Astro B.yond V4.1, WELCOME TO THE NEW WORLD OF HD

azrin_kiko
post Apr 7 2010, 04:59 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(Arlington @ Apr 7 2010, 04:27 PM)
Yes, I think Astro should upgrade to quantum processors in the next model so they don't produce any heat.  tongue.gif

But I think quantum computing may be a few years away. hmm.gif

In the mean time maybe they should simply improve the heat dissappation in the new versions.
Can we (the first batch of B.yonders) change our stb if astro has improved version?
anfieldude
post Apr 7 2010, 05:22 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 7 2010, 04:12 PM)
Astro should have better graphic cards / processors when next decoder (Hopefully better than B.yond) released. smile.gif
Out of curiosity, what do u think is wrong with the ones in the stb now? IIANM Pace uses Broadcom chips for most of the heavy work. They are pretty good.
Qash-M
post Apr 7 2010, 05:33 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 7 2010, 05:22 PM)
Out of curiosity, what do u think is wrong with the ones in the stb now? IIANM Pace uses Broadcom chips for most of the heavy work. They are pretty good.
Heat problem? hmm.gif
eMKs
post Apr 7 2010, 05:38 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 7 2010, 05:33 PM)
Heat problem? hmm.gif

Just use notebook cooler, you've got 2 usb port ma... icon_idea.gif
Yeah, it's hot (or warm biggrin.gif ) although in standby
Qash-M
post Apr 7 2010, 05:40 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Apr 7 2010, 05:38 PM)
Just use notebook cooler, you've got 2 usb port ma...  icon_idea.gif
Yeah, it's hot (or warm  biggrin.gif ) although in standby
So, that's why it have 2 USB plug... icon_idea.gif

Seng_Kiat
post Apr 7 2010, 05:55 PM

5,580 posts

GUYS,

is that possible to get 2 output to 2 televisions using Astro byond?

I am interested to subscribe byond but wonder is it possible to make it display at 2 TVs (same channel) as the old decoder. smile.gif.

Info:
2 TVs with both have HDMI input.
Both of them have composit cable input (yellow, white and red cable).

Is that possible? I need to know before I proceed to order astro Byond. wink.gif..
eMKs
post Apr 7 2010, 06:15 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Apr 7 2010, 05:55 PM)
GUYS,
is that possible to get 2 output to 2 televisions using Astro byond?
I am interested to subscribe byond but wonder is it possible to make it display at 2 TVs (same channel) as the old decoder. smile.gif.
Info:
2 TVs with both have HDMI input.
Both of them have composit cable input (yellow, white and red cable).
Is that possible? I need to know before I proceed to order astro Byond. wink.gif..

Of course it can, main TV using HDMI & another 1 using composite (576i SD resolution only) at the same time. You also can use component output for 2nd TV for better PQ (but still 576i)
neb
post Apr 7 2010, 06:43 PM

2,234 posts

but if want to display 1080i/720p HD signal to both HDTV, you would need a HDMI splitter with own power supply

This post has been edited by neb: Apr 7 2010, 06:46 PM
TSapexg2
post Apr 7 2010, 06:44 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

aiyo...do some homework la...so many times this question have been ask and answered...please look back old post. i cannot put in the 1st page coz i dun think it suits there....
lapaq
post Apr 7 2010, 07:51 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 7 2010, 11:02 AM)
remember this

should you terminate Byond within the tie-in one year period, you hav the pay a penalty of (how much ady??) rm500

so i guess Astro will rake in alot after WC season is over if astro dun introduce more good quality HD channel

wat would u do if you are the CEO of Astro tat oversees the HD implementation  ?? brows.gif

Added on April 7, 2010, 11:07 am

i disagree

the owner see more value in taking it private as he hav sufficient holdings to push everything through if he insist in implementing them

do u still remember how much Astro was offered to the public when it was first listed? and wat was their balance sheet and customers base back then?
Guys...the termination of B.yond will not result in RM500 penalty. The penalty is only a prorated charge of RM240 depending on how many months left you have on your contract. Provided that your original contract when you first register astro (the 12 or 24 months with minimum subscription of RMXX) is already over.

If you just became an Astro customer and still have another say 10 months to go, and then take B.yond then only the Prorated RM500 penalty charge will be applicable.

