161 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Bottom

Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.1, Plasma, LCD & LED models.

SteadyPana
post Jul 27 2010, 08:30 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Cliff_Tan73 @ Jul 27 2010, 08:12 PM)
Me 2 can't find such function in my V20 either.  Any Sifu can guide ??
Yup, can not find though blink.gif
PoorMan
post Jul 27 2010, 11:14 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

Cannot find menu item to set 50->100Hz refresh rate.

I read recently from AVS that refresh rate for VTs is as follows:

24p -> 96Hz
60hz -> 60Hz
50hz -> 100Hz

Should be the same for V20 (or G20), kua?
anfieldude
post Jul 28 2010, 06:57 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jul 27 2010, 11:14 PM)
Cannot find menu item to set 50->100Hz refresh rate.

I read recently from AVS that refresh rate for VTs is as follows:

24p -> 96Hz
60hz -> 60Hz
50hz -> 100Hz

Should be the same for V20 (or G20), kua?
The latest VT reviews in the AV Forums show the data that we need.

The major caveat, turn off IFC. Else everything is refreshed at 60Hz!

Also turn off 24p Smart.

Cliff_Tan73
post Jul 28 2010, 07:57 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 28 2010, 06:57 AM)
The latest VT reviews in the AV Forums show the data that we need.

The major caveat, turn off IFC. Else everything is refreshed at 60Hz!

Also turn off 24p Smart.
Sifi-sifu, can'rt find my V20 menu have IFC and 24P smart button in the menu setup wow............
anfieldude
post Jul 28 2010, 08:56 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Cliff_Tan73 @ Jul 28 2010, 07:57 AM)
Sifi-sifu, can'rt find my V20 menu have IFC and 24P smart button in the menu setup wow............
See page 28 of the manual. I have the pdf version of the manual provided to me by Panasonic Malaysia. To see 24p menu u need to send a 24p signal. It shd be in the setup>other settings page.
Cliff_Tan73
post Jul 28 2010, 09:09 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 28 2010, 08:56 AM)
See page 28 of the manual. I have the pdf version of the manual provided to me by Panasonic Malaysia. To see 24p menu u need to send a 24p signal. It shd be in the setup>other settings page.
The major caveat, turn off IFC. Else everything is refreshed at 60Hz! Settle

Also turn off 24p Smart. Can't find in the menu ?? It's supose below the IFC but my screen missing such funtion, anyone aware?
anfieldude
post Jul 28 2010, 09:11 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Cliff_Tan73 @ Jul 28 2010, 09:09 AM)
The major caveat, turn off IFC. Else everything is refreshed at 60Hz! Settle

Also turn off 24p Smart.  Can't find in the menu ?? It's supose below the IFC but my screen missing such funtion, anyone  aware?
Cliff,

R u sending a 24p signal? When a 24p signal is present (playing in the background) only then it will appear....
koled_anie
post Jul 28 2010, 09:23 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(Cliff_Tan73 @ Jul 28 2010, 07:57 AM)
Anfieldude, can u help to explain what is this IFC and 24p actually? is this function available in U series? thanks!! rclxms.gif

notworthy.gif
anfieldude
post Jul 28 2010, 09:29 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(koled_anie @ Jul 28 2010, 09:23 AM)
Anfieldude, can u help to explain what is this IFC and 24p actually? is this function available in U series? thanks!! rclxms.gif

notworthy.gif
Its motion interpolation (in my opinion done wrongly) and its supposed to improve motion handling. I am unsure if it is available on the U series, I doubt it, check yr set and see if its there.

24p is to handle 24p material. Again, its motion interpolation instead of a direct pulldown (3:3 or 4:4). I am quite sure that the U does not have this and refreshes at 60Hz with 3:2 pulldown.
SteadyPana
post Jul 28 2010, 10:28 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 28 2010, 09:29 AM)
Its motion interpolation (in my opinion done wrongly) and its supposed to improve motion handling. I am unsure if it is available on the U series, I doubt it, check yr set and see if its there.

24p is to handle 24p material. Again, its motion interpolation instead of a direct pulldown (3:3 or 4:4). I am quite sure that the U does not have this and refreshes at 60Hz with 3:2 pulldown.
From my best knowledge most new Blu-ray player (incl. PS3) will send 1080/24p signal to our V20 for movie playback.

