silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 01:28 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Mar 25 2010, 01:23 PM)
See how many p2p/filesharing pirates complain here laugh.gif they are the only ones who will hit the cap.
This is a ridiculous argument.

The reason HSBB is created is to cater for online content, which includes online HD content, which is not necessarily delivered through your IPTV. So you'll easily hit that 2GB/day limit with 5mbps. EASILY.

You don't have to be a pirate to hit those rates.
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 01:31 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rahavsmt @ Mar 25 2010, 01:29 PM)
They already lost one trial user with their prices and cap. Im a trial user in TTDI for almost a month now. Wont be subscribing after the trial ends in June.
Since you're a trial user

how much do you use roughly? Not counting trying to smash through their limits laugh.gif Do you think its going to be useful if its capped at 60GB? What cap do you think would be reasonable as a test user?
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 01:37 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(powerfulcool @ Mar 25 2010, 01:35 PM)
im not subscribing to it even though i have the option come april. cap is too low
Same here, available to me, but I'm not going to support it until they up the caps by at least 150%

Added on March 25, 2010, 1:38 pm
QUOTE(milky @ Mar 25 2010, 01:37 PM)
they cap 2gb each day?
its mentioned that the 60gb cap is pro-rated throughout the month, so we're assuming a 2GB cap per day from the way they describe it.

This post has been edited by silverhawk: Mar 25 2010, 01:38 PM
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 01:44 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rahavsmt @ Mar 25 2010, 01:40 PM)
Well the utorrent client on my pc shows around 300gb downloaded in the last 31 days. Factor in all the rapidshare download and hd streaming the total might be at least 500gb for my pc alone and there is 3 other pc in the household.

There's no way im going to continue with the caps, 60gb??? Could barely last a week with 4 pcs in the house.

What do i think is the reasonable cap? In my case with 4 pcs, the mininum is 250gb otherwise I will be staying with streamyx. I wont probably be downlaoding as much because right now Im just testing their bandwith capacity.  rclxms.gif But still with 4 pc 90gb is way too low.
My house alone has 4 pcs as well laugh.gif well 1 pc, and 3 notebooks... tongue.gif

I think a 150GB cap for 5mbps package would suffice, there should be enough headroom for times we need to download huge patches for games and stuff. Otherwise no point going to HSBB, sticking with streamyx would make more sense.

QUOTE(milky @ Mar 25 2010, 01:42 PM)
lolx.. if compared with "their competitor p1" is so much better.. xD
they capped @ 20gb @ 1.2mbps. xD
but anyway i still support the boycott on the capping
if you want to compare, you compare with something better. You don't compare with crap.
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 02:09 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 25 2010, 01:59 PM)
Yeah right, i spend over RM300 on Steam games last year where in the end ,all 32 games need 90GB to download every single one from scratch. On November, i downloaded 30GB of games,just in 2 days.

Considering all the patches,mods,dlc and shit, i need about 25GB per month that includes 10GB allowance for a big Steam game each month. WTF is this capped internet shit?????

Better get the damn bandwidth monitor then since im gonna use it in both countries.

Also,when you torrent, you are actually using double bandwidth,as in if your movie is 3GB,you are actually downloading 6GB+. Have fun with HSBB.

There goes my dream of using OnLive to play Crysis on i-Phone/netbook. doh.gif
I agree with the steam thing. Some patches are 100mbs in size even, and if you have a few games, expect to download like 400-500mb easily. We PAID For these games.

I just checked my internet connection usage. I restarted my pc yesterday, and didnt do any downloading, just surfing and reading some manga on onemanga.com. I've already used 700+MB downloads and 300+mb upload. That's on a 1mbps streamyx line without actually actively downloading files.

silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 04:41 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Mar 25 2010, 04:07 PM)
FIrst of all, nobody made them sign up for a 1GB package. They wanted to be penny-wise and pound-foolish, and they earned the rewards. Secondly, according to my calculations, 60GB is almost sixty times higher than 1GB.
Not necessarily a bad thing.
I use VoIP and video conferencing all the time, I transfer lots of data, I watch some TV shows online, and I don't come anywhere near 60GB of usage per month.

Before making any claims about how crazy or wonderful the cap is, we would need to see TM's actual historical usage data. They are foolish for not providing it. If they can show a chart that says "Of our one million customers, only ten thousand used more than 60GB in one month," then they have solved their PR problem, because it would be easy to paint that 1% as the pirates and porn fiends.

Otherwise, we can only guess. However, based on my activities, and those of people I know, I would think that the caps are reasonable for the vast majority of users.

Still, I don't like the sound of it. It feels like I am being restricted even if in practice it means nothing to me. But that's not a rational judgment.
Even if they did that, I would still call it an irrelevant comparison.

Can you take usage data of 56k users to extrapolate the needs when you go on to ADSL? HELL NO

Sure, MOST people would not use up to 60GB a month, but MOST people also won't be needed the speeds provided by HSBB, their needs are more than catered to using 512kbps streamyx or even if they need to, 1mbps package. Even the 1mbps package is overkill for some.

The whole point of getting 5mbps is so you can really enjoy the stuff that requires higher bandwidth. Its like giving you a ferrari, with a speed limiter of 60kph. Defeats the whole bloody purpose.