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Apr 7 2010, 12:15 PM)
you'd rather pay 500 or even 300  to terminate instead of 20 a month?

might as well keep it running for the year contract (total 240) and then cancel if you want... WTF is this even a discussion
He have lotsa money...let him be lah whistling.gif
zerorulez
post Apr 7 2010, 08:38 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(lapaq @ Apr 7 2010, 07:51 PM)

He have lotsa money...let him be lah  whistling.gif
your nick makes me hungry lor... time for dinner it seems.. tongue.gif

Qash-M
post Apr 7 2010, 11:10 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

My bill just come in today and i noticed back of the bill, Astro still listed BBCE under Metro package... doh.gif
dxjb
post Apr 8 2010, 01:55 AM

807 posts

Astro..
U need to screw up something la..
Or at least do something clever or even stupid
This forum is soooooooo sleepy without controversies
azrin_kiko
post Apr 8 2010, 01:59 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 8 2010, 01:55 AM)
Astro..
U need to screw up something la..
Or at least do something clever or even stupid
This forum is soooooooo sleepy without controversies
Yes, that's the things that wakes up this forum...
smileguy
post Apr 8 2010, 06:12 AM

3,147 posts

just like assto itself this forum too is turning sleepy !!!!!!!

One thing is sure as long assto keeps these pack of crap channels itsgoing to bore the nation until a new provider comes to teach it a lesson . I wonder is it so hard to give us the HBO pack ? ! From what I see Beyond is not in demand at all, cosmost new customers know that old customers like us are already regreting the change, HD so what all repeat only ! NGC and History got nothing new fed up to watch already HBO mostly upscaled .Now World Cup so what no big deal in HD ! doh.gif
dxjb
post Apr 8 2010, 06:40 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 8 2010, 06:12 AM)
Now World Cup so what no big deal in HD ! doh.gif
World Cup is the only thing Astro can rely on to get new Byond subscribers now..
Coz they offer all 64 matches LiVE in HD
Thats the only attraction for the time being..
If not, people wont want to pay RM20 for the 5 channels or the HD services..
If Astro dont offer more HD channels (5 is the maximum left for this year they say) then I dont know what will interest people to get Byond
N the 5 coming coming HD channels arent guaranteed will be available to all subscribers
I only have 4 coz not taking movie package

Astro will probably promote new channels after World Cup..
Or maybe promote all 380 EPL matches LIVE in HD from august..

They really should open up a HD package if they're clever..
But they're not..
BTW, can anyone here tell me the maximum number of channels that Astro can deliver at any one time using their satellites?
Coz Astro On Demand (AOD)takes up a lot
How many channles maximum Astro can broadcast with AOD and without AOD?
AOD for me is useless coz take up so many channels
Dont know how many people actually demand them..

Oooo..this thread is still sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo sleeppppppyyyyyyyy...
Because no problems and no controversies..
dry.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Apr 8 2010, 06:46 AM
smileguy
post Apr 8 2010, 09:07 AM

3,147 posts

The best way to elimminate AOD all ladies stop watching AOD !! Be it Indian Malay or chinese most ladies love this dramas !!AOD still going strong cos of supportlah ! drool.gif
Astro mainly targets ........ I dont think they are willing to add another RM20 to watch World Cup HD,so I guess it may not be a hit as anticipated . With sport pack you are already commited to almost RM70pm , now who wants to pay RM90 for just a basic pack hmm.gif
tme_guy
post Apr 8 2010, 11:01 AM

Anyone here tried recording Astro Beyond channels? Wonder if there's a TV tuner card that's compatible with Windows Media Center that can do that.
Qash-M
post Apr 8 2010, 11:22 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

Channel 702, 711 & 712 has mild signal issue for now... shakehead.gif
RAMChYLD
post Apr 8 2010, 11:42 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 8 2010, 06:12 AM)
just like assto itself this forum too is turning sleepy !!!!!!!

One thing is sure as long assto keeps these pack of crap channels itsgoing to bore the nation until a new provider comes to teach it a lesson . I  wonder is it so hard to give us the HBO pack ? ! From what I see Beyond is not in demand at all, cosmost new customers know that old customers like us are already regreting the change, HD so what all repeat only ! NGC and History got nothing new fed up to watch already HBO mostly upscaled .Now World Cup so what no big deal in HD ! doh.gif
Agreed. Why can't Asstro carry full channel lineup? That's my biggest gripe right there.

QUOTE(tme_guy @ Apr 8 2010, 11:01 AM)
Anyone here tried recording Astro Beyond channels? Wonder if there's a TV tuner card that's compatible with Windows Media Center that can do that.
There is nothing stopping one from recording Beyond Channels through composite/component, but video quality is downscaled to 576i.

If you have the cash and patience, can use HDFury with Hauppage HD-PVR, AverMedia HD-DVR or Blackmagic Intensity Pro/Decklink to capture in HD. Of course, be warned that HD recording requires good CPU/GPU and a lot of hard disk space on a extremely fast hard disk. Cash because the aforementioned devices aren't cheap, and patience because the setting up of the thing requires some Rube-Goldberg complicated style linkings.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 8 2010, 11:52 AM

108 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:38 PM