpful situation like how my in-laws in kelantan video called us here in KL to know a product's chracteristic at the tax free rantau panjang that we wish to have. We can't be there at that time so we ask the in-laws to help us out.

Yes still picture in the form of MMS might help. It's not a solid clear video but nothing beats the moving picture with all details that we need at that time

0.0399sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:33 AM