111 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V4, Latest:NO cap 4 unifi packages 4 now ^_^

Arlington
post Mar 29 2010, 01:24 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Sharimanabidin @ Mar 29 2010, 05:59 AM)
Guys, any idea if can use SD TV or must be HD TV only because of the HDMI connection?  sad.gif
Can definitely use SD TV, the box has component / composite connections as well as HDMI.

Only 2 channels are HD, but I could only find 1 (luxe) the other day when I was checking it out.

An HDTV would be a waste, the quality of the video codec is really really bad. Everything looks out of focus and interlace flickering gave me a headache very fast.

The IPTV quality is really disappointing.

If you compared a normal download of an SD episode of CSI in Xvid mp4 codec and compared it to the VOD IPTV HD quality, you would definitely conclude that the download has better quality.

An HD download absolutely destroys IPTV HD in terms of quality.

Video Quality

Unifi SD < VCD < Unifi HD < Astro SD < Xvid SD download < DVD < Astro HD < Xvid HD download < Blu-Ray

This post has been edited by Arlington: Mar 29 2010, 01:30 PM
rizvanrp
post Mar 29 2010, 01:27 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Arlington @ Mar 29 2010, 01:24 PM)
Can definitely use SD TV, the box has component / composite connections as well as HDMI.

Only 2 channels are HD, but I could only find 1 (luxe) the other day when I was checking it out.

An HDTV would be a waste, the quality of the video codec is really really bad.  Everything looks out of focus and interlace flickering gave me a headache very fast.

If you compared a normal download of an SD episode of CSI in Xvid mp4 codec and compared it to the VOD IPTV HD quality, you would definitely conclude that the download has better quality.

How does the IPTV box hook up to the network anyway? To the dlink router via cat5 cable?
Varia
post Mar 29 2010, 01:33 PM

109 posts

really interested to subscribe...but im in kajang...no coverage sad.gif
Gh-x
post Mar 29 2010, 01:35 PM

475 posts

How come they are offering HD channel who is likely not most of people care to watch? i bet out of 1000 customer only 5 will be watching.

I hope they add some good channel worth of out money, i was actually hoping if they could deliver local tv station in HD tongue.gif
that would be cool.
izz70
post Mar 29 2010, 01:38 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Arlington @ Mar 29 2010, 01:24 PM)

Video Quality

Unifi SD < VCD < Unifi HD < Astro SD < Xvid SD download < DVD < Astro HD < Xvid HD download < Blu-Ray
But then the download would be an illegal one and it's against Intellectual property rights, unless you purchased the original DVD.
silverhawk
post Mar 29 2010, 01:42 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Raven-X @ Mar 29 2010, 01:38 PM)
i'm not blind, i just don't know what to do with my money. so i guess, it's better to spend some of it on this.

btw, u should complain that to places like Rasta or papa rich where they charged u for a cup of milo for more than twice its price. but u don't see those places empty right? in fact, their business is blooming everyday!
if u can't afford it, go to your mamak and have your milo there. u can condemn all u want but i'm enjoying mine at Rasta.
Ahh, so you have too much money to spend smile.gif Good for you. Then the caps won't matter to you as well, cause you can just go over the caps and get them to charge you per gigabyte, and you can just say "ahh, doesn't matter, small money I can pay for it" right?

Arlington
post Mar 29 2010, 01:45 PM

25 posts

I was happy when TM announced the caps.

At least they were trying to be transparent for once.

I'd prefer straight up caps than getting the mystery throttling we're getting now.

Throttling youtube to below speeds where customers can't stream anymore is absolutely unacceptable for a broadband connection and is a clear sign that TM needs to buy more international bandwidth.

endymeon
post Mar 29 2010, 01:58 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 29 2010, 01:42 PM)
Ahh, so you have too much money to spend smile.gif Good for you. Then the caps won't matter to you as well, cause you can just go over the caps and get them to charge you per gigabyte, and you can just say "ahh, doesn't matter, small money I can pay for it" right?
I bet he will say that too.. but when reached the cap when only can get 10% of 20mbps.. he start to get a business package..

This post has been edited by endymeon: Mar 29 2010, 01:58 PM
eimzic
post Mar 29 2010, 01:59 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(endymeon @ Mar 29 2010, 01:58 PM)
I bet he will say that too.. but when reached the cap when only can get 10% of 20mbps.. he start to get a business package..
..and started to google map for mamak stalls..
Arlington
post Mar 29 2010, 02:03 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(izz70 @ Mar 29 2010, 06:38 AM)
But then the download would be an illegal one and it's against Intellectual property rights, unless you purchased the original DVD.
That's true, I just wish that if TM is going to offer HD IPTV I wish they were serious about video quality.

I don't know why the quality is so bad.

8Mbps should be enough bandwidth to stream high quality HD video at 720p.

8Mbps = 1MB / s = 60MB / min = 3.6 GB / hour or 7.2GB / 2 hours

a 2 hour 720p movie is the same size.

So why is unifi HD so bad?

I think it's because they are sending out a 1080px size signal and as a result they have to over compress the file.

