46 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Unifi Boycott Unifi - capped connection

Aggroboy
post Mar 28 2010, 01:52 PM

637 posts

Geez, like almost all companies in the world overpromise anyways. It's business as usual laugh.gif

In the end the heavy downloaders take these justifications to the Nth degree by saying: "The best way to say "FAKK U" to Telekom is by 24/7 downloading muahaha, I paid for it!." In the end, there is nothing to justify. Telekom may be a sloppy monopoly. But the downloaders maximize 100% of the TOS on an ISP service, when it is never economically feasible to support 100% 24/7 for every user in Malaysia. Because of them, my online gaming suffers, my basic surfing after work suffers too.

I don't dislike people who utilize 100%, it's human nature to max out everything in life. It just gets annoying when people use "false advertizing" or "Telekom is evil" or "I pay for it!!!" to portray their heavy downloading as morally right.
wKkaY
post Mar 28 2010, 01:52 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Mar 28 2010, 04:31 PM)
You're not paying for exclusive use of their Int'l backbone. You're paying for a broadband connection with the added service of Internet connectivity.
Using your same cake analogy (simplified - both you and I know it's not a fair comparison), since you want it for yourself, there are options called dedicated lease lines.
Single slice of cake - cheaper. Whole cake - much more expensive.
Which last I know, in our region would retail in the ballpark of ~RM2xx to 3xx per Mbps, depending on your commit... yes even in singapore.

Added on March 28, 2010, 2:00 pm
QUOTE(billytong @ Mar 27 2010, 03:17 PM)
While I do not have the data on that, but I do not believe cost structure in KL city is 10-30 times more expensive than anyone else.
Hmm I guess you mean that someone else somewhere else in the world pays the same and gets 10-30x more? Or pay 10-30x less and get the same thing?

Using the 5Mbps package as an example - that would mean either 1) getting 50-150Mbps for RM150/mo, or 2) being able to download at least 600GB-1800GB/mo for RM150/mo, or 3) getting 5Mbps for RM5 - 15/mo, 4) or some mix of these..
silverhawk
post Mar 28 2010, 02:12 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Mar 28 2010, 01:42 PM)
It might surprise you that some restaurants have a "minimum spend per person" condition!

It's unfriendly, but I'd imagine it came about after the restaurant proprietors got tired of cheap people coming in a large group, ordering a plate to share, then overstaying their welcome for hours wink.gif
As long as its advertised up front, I have no problem with it. I can just choose not to go with it, or when I do go, at least I know what the minimum spending amount is. Not that I bring a bunch of friends to go, and we sit down and later the guy says there's a minimum spending amount, that's just utter bull.

QUOTE(Eoma @ Mar 28 2010, 01:45 PM)
That's the thing. You're paying for bites. Not whole slices (or cakes). And the cakes regenerate magically @ user behaviour. So if everyone took bites within "fair usage" grounds, there's always a bite for everyone.
Some bite more, some bite less. But for some who bite all the time, now that's the problem.

No, they advertised as selling cakes/slices. And we paid for that, expecting cakes/slices.

I get what both you and silverhawk are saying on the bigger cake slices and that I believe that can be achieved if there are much less cake hoarders.
No, it would be solved if they advertised properly and set the limits properly. Then people can't overuse, and they know what their limits are. Rather than arbitrary limit which we have no idea what they are.
almaty
post Mar 28 2010, 02:15 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Mar 28 2010, 01:45 PM)
That's why it's called 3-play sayang. Internet connectivity and broadband connection are not the same thing. It's just been (wrongfully) used to represent the other.
so youre saying that the billions (from the tax payers) spent on laying fiber is just for a framework to deliver iptv and voip and local network access. forget the internet, we will be fine with local content from local servers?

add:

iptv:
ask anyone, makcik in kampung, 4 year old kid, apek in kedai kopi, expat in msia. show them the list of chan from hypp and astro. ask them if they can only pick one which one would they choose? why only one? average msian is not rich and getting smarter by not mambazir duit.

voip:
cannot reuse existing pstn number? businesses will love this. and so will millions of faithful tm customers who have been using the same number for eons.

sme...kalo takde elektrik voip takle guna? dulu letrik takde pun telefon boleh guna, sales call, customer call, still business as usual. lebih baik i just stick with the normal phone. apa faedahnya guna voip?

in conclusion:

kalo tak nak triple play boleh? apasal tak boleh? our economy is not doing so well. as enlightened consumers, we prefer not to waste money and save where we can.