Astro Byond send 1080i/50hz and PS3 sending [720p/1080p]/60Hz signal.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, Sifus
wink.gif
anfieldude
post Jul 28 2010, 11:43 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Jul 28 2010, 10:28 AM)
From my best knowledge most new Blu-ray player (incl. PS3) will send 1080/24p signal to our V20 for movie playback.

Astro Byond send 1080i/50hz and PS3 sending [720p/1080p]/60Hz signal.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, Sifus
  wink.gif
Yes.

However, the reason why there is motion interpolation available is becoz some people do not like the 24p refresh at 72Hz/96Hz look. For those people, they prefer 60Hz refresh with motion interpolation. Thats why the option is there. There will be differences in opinion. But the problem is motion interpolation almost always has side effects.

On another note, the artefacts that some of u hv complained on 50Hz sources is also mentioned in the AV forum review. So it is a problem. It is refreshing at 100Hz but there seems to be a problem with motion on 50Hz sources for the new gen pannys.
allycat
post Jul 28 2010, 11:52 AM

330 posts

I emailed Panasonic and their engineer is coming to check my V20 this Sat.

I think that those of you who are having motion blur, judder, artefact problems should email Panasonic. In this way, we can get better response and solution from them.

If most of just keep quiet and just complain in the forum, I doubt Panasoic will take us seriously.
koled_anie
post Jul 28 2010, 12:18 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 28 2010, 09:29 AM)

thanks bro, will check it later on my U set. break in already half way. do u mind to set appointment on 7th August for calibration? rclxms.gif

thumbup.gif
anfieldude
post Jul 28 2010, 12:57 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(allycat @ Jul 28 2010, 11:52 AM)

I think that those of you who are having motion blur, judder, artefact problems should email Panasonic. In this way, we can get better response and solution from them.

If most of just keep quiet and just complain in the forum, I doubt Panasoic will take us seriously.
allycat,

Based on my experiences with service engineers, they will most likely blame the source. So if u can, show them that the same source on ur other display is not showing this problem.

It would help as well, if u hv a DVD player that can send out a 576i/50 signal and u hv a DVD that is indeed 50Hz. That way, they cannot blame Astro as the problem.

Added on July 28, 2010, 12:59 pm
QUOTE(koled_anie @ Jul 28 2010, 12:18 PM)
thanks bro, will check it later on my U set. break in already half way. do u mind to set appointment on 7th August for calibration?  rclxms.gif

thumbup.gif
Let's discuss in PM.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jul 28 2010, 12:59 PM
allycat
post Jul 28 2010, 01:53 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 28 2010, 12:57 PM)
allycat,

Based on my experiences with service engineers, they will most likely blame the source. So if u can, show them that the same source on ur other display is not showing this problem.

It would help as well, if u hv a DVD player that can send out a 576i/50 signal and u hv a DVD that is indeed 50Hz. That way, they cannot blame Astro as the problem.
Tks for the advice, anfieldude.

I still have my old LG set and I can drag it out to test side by side with them. As to their service, I'll give them the benefit of the doubt. In this age of internet, it's very easy to escalate a complain.
SteadyPana
post Jul 28 2010, 02:54 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(allycat @ Jul 28 2010, 11:52 AM)

Kindly help to keep us posted on the progress. Thanks in advance. notworthy.gif
yim1981
post Jul 28 2010, 03:14 PM

18 posts

I am new of V20 user, what to do at start?

neb
post Jul 28 2010, 03:20 PM

2,234 posts

plug in main power, switch on and watch brows.gif
SteadyPana
post Jul 28 2010, 03:41 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(yim1981 @ Jul 28 2010, 03:14 PM)
I am new of V20 user, what to do at start?
Hook up with Astro Byond, PS3/XBox, HD Media Player, Notebook, etc

then will start face the so-called problems that we'd discussed here in this forum - which is the fun part but the sad part will be we're all paying the $$ for the problem....
flex.gif

This post has been edited by SteadyPana: Jul 28 2010, 03:47 PM
ancnw
post Jul 28 2010, 04:07 PM

78 posts

ha ha, i think yim1981 is asking about the the screen breakin procedures. But funny that teh $$ problems which crop up.

161 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:27 AM