Eoma
post Mar 26 2010, 12:43 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

re-post from /k/ to get more serious answers:

Kalau stimix pun kene cap ? downloaders amacam ?
lol, waiting for the announcement soon.
Eoma
post Mar 26 2010, 05:49 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

everybody would be singing a different tune if they were tighter piracy controls and they actually started sending summonses.
Jaring already has, though far and few in between.

Eoma
post Mar 27 2010, 10:15 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

Why is there no boycott when Astro says you need to buy a 2nd decoder to watch 2 channels simultaneously ?
If you want >60GB shared between more than 1 user, get a 2nd account. or a higher package ? Far fetched ?

My opinion lah: Greed and fear. A knee-jerk reaction.

Well, if the united malaysian front for "I-want-to-download-more-than-60GB-of-patches-linux distros-email-youtube-a-month" (snigger) can "overturn" TM's capping decision,
I'd like to see what they can do regarding the Astro issue.

Eoma
post Mar 28 2010, 12:58 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(almaty @ Mar 28 2010, 12:24 AM)
we are talking about unfi here. not astro. if you are not happy with astro, by all means create a thread to voice your displeasure.

if you are happy with the 60Gb that tm offers, that is your prerogative. just state your contentment and be done with it.
no need to belittle others who do not think that the 60Gb they are offering is adequate or reasonable.
To highlight double standards. (and for what? "free" stuff - Let's follow Sweden shall we.)
I am stating it, why thank you.
No belittling done to honest users of the system. It's the free for all i must have everything mentality @ greed which I am questioning.

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 12:51 AM)
Do I want them to make it uncapped? That would be nice, but its not what I'm asking for. I'm asking for a revision in the cap sizes because 60GB is seriously way too low for 5mbps. To me, it doesn't seem to cater to the whole idea of a high speed broadband plan, it doesn't seem to be pushing the country forward in terms of technology and mindset.
Understandable request. So where does the line stop ? If I have 20 people in my house and I subscribe to a 60GB package, shall I demand for a 600Gb cap ? (not you of course, but someone might come in and start tongue.gif )

Whether the downloads are legal or illegal, is not the point, the future ahead of us is one where bandwidth usage will be high. We can already download original games through steam, and games are getting larger and larger. Youtube itself already offers high definition, lets not forget sites like divx stage 6. What about songs which people can download via itunes?
There will always be abusers, which is why I don't mind the cap, keeps things levelled, but the cap has to be right for the speed as well. If they want to make a 60GB plan, I can accept that, if they charge like RM60 for it.
It makes a big point. So much so if God willing there was no "free" stuff, things would be very very much different. Can't argue with legal spending and actual purchase of digital games, but I think if you have pockets deep enough for those, Internet caps are the least of your worries; i.e. RM100 for a recent 10GB game, so that's RM600 to reach the 60GB cap.

Tmnet just wants to squeeze as much money out of us without investing in better international bandwidth. and they will continue to blame the users. Is that how a company should be running a business? Blaming its users? Think about it for a second before you come up with a response.
Do you know for a fact that they don't invest ? too little ? to whom ?
I'll quote ihsan's reply for this:

i know if some of these smart alecs here are running their own isp, they would go titsup before their first customer can even pay the bills
Eoma
post Mar 28 2010, 01:31 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 01:14 PM)
Its not our fault we're using for WHAT WE PAID FOR, its tmnet's fault for not coming up with proper packages, and not expanding to fit the capacity, they just keep overselling to reap in profits and blame the consumers. If secret recipe were to sell you a cake, you paid full price for the cake, and expect to eat the whole cake, but they tell you that you're not supposed to eat the whole cake, you take a bite and pass it on to the next person. Cause he also paid for a whole cake and should get a bite, and there are many more.

What would your response to that be? Blame the person for buying a whole cake? Or blame secret recipe for not making enough cakes available?
You're not paying for exclusive use of their Int'l backbone. You're paying for a broadband connection with the added service of Internet connectivity.
Using your same cake analogy (simplified - both you and I know it's not a fair comparison), since you want it for yourself, there are options called dedicated lease lines.
Single slice of cake - cheaper. Whole cake - much more expensive.

Eoma
post Mar 28 2010, 01:40 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(almaty @ Mar 28 2010, 01:29 PM)
TM has a hold on submarine cable landing rights, deregulate and make everyone compete on a level playing field.
Lets see who goes titsup first.

Do you know for a fact that if some of these smart alecs were to run their own isps it would go titsup...really?
Submarine cable landing rights ?

http://www.tm.com.my/about-tm/media-centre...arineCable.aspx

Did Ryaz Patel do his homework I wonder ? Though to be truly neutral, I'm still searching for something from MCMC.
The key point being "should they choose to invest".

Q #2 - Take a pick from the other ISPs. Those who fell and those who are surviving. For those who are still alive and kicking, how are their business and services like ?
Eoma
post Mar 28 2010, 01:45 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 01:35 PM)
No, not exclusive use, but I am paying for my 1mbps, so I do expect to get 1mbps use out of it. You want to cap me, that's fine, as long as the cap is reasonable. So I know what I'm paying for. Using back the cake analogy, if I pay for a bite of a cake, and I get a bite, I'm fine with that. I pay for a slice, and I get a bite, I'm going to be pissed. I pay for a cake, and get a bite, I'm going to even more pissed.

Tmnet is overselling, and you know it. Rather than increase their capacity, they just continue to overload it, and throttle people and complain that its the consumer's fault.

Load of bullshit.
That's the thing. You're paying for bites. Not whole slices (or cakes). And the cakes regenerate magically @ user behaviour. So if everyone took bites within "fair usage" grounds, there's always a bite for everyone.
Some bite more, some bite less. But for some who bite all the time, now that's the problem.

Added on March 28, 2010, 1:49 pm
QUOTE(almaty @ Mar 28 2010, 01:42 PM)
using your cake analogy, we are NOT buying a broadband connection with the added service of Internet connectivity.
that is to say we are not buying the base of the cake with the cream on top as an added service.

iptv and voip, the cherries, choc chips on a cake are the added services.

moving on.

i am not saying i want the whole darn cake. (maybe some do but whatever)
all i want is the slice of the cake to be bigger and to commensurate what im paying for it.

meaning instead of slicing up the cake into 50 pieces for eg. i would like the cake to be sliced into 30 slices so i will get a bigger slice compared to the former...
That's why it's called 3-play sayang. Internet connectivity and broadband connection are not the same thing. It's just been (wrongfully) used to represent the other.

I get what both you and silverhawk are saying on the bigger cake slices and that I believe that can be achieved if there are much less cake hoarders.

This post has been edited by Eoma: Mar 28 2010, 01:49 PM
Eoma
post Mar 28 2010, 02:17 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(almaty @ Mar 28 2010, 02:15 PM)
so youre saying that the billions (from the tax payers) spent on laying fiber is just for a framework to deliver iptv and voip and local network access. forget the internet, we will be fine with local content from local servers?
I did not say that, you are @ through assumption.
A broadband connection is a gateway to a whole slew of new services and content delivery. Delivery through the Internet is just one of those possibilities.

0.0340sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:49 AM