This post has been edited by almaty: Mar 28 2010, 02:36 PM
Eoma
post Mar 28 2010, 02:17 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(almaty @ Mar 28 2010, 02:15 PM)
so youre saying that the billions (from the tax payers) spent on laying fiber is just for a framework to deliver iptv and voip and local network access. forget the internet, we will be fine with local content from local servers?
I did not say that, you are @ through assumption.
A broadband connection is a gateway to a whole slew of new services and content delivery. Delivery through the Internet is just one of those possibilities.
almaty
post Mar 28 2010, 02:34 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Mar 28 2010, 02:17 PM)
I did not say that, you are @ through assumption.
A broadband connection is a gateway to a whole slew of new services and content delivery. Delivery through the Internet is just one of those possibilities.
ok if you didnt mean that, my bad.
gtg now. other things to do. wink.gif

Maxieos
post Mar 28 2010, 02:57 PM

3,757 posts

I though g0v use our rakyat money to supply to tmnet hsbb how many billion ? 5 billion .
So , should rakyat get cheaper price ? why still need to pay the same price over RM 100 ?

I'd rather get a RM99 for 2mb hsbb which anything as for me anything over RM100 is expensive
mylinear
post Mar 28 2010, 03:03 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 01:35 PM)
Then don't market is as such. Simple as that no?

If you tell me I get unlimited downloads, don't complain when I actually use it like that! Which is why I'm saying caps are fine, but if you want my business and others, make it reasonable. Don't just give empty marketing promises, and then pull back what you promised when people use what you advertised for.

Could you please point to where you find "unlimited download" or "unlimited data transfer"? I have been looking but have not been successful.

41. Why TM is offering unlimited packages & at the same time limits the amount of traffic?
Unlimited means that there is no time capping for user to access to the Internet and it does not mean that user can download/upload an unlimited volume of data.
Also, pleas understand difference between shared and dedicated.

37. What is a 'contention ratio'?
To provide a cost effective service – Streamyx is 'contended' (shared) at the following ratios:

Package Download Speed Upload Speed Contention Ratio
Streamyx 384k  384k 128k 1:25
Streamyx 512k  512k 256k 1:25
Streamyx 1.0M  1.0M 384k 1:25
Streamyx 2.0M  2.0M 512k 1:25
Streamyx 4.0M  4.0M 512k 1:25

This contention is applied within the TM network - with other Streamyx subscribers on the same TM telephone exchange.

What this means in the 'worst case' is that you could be sharing a 1000 kbps connection with up to 25 other users. So if they were all using Streamyx at the same time 'theoretically' you would only get 40 kbps.

However, 'in reality' this scenario is very unlikely to happen and you should usually find it to be far faster than a dial-up connection.

Streamyx relies on individual users not making unreasonable traffic demands on the network to provide fast access speeds for all.

Remember if you are not getting the speed that you expect, it may not be due to the contention ratio only but many other factors including the capacity of the remote site you are accessing, the quality and distance of your telephone line from the local exchange.

The problem here is that just because you were getting full speeds or were able to download lots of stuff in the past, most have not bothered to understand how things were working. You made your own assumptions about it. Now that you do not get what you used to get, there is complaints. But the sharing has been there all this while, maybe not so noticebale few years ago, but more noticeable now.

Why do you think there are also options for dedicated leased lines (especialy for corporate users)? If Streamyx was actually not shared, then there would not be any need for dedicated lines. Users need to take some time to understand all this so that when arguments are put forth, it will be more reasonable. No point just going on with "I don't care, I want unlimited...".

silverhawk
post Mar 28 2010, 03:13 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Mar 28 2010, 03:03 PM)
Could you please point to where you find "unlimited download" or "unlimited data transfer"? I have been looking but have not been successful.