I would much rather have a high quality 720px resolution than an over-compressed 1080px resolution.

If they want to send out 1080px signals their bandwidth should be about 12Mbps not 8 Mbps.

I'm sure domestically they can handle the demands on speed, so why did they decide to underpower the IPTV?

endymeon
post Mar 29 2010, 02:03 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(eimzic @ Mar 29 2010, 01:59 PM)
..and started to google map for mamak stalls..
nope.. google map are free.. only 'cheapskate' use that.. he probably will use something that charge him for a bit of extra benefit..

oops.. sorry i'm going too sarcastic... sorry... doh.gif
gstoh
post Mar 29 2010, 02:10 PM

INTJ
1,282 posts

QUOTE(Arlington @ Mar 29 2010, 02:03 PM)
That's true, I just wish that if TM is going to offer HD IPTV I wish they were serious about video quality.

8Mbps = 1MB / s = 60MB / min = 3.6 GB / hour  or 7.2GB / 2 hours

I think it's because they are sending out a 1080px size signal and as a result they have to over compress the file.

I would much rather have a high quality 720px resolution than an over-compressed 1080px resolution.
If they want to send out 1080px signals their bandwidth should be about 12Mbps not 8 Mbps.
I'm sure domestically they can handle the demands on speed, so why did they decide to underpower the IPTV?
I think the way you calculate is not so appropriate
the 7.3GB for 2hours 720p HD movie usually has multichannel audio(5.1) which consume some amount of bandwidth

usually TV HD broadcast does not have sound surround.

what tm is trying to offer the HD channel should similar to what youtube is doing hmm.gif
izz70
post Mar 29 2010, 02:14 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Arlington @ Mar 29 2010, 02:03 PM)

8Mbps = 1MB / s = 60MB / min = 3.6 GB / hour  or 7.2GB / 2 hours

I could not agree more. They should start with 720p first and only increase 1080p when they are able to provide more bandwidth of minimum 15MB.
carte82
post Mar 29 2010, 02:19 PM

85 posts

They can actually provide either 720p or 1080i for their HD services witht he current 8mbps. Or they can increase the bandwidth to around 15-20mbps if they serious in 1080p format.

The problem is they do not have much content to show on their IPTV. Those channels just crap!
metalfreak
post Mar 29 2010, 02:23 PM

Working out is not my routine, it's my new lifestyle
3,300 posts

Actually i was wondering

with this new broadband, is it safe from lightning? I mean for me, typically when i'm not home or not using it, I would unplug my phoneline with the rest of my wall plugs
47ronin
post Mar 29 2010, 02:24 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Mar 25 2010, 11:35 PM)
the price kinda disappointed... i expect it to be lower...
how much low do you want? RM1 per month with 1Gig speed?

endymeon
post Mar 29 2010, 02:24 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(carte82 @ Mar 29 2010, 02:19 PM)
They can actually provide either 720p or 1080i for their HD services witht he current 8mbps. Or they can increase the bandwidth to around 15-20mbps if they serious in 1080p format.

The problem is they do not have much content to show on their IPTV. Those channels just crap!
hope they will bring more quality content... they probably run out of high quality content..
Arlington
post Mar 29 2010, 02:33 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ Mar 29 2010, 07:10 AM)
I think the way you calculate is not so appropriate
the 7.3GB for 2hours 720p HD movie usually has multichannel audio(5.1) which consume some amount of bandwidth

usually TV HD broadcast does not have sound surround.

what tm is trying to offer the HD channel should similar to what youtube is doing  hmm.gif
Astro B.yond has surround sound...

5.1 audio is typically encoded at around 800kbps
and stereo audio is encoded at around 224kbps

so this would save only about 0.6Mbs

so if you subtract -0.6Mbps from 12Mbps you will still need a bandwidth of above 11Mbps
lalala_lalala
post Mar 29 2010, 02:42 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Mar 29 2010, 02:23 PM)
Actually i was wondering

with this new broadband, is it safe from lightning? I mean for me, typically when i'm not home or not using it, I would unplug my phoneline with the rest of my wall plugs
based on what the technician told me during the installation, the fiber is safer than the copper line...im not sure how safe it is but i dont 100% trust that tm guy...must be expensive to replace the fiber n router n cordless phone...

mylinear
post Mar 29 2010, 02:46 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Raven-X @ Mar 29 2010, 12:20 PM)
well, screw those cheapskates ppl here who been complaining about the cap (which has been lifted) and the price (which most likely they can't afford)!
I'm not surprised if most of them are not listed in the Q1 of the implementation.

i just subscribed to 20mb and will be able to use it by next week. wohoo!
While the discussion is mostly about Unifi packages, there is also an underlying issue of having more affordable broadband to the general public. If Unifi prices were lower, Streamyx prices should be lower too. These lower packages would enable those who have not been able to afford broadband to subscribe to it.

Raven-X, you do not have to be rude or condecending to others to put forth your point. If you can afford it, and are happy getting what you are paying for, then go ahead. You do not have to insult others who may be less fortunate than you or have less money than you. What goes around comes around...

111 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0607sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:08 PM