Most of us here are fine with caps, and I would actually advocate caps because it keeps the whole system under control and a better experience for everyone. However the caps should be justified, a 60GB cap on a 5mbps line doesn't make any sense.

I calculated in the other thread, that if you average out the usage of HSBB to 8 hours a day with a 60GB/month (2GB/day) cap. To use up your cap, you would need to average your usage to about 900kbps for that 8 hours. So what's the point of getting HSBB? With that kind of usage rates, you might as well stick with streamyx.

silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 04:43 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(neoengsheng @ Mar 25 2010, 04:36 PM)
How did all of you hit 60GB cap in 1 month? I can't even fully utillize an 80GB hard disk I bought 7 years ago.

I use Internet for online learning, checking emails, playing online games, perform driver updates and patches, the occasional 1-2 mp3 download a month and 2 episodes of anime + 1 or 2 movies a week through PPS. I can't imagine what most people do to hit the 60GB cap in a month.

The only concern I have is the price and those crappy IPTV, Streamyx Zone ID and email account. I don't need those and I don't want those.
You download shows, but what quality do you download? Do you watch crappy rmvb encodes? do you watch normal hdtv episodes? or do you watch 720p videos?

HSBB is meant to allow you access HD content like 720p videos and even stream it without problems, but if you have a 60GB cap, that just doesn't make any sort of sense.
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 05:35 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Mar 25 2010, 05:08 PM)
No, but I can take usage data of 4mbps ADSL users to extrapolate the "needs" of 5mbps HSBB users.

and what's the usage data of 4mbps users? smile.gif I doubt its 60GB a month laugh.gif

Where I come from, 100+mbps is common, and I am used to such speeds. I find it provides a lot of advantages - when I need a 1GB dataset I can download it in minutes instead of hours. When I want to relax with some video entertainment I never have to wait. But I do not find myself downloading 18TB per day just because I can.

Of course not, but the whole point of having a HSBB is to be able to do things like you just mentioned no? smile.gif

I have no idea what the purpose of owing a Ferrari is, but I suspect it aligns with the same mentality that says "I have 10mbps so I am damn well going to download at that speed 24/7 just because I can". This is never something I have understood; it all seems sociopathic to me. But I come from a very different cultural background.

Nope, the point of a ferrari is to drive fast in a car made to drive fast. You buy it because you want to enjoy driving with that speed. The same applies to HSBB, what's the point of paying for 5mbps when 90% of the time you're going to be limited to 1mbps because of the cap?

Ok, we're in basic agreement, it's just a matter of negotiating the levels now.

Like it or not, TM does have limited international bandwidth and it has to be allocated among all the users. The higher the cap, the worse performance low-usage customers will see. So, the higher the cap, the more TM is rewarding the customers who cost them money. There is very little incentive for them to set the cap higher than the lowest level the market will tolerate. We may debate about whether the market will tolerate 60GB@5mbps but I suspect that only time will truly tell.
Unfortunately the download cap also includes local traffic, which IMO is stupid. I explained earlier that if they didn't count local traffic and gave a BOOST in speed among local peers, then people would subscribe and the people will spread the downloadable content amongst themselves, easing the burden on the international link because local people are providing the content.

Throw up a metro-lan for HSBB, and the need for an international link abuse goes down.
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 06:10 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(TM.net @ Mar 25 2010, 06:06 PM)
1080p mkv movie is around 7-8gB only..
So if you stream such a movie, how are you going to watch it when you get capped at around 2GB a day? laugh.gif
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 06:22 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

So anyone creating a boycott facebook page/group yet? laugh.gif
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 06:27 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Mar 25 2010, 06:26 PM)

If all the information is correct, then the worthy part from HSBB isnt the Download speed, but the Upload speed, if any1 noticed all ADSL package have very poor upload speed, mostly 384k, unless SDSL connection with is extremely expensive compare to ADSL, if this HSBB capable of providing promised upload speed, then this connection worth considering for ppl who want upload speed more than download speed, like hosting.
Upload is really useful to me due to the amount of stuff I have to upload everyday laugh.gif

Still, the cap is ridiculous
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 06:43 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Boycott-TmNE...105204452847672

Created a facebook page tongue.gif
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 06:49 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Mar 25 2010, 06:44 PM)
Created but sendiri tak masuk whistling.gif
Oh, though it auto joins if im the creator laugh.gif
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 06:50 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

12 now smile.gif

Someone create sigs for it so we can use? laugh.gif
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 06:53 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

Someone with skills in graphics, make some sig buttons/banners for us to use? laugh.gif
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 07:13 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Hamas @ Mar 25 2010, 07:04 PM)
guys, u r not even unifi customer so you dont have any right to complain about capping. for average internet user, the quota is more than enough.
We are TMNET customers, we do have a right to complain because we are also potential customers.

silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 07:16 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 25 2010, 07:14 PM)
Seconded that.

And the current plan is ridiculous.
Joined the boycott facebook page yet? laugh.gif
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 07:21 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

I say, keep the cap, but increase it so its more reasonable and follows what a broadband package should be like.

silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 07:54 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

The fan page is growing quite nicely smile.gif
silverhawk
post Mar 25 2010, 07:58 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

If you want them to change, you got to make sure "demands" are reasonable. Then they are more likely to follow the demands.

60GB per day is ridiculous. Unlimited would be nice as well, but I think that would destroy whatever is left of our international line laugh.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0385sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:35 AM