It was there when I signed my contract many years ago. If any of you were using streamyx that time, the words "unlimited" was there because their earlier packages were limited by hours.

The problem here is that just because you were getting full speeds or were able to download lots of stuff in the past, most have not bothered to understand how things were working. You made your own assumptions about it. Now that you do not get what you used to get, there is complaints. But the sharing has been there all this while, maybe not so noticebale few years ago, but more noticeable now.

Its terribly horrible now, I don't expect 1mbps speeds 90% of the time, even 70% would be good enough for me, but I can get 56k speeds sometimes loading sites or streaming videos from youtube. Heck sometimes I download files it goes at 5kBps. I've even transferred files using MSN at paces of like 2kBps to friends in Australia.

You think they should get away with that level of quality just because its "shared"? Perhaps its fine for you, but I pay the RM88 per month, I pay the my taxes, and my taxes were used to subsidise unifi's roll out. I don't think its fine for them to get away by providing such low quality service.

Oh and if you think its "unlikely to happen", you would be wrong, its happening alot and it just continues to get worse. I understand the shared connection and all, I am after all in the internet industry. Most of the time people are just using a fraction of what they are paying for. If streamyx's contention ration is 1:25, but the average speeds people are getting from that contention ratio is 512kbps, then it should no longer be advertised as 1mbps. Advertise it at as 512kbps, and tbe bandwidth is opened for more people, increasing the service quality.

Do they do that? No, what they do is come out with new packages with higher bandwidth and charge more, which makes people use up for bandwidth and even less is available for others. Where's the logic in that?

Why do you think there are also options for dedicated leased lines (especialy for corporate users)? If Streamyx was actually not shared, then there would not be any need for dedicated lines. Users need to take some time to understand all this so that when arguments are put forth, it will be more reasonable. No point just going on with "I don't care,  I want unlimited...".

You're only looking at what you want to look at. Look at what I've wrote, and I've not said "i don't care, I want unlimited". Heck, I hate those people who say that also, because it makes our opposition weaker. If you noticed, I'm all for caps and I've been advocating for it, just that caps have to be reasonable.

If you want to know about dedicated lease lines and stuff, you also have to consider that leased lines are using a different technology. Corporate users can get streamyx as well, and anyone who has used it knows that it performs better because it gets priority. However I've still received complaints about how horrible the corporate streamyx usage is.

The argument is very simple
- advertise accurately
- provide reasonable limitations to cater for a broadband future

Malaysia is not the internet, and frankly speaking, we don't even have a strong enough local culture to support ourselves. We're not like japan/china where they have a pretty strong local culture. Our culture is heavily influenced by external countries, taiwan, hk, japan, american, europe, etc. A good international link is a necessity, and one which tmnet just isn't providing and isn't building up to cater for the demand.

Continue blaming people, it won't solve the problem. There is demand, tmnet just isn't supplying it, and since people are unlikely to get better service, they either leave the country or just stagnate here.

This post has been edited by silverhawk: Mar 28 2010, 03:19 PM
mylinear
post Mar 28 2010, 04:04 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 03:13 PM)
It was there when I signed my contract many years ago. If any of you were using streamyx that time, the words "unlimited" was there because their earlier packages were limited by hours.
The "unlimited" is very different from "unlimited download" or "unlimited data transfer". In the case above, the unlimited would refer to unlimited usage, as in use as many hours as you want, ie not a limited 60 hour package. Not time limited.

As I've said, the unlimited has been interpreted by users in a way most suitable for them which is not really the correct interpretation unless it was explicitly stated in that way.

