Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V4, Latest:NO cap 4 unifi packages 4 now ^_^
metalfreak
Mar 29 2010, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(lalala_lalala @ Mar 29 2010, 02:42 PM) based on what the technician told me during the installation, the fiber is safer than the copper line...im not sure how safe it is but i dont 100% trust that tm guy...must be expensive to replace the fiber n router n cordless phone... Bro you've installed it? How is it? Fast? which package?
welwitchia
Mar 29 2010, 02:48 PM
Well, if u think about it, optical fibers doesn't conduct electricity..so theoretically, it should be safer than copper lines.  I'm getting mine installed this Saturday.
SUSsoundsyst64
Mar 29 2010, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(Gh-x @ Mar 29 2010, 01:35 PM) How come they are offering HD channel who is likely not most of people care to watch? i bet out of 1000 customer only 5 will be watching. I hope they add some good channel worth of out money, i was actually hoping if they could deliver local tv station in HD  that would be cool. our local TV station already show lots of crappy shows. I already stopped watching tv 2 years ago. QUOTE(gstoh @ Mar 29 2010, 02:10 PM) I think the way you calculate is not so appropriate the 7.3GB for 2hours 720p HD movie usually has multichannel audio(5.1) which consume some amount of bandwidth usually TV HD broadcast does not have sound surround. what tm is trying to offer the HD channel should similar to what youtube is doing  It depends the quality of 720p. some of them as high as 8GB for 1 1/2 hour 720p movie
mylinear
Mar 29 2010, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(lalala_lalala @ Mar 29 2010, 02:42 PM) based on what the technician told me during the installation, the fiber is safer than the copper line...im not sure how safe it is but i dont 100% trust that tm guy...must be expensive to replace the fiber n router n cordless phone... I'm also trying to find a definitive answer to whether the fiber line is succeptible to lightning like the copper line. Also, its not only the copper line which is affected by lightning. Other equipment powered on could also be affected, so most of the time we turn off the equipment and power socket. So even if the fiber line is operating, you can't watch IPTV if your PC/TV is switched off anyway.
metalfreak
Mar 29 2010, 02:55 PM
Yea, I normally unplug my power cables + phone line from the modem just to be safe.
Anyway, has anyone use this broadband? any positive results?
mylinear
Mar 29 2010, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(welwitchia @ Mar 29 2010, 02:48 PM) Well, if u think about it, optical fibers doesn't conduct electricity..so theoretically, it should be safer than copper lines.  I'm getting mine installed this Saturday. Does the voice line via fiber work if there is no power in the house? Copper line phone works since there is power for it from the exchange.
endymeon
Mar 29 2010, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Mar 29 2010, 02:48 PM) Well, if u think about it, optical fibers doesn't conduct electricity..so theoretically, it should be safer than copper lines.  I'm getting mine installed this Saturday. safer in what aspect?
totally_skint
Mar 29 2010, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(lalala_lalala @ Mar 29 2010, 02:42 PM) based on what the technician told me during the installation, the fiber is safer than the copper line...im not sure how safe it is but i dont 100% trust that tm guy...must be expensive to replace the fiber n router n cordless phone... QUOTE(welwitchia @ Mar 29 2010, 02:48 PM) Well, if u think about it, optical fibers doesn't conduct electricity..so theoretically, it should be safer than copper lines.  I'm getting mine installed this Saturday. So does that mean power for the customer premises equipment have to come from your own power socket? If so, how to call Tenaga to fire them during blackout?
endymeon
Mar 29 2010, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Mar 29 2010, 02:59 PM) So does that mean power for the customer premises equipment have to come from your own power socket? If so, how to call Tenaga to fire them during blackout?  mean u need to use you handphone
totally_skint
Mar 29 2010, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(endymeon @ Mar 29 2010, 03:01 PM)  mean u need to use you handphone  Battery kong liao. Not yet charge blackout first.
marky
Mar 29 2010, 03:16 PM
u need another phone line for HSBB? if i already hav a house line without streamyx on it can i just aply HSBB for it? or need to register new line as well..so i have 2 lines at home?
metalfreak
Mar 29 2010, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(lalala_lalala @ Mar 29 2010, 03:19 PM) my God, international speed is god damn pathetic! LOL
endymeon
Mar 29 2010, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(lalala_lalala @ Mar 29 2010, 03:19 PM) woah... that's what they call high speed broadband...
marky
Mar 29 2010, 03:46 PM
argh just called unifi call centre... USJ only available on 1st of July!
metalfreak
Mar 29 2010, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(marky @ Mar 29 2010, 03:46 PM) argh just called unifi call centre... USJ only available on 1st of July! Seriously, I dont even want to think about this unifi after all the disappointment. Stick to Streamyx aje la Unless there are any other users would like to share their experience?
mralienv2
Mar 29 2010, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(marky @ Mar 29 2010, 03:46 PM) argh just called unifi call centre... USJ only available on 1st of July! what the... thats went they started to issue the bill. so we usj's dont get the 3 month free trial deal?
Halia
Mar 29 2010, 04:02 PM
What an oversight by so called broadband operator. Just found out that the UniFi official can not run with FireFox, after numerous adobe flash down load (you may say I so stupid then by hey, the site developer at least should has the foresight to accommodate popular browsers)
TSCalvin871989
Mar 29 2010, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(Halia @ Mar 29 2010, 04:02 PM) What an oversight by so called broadband operator. Just found out that the UniFi official can not run with FireFox, after numerous adobe flash down load (you may say I so stupid then by hey, the site developer at least should has the foresight to accommodate popular browsers) unifi cant run with firefox ? what you mean ?
endymeon
Mar 29 2010, 04:09 PM

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Mar 29 2010, 04:05 PM) unifi cant run with firefox ? what you mean ? i think he mean unifi home page http://www.unifi.my/index3.htmlThis post has been edited by endymeon: Mar 29 2010, 04:10 PM