iPhone 4 and iOS 4, Discussion Thread

g3n0c1d3
post Jun 10 2010, 10:31 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Jun 10 2010, 10:19 AM)
FYI, I am not bashing on Apple. This is only my opinion. Yes true that Nokia did releases new phone every month, but for an iPhone user myself, I don't see my reason for iPhone 4 yet; or perhaps the hidden 100 more features will catch my eyes later on? I don't know either and that's just my 2 cent.

I am using iPhone and iPad, in fact I like Apple for what they have created; but iPhone 4 definitely isn't my preferences yet as the major changes aren't too much compare to 2G to 3G. It's not bashing, it's just preferences.
apple known to upgrade their products yearly....

its ok to think u dont need to upgrade because u are satisfied with ur current phones, but most of us anticipate the upgrade from apple. most of us here are ready to spend our hard earn money to buy iphone 4. maybe u can wait for another year for new iphone to be launch but as i said... most of us here are eager beavers....

calvin_ng
post Jun 10 2010, 10:31 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

Iphone4 biggest changes is the battery life that is the most relevant, others is add on

I like a phone that can last 300hrs on standby which prooved iphone is a great smart phone.... most of the smart phone today even blackberry has battery life problem...
hihihehe
post Jun 10 2010, 10:41 AM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jun 10 2010, 12:31 PM)
Iphone4 biggest changes is the battery life that is the most relevant, others is add on

I like a phone that can last 300hrs on standby which prooved iphone is a great smart phone.... most of the smart phone today even blackberry has battery life problem...
we still duno yet whether the battery life can tahan or not...iphone spec stated it can last 300hours on standby but when u use it in hand is different thing..just wait until it release then only can find out
laowai
post Jun 10 2010, 11:05 AM

490 posts

Questions about iphone :

Does Iphone have radio functionality? Video output?

How much is ram in iphone 4? If same as ipad, there's problem for multitask/surfing.
Ojimaru
post Jun 10 2010, 11:07 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 10 2010, 10:14 AM)
whats with *f*** apple is launching a new phone AGAIN next year comments*, nokia and goole launch new phone every month, how does that make you feel? being obsolete in a month to month basis. Ojimaru, relax pal, no point contending to this fellers, they only seem to appear as of yesterday since their thread on bashing iphone 4 in mobile phone subforum was terminated by the mod.
1) You're quoting and responding to the quote out of context.
2) How the hell did my post read as frustration towards the yearly refresh?
aleluya
post Jun 10 2010, 11:07 AM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Jun 10 2010, 10:31 AM)
apple known to upgrade their products yearly....

its ok to think u dont need to upgrade because u are satisfied with ur current phones, but most of us anticipate the upgrade from apple. most of us here are ready to spend our hard earn money to buy iphone 4. maybe u can wait for another year for new iphone to be launch but as i said... most of us here are eager beavers....
Yes, that's my opinion anyway. It's not like I am telling everyone don't upgrade or buy the iPhone4.

It depends, it doesn't attract me but I never say it's not great. smile.gif
nimrod323
post Jun 10 2010, 11:14 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 10 2010, 11:07 AM)
1) You're quoting and responding to the quote out of context.
2) How the hell did my post read as frustration towards the yearly refresh?
wait i should have been a bit clear, my earlier point were meant for alleluya not you the response later is for you, should have been clearer
tinkerbel
post Jun 10 2010, 11:35 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@laowai,
The answers to your questions are on Apple's page; go do a search tongue.gif
TakanoKyohei
post Jun 10 2010, 11:40 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Jun 10 2010, 11:05 AM)
Questions about iphone :

Does Iphone have radio functionality? Video output?

How much is ram in iphone 4? If same as ipad, there's problem for multitask/surfing.
THIS link contains information about the question you ask. too much information that i cant explain it for you because i dont know where to start with. shakehead.gif
Ojimaru
post Jun 10 2010, 11:44 AM

561 posts

Finally got around to watching the FaceTime ad. I think Apple shows the ideal use case for video calling, i.e. people private locations sharing intimate moments, and not out and about in busy pasar malams. Furthermore anybody who has ever around people talking on their phones using the loudspeaker know how &^(*&@^#(@&!^# annoying they can be.

Oh, and it was a nice touch to bring up sign language at the end. Yes, it's been done before, but never with Steve Job's Magic Dust.

OT: Is anybody's Flashblock or equivalent plug-in blocking Quicktime videos on the Apple sites? Or is it just Chrome's FlashBlock (v1.2)?

This post has been edited by Ojimaru: Jun 10 2010, 11:47 AM
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 11:53 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 10 2010, 11:44 AM)
Finally got around to watching the FaceTime ad. I think Apple shows the ideal use case for video calling, i.e. people private locations sharing intimate moments, and not out and about in busy pasar malams. Furthermore anybody who has ever around people talking on their phones using the loudspeaker know how &^(*&@^#(@&!^# annoying they can be.

Oh, and it was a nice touch to bring up sign language at the end. Yes, it's been done before, but never with Steve Job's Magic Dust.

OT: Is anybody's Flashblock or equivalent plug-in blocking Quicktime videos on the Apple sites? Or is it just Chrome's FlashBlock (v1.2)?
That and some helpful situation like how my in-laws in kelantan video called us here in KL to know a product's chracteristic at the tax free rantau panjang that we wish to have. We can't be there at that time so we ask the in-laws to help us out.