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 03:13 PM)
You're only looking at what you want to look at. Look at what I've wrote, and I've not said "i don't care, I want unlimited". Heck, I hate those people who say that also, because it makes our opposition weaker. If you noticed, I'm all for caps and I've been advocating for it, just that caps have to be reasonable.

silverhawk, the "I don't care..." was not directed at you. It was a general statement. Sorry if I was not clear.

almaty
post Mar 28 2010, 04:17 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Mar 28 2010, 03:03 PM)
i have seen the words "unlimited downloads" on streamyxs website in the past. iirc, it even goes to say you how fast/much music we can download or something along those lines.

now if it were not tm or tmnets intention and consumers were construing it as such. why did they not take the initiative to spell it out clearly so it is unambiguous?

look at what is going on with unifi in the t&c again. tm reserves the right to implement FUP if you exceed the cap. BUT OH THEY FORGOT TO mention what exactly the penalties are. why?

No point just going on with "I don't care,  I want unlimited...".
also, if TM knows for a fact that 6% of its users are abusing its T&C and continually hogging the bandwidth and thus ruining the internet experience of the other 94%. why didnt they do anything about it?

a few years back, TM said it was 20% using 80% of the bandwidth.

instead they just use them as an excuse for their networks shortcomings.

SUSautoman5891
post Mar 28 2010, 04:24 PM

Related
http://business.theage.com.au/business/isp...90824-ewkk.html

ISPs should pay no mind to the cap
Joshua Gans
August 25, 2009

ONE of the great anomalies of the Australian broadband industry is the existence of usage caps, which around the world are virtually non-existent.

In the US, some internet providers have talked of a 250 gigabytes-a-month limit. That has led to consumer outrage that forced those providers to desist lest they lose customers. This is despite the fact only 0.003 per cent of US broadband users exceed that level - just 0.21 per cent exceed 100GB.

To an outsider, the Australian system seems very strange. Telstra boasts a basic package on its BigPond Cable Extreme network that, for $39.95 a month, gives 200 megabytes in usage. At Telstra's boasted 30MB a second speeds, that amounts to a minute of high-quality video downloads. After that you pay 15¢ a megabyte. It is hard to imagine that being an option for consumers.

But even its Liberty plan, which costs $69.95 and offers 12GB a month - after which the extreme speed is slowed to the speeds of last century - only allows you 20 hours of video watching a month, provided you do nothing else. That's about 45 minutes a night.

No wonder so many people do their YouTube watching at work.

Had the US and rest of the world had similar practices, requiring users to carefully watch their megabytes, YouTube and similar services would never had been conceived, let alone put into practice. Perhaps the carriers would have hosted content, under the cap, but then we would be in a world where they decided what we saw rather than the demonstrably better one where that choice is truly free.

There are costs to bandwidth. But rather than being 15¢ a megabyte, they are in the order of 15¢ a gigabyte - or 1000 times less. So if you are using 500GB a month, you are costing your carrier $75(RM220) a month. It seems reasonable that you pay for it. But, in Australia, if you want to use 50GB a month, you'll pay $2.60(RM7.70) a gigabyte to Telstra. Paying for bandwidth is fine. Getting gouged for it is another matter.

It is not just Telstra, although it has a special role. No internet provider in Australia offers a plan like they do in the US. The best ones are cheaper than Telstra but offer more by dividing between peak and off-peak use.

They have not tried to grab market share by going for it and freeing people from dreaded usage monitoring.

Why isn't competition working here? It is difficult to say but consider what would happen if a smaller provider lifted its cap to 250GB and charged 15¢ beyond that. It would attract a disproportionate share of those who would use that much. That may represent a small part of the market but a large part of its customers. Add to that the potential congestion caused by such usage - if concentrated in the evenings - on the equipment installed in Telstra exchanges, and that 15¢ a gigabyte may be something much larger.

This is a problem that Telstra likely does not face. But it does face conflicts that might give it pause when lifting caps.

For instance, a higher cap moves video watching online and out of the living room where Foxtel boxes reside. That is a cost it faces that others do not. But it is a cost borne of choice, the choice to be integrated with Foxtel.

We are told that the new management of Telstra is more open and ready to meet the challenges brought about by the national broadband network. The NBN will have the capacity to break through usage caps. But why wait eight years?

