QUOTE(minimize @ Apr 6 2010, 08:07 PM)
Astro should add more HD channel to attract more customer upgrade to byond. RM20 for 5 HD channel or maybe less is not worth for them.
+10000Astro B.yond V4.1, WELCOME TO THE NEW WORLD OF HD
Apr 6 2010, 08:31 PM
634 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Beaufort, Sabah |
Apr 6 2010, 09:16 PM
7,480 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Moscow 21.05.2008 |
Apr 6 2010, 09:24 PM
8,025 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Planet Boleland |
Apr 7 2010, 12:41 AM
1,952 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Wah... like that ha? GILA!
Apr 7 2010, 01:15 AM
933 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 6 2010, 09:24 PM) I believe the de-listing was for the more riskier move that Astro wants to make with regards to its overseas expansion via SunTV and Indonesia. Going private means that they can make bolder financial risks than what shareholders would allow.fuad |
Apr 7 2010, 03:49 AM
807 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(MyDevil @ Apr 6 2010, 09:16 PM) Astro are currently promoting Byond by noting all 64 matches are LIVE in HDMy guess is new HD channels will only launch after World Cup ends to pull in more new subscribers Important to note though that the number of HD channles available for World Cup does not count as the 10 HD channels promised this year World Cup HD channels are temporary The 10 HD channels are actually permanent channels like the ones already available Added on April 7, 2010, 4:31 amWow..just finished watching Lionel Messi destroy Arsenal Absolutely fantastic player with fantastic skills Even more amazing in HD Cant wait for World Cup This post has been edited by dxjb: Apr 7 2010, 04:36 AM |
Apr 7 2010, 08:49 AM
6,059 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Cheras, Kuala Lumpur |
Amazing & Excitement awaits you this June..
Apr 7 2010, 09:26 AM
82 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Daytime - KL : Nitetime - Melaka |
QUOTE(neb @ Apr 6 2010, 07:13 PM) I think tv1 and tv2 channels are not scrambled, northern singapore can pick up the transmission from johor using VHF antenna yup,, i do not know how RTM gonna encrypt their broadcasting signal thru VHF since the signal also meant for JB audience.or watch world cup through china satellite 6B CCTV channels CCTV1, CCTV5(encrypted), CCTV7, CCTVHD, CCTV football(encrypted) RTM may only encrypt the football match, via satellite, but not VHF. |
Apr 7 2010, 10:39 AM
255 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Reading this thread makes me wonder if all us (the consumer) really understands Astro pricing.
Let me try to explain. The RM20 is not the price for the HD channels. It's the price for HD Service Fee. Meaning to receive HD services, you need to pay RM20 and then only you'll be able to get the HD channels. How many channels depends on your SD packages subscription. If you have Movie Package, then you'll be able to get HBO HD. If they add more channels to the corresponding SD package like Variety, Sports and maybe Family, you'll be able to get that channels provided you subscribe to that SD Pack. Say one day Astro came up with additional Channels, and this say 3 channels don't have the SD channels equivalent, they may give this package name as "Ultra HD" package and price it at RM14.95. The customers have to Pay not only RM20 for the access to HD but also the RM14.95. So let's no longer discuss whether RM20 for 5 channels is enough or not. coz the RM20 is not for the 5 channels per se. Oh and might I add that those of you who have not jumped ship to B.yond...better do so coz come WC season...I don't think Astro can cope with the installation request. |
Apr 7 2010, 11:02 AM
8,025 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Planet Boleland |
QUOTE(lapaq @ Apr 7 2010, 10:39 AM) Reading this thread makes me wonder if all us (the consumer) really understands Astro pricing. remember thisLet me try to explain. The RM20 is not the price for the HD channels. It's the price for HD Service Fee. Meaning to receive HD services, you need to pay RM20 and then only you'll be able to get the HD channels. How many channels depends on your SD packages subscription. If you have Movie Package, then you'll be able to get HBO HD. If they add more channels to the corresponding SD package like Variety, Sports and maybe Family, you'll be able to get that channels provided you subscribe to that SD Pack. Say one day Astro came up with additional Channels, and this say 3 channels don't have the SD channels equivalent, they may give this package name as "Ultra HD" package and price it at RM14.95. The customers have to Pay not only RM20 for the access to HD but also the RM14.95. So let's no longer discuss whether RM20 for 5 channels is enough or not. coz the RM20 is not for the 5 channels per se. Oh and might I add that those of you who have not jumped ship to B.yond...better do so coz come WC season...I don't think Astro can cope with the installation request. should you terminate Byond within the tie-in one year period, you hav the pay a penalty of (how much ady??) rm500 so i guess Astro will rake in alot after WC season is over if astro dun introduce more good quality HD channel wat would u do if you are the CEO of Astro tat oversees the HD implementation ?? Added on April 7, 2010, 11:07 am QUOTE(writesimply @ Apr 7 2010, 01:15 AM) I believe the de-listing was for the more riskier move that Astro wants to make with regards to its overseas expansion via SunTV and Indonesia. Going private means that they can make bolder financial risks than what shareholders would allow. i disagreefuad the owner see more value in taking it private as he hav sufficient holdings to push everything through if he insist in implementing them do u still remember how much Astro was offered to the public when it was first listed? and wat was their balance sheet and customers base back then? This post has been edited by digilife: Apr 7 2010, 11:10 AM |
Apr 7 2010, 12:15 PM
1,976 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: 55100 |
you'd rather pay 500 or even 300 to terminate instead of 20 a month?