Yes still picture in the form of MMS might help. It's not a solid clear video but nothing beats the moving picture with all details that we need at that time
kae_ae
post Jun 10 2010, 11:56 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(lok3i @ Jun 10 2010, 10:43 AM)
Just double chk, both ipad n iphone are ips but iphone lcd while ipad is led. Prolly cost/component issue. Plus theyre already compensating with new battery. If ipad is any indication apple has found optimum way to maximize screen time. I recognize apple is good with coming out marketing terms like retina display n facetime but it always amuses how they use to fool laymen, for technophile not easily fool lah.

That said knowing samsung who are screen specialist after all stuff like this is for bragging rights only n not real world practicalism. At hp size i dont think the diff is that discenible, layman just want to know if its bright enough lol

I also think its cool they make the os available for 3gs at least got options. So basically u get better cam, batt life, screen res while multitask can still use 3gs with new fimware, thats fair.
xaw5126
post Jun 10 2010, 11:59 AM

3,488 posts

seriously, who cares about it being AMOLED or IPS or whatever the hell? does it look good in person? is there a appreciable difference?

I keep hearing that AMOLED is not practical to use in bright sunlight, so I will not purchase one without testing... especially since we have very nice bright sunlight here in Malaysia smile.gif
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 12:02 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jun 10 2010, 11:59 AM)
seriously, who cares about it being AMOLED or IPS or whatever the hell? does it look good in person? is there a appreciable difference?

I keep hearing that AMOLED is not practical to use in bright sunlight, so I will not purchase one without testing... especially since we have very nice bright sunlight here in Malaysia smile.gif
AMOLED do suffers in bright light. But Super AMOLED has been confirmed to have none.
aleluya
post Jun 10 2010, 12:04 PM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jun 10 2010, 12:02 PM)
AMOLED do suffers in bright light. But Super AMOLED has been confirmed to have none.
It seems like Super AMOLED confirm that the battery usage is 40% less from IPS?
xaw5126
post Jun 10 2010, 12:10 PM

3,488 posts

@mmmbop
you got any non-Samsung people to verify that? smile.gif
@aleluya
same question smile.gif

I mean... the product hasn't launched yet... and it'll be available by end of this month.

Don't forget, we are all wasting our time comparing with the other companies, because Steve doesn't care about the others. He's got a vision, and if you disagree, go ahead and buy whatever else you like.
if you disagree with the market leader... who is selling millions of devices... how?
nimrod323
post Jun 10 2010, 12:32 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(zs3889 @ Jun 10 2010, 12:28 PM)
Hey guys, so ipod touch user can also upgrade to IOS4?? 2nd gen and 3rd gen too??
1st page please, thank you.

Anyways regarding the Super Amoled is there any real world test? done in bright sun light? i wouldnt take apple's or samsung's word without checking the claims out first.
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 12:44 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jun 10 2010, 12:10 PM)
@mmmbop
you got any non-Samsung people to verify that? smile.gif
@aleluya
same question smile.gif

I mean... the product hasn't launched yet... and it'll be available by end of this month.

Don't forget, we are all wasting our time comparing with the other companies, because Steve doesn't care about the others. He's got a vision, and if you disagree, go ahead and buy whatever else you like.
if you disagree with the market leader... who is selling millions of devices... how?
This will be really OT but hopefully the mod will pass this one. A short test by a Dutch publication.

Samsung Wave shows what's Super about its AMOLED display by going outdoors (video)
By Vladislav Savov  posted Feb 16th 2010 5:01AM

Direct sunlight -- is there anything more terrifying for an OLED screen? Up until now, you had to sacrifice some outdoor performance from your phone's display in order to get the spectacular contrast and viewing angles on offer from OLEDs. Up until now. Samsung's Wave has been taken for a quick spin by Dutch publication portablegear and while we've no idea what their feedback on the phone was, the moving pictures speak for themselves. The phone remains entirely readable and usable in spite of the bright environment around it -- if you question how much light is hitting it, just take a look at the hand of the person holding it -- and color saturation is maintained throughout. Samsung promised us a great media experience on the handset, but this quick demo places its Super AMOLED tech a clear step above... well, every other display out there. The wildly impressive video awaits after the break, and you can find more imagery and our hands-on impressions here.

Feel free to hit the link to see the video in action.

Engadget
xaw5126
post Jun 10 2010, 12:52 PM

3,488 posts

okay... now I'm impressed. i still wanna see the retina display in person. remember that pixel count, there's a reason we're getting 960 * 480 pixels on a 3.5" phone smile.gif
mmmbop
post Jun 10 2010, 01:06 PM

753 posts

Well, I'm not a supporter of any specific manufacturer and will not forever stay on with apple but in fact I'm a proponent of the latest technology.

As you can see, I'm having two totally different phones right now, which is Omnia (Windows Phone) and 3Gs. iPhone 4 is tempting indeed especially it's the highest res phone screen in the market currently and already looking forward to it.

As a matter of fact I'm hoping of WP7 comes with a great phone as well either HTC or Samsung with S-AMOLED. Android also in my mind.

Hopefully I'll be holding 3 different OSes phone in the future.

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Jun 10 2010, 01:07 PM

114 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.7358sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:10 AM