There is an opportunity for Telstra to demonstrate its new responsiveness and get rid of this anachronism. It could lift its Liberty plan to 100GB and likely face few additional costs if it charged 15¢ a gigabyte. It would send a strong signal to markets.

For others, there is a similar route. Smaller providers need not offer high-cap plans widely, but, for example, as an employee deal with businesses they also serve.

Think about it. Employees would be offered plans that gave them incentives to watch YouTube at home rather than at work. Employers would be happy and there would be only a marginal increase in traffic for the service provider as usage moved from work to home.

There is a way out of tight usage caps that stifle appropriate internet use. These will not be costly given international experience, but will open up more services to broadband usage. The NBN will provide this, but Australians shouldn't have to wait that long.

Joshua Gans is an economics professor at Melbourne Business School. He writes on these issues at economics.com.au
mylinear
post Mar 28 2010, 04:41 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(almaty @ Mar 28 2010, 04:17 PM)
i have seen the words "unlimited downloads" on streamyxs website in the past. iirc, it even goes to say you how fast/much music we can download or something along those lines.
I think I've only seen terms such as unlimited access and always-on. Anyway, as I've pointed out several times already, what you can find now is:

41. Why TM is offering unlimited packages & at the same time limits the amount of traffic?
Unlimited means that there is no time capping for user to access to the Internet and it does not mean that user can download/upload an unlimited volume of data.
http://www.streamyx.com/customer_care/cust...stomer_care_faq

now if it were not tm or tmnets intention and consumers were construing it as such. why did they not take the initiative to spell it out clearly so it is unambiguous?
Because that is part of how marketing works. The unlimited term has been used as a marketing gimmick to entice consumers. You can see the similar issue in website hosting as well. This plays on the desire of consumers to get as much as possible and pay as little as possible.

look at what is going on with unifi in the t&c again. tm reserves the right to implement FUP if you exceed the cap. BUT OH THEY FORGOT TO mention what exactly the penalties are. why?
I have not looked through Unifi website in detail. But for Streamyx, which may be similarly applicable to Unifi:

The Fair Usage Policy automatically identifies the extremely heavy users and manages their bandwidth in order to protect the service of all our other customers. This traffic prioritization policy will protect the quality of service for the majority of our customers when they use the service, while at the same time, still allowing the extremely heavy users to continue to send and receive files with certain restrictions. With this policy in place, we will prioritize Internet activities like web browsing, live streaming, messaging applications and VOIP access while traffic to P2P sites will be given lower priority, due to the high bandwidth consumption of such services.
http://www.streamyx.com/customer_care/cust...ir_usage_policy

a few years back, TM said it was 20% using 80% of the bandwidth.
Maybe the 20% was at that time and now is down to 6%... ??

SUSautoman5891
post Mar 28 2010, 04:49 PM

The 6% are the 4mbps streamyx users. Soon to be replaced by 99% HSBB users.
silverhawk
post Mar 28 2010, 04:59 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Mar 28 2010, 04:41 PM)
Because that is part of how marketing works. The unlimited term has been used as a marketing gimmick to entice consumers. You can see the similar issue in website hosting as well. This plays on the desire of consumers to get as much as possible and pay as little as possible.

So basically they accept that users are greedy, bring them in then don't satisfy their greed? Now tell me, do they deserve the backlash they are getting? I tell you can get 2 cookies, but give you one, you have the right to complain no?

This is unscrupulous use of marketing, its dishonest and bad business practice. Do you not agree that its unethical for them to do so?
Maxieos
post Mar 28 2010, 05:06 PM

3,757 posts

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...23&sec=business
The Star
TM’s UniFi packages cannot be unbundled
By B.K. SIDHU & LEONG HUNG YEE

starbiz@thestar.com.my

KUALA LUMPUR: The three UniFi packages launched by Telekom Malaysia Bhd ™ on Wednesday cannot be unbundled and consumers have to take what is offered as there is no a la carte options.

This could potentially be an issue for some users who may not want all UniFi offers. UniFi’s packages priced at RM149, RM199 and RM249 per month come with high-speed broadband, IPTV (Internet protocol TV), free voice calls and some other offerings.