might as well keep it running for the year contract (total 240) and then cancel if you want... WTF is this even a discussion |
Apr 7 2010, 12:28 PM
246 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
I have a problem with by byond stb. Sometimes when I am watching a HD channel, the screen will go black for a second and then re-appear. Sometimes, only the sound cuts out. Sometimes, the whole screen or 1/2 the screen goes fuzzy for a second. Do I have a defective box? It happens a few times a day. Also, often when flicking through the channels on the info bar, most of the channels say NO INFORMATION AVAILABLE. Why is this? If I change to that channel then bring up the bar, the info appears. This is getting as bad as my max STB. I also have tried another HDMI cable and I get the same problem. |
Apr 7 2010, 01:40 PM
70 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(THEALB10N @ Apr 7 2010, 12:28 PM) Hi, Ah...this is the problem with the receiver box and its software and the communication between the remote. Try not to press the button too fast. I have a problem with by byond stb. Sometimes when I am watching a HD channel, the screen will go black for a second and then re-appear. Sometimes, only the sound cuts out. Sometimes, the whole screen or 1/2 the screen goes fuzzy for a second. Do I have a defective box? It happens a few times a day. Also, often when flicking through the channels on the info bar, most of the channels say NO INFORMATION AVAILABLE. Why is this? If I change to that channel then bring up the bar, the info appears. This is getting as bad as my max STB. I also have tried another HDMI cable and I get the same problem. patience....press a command .... wait a few seconds...then press another. This allows the command to be carried out. It's just a very new service that will take time to improve. This post has been edited by reddevil04: Apr 7 2010, 01:41 PM |
Apr 7 2010, 02:05 PM
246 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(reddevil04 @ Apr 7 2010, 01:40 PM) Ah...this is the problem with the receiver box and its software and the communication between the remote. Try not to press the button too fast. OK, but the problem that I have with the screen cutting out happens when I am watching a HD channel and not touching the remote.patience....press a command .... wait a few seconds...then press another. This allows the command to be carried out. It's just a very new service that will take time to improve. |
Apr 7 2010, 02:18 PM
2,234 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(THEALB10N @ Apr 7 2010, 02:05 PM) OK, but the problem that I have with the screen cutting out happens when I am watching a HD channel and not touching the remote. this could be the cable contact problem, try to re-seat power plug and HDMI plug properly, that is to insert all the way in but don't force it too hard |
Apr 7 2010, 02:46 PM
25 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(neb @ Apr 7 2010, 07:18 AM) this could be the cable contact problem, try to re-seat power plug and HDMI plug properly, that is to insert all the way in but don't force it too hard If you've already checked the cable / connection.Then just a wild guess, but maybe it could be an overheating problem. My computer screen will black out for a second periodically when the computer graphics card gets too hot. The converter chips in the Astro box are basically graphic cards / processors and will do weird things if they get too hot. Try ventilating the area around the box or maybe even removing the cover. This post has been edited by Arlington: Apr 7 2010, 02:48 PM |
Apr 7 2010, 02:55 PM
3,147 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
BTW Suntv and Asstro Nusantara are flops, they made losses cos our friend could not mess in Indonesia and India ! They were shown the door in Indonesia when they wanted to control EPL I think.
Apr 7 2010, 04:12 PM
6,103 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Marang, Terengganu |
QUOTE(Arlington @ Apr 7 2010, 02:46 PM) If you've already checked the cable / connection. Astro should have better graphic cards / processors when next decoder (Hopefully better than B.yond) released. Then just a wild guess, but maybe it could be an overheating problem. My computer screen will black out for a second periodically when the computer graphics card gets too hot. The converter chips in the Astro box are basically graphic cards / processors and will do weird things if they get too hot. Try ventilating the area around the box or maybe even removing the cover. |
Apr 7 2010, 04:27 PM
25 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 7 2010, 09:12 AM) Astro should have better graphic cards / processors when next decoder (Hopefully better than B.yond) released. Yes, I think Astro should upgrade to quantum processors in the next model so they don't produce any heat. But I think quantum computing may be a few years away. In the mean time maybe they should simply improve the heat dissappation in the new versions. |
Apr 7 2010, 04:34 PM
6,103 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Marang, Terengganu |
QUOTE(Arlington @ Apr 7 2010, 04:27 PM) Yes, I think Astro should upgrade to quantum processors in the next model so they don't produce any heat. Put in custom water-cooler will be fine... But I think quantum computing may be a few years away. In the mean time maybe they should simply improve the heat dissappation in the new versions. |
| Change to: | 0.0283sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:39 AM |