With the pricing viewed as being on the high side, many wonder if TM could have priced the packages lower by unbundling these offerings.

“It is all bundled together, there is (no a la carte),” TM group chief executive officer Datuk Zamzamzairani Mohd Isa said.

An industry source said: “There could be potential issues about TM’s packaging if the end-users do not want the IPTV and it cannot be unbundled. It is not really free but part of the package, so shouldn’t TM have an unbundled option?”

Consumers may wonder if they are actually subsidising the IPTV and voice offerings, which under the packaging are free or whether TM is subsidising the cost of the items under its three packages.

Zamzamzairani said: “It is not about subsidy, there is just too much suspicion. It is all about us moving to a lifestyle offering and this is all about triple play.”

A triple-play network is one in which voice, video and data are all provided in a single access subscription. Globally, the trend is for telcos to move into triple-play to mitigate the flat revenues from fixed-line networks.

Zamzamzairani said the UniFi plans came with an additional 8Mbps of bandwidth for IPTV, so subscribers, say for the 5Mbps packaging, would actually be getting 13Mbps.

That aside, the market is abuzz over the cap issue that TM has imposed on its UniFi packages. The tweeters on Twitter were vociferous with their comments as they are disappointed with the cap on the download speed. They are even more furious that the data download caps are calculated on a daily basis.

TM in a statement yesterday said it would not implement the cap on downloads for UniFi immediately.

Earlier, Zamzamzairani told StarBizWeek: “To us it is not a cap, it is a trigger point. We want to implement a fair usage policy for this new service, it will not be done immediately, we will monitor usage first.”

UniFi’s 5Mbps service is capped at 60GB of data per month, 10Mbps service at 90GB while the 20Mbps service has a 120GB cap.

Zamzamzairani said fair usage policy was a standard practice that allowed all users to have the same surfing experience rather than one party hogging the network and the others experiencing throttling speeds.

He cited the case of TM Streamyx where 6% of its 1.45 million users were using 80% of Streamyx’s download capacity and the rest had to do with the remaining 20%.

UniFi is now available in four areas in the Klang Valley with 311,000 premises passed and it has 500 trial users. Since Wednesday the service is commercially available in those areas. TM has received “positive” feedback on its services but Zamzamzairani did not reveal the number of new users that have signed up since.
Posted at koptiam , why can't it unbundled ?

This post has been edited by Maxieos: Mar 28 2010, 05:06 PM
silverhawk
post Mar 28 2010, 05:10 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Mar 28 2010, 05:06 PM)
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...23&sec=business
Posted at koptiam , why can't it unbundled ?
cause if that happens, no one would choose IPTV, means IPTV no customers, means a failure for one of the objectives of HSBB

This post has been edited by silverhawk: Mar 28 2010, 05:10 PM
dr2k3
post Mar 28 2010, 05:12 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 05:10 PM)
cause if that happens, no one would choose IPTV, means IPTV no customers, means a failure for one of the objectives of HSBB
we have to pay for something we dont need?
powerfulcool
post Mar 28 2010, 05:12 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 04:59 PM)
So basically they accept that users are greedy, bring them in then don't satisfy their greed? Now tell me, do they deserve the backlash they are getting? I tell you can get 2 cookies, but give you one, you have the right to complain no?

This is unscrupulous use of marketing, its dishonest and bad business practice. Do you not agree that its unethical for them to do so?
that analogy is not accurate. heck, analogies are for people who cannot deliver their points coherently so they rely on analogies. like you.

check a few pages back, a moderator has already explained why line sharing is not illegal and not ethically wrong. in short you as a consumer are NOT paying for a dedicated line, thus the line sharing and when you share you should try to be ethical and not hog the bandwidth.

so shut it already with the cookies, apples or any other analogies you uncreative lot come up with.
liquidsny
post Mar 28 2010, 05:13 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 05:10 PM)
shouldn't they make a survey first of those IPTV services before bundling it together. why market something people do not bother buying...

46 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